(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Starfruit,
oh ya, I went to check out the RC drawing classes at my side. Can start at 4YO but timing no good. Sun, 2pm-3.30pm, nap time, bu san bu si. And morever usually we go inlaws' place on Sun.

Starfruit,
I think there's a difference between kindy and ccc. Cos they spend lots of time in a ccc so the teachers got to do more things with them.

Anyway I don't think it'll make any difference to learn to write now or later. Eventually they will all know how to write.

RR: yah, in anna s school, they re expected to write their names later this year too..
Anna is also writing a few Chinese characters, the simple ones with few strokes.. Think the school s focus is for them to recognize the more chim words while they catch up with their pencil grip and eventually combine writing agility and recognition to write the tough characters... Mummies teaching Chinese can review this methodology.

RR: I am given a list of sight words for each term for teng's CC. In any case, the focus here is just to let him recognise the words. Prior to the clips, i just randomly tested teng if he already knew the words.. he could only recognise 'the', 'and', 'to'.. the rest was taught in that session.. so in a sense, even if the school has taught them, teng didn't pick it up. I think I resonate with what AA says.. the school can introduce but it would be even better to re-enforce at home..

ha.. the 'one' is cute :p

teng can only write simple words in chinese, 1, 2, 3, ren, tian etc..

QQ: miser is as buay zhai as Jay in chinese.. he is going at a SNAIL pace.. actually slower than SNAIL.. SLUG pace.. and he tells me he is not going to insist teng write his chinese name.. i am like ????....

RR: so by N2, the kids must write chinese names? argh.. Miser going to get it from me again.. teng can already spell all our names.. (recite from memory) and write them.. if this is the way my home learning is going to be.. teng is going to be potato liao..

Autum: try the noun cards then.. off hand. i think u can try teaching phonics rules instead.. because u have the materials.. rather than create another list of sight words to recognise and do sentence formation.. so:

1. group the nouns into groups by phonic rules.. 2. teach a rule .. say ending with 'oy'.. three letters noun..
3. then ask EJ what is the similarity between all the words...( here u are looking for EJ to say all ends with ..'oy'..)
4.then u ask EJ to sound the first letter of each noun.. so like 't' sound for 't-oy'..
5.once EJ sounds all. then u play matching with him.
6. start with 3 nouns.
7. then say a word, ask EJ to give u the card
8. then move to 5 cards with the same rule
9. again EJ to match with the word u sounded.

and so on and so forth.. i wont be surprised that EJ already know some words u do not know he knows :p

u could also rely on pictures to get EJ to read the word first.. from step 1 - 5.. then after that, remove the pictures.. so that EJ is not relying on the pictures to give u the card..

my suggestoin for another variation lah

Germaine: ya. perhaps this can lessen the conflict and tension for clyde and make learning more fun for him.

STar: gd enough. Miser is not even doing that in chinese yet!

RR: Reyden is a challenge to teach.. How about you go buy power rangers books for him to read on his own? This could be the only way.. Anna is easy.. She helps herself to the books, and reads them.. When she is stuck, she asks..
I hope ayden is just as easy.. (fingers crossed)

star: Rae is not lagging behind. drawing is the precursor to writing.. so instead of drawing a circle..get Rae to add a stroke just beside.. and she gets an 'a'!

teng has been writing imaginary letters in the air as he tries to spell certain words.. he is only writing letters.. i no time to go into that.. let me settle the sight words recognition first.. teng is writing quite ok liao..

wait a minute. i thikn i need to run aft miser more than i run after teng.. darn.

AA: talking about praying the #2 is easy.. this is what bally did this morning..

he walked to teng .. teng was drinking his soya milk.. he looked into the cup of milk coz teng was sitting on the floor.. he raised his hand.. and open up his palm.. and released teng's green sharpener into the cup!!

teng then screamed 'mama! didi throw the sharpner into my milk!'..

then this yh can still run to me and laugh.. :S

terror.

