(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

SQ,
faint! we are same yr from the grey school! so we could have walked past each other??! aye, u are my age leh. :p

Astro,
what is HC?

Both my sil and bil are from RJ! Except for my hubby who's from HCJC.. Hahah.. But I think he's faring well among the 3 of them ler..

Academic Smartness is not equal to Street Smartness..

In today's world, I think street smartness is more impt!

Oh.. Ayden and Anna's teeth are in good condition. Dentist just did simple polishing for them.. The surprise is Ayden didn't really put up a big fight. Hahaha!!
And I thought his teeth will have decay, cos I've only just stopped him drinking from the milk bottle.

Dentist just assumed I have stopped them drinking from the milk bottle, and I said yes..

Wah Liao, today u all talk abt sch again n this time which we studied... My god! I didn study jc wor, so out of discussion Liao.. Haha

I think I was the teachers' pet in primary school.. Cos I wasn't a proud or notti kid.. They like to sit me besides those poorer students.. Cos they think it'll influence these students to study hard. I think it really helped..
And I was chosen to compete in the school story telling competition.. Haha..

AAA, can i ask how u stop them from drinking from milk btl. I recently just change Clyde's to drink spout and he complain big time. I have not done anything for gwyen yet.

But when I entered sec school, my goodness.. I think I became the teachers' nitemare! Was quite rude to them, and I always rally the class to bully the relief teachers.. When I think abt it, I feel esp bad for one of my relief teachers.. She was trying so hard to please the class.. *shake head*

Germaine: I just stopped one day.. But that's me lah, I'm very extreme with my kids..
For you, I suggest you do it in steps..
Let me ask you.. Which is their most enthusiastic feed? Is it the morning feed? If yes, then start giving the milk in a cup instead of the milk bottle for that feed. There'll be some protest in the beginning, be prepared (and really mean it) to tell him he can go without milk if he doesn't want to drink from the cup. If he drinks from the cup, throw him heaps of praise, clap your hands, and tell everyone (your hubby, meimei, his teachers etc etc) abt it in front of him. Let him feel good..
Then after 2 weeks, I'll say you do the same with the night feed.

Start with korkor first. Once korkor is successful, then train meimei up. How old is your meimei?

I think the night feed is the tougher one to rid of the milk bottle..

Astro: Hahah.. I totally share the same feelings. We compare Ayden and Anna all the time! And we're also careful not to let Ayden hear what we say.. But I tell you.. This boy is throwing surprises back at us, by not losing out! Now we're saying meimei is the fastest and smartest among them. So we have to be careful that this doesn't affect the other 2. :p I guess it's only human nature we compare..

Talking about being teachers' pet, I was my Chinese teachers' pet for the 10 years of pri & sec school life and the nightmare of English, Science teachers and discipline master/mistresses. I get praises, compliments from my Chinese teachers. I took part & did well in Chinese composition writing, storytelling & 诗歌朗诵 competitions.
But at the same time, I got all sorts of punishment & complaints from the other group of teachers. My mum must have thought I had split personality then. :p

Germaine: Don't panic. There's nothing to catch up.. You start by telling him he's a big boy now and he can drink from the cup already.. Blah blah blah.. And then, just do it one day. Just start..

And I think Reyden is soooo like me. :p His chinese teacher is full of praises for him while his English teacher is full of complaints. :S We choose to be good selectively, hehe.

Autum,
back then, I felt very happy whenever my chinese teacher is my form teacher. At least my mum won't get so paiseh going for the PTC. wahaha!!

Autum
I can't believe tis
Which class were u in?

Edde/Astro
U teachers wil love me
I was one of those dumb ones
But I studied hard
Nvr take mc even when sick
Nvr late for school
Always sit in front
I was THAT kiasu

N during my two yrs JC, I went to sch everyday early in the am
Stayed back aft class for 'private' tuition for my 'Further' Maths
I did every question in those 10 yrs series n clarified my doubts
When it's exam time, I studied til 10pm in school, then catch the last bus home
Many a times I miss my bus cos I have night blindness n can't c the numbers
Then flag down wrong bus or ONI flag at the last minute
Often gana scolded by the bus drivers

Looking back I must hv been a nightmare for my maths teacher cos
She always had to do OT for me!

