(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

ok ok.. QQ< and SQ, i am gonna spam some pics we took yesterday. pity, i didn;t take a lot..

RR: yeah not a big area but its new and clean, i like and so near too, enuff for the kids. And i like the K9 area too. I will spam some pics i took this after noon too.

ok reading archives now just got back from my sis's place.

AAA
u are so funny 4th time mum? wow!! u must be such a happy mummy enjoying the company of your 3 As that u even think of #4!!

Star
roger. will rem to pass to RR or i will buzz u if i m ard the area ya.

SQ
well said ! agree that we are our kiddos only mummy

Chloe &amp; Ethan do look quite alike though i think ethan is thinner now compared to jie jie's growing stages

Huingee
Thank u. Ethan got da xiao yen.. stimes i think its quite 'big' but most times it's small le, then recently i find the eye ball getting bigger n rounder compared to new born haha.. now i m concern abt beefing him up, i think he is small for a 7 mth bb.. hmm

SQ: i love the smile of YE in the photos, she is very photogenic. The 3rd pic is quite amusing cos they looked so engross with the spring.. hahah

ok ok, now some shots i took at the waterplay area today.. heheh hope can post cos paint is driving me mad with the resizing!

4951614.jpg

She is so posey!! hahah these 2 pics(this and the one in the next post) looks like fashion editorial spread hor.. buey tahan her.
4951610.jpg

AAA: Hotel Equatorial is quite old, if u do go in again, u can consider the Holiday Inn, i love the hotel so much.

Show u a view from my room. I look out to the straits of malacca and the hotel pool.
4951684.jpg

star
wah rae really can pose like a model, see the way she places her legs esp the 1st pic of the waterplay area :p is that at nex?

Happy New Year Mummies, hope im not too late to wish everyone good health and a fulfilling 2011!

QQ
i will put the CP loot in my house, u can SMS me to collect from rina.

Blurbelle, SQ
your #1 and #2 look really alike. mine look totally different.

pix of my gals at Jurong Birdpark. pictures like these make me feel that i made the right choice to have #2. Leia is daddy's girl while enya is mummy's sweetie. very fair.

4951745.jpg
4951746.jpg

haha!! this rae can b a model. and she can pose like miss universe... or miss singapore? haha!
see her 1st pic in swimsuit.

i go orh orh liao.
pink, jay will go collect one day.
and huingee, jay or myself will drop by your department one day this coming wk too.

nite!!

Pax: Yes, she s very funny. She broke a glass in the restsurant while hubby went to get food for her. When we asked her what happened, she said she was trying to hit a mosquito! But this trip she has behaved badly. Ayden was surprisingly well behaved given we expected him to be the nottier one.

Belle: No lah... I m not planning to have #4.

Star: Rae is another poser! She can stand like a model! Yah the hotel is quite old. Think hubby left it to his secretary to book the hotel. I know we could t get another hotel cos that was fully booked for the New Year weekend. I could see the straits of malacca from one of the balconies too..

QQ: So because we are their only mum, they can t do a fair comparison lah. It s always a biased view. :p I dunno if I enjoyed myself, but I was all tired out from the trip.. Actually there s nothing much to be done in malacca right? Think this was my 3rd trip there ler..

Pink: Your girls are cute! All my children love daddy. They are always asking me where is papa. :p If ayden wakes up late and only sees me in the room, he ll ask me where is papa. :p
The first question ayden asked when he wakes up in the morning

Pink
Enya is so pong pong n such a sweetie pie

Aaa
I kept reminding myself n Hb by wondering out loud: 'Do I prefer a life without kids but more control/material comfort/privacy/etc, or do I prefer a messy house with kids' laughter all day round?'

I always come back to the same answer. Then I tell myself to jus shut up n do my very best. Though my 