last day of lesson. no voice liao! haha..
AA: what i meant was.. teng has not developed an awareness of words.. to him it is all letter sounds.. so the word 'the'.. he can't read it as the.. he will read it as 't'..'h'.. or 'e'.. depending on where your finger rests on.. so he doesn't know how to blend yet.
what i was trying to tell u yesterday that it.. i want teng to learn the 'smart' way.. i think i have too much exposure of hardworking students who work very hard but not smart.. my sister and I are two distinct examples.. i am lazy but i work smart.. she is hardworking but takes a lot of time to understand.. and hence i worry when i see teng having to memorise words when he could use rules to generalise and infer.. but then again i know he can do it sooner or later. but i think i am reacting out of guilt that i 'pushed' him to the next level when it is 'not his time' yet.. so hence a bit KS with all these...
Huingee: i remembered talking to the ICR adminstrator.. she thought teng was 5 years old.. then kept assuring actually for a kid who just turned 4.. quite good liao!.. there are older kids who are a level lower.. so no worries.. i was told.. but of course. i need to make myself feel i am doing something.. hahah
Star/AA: yes ICR teaches only phonics.. english language.. the comprehension part is beyond a simple lerning of phonics.. coz the inference part is very important. how u see connections between ideas and such, form impressions and then come to a conclusion... is not the same as just sounding out the letters.. the basic levels of ICR. are just sounding and blend.. it is like able to read perfectly.. aloud. but u dun understand what you are reading..
huingee: dunno what ICR advance teaches them.. it is the primary skills one?
that time i skimmed thru. nvr look at it critically from a linguistic view..
so star: ur sis is right.. coz ICR, the basic levels.. can only gaurantee that u can read and sound a word.. but it doesn't gauranteee that u can understand and use the english language..
lorna whiston .. all these enrichment classes.. i think must spend time to examine what they are providing. and i think we have to be very clear about we want the kids to pick up before enrolling.. else the deliverables are not what we want.. lorna whiston. speech and drama, bulids up awareness and how to appreciate and use the language.. but i can appreciate but not be perfectly able to prounce.. so there u go
QQ: i credit GUG and PT a lot for teng's awareness of letter sounds.. i think this is serendipity.. i didn't intend it to be so.. all i want was for him to socialise.. and his sociailsastion expenses are very big man! haha. but HENG.. else now. i lagi stressed.. so i told miser.. there's no stopping me to send yh to gug..
wah. so many pple buying that han chi? hahaa..
QQ/huingee: actually i dun believe in creative writing.. or that it cld be taught.. what i do believe in is.. varied vocabulary enables more interesting writing.. and hor.. what is the role of creative writing in the current education system? i wonder.. but of course i want teng to be creative and expressive.. but creativity can be expressed through problem solving, reasoning etc.. so the emphasis on creative writing sometimes baffles me..
Ash:first step and second step .. there's a disconnect. how come read shan but teach the kid to write 的? i wld suggest the following steps to use that few pages instead..
step 1: ask Ash to describe the picture to u..
Step 2: then u enforce and tell him it is a shan
step 3: tell him more where u can find shans.. create sentences which will use the word shan..
step 4: practice writing the word shan
rest.. then another day. show him the character shan and see if he can tell u it is shan. and what shan is..
i hope it helps..