(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

RR: I see that u have relinquished ur membership from the Unfazed club when u ordered the readers :p

SQ and Autum still holding strong.. :p
(hey joking hor! :p)

hahah... maybe mummies should start diy peter and jane book first using their concept and see whether will vomit blood or not. The only task that Clyde really like to do by himself is drawing. He will start to draw once he starts to feel restless.

Germaine: wow.. Clyde got artistic talents.. as with all pple borned on 14 march. hurhurhur :p

RR: haha.. welcome back to the Club? :p

ya.. one of the reason i not keen in the beginning series is i kow myself. i got no patience with repetition! :p

QQ,
think can drop my order. Their ccc actually gives them storybooks with repetition words on a monthly basis.

Astro, true lor.

I also know myself. keep thinking how come Clyde still dunno where the same word repeat itself n times. The more i teach the more frustrated I am. sighh... But if ur kids can really complete like Keira is really good. I can only drool upon such updates.

Each book is RM RM7 after discount.
which is equivalent to around ~2.90-3.10 SGD (depending on exchange rate)

e.g.
1. QQ, full set of 36 bks
2. AAA ??
3. Star - full set of 36 bks
4. Kelley - Series A (12 bks)
5. edde , full set of 36 books
6. ECMOM - full set (36 bks)
7. Ash - Series A

I didn't start Dylan with the Peter and Jane series. :p
Cos he prefer his Thomas story books.
I try tonight to see he like it or not.

QQ
Sorry pls drop my order too
after read some of the book
Find I won't have the patient to repeat the book with the kids

Huingee: ah.. that is one push for me to get that series then. but we see if QQ can get that series instead.. ha

Germaine: ha.. but the path is full of blood.. cannot.. i dun want to lose so much blood over reading.. got more to come.. hahah.

hahah...the more i read the more i dun feel like buying too.

QQ: pls let us know when u need to order so tt we can make last min decision

will try to go popular to take a look first

ok everyone read this..on P&J, click link to see the interior pic of the books.
I prefer to start in a systematic way, will go with 1st series and progress up. aim is to get them to read themselves not me reading to them.

<read>

Some pre-requisites are still required. Like the child should already be familiarized with the letter sounds and is able to string 2 letters and 3 letters words. Once they are able to do so, you can start to get them to read book 1a, which is very simple to read. By book 10 or 11, the child should be able to read most English story books.

http://tamarindphonics.blogspot.com/2008/12/key-words-with-ladybird.html

Note :
Before starting on this series, it is best to make sure that your child knows all the phonics sounds of the letters very well, and know how to read 3 letter words using phonics. The best age to start to read the books is about 3 to 4 years old. I do not advise parents to use the books for kids below the age of 3, before the kids may not be ready to read words yet. Of course, there may be exceptions, some kids may be able to read 3 letter words very well at 2 years old, then it is fine to start them earlier on these Peter and Jane books.

The new words are listed at the bottom of the page. Before you start a new page, point to the new words and teach your child how to read them. Teach him to read the word by blending the phonics sounds of the letters. If the word is not phonetic, meaning it is a sight word, just tell him how to read it.

Then start from the top of the page. Ask the child to put his finger under each word of the sentence. Let him try to read each word by himself. If he cannot remember how to read it, give him a few seconds to think before reading it for him.

Most young children need many repetitions before they can remember how to read a word. If the child has a very strong foundation in phonics, it will be very much easier for him to learn.

The same words are repeated throughout the "a" book. The "b" book uses the exact same words as the "a" book, but in a different story. After reading book 1a and 1b, your child would have read each word more than 20 times. So there is no need to make sure that your child knows all the words on one page very well before going on to the new page.

Book 1a and 1b use only 16 words :
Peter
Jane
and
here is
the dog
a shop
toy
in
has
ball
tree

However, if your child cannot remember more than 50% of the words after reading book 1a and 1b, then it is better to start from the beginning of book 1a again and let him have more practice.

My boy cannot remember the words shop and toy after he finished book 1a and 1b. I let him continue to book 2a, because the words are repeated throughout the other books in the series. Here's a page from book 2a.

SF, u very cute. we were exploring this website and that's when P&amp;J comes into the pic. hahaha... and where we started to get hardworking to make cards using words recommended by the website. haha...effect of too much cny goodies.

Ok, I don't think I have the patience or will power to read to my kids or train my kids to read. Don't think this is suitable for me.

