AA: interesting.. hmm. why would u want anna to be able to read words but not be able to understand them lei?
i thought for every word that anna be able to read.. she shd know what that means? I would want teng to be able to do that. I am in fact ok if teng gets stumped and not being able to sound a word then to sound a word but not know what it means.. that wld mean.. quite interestingly... my expectations are opposite to urs then.. if ICR teaches teng to sound.. but can't understand the word.. i wld think they have failed..
actually i dunno abt the flashcards.. i have not read enough on that field to comment.. maybe when i have time i go and read why they want to do that.. hmmm.. maybe just to retain the synapses that bbs are born with.. the ability to learn any lang bah.. i aso dunno...
QQ: yey! let's go! i think it would be fun!
hmmm.. today hor.. i went forum coz teng has little gym. then i went into a shop.. all books.. then hor this uncle came and tried to sell me one whole set of manipulatives.. i almost got tempted!

.. it is very interesting.. but they dun have website.. it is almost like the logico board some of us have.. but it is way more complexed that that.. so some patterns.. in a series of booklets.. then one set of manipulatives to train up the spatial awareness.. concentration ah.. etc.. v v v interesting.. !
then got another series of manipulatives.. on phonics and maths.. so one set of manipulatives for both subjects.. hmm. that one i nterested.. but i dun have time to look through th ematerials today.. i very tactile.. i can fall asleep looking at teng 'read'.. i need to do things with him.. so all these montessori stuff like things are my cup of tea.. hopefully tomorrow can find some time to go roam in that shop again..
hey.. sccafold free play? why ah?
for me sccafolding means enabling the kids to reach an end.. but i thought free play means no intention/end.. so how to scaffold? interesting.. pls share with me..
AA: which series? the one that has flash cards?
those are from popular..
my first set:
1) high frequency words
2) high frequency word families
3) zhui chang yong de han zhi (for the chinese one)
the english and maths one are just some assessment books.. K1 maths and english
think when we look at these books.. it is impt for us to feel that the books are systematically written.. coherent.. each activity cannot be too long.. else the child loses focus.. the attention span of the child is their numeral age in minutes.. so our kids.. a focus span of 4 minutes nia?! hahaha.. not sure. read somewhere one.. ha
Sq/RR: hmmm.. why is it stressful ah? as in. i honestly dunno..it is just some sharing of some technical knowledge which i have...
i feel bad if i am creating stress here leh..
Mejo: ya man.. u know sometimes i wish i can understand some of the langs that the kids at our school speak. i am qutie fascinated by vietamiese and burmese .. (dunno how to spell. hahaha)