(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

AAA
oh i did not ask, think the ctr my colleague went is somewhere near Sengkang/ rivervale..my other colleague compared ICR with the phonics class she sent her 2 boys to. She was only paying abt 50 bucks for those RC classes per mth. Her boys can read road names n dinosaur names on their own after attending RC phonics classes!

Belle: I didn t know RCs offer such courses. Good!
I don t know how effective ICR is yet. I ll feedback here after one term.

SQ: Same with me. I was wondering last week whether it makes a difference if a child learns to read from memory, or by using phonics skills. I ve concluded it doest t, as long as they learn to do so.
But for math, there s a nagging thought urging me to find out the most effective way to learn this. And I do have concerns if they re learning it the "wrong" way because that will inhibit or slow down the learning process. To complicate matters, I m not sure if my fears are founded... :p

QQ,
I'm keen in the workshop too but I don't have help on that day, can't go.

AAA, YY,
wanted to say your discussion is not boring the mummies, it's more like stressing some, hehe.

Astro and AAA,s discussion is never boring la. We enjoy reading, just that cannot contribute too muc nia.

SQ, RR,
I reckon many mummies wanna go but cannot. So I kind of thinking probably AAA n ash wil be the best candidates because they have helps at home n staying nearby that area.
So ash is going to partner with me.
Haha....
Anotherossible candidate can be huingee, but probably she is too experience to go. And some of us are really staying too far and lazy to attend.

Autum, Pinkpink,

I went for coolsculpting today. Did it for the arms. The doctor actually said, "you actually don't have to do anything." |||-_- But anyway, the machine is spoilt and I only managed to complete the session on one arm. Hmm, will my arms become one big and one small??? Hope not.

QQ
Ya tt day happens I can't make it
Else it's near me
U al go n come back feedback

Rr
I m stressed by aaa and Astro too
And tt is an understatement
I shd say 'sibei stress ah'

YY,

The distinction you made between chinese and English reminds me of some guests at my friends' weddings. The two of them are translators and know multiple languages. It is very interesting listening to them talk as they converse in English, mandarin, Japanese and cantonese all at the same time! I commented on that and one of them replied that, there are just certain words in a a particular language that sum up something so adequately, you simply don't want to use another language for it.

i think teng is settling into K1 quite well.... and is developing interest to write.. he automatically brings out his pencil and is practising his letters now.. and hor. i think he secretly enjoys the attention that we are giving him.. he writes one stroke.. looks at us.. then we must go 'wow! so nice!'.. then he continues.. another stroke.. by the time he is done with 'B'.. he has heard the 'wow! so nice!' three times! hahahahaha..

he hasn't really started writing chinese well yet.. then i think he is a perfectionist.. he goes ' not nice enuff, erase!'.. and he will keep re-doing! oh well. better than he not doing :p i find him charming when he is focused writing! oh dear :p..

SQ,

But I do have bye bye arms! Anyway, the machine kept stopping when they are doing my left arm so I've to go back next sat. The coolsculpting process is to squeeze the fats of the arm and then use intense coldness to kill the fat cells. Results can be seen 6 to 8 weeks. They took some before photos but maybe I should take some before photos myself. Hmm.

Mejo
Where do u do it?
is it proven to work?
I Tot fat cells will always b present even when slim down
If really can kill tem then can slim down permanently oredi rite?

AA: interesting.. hmm. why would u want anna to be able to read words but not be able to understand them lei?

i thought for every word that anna be able to read.. she shd know what that means? I would want teng to be able to do that. I am in fact ok if teng gets stumped and not being able to sound a word then to sound a word but not know what it means.. that wld mean.. quite interestingly... my expectations are opposite to urs then.. if ICR teaches teng to sound.. but can't understand the word.. i wld think they have failed..

actually i dunno abt the flashcards.. i have not read enough on that field to comment.. maybe when i have time i go and read why they want to do that.. hmmm.. maybe just to retain the synapses that bbs are born with.. the ability to learn any lang bah.. i aso dunno...

QQ: yey! let's go! i think it would be fun!

hmmm.. today hor.. i went forum coz teng has little gym. then i went into a shop.. all books.. then hor this uncle came and tried to sell me one whole set of manipulatives.. i almost got tempted! :p.. it is very interesting.. but they dun have website.. it is almost like the logico board some of us have.. but it is way more complexed that that.. so some patterns.. in a series of booklets.. then one set of manipulatives to train up the spatial awareness.. concentration ah.. etc.. v v v interesting.. !

then got another series of manipulatives.. on phonics and maths.. so one set of manipulatives for both subjects.. hmm. that one i nterested.. but i dun have time to look through th ematerials today.. i very tactile.. i can fall asleep looking at teng 'read'.. i need to do things with him.. so all these montessori stuff like things are my cup of tea.. hopefully tomorrow can find some time to go roam in that shop again..

hey.. sccafold free play? why ah?
for me sccafolding means enabling the kids to reach an end.. but i thought free play means no intention/end.. so how to scaffold? interesting.. pls share with me..