Astro,
haha.. told u we are clown mummies lor. :p Actually my rationale is very very simple. My mum definitely did not teach or attempt to teach me how to read and I could still read voraciously. Yes yes, i know all the argument about how excellent and wonderful it will be if our kids can read at young age.. but I really think I can't have the patience to do that. Either the books will be torn by them or by me (in frustration)! :pP

*just hope EJ and EV won't blame me next time, if they are slower than their peers in reading*

heh... actually i just bought books 1a-c this morning...

my view... 1a is basic words, b has slightly more words (more like proper sentences with better descriptives) and c is like an activity book to make sure the kid understands what he has read.

so my conclusion is. unless u want ur kid to be exposed to ALL the books in the series, then get the sets. but if u think u want ur kids to get used to the IDEA of reading ONLY... and not necessary know all the vocab in the world, then get random series.. (aka can share but make sure u get all the 1/3/5 or 2/4/6 and not say 1a 2b and 3c). getting C series alone is not very helpful in this sense.

personally i like to expose my child to all kinds of books. so i find getting some of different publishers is more interesting to him. jmho!

and if it helps, seth told me his sch teachers oso let them read this p&amp;j series in school!

astro
i've got a set of 8 books fr the readityourself ladybird series. they come in a box with 4 level 1 and 4 level 2 stories ($32+). seth loves them. i like the set for their 'classical' stories... those that we grew up on. like Cinderella, magic porridge pot n such!

titu: ahhh.. that sounds like a good affirmation to what i wld like to buy.. jialat. i better hold to see if QQ can get me good discount on that..

Autum: u know what? i AGREE with u :p. coz myself. is classic example liao.. and the basis for all these stems from.. teng being pushed one year ahead to go P1.. so in a sense. i am nudged by Reality.. not becoz i goot-lat.. :p
hey. like that can i gain entry to Unfazed Club?

Joelle: Thanks.. What you have described throw light into the A, B and C! So 1A, 1B and 1C is a set, and so forth..

QQ: Don t think I want this P and J ler. Will explore other books, and be more gootlat to bring them to the library..

Astro: These words look like the ones that appear under list A for the ICR assessment..

I want to get books for their leisure reading, not to stress myself. This P &amp; J is too much liao, got to learn the words &amp; etc ... scares me even before I see them. :p

can any mummy advise where to find these ladybird or robin books in library? i went last sunday but cldnt find cos duno where to look for them. n ya, i didnt ask the librarian ;p

autum/astro
i oso agree that my mum never told me to read. i started to love to read at pri 1. where they have monthly bookfairs. i would ask my mum for $5 each time to get my enid blyton book. and my mum happily obliged though that time finance was quite tight... when i got older, i would borrow fr the libraries regularly and build up my vocab fr there.

therefore, i m more inclined to expose seth to different books now to cultivate his love for reading. whether or not he absorbs is secondary. heh! so can i join the clown club too? :p

germaine, this page clearly explains all the concerns we have over this series of books lah.

Think in our current panic mode, we all dun remember it was in the site.

AAA
i'm not too sure if they r considered a set though they share similar words i would say. but i think they r 'closer' in terms of gradual understanding, than skipping fr 1a to say, 2a direct. still... it all boils down to how we wanna start our child on learning and reading..

Joelle,
u so lucky, got $5 to buy books! I remember going to the library in Bt Merah, every saturday, using those borrowing cards de. Then my mum had to register also, so that I could borrow 8 books at one time! But every saturday is only during school holidays la. Normal period maybe go every 2-3 weeks. :p

Star,
haha.. i like your words "panic mode". :p

Hi all, dun need to feel paiseh one le. cause we haven't placed order.

i am glad that there are so much sharing on this topic. really steady!!

astro, i will ask for that series..
looks more interseeting ah.
so it is more like.... CHANGING a different series now.

power!

ash, i wont place order so soon la, u saw the chaotic situation? we are unsettled... lets wait and see.

we have the hardcore supporter too. star... and maybe me.. and also EDDE. cause we systematic?
I dunno le.. maybe i just bring back 5 sets..
me, star, edde, and... dunno who.
or just 3 sets.
hm... easier for transport too.
deal? star &amp; edde?
and also kelley's series A.
already not bad liao. we can go ahead le.

i dun mind if it becomes white elephant, because i have another ah will to use them. ek hem. i hope so.

Ash: these books are randomly placed at the library at bishan though.. best u ask librarian.

joelle: u very gd at annalysing stuff leh.. always break into details..

out of curiosity and excitement!!!!!!!!

I called the guy, and he said..
We also got the series, it is the same price.

so... astro.. it is also ok woh.

so next quesetion, how many books per level for this series. pls help me google. i am going home. bye bye!!!

feel free to place your order (not confirm one ah), whthere is it peter and jane series or I can read series.

FYI....

astro, please help to change the order list/form *arrow shooting to astro*

QQ: i go with whatever u all ordering lah.

I have usborne and robin books too.. i just like to buy books for rae, her book shelf is bursting too, i will take a photo to post.

ash: i thnk bishan one in a mess la.. i see them here n there.. lvl one here afew, there afew.. haha.. best ask librarian...

Each book is RM RM7 after discount.
which is equivalent to around ~2.90-3.10 SGD (depending on exchange rate)

e.g.
1. QQ, full set of 36 bks
2. AAA ??
3. Star - full set of 36 bks
4. Kelley - Series A (12 bks)
5. edde , full set of 36 books
6. Ash - Series A