AAA,
wah, you still go and analyse how they teach them chinese. Now that I always drop and go, I don't get to speak to their teachers. Most of the time, I 勿打勿撞 find out what they had learn or know.

Are your kids' chinese teachers locals?

RR: I m an analytical person by nature. I analyze things on auto pilot de, and I don t even know I m analyzing... Very strange hor? There are Chinese nationals, but I think mostly local wor.. Or maybe they ve been localized?? Not sure..

Astro: Bally and Ariel can be friends..

the P for the C/G schools are PRC. Really envy her manz. Her eldest son was studing Rulang then manage to get into 天才班. so went to Nan Chiau or Nan Han (cant rem). Now he is in RI. *faint* so her youngest son (this year p1) has the option of going either school. Both are excellent school.

RR: so Reyden huh? i wld love a challenge intellectually anytime.. hah.. teng is quite easy.. except his whining.. let's see what yh can do.. hahaha *smug that can handle the boy*.. just hope that i dun vomit blood handling yh! :p

hey, missed the last part of ur question.. u could do either way.. u either re-inforce what u know they have learned and come up with sentence formation in varied contexts.. coz language learning happens in contexts.. not just by itself.. so that's why i was initially apprehensive with learning only the words.. but i figured out.. that is probably the only way to start..

or..

u could build on the vocab.. it is for u to test .. my feel.. reyden would benefit from more introduction of new words at a simpler level since he gets bored quickly.. while reyes can be introduced to same words but in more complex sentences.. coz that needs some repetition..

just a suggest ion lah.. maybe reyden can also do what reyes is interested in and vice versa.. u test it out first..

wah.. RR.. now i suddenly think of another reason why u want to be in the Unfazed club liao.. we do one kid.. u need to do TWO! haha. if me. i also lazy liao :p:p:p

Germaine: ha. steady. let's hope that Teng can get into the GEP also.. haha. but tough lah.. then bally can go into the good schools too? haha. lagi tough.. whahahaha...

AA: as with virgos.. auto analysis :p

Teng's chinese teachers all PRCs.. but i think they all localised liao.. :p

AA: i was never a person who think or analyse. till i met miser.. then he told me to 'think more talk less' :S.. now i am said to be thinking too much .. ha.. but miser still says the same 'think more talk less' to me.. haha..

Astro,
yes! Cos both need different methods to learn and cannot do together. :S I've only got so much time in the evenings. It's easier for me to bring them downstairs to cycle or go NTUC for a walk. :p

ash: yesterday u posted u thought we got cheated with the e-books.. i IMMEDIATELY go and download the books.. when i open the first book. and see the backgrounds.. i thought so too!.. then i see the pages.. 272 pages.. and scroll down further.. i am relieved. i have not yet read it though.. :p seems boring.. haha

i bought the robin readers with me.. later remind me to show u hor

Titu: u received my sms last night? how how?

QQ
nono...the read it yourself series has many books per level. but for the box set, there are oni 4 fr level 1 and 4 fr level 2... can still get the rest ala carte. then i think there are sets for other levels..but i couldn't find in popular. anyway our kids are at level 1 now...i kept the level 2 for future use. :p

Kaexin: ning is in the English enrichment, ash is in the speech n drama, different thing,

Tell u all something amazing today, I tot ashlyn only knows English so I got a Chinese activity book for the bb bash bday.. she knows her “dian, pei, shu, heng” I was lke wow! hehehe

Sometimes I feel lke when I go home so tired.. I jst play with the kids.. anyway my gals are whole day in cc.. so I thnk they learn stuff there.. just I don’t know (giving myself a reason to be lazy)!

QQ: I got bookshop see this weekend than I confirm with u what I want! Hahah cos I got popular card.

Ash,
Before I forget - Happy birthday!

Her hb so funny, he put "happy birthday, ex gf" in her fb. Hahaha!

Happy birthday ash.