AA: which series? the one that has flash cards?
those are from popular..
my first set:
1) high frequency words
2) high frequency word families
3) zhui chang yong de han zhi (for the chinese one)

the english and maths one are just some assessment books.. K1 maths and english

think when we look at these books.. it is impt for us to feel that the books are systematically written.. coherent.. each activity cannot be too long.. else the child loses focus.. the attention span of the child is their numeral age in minutes.. so our kids.. a focus span of 4 minutes nia?! hahaha.. not sure. read somewhere one.. ha

Sq/RR: hmmm.. why is it stressful ah? as in. i honestly dunno..it is just some sharing of some technical knowledge which i have...
i feel bad if i am creating stress here leh..

Mejo: ya man.. u know sometimes i wish i can understand some of the langs that the kids at our school speak. i am qutie fascinated by vietamiese and burmese .. (dunno how to spell. hahaha)

SQ,

Fat cells can be killed but hor, not permanent because fat cells can GROW in size. That is, even if you left only 50% of your fat cells, it can grow back to the original size if you don't watch your diet.

YY,

Haha, only the part that is being "giaped". But you become numb after a while. I can fall asleep...

SQ,

I did it at the same place as pinkpink. 8 weeks later I'll tell you whether it make a big enough difference. :p

QQ,
I will not go to the course as i find it difficult to teach my kids. I'm not experience and i dun think i have time too. Kind of busy nowadays.

Pax: We just had the same pen cai again. :p And it still tastes good. Haha..

RR, SQ, QQ: I was quite afraid that we re spamming.. :p

Astro: Not flashcards, the latest ones u uploaded to show RR. That I want her to be able to read words she does not understand yet, I m saying this is likely to happen when she acquires phonics skills faster than she can gain her vocabulary. Ha! Good word.. Take this word "vocabulary", it is within my expectations that she can read it first before knowing its meaning. Of course I expect her to ask its meaning as soon as she comes across this word on her own. On the other hand, she may know its meaning before she
knows how to sound it correctly, if this happens, I ll say she
has not mastered phonics yet.
Belle mentioned her colleages' boys who can read names of dinosaurs species. That s solid results that their phonics lessons are effective.

Mejo: Please feedback. I think I want to trim my tummy too.

AA: let's throw a spanner to the works! and see the controversy of teaching kids phonics! hahaha.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phonics#History_and_controversy

if u read the link.. there's a few lines..

-->In the book, Adams asserted that existing scientific research supported that phonics is an effective method for teaching students to read at the word level. Adams argued strongly that the phonics and the whole language advocates are both right, and that phonics is an effective way to teach students the alphabetic code, building their skills in decoding unknown words. By learning the alphabetic code early, she argued, students can quickly free up mental energy they had used for word analysis and devote this mental effort to meaning, leading to stronger comprehension earlier in elementary school. Thus, she concluded, phonics instruction is a necessary component of reading instruction, but not sufficient by itself to teach children to read. This result matched the overall goal of whole language instruction and supported the use of phonics for a particular subset of reading skills, especially in the earliest stages of reading instruction.

that's exactly what i believe in... and my exact intention for sending teng to ICR...

AA: i uploaded two series.. are u refering to the first or second set of pictures?

the first set comes with flashcards as well.. the books also have activity.. all in a 'set'

Astro: Yah same reasons why I want anna to learn to read sooner rather than later. If she s able to pronounce words she does not know the meanings of, she asks and learns the meanings of those words.

YY,
why stress ... Cos we (or rather myself) have not gone so much into what the kids should/can learn or pick up now. Not to mention about analysing what AAA and you were discussing about.

I leave most of the teaching to the school and in fact I don't even know what they learn or know by now. Looking at what you all had done/discussed, I'm starting to think if I had done too little with them or my kids are lagging behind in something.

RR: Your kids are attending full day school mah? Then their time is quite occupied ler. That's prob the reason. I also have no clues on what courses to send the kids to. I listen to the feedback from other parents, then narrow down my selection from there. Actually, exactly the same as what we're doing now selecting what assessment books to use right? Hee..

Astro: Those in posts 23544 and 23545.. Next time I go to the bookstore, I'll go skim through the pages..
Thanks..

RR: on the contary.. i think ur twins are developing very competently ..their milestones and developments are often one of the fastest.. and they are premies.. no?

and what you have done (providing opportunities for play and socialisation) is solid work.. i mean, let's face it wor.. it takes energy to engage kids in play.. def more so that to send them for classes.. right?
50% percent of my time with teng and yh.. are in classes.. hahaha. i shd be the one feeling v guilty.. huh?

so hor.. when we talk about such technical stuff.. it is with the intention to share.. not as a mean of comparison.. and def not intended to make anyone feel bad or inadequate..

all those are technical knowledge.. not essential life skills to be learned.. i am a classic example myself.. i always 'anyhow' learn! but still..? i survive..
like what QQ/SQ say.. at the end of the day.. as long as they learn.. the style or speed.. is really quite inconsequential and no big deal afterall..
a clean character is the most important...

What RR can do.. teng can't.. RR can cycle.. fish.. teng hasn't even done that.. ops! ha. teng is sometiems so deprived of good fun

AA: oh ok.. 23544 comes with flash card.. the 'high frequency' series of books for CL and EL

the 23545 are just some common assessment books
"get ready for maths' and 'get ready for english' at K1 level.. written by Chan Wai

all available at popular

and hor.. ok. i can't resist being notti.. :p
how old is my yh? the other thread is talking about getting them books/activities to do to expose them to learning! Chinese and languages!

haaaaa.. i think we all shd just chill :p

i think i stress teng too much.. yh on the other hand.. is so free and easy.. when teng was yh's age.. i worried about him not being able to self feed..i practically bought all the kiddy spoons i can find to encourage teng to self feed..
today.. i was cheering yh who was just starting to stuff a spoon into his mouth!

when teng was yh's age, he has attended kindermusik, GUG, little gym etc.. yh.. i ending his little gym, his one and only class!

last time i weaned teng off paci before he was six mths.. yh till now is still on pacifier!.. haaaaa..

good. i am getting the hang of things.. by the time i have my #4 .. i will be cool as cucumber.. ha!

YY,
I don't mean there's any comparison done and I know you don't mean to cause stress. The stress part starts when I don't even understand what you and AAA were discussing about, haha!!

The things you mentioned RR can do are things which 可有可无 but ultimately it's those reading/learning skills that will be useful, no?

AAA,
hmmm ... but with the discussion here, I'm still not thinking of my kids to any enrichment classes outside. So am I just too bochap or I'm hindering their learning process?

Astro
1st kid: everything tey touch mus b sterilized
2nd kid: jus wash his utensils, no need to
Sterilize
3rd kid: oops! If Anythg drops On the floor, jus pick up n wipe
On ur shirt before handing back to him
4th kid: As long as the neighbors don't complain abt how he smells

Wahaha

Astro: Thanks.. Hey, don't be notti.. Maybe there are other mums with older kids reading our thread and think the same! Hahah..
I think bottomline is we want to equip them the best we can.

To me, balance (ie not too crammed with activities that the child has "no life", and not so relaxed that the child gets bored) is important. I'm also highly aware (because Anna is slighly faster whereas Ayden is prob about average) that each child is different, that we need to move along at the child's speed. I can't and I don't "push" Ayden the way I push Anna.

Talking about other mummies reading our thread - I was searching for something in the forum & I came across a mummy quoting our posts (word for word) in another thread, scary. :S

SQ,
it's tomorrow night.

Anyone staying nearby can go watch too.

"Chingay @ Aljunied GRC will be happening on 13 February 2011, Sunday. The 10 floats caravan of Chingay Parade 2011 will be by passing Aljunied-Hougang around 7.00pm on that day. There will be exciting highlights such as firecrackers, fireworks and display of Singapore longest flying dragon at the soccer field in front of Blk 923 Hougang Ave 9."

RR: You are buying the assessment books. I think that shows you're doing something ler. Also maybe you're not convinced RR needs to attend any enrichment class now, or you have not identified the suitable enrichment class for them, and those are perfectly valid reasons for not starting to send them to any. It will be a shame if you send them for classes because you blindly follow others. For this I applaud you.

SQ, Astro: Hahah... I have 3!!! Hahahha!!!
还有什么没见过?

RR: It's very real.. There are people lurking around, reading our thread I'm sure.

I want to invite them to join in our conversations, instead of being anonymous. Share whatever we want, this is an open forum, there's no right or wrong, and we learn from each others' experience. The person who's only silently reading all the time is a selfish person - because she or he is only taking our info, without contributing any back to the pool. :p

AAA,
I still have not decide if I'm buying, hahaha!! Cos YY says cannot "free-play".

You remember those chinese activity books that QQ ordered for us last time? Reyden cut up 1, I gave 2 away and the other 1/2 don't know where I left them liao. :S

AAA,
hahaha!! I want to tell them too! :p It's ok to read but I don't think it's nice to quote word for word. :S

*ASTRO :)p),
nothing important though. I came across The Line buffet details, exactly as what I posted here and some other trivial stuffs.

RR: Which chinese activity books? Don't think I bought. Phew! But I still have those chinese flashcards, still quite BN! :p I must go dig those out and use those first, before buying any more materials.. :p

RR: i see. ok. like that it is ok.. else to have someone stalking is quite scary.. but ha. i told miser before.. we control how much we want to share.. and the forum is an open spare.. so technically.. noone can be accused of stalking :p

AAA,
quite some time ago le. Maybe you didn't get.

Flashcards too! I only used the English set and gave the BN Chinese ones to a friend too!