(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

rae almost full recovered already.. now pass to me. cos she has been coughing into my face!!! argh.,. hahah. but good that she is recovering, she is still on the antibiotics as doc need her to finish. just dealing with a slight wet nose and dry cough now.

I damn lazy to do the cards from the website huignee gave.. i think i brush up her phonics with the zoophonic rhyme first.. heheh

kiddo, isit ZY a bit young to start ICR, actually one of the new mummies i know from the may thread is a course manager at the ICR at novena, her advise to me is that 3 may be too young, she advise me to wait a bit more.

astro, haha i think i want to ask her again, when we next meet up..cos i think i grilled her too many qs during our 1st gathering.. hahaha. i want to ask her about the assessment that u all are talking about. hehe see if its true. anyway she told me a lot of parents very Kan cheong, so send very early and when their kids fail the assessment, they get very upset.

hb has always been the maths wiz in my family.. hahah maybe he not yaya lah, its more my maths laoya!!! hahahah

YY,

No, that's not the books I'm talking about. Mine is hardcover with thin pages inside de. There are several levels. The 4 books I bought, they are from usborne first reading series, level 3 and level 4 books. All from different authors and illustrators.

Star: how to fail the assessment ? That one is almost Luke a placement test ... If fail means can't even enroll in it's most basic level .... They can't be that silly ... :p They state 2.5 years onwards ...

Mejo: oh... Ok ... Will go popular check it out ...

Yvonne: I superbly confused Liao ... Ha

RR, astro, i am feeling better aft taking antibiotics.. left with cough.. really must spend $ to get well :S

QQ, the ladybird lobang sounds gd! if u need min quota can count me in also

Astro, no prob cause my lobang is not really confirm as I have not visit their showroom.

Edde, same la. I count u in if there is a hole to fill e gap.

giolyn, i managed to print out the cards that u sent me yesterday. and got them laminated. my crew was v v efficient and by this am all cards are done. but it is until ix right ?
jay said the words looks too simple. haha!

anyway, when u have 2nd file or 3rd file, let me know. thanks. cause i am so lazy to cut and paste.

Germane: share share lei the cards.

Juz went to lv k1 tea session sharing of curriculum. Feeling overwhelmed at the Amt of catch up teng has to do . Starting to think I might have make a wrong decision again
sigh . Later going to icr, we see how. Sigh. Also miss yamaha today coz dragged too long at the PD 's.. Bally needs nebuliser teng still on, cny eve back review. Haiz

thanks CK for the link.
i hope i dun get that Ken as the assessor tomorrow.

Teng didn't manage to go. coz that teacher got to take a class last minute coz another teacher on mc.. so change to tomorrow

now ellie also high fever..:S

yh put on nuebliser.. teng (since yh's on). will continue.. cny eve still go back for review.. *sigh*

Spam some of my lanterns. I am very happy with this because I experimented and came up with this and it's so simple to make, yet looks pleasing (to me la). Kekeke.. this is very suitable for long packets.

5071467.jpg
5071468.jpg

5071469.jpg

irin
i think it's quite pong... my 5 petal one vv pong! :p b4 i started, i thot it'll b quite flat. end up vv fat...
my hands r nt as gd as Autum. mine looks so ROUGH..

5071811.jpg

Wow, u gals really steady. The lanterns are so nice.
Autum, I have yet to pss u nag pow, but then need the same Ang pow for a lantern, I think mine not e ough le. All loose de. This year we are so jia lat , never go out collecting.
I think I go back Msia and take from My mum easier. Haha.

Pax u also into this. Wow. Not bad la. Maybe the ang pow pattern makes a different?

Astro, sq was telling me that she had one ladybird series last time, and she din like it at all. She liked her usborne instead.
I also think the pictures like v v ancient, 70s. Haha.

Huingee, probably I wil just leave the cards there and hope mircle happens cause none of us is interested to coach phonics, haha. Now cny, tian and didi like cny songs. Didi is getting more responsive now, and v v cute, except when he wakes up in e midnight.