RR, it is 误打误撞。not sure if I m right, bu we all must learn e correct things from now.
I m so serious now. Keke

Star, we let e panic situation a bit more settled. I m v keen in getting e series because tian likes repetition.
And it is cheaper ma
Can use for v long also.
Ah wil can use. Too. So I v keen.

Joelle, thanks, so there are many books. We all should share le.. Hm...
Still we dunno how many books in one level. Chim.

Maybe we set a dateline, by 6march?? This two weekend, u all pls go out and research. Thanks.

QQ
ok i just checked. there are 6 each in levels 1 and 2 and 2 each in levels 3 and 4. r u able to get them loose?

also, anyone knows which series of books has the tortoise and the hare story? my hb wanna teach seth abt slow n steady winning the race...but so far i cannot find the books in the store leh!

QQ: i go with ur final decision cos i also keen lah.. hahaha i think i like the repetition and i find repetition really works!!! as in when i teach rae.. sometimes, she damn hong sim dun want to study and this repetition method works when i need her to remember.
yes let this panic mode settle and see where the discussion leads us cos so many mummies going to porpular now to check out the books

Ash: Happy Birthday!!! You went ICB for celebration? Hey is que pasa and no. 5 still there too?

QQ: Ok.. I go bookstore and check out the series.. Hey, every child has a unique method.. Cannot assume what works for tian works for will next time.. Got to tailor make de..

RR: You have to treat RR as separate.. Just like those of us with 2 or more kids.. Use different methodology for each of them.. Tailor make no choice.. Think of poor me.. I have to do it 3 times... :p *yawns*

AAA,
but you don't do the same things thrice at one go. I got to do the same things twice in a night or week. :S

I believe all our kids will all be ok.. Cos we are gan cheong, compare notes, go into panic modes and then do some action here and there... They ll be ok... 要看他们的造化了。

Rr
On the other hand, Thk o it as u jus need to do the same thing once n both kids get to benefit
Cos u ONI need to sit Down once
Plus hopefully Ter's positive peer pressure going on

RR: You can t do the same thing with both of them... Cos they re very different.. Treat them as separates.. Doing different things is more fun than repeating the same thing over and over wor...

I think by the time with meimei, I won t have the interest le.. She can just be. Fullstop.. Ha! But that s not true.. I wish it can be true.. Cos I m thinking of starting her at Shichida... :p :p

SQ,
it's not once. It's twice cos they cannot take to the same method.

AAA,
same thing as in eg. same storybook, read twice in the same evening but in different ways.

With kids different ages, you repeat the things probably 1/few yrs later, not immediate. By then you would already forgotten what you had done before so it's still something new.

Kelly: No lah... Although the ideal is really to have 4, 2 girls and 2 boys... So they all have companions.. Too bad for ayden... :pp

It s tough and strenuous when they are young... But when I think about next time when they re older, my place will be more 热闹, I m very consoled.. And many old couples share that if they could (be young again) that they ll want to have more children... They are 过来人。

With younger siblings, you can rope in the elder ones to teach/help out. It's different kind of fun then. The interest will still be there.

already these days.. teng will scold yh if he is notti.. or i say yh is notti.. teng will run up to yh.. point a finger at yh..give an angry expression and shout at yh 'didi! u notti! say sorry to mama!'..
ha..

Astro,
hahaha!! I'm hoping by the time I have my #3, RR can teach him/her the 100 keywords our kids are learning now. :p

Astro : Thanks for the accepting me as Frd in fb!
RR: u haven accept me

Ash: Happy Birthday to you ( ´ ▽ ` )ノ

I go read archive ....

Joelle,
the answer is YES, i just checked from the supplier. can get loose titles. I am waiting for him to email me the title list.
but then i think the logistic and goods checking is going to make me faint.

someone pls let me know how to do it.
cause i am lazy to check, etc etc.
there should be some flexibility otherwise if one title is out, or missing, then we all must agree to b flexible.