SQ,
I'm the one that said "payback". I typed "retribution" actually but think it's too harsh a word. haha! :p

so i missed the speed of our school chat today. alamak.
quite intersting, but i am not from local school here, so no contribution.

astro, i agree that smart student (academically at least) dun need to study too hard also can score de. some students can study 24 hours also dun score well de.
so what? eventually everyone will be the same la.

i was telling jay that AAA mentioned 275 is a good score for a pri school. so we were thinking if we dun want to do PV., can still get into school or not? we are lazy la.
if cannot innova, then siling ba..

SQ
We not same fac. Cos I dun need to do F Maths de. Mine is Com. The lousy fac. Wahaha. :p Actually I kind of regret going to that grey school. I didn't enjoy my time there.

Sq,

Y u say yrself until like tt? Aiyo, u r diligent gal, n smart enough to go uni. I didn go jc, but go poly, not gd enough for local uni, so go overseas to study uni. Ay, sounds worse than u wor... Haha

Mist
My mum always tells us tt if we can make it to local u, she wil see us through our education
She told us rite fr e start tt we won't b able to go overseas n study de
So it's take it or leave it

Aaa,

Hv to take some que fr u, my elder boy still drinking fr bottle! Lazy me, Hvn't start to wean him off fr bottle....

Sq,

Haha then I am e cannot make it one... But I paid back e fees to my mum wor... I think when it's my boys turn, I cannot afford e ex sch fees Liao. They Hv to go local uni... :p

ahaha... all these alma mater/ back to school talk! i went to green black white fr sec sch to jc...
like AAA, i din study hard. too preoccupied, but still got to uni n studied wat i wan...

QQ,
my house is within 1km of both evergreen and admiralty pri. my neighbour said Evergreen beta school. then last year when i was in the feeder bus, he told me his home is at marsiling but he attends evergreen!

pax: hahah. green black white.. u make it sound like a gang.. well at least.. the eli** gang? hahahha

sq: ur tenacity and dillgience is what needs to be inculcated in ur girls..
i read ur story of ur diligence. and it puts me to shame.. i pretty much 'wasted' my opportunity away in primary and secondary.. coz i too was 'occupied'.. not with puberty though.. haha
if u cld demonstrate and make ye and yh embody the same kind of dilligence. i tell u. they will go far in life.. ok lah. if want to be humble (as u always wld prefer to).. how about this? u contribute 40% to their dilligence while Mr Choo gives them the remaining intelligence.. wow.. potent stuff!

Autum: HC. Hwa Chong..

Huingee:'lousy' as in.. it is def not the top.. not lousy as the school is lousy
.. coz if need go ranking.. then it can't squeeze in..
ACTUALLY.. if i offer another hint. u can pretty much arrive at Miser's JC
Hint: Miser is lazy.. he does the proximity thing.. and that time.. no innova... got it? :p

QQ:which is why.. miser says.. not good to try to send teng there.. lest he gets influenced to play. but he can't match up if he doesn't study.. :S.. hmm.. seems like hor.. correct me if i am wrong.. u all pretty much like Miser leh.. he is take it easy wor... are u and jay too? how i envy pple who have natural high intelligence.. no matter how jialat. nothing can diminish their natural talent..

i have a long talk with miser on sending teng to 2013 primary one or not.. and it is not diff to guess. miser's viewpt --> Don't send..

he offers the following reasons:
1. let teng PLAY.. let him have a childhood..
2. He feels kids these days go to school TOO early
3. one year or not, makes NO difference.. even 5 years.. it all evens up in the end
4. (and this one i concur also) for teng it might backfire. given he is not secure.. and not the go-ahead and run everyone down like bally..
5. Don't need to rush...

haiz.. i went to talk to LV today. his CL and EL teachers.. i wanted to know curriculum differences.. social i already know teng will have problem if i change him to K1 this year.. and he can't even write properly yet. dun say read/spell/write at K1 standard.. my greatest worry is backfire.. i don't have an issue with him 'losing' some content.. no issue. coz i concur that eventually he will write.. he will read.. as everyone do.. and even myself.. but i worry that he takes it negatively.. and then instead of moving forward one step.. he takes 10 steps backward.. as it have consistently showed.. till now he still makes it obvious in the mornings.. and only very recently. v happily and contented to be left alone for his enrichment classes..

the love of learning needs to be cultivated.. rushing into things might make it worse.. the damages might not be worth the headstart in the end.. my biggest concern...

haiz.. if only teng is more outgoing and secured.. i wun be considering that much liao..

:S

and hor.. sometimes i am not sure how much we cld 'assume' on behalf on the kid.. i mean. i can't even be sure what kind of person teng will turn out to be.. and for that matter i dun think anyone can have the confidence..

so that leaves 2 povs
1. be proactive and mould him to be
2. Leave it to fate and let him find his route

just 5 minutes ago. Mr Miser tells me.. he wants teng to be #2.. he finds we are over providing him things that he has no room to explore.. nor appreciate..

autum/Mejo: Self directed learning? *snigger*
haiz..

YY,
YJC ah? No jc in Woodlands last time, right?

Mich,
I've got client last time that teaches in Evergreen. She says it's a pretty good school in that area.

QQ: siling? tat is within my 2km zone too! shd teng and tian be classmates?! haha
i used the one map sg provided by kiasu parent.. not too bad. show u clearly which are the 2 km and 1 km schools..

Mist
I din get gd results compared to 70% of my JC cohort. I chose a popular course in the not-so-popular uni where they also need to fill the female quota! My JC tutor wanted me to drop a subj so they can upkeep the "perfect" std. It din help that my ex in JC was hardworking n intelligent, while i'm lazy n stupid. Btw i got in bcos affiliated n eca....

Astro,

For a while I was wondering Wat 2013 P1 u talking abt for teng... Then I realized I forgot tt he's 1st Jan baby. Actually my opinion, y not let him belong to his Yr of peers rather than lags behind behind his snr if he joins e earlier batch. More motivating as a kid tt he's ahead Mah... Jus my Thot lah.

Many of my ferns said tt my no2 Lugi cos his 5 Jan, miss e opportunity to go sch 1 Yr earlier. I was like, tt is not an issue mah, I rather he be comfortable w his pace n his peers rather than panting away trying to catch up n eventually gives up.

SQ, u are too humble. i admire your diligence too.

astro, there are a few school of tots if u were to send teng earlier or later.

i have an example for my brother.
he was a brilliant kid, and he scored full As when he was in pri 5 (so called PLSE here but at p5). he chose not to go direct into form 1 (our sec 1), because last time his era everyone needs to attend a preparation class (called REMOVE) before attending sec 1. (kaexin knows).
he insisted not to skip one year ahead as compared to others, while all others hoping that they have a chance to do so.
my parents did a big mistake, they persuade him to go direct to sec 1 cause he can catch up for sure. my auntie was a pri school teacher, she was so happie that this nephew brot her face and such, she FORCED him to go direct.
my bro eventually din get any choice but have to go direct.
he told me he lost his childhood, he lost his friends and he gave up on his study eventually.
he did ok for his o level but he did badly for his A level because he never study at all. his intelligence can only last till o level.

if we ask my mum now, she will say there is no difference of studying earlier or not. she kind of regret

if we ask my brother, he will say he was forced to do it, and he hates the system. he likes to stay with his friends actually.

that time he was already P5, he has his own thinking.

as for teng, he is still v young, he might thank you for putting him in school earlier for some reason.
however, do we give them a choice?

i have seen many kids who did not regret by joining older kids in study. however, my brother is an exceptional case.

if tian is 1 jan kid, i also dont know what to do. my brother will advise me that dont send her earlier, because she can have another year of childhood. one year is really not a big differnce when they become independent.

jay is more kancheong for pri school for tian, i feel that neighbourhood school is fine, because i came from the only neighbour hood school last time at my kampung. still survive ma.

Pax,

Well, does tt make a difference? If u ask me, it doesn't make any diff. I choose to go poly though my results qualified me to go jc, till today I still feel tt I've made e right choice. Maybe, jus maybe, I would write better if I opt for jc but doesn't matter, I enjoyed my poly days....

AStro, i also used the onemap, but i oni look at those within 1km de.
i wonder if within 1km got school bus or not. if walk there everyday also quite tiring le. then i will choose siling.

i told jay about siling, then he said stress la, if siling is good, then we also need that be PV? hope dun need to do PV also can go in type. see how.

woodlands got JC.. innova JC lor.