QQ: later i go and chekck out our popular and see got this usborne or not..
ya.. super ancient. 70s :p

i described to miser last night ' u know those drawings like hand drawn using pencils one...?'. he got it instantly :p

yesterday went shopping for more stuff for teng :S miser got himself a deck of chinese word cards.. he seemed v confident that chinese wun be an issue to teng based on the list of sight words given by LV... and u know what? i think he is right.. :S coz not difficult coz dun need teach phonics! and their memories superb!.. teng yesterday learned 1 to 10 in chinese.. haven't procedd to writing.. but then again. the writing is not as crucial as the reading.. as of now..

while i am panicking all over coz of english.. like super difficul tto teach him phonics.. :S
then was talking to miser which enrichment to drop.. logically u wld drop one out of the two music he has.. but then again. miser said the MIM is like sole reason to go to school like that ..haiz.. so we decided to drop the junior scientist programme.. which barely started.. miser said.. the materials.. bring back. he sees if he can teach.. ha. now he has to teach chinese, maths (in english) and now science.. haha.. coz one ang mo is v difficult liao for me! :p

i actually feel like getting the whole series of mr men.. :p coz v cute.. teng likes mr happy and mr strong.. then if u go and see them at popular.. u put them toether. the spines would have a pattern ( i think it spells, 'mr men') when put all togeheter :p
i think it is super cute! and nice to read. one of my child hoos favs..
the other series that i hope teng would like is from Enid Blyton.. i love the fantasy in the books.. the Magic Faraway Tree..

then i hope he also be able to read non-fiction.. like animals.. etc.. Nancy Drew.. and some occasional classics..

I need to get a bookcase for teng liao!!

haha. ok.. no harm dreaming as of now :p

Astro,
This wheel lantern will take less than 10mins to learn. But folding n stapling is another thing la. I take a while to do cos I do with precision. I will line up very straight n staple. If I feel it's not straight enough, I will take out n staple again. Keke. But that's me la.

Pax,
I was looking at your lantern. What is the blue colour stuff on the packet? I can't figure out. Go add more small flowers to your lantern. I think this design needs more flowers.

Pax, Autum: Nice patterns! Hey you girls gave a bone folder? Use that. It makes folding super easy. Last fri I went to pick Anna from her arts class. And her s hook I'd decorated with all sorts of latterns! Including these flowers ones and others.. Should have taken a pic to show u girls.

Astro: I love the magic faraway tree!!! Hmm.. So nostalgic.. : p.. But hey, I think they ll at least be in P 1 before they can read it on their own? Quite many words leh.

QQ: Can u get bulk for Osborne then?

happy bday Ariel.

Autum
the blue blue is part of the flower pattern on the angbow. my 2nd lantern, i turned it the other way, can see the flower pattern, nicer.

AAA
i dun hv a bone folder. i jus fold. no precision like Autum. that's why i say my hands vv rough. Autum's lanterns r vv neat n pretty.

Astro: I said at least P1.. I started reading Enid Blyton in P3 I think. And Nancy Drew in upp primary.. By the time I leave pri school, I've finished the entire series of Nancy Drew I can get my hands of and went into Hercule Poirot. I became quite obsessed over Hercule Poirot. I can have nightmares over a mystery, kept thinking about who did it, and I wanted to become a detective when I grow up. :p

Pax: Give yourself more credit. I find your handiwork ok leh.. But with a bone folder, it's really easy. I like the 5-point flower.. Maybe cos I prefer rounded edges... It looks like a mei1 hua1 to me.

AA: heh. sorry.. glance ovr the post..:p
i can't remember when i read enid blyton. i just remembered imagining i was in the faraway tree.. i also remembered reading the book and getting lost in the fantasy.. when my grandma and my auntie were quarrelling over something.. :p

i read enid blyton as a child. we read 1 book to M when he was younger and realised the grammar was not very correct... past tense, present tense all mixed up together...

Pax: Your lattern has sides? Can show me? I want to make..

Astro: Yah, I got lost in the magic too. And wished that there's really a magic tree somewhere. I remember always looking out along long journeys to Malaysia and wondering if a strong looking tree was the magic faraway tree..
Do you remember the Enchanted Flying Chair? (can't remember the full title) That series is nice too.

Pax: Do you know how I can watch korea drama? There's one on KBS I'm following.. But I want to fast forward instead of watching only one episode each weekend.. The title is the Kind of Legend. I can't find it on my soju. Is there another site?

Pax,
your lanterns look ok ah. not rough. just add more flowers and will look nicer.

Astro,
You bring red packets along tomorrow ok? and a stapler! I can meet u either lunch time or after class.

Thank you autumn ! What time can u wait till? Coz erm need revise UT with class aft lessons so maybe end at 4 plus lei. Same goes for tue too

Astro, huh. We meet at 12+pm can? Cos I want to rush home la. Tues I driving up to Ipoh. So I think tmr would have last min packing to do.

Autum: I am coming down with an headache... Later might sleep early so likely to need that period of time to finish up the revision materials. Hmm, I think I catch u next year instead! U teach me for the next lunar new year hor? :p

Pax,

That's correct. You don't have to write an entire story all in past tense or all in present tense. In fact, within one paragraph, you can have both past and present tense. Depends on what you are talking about, that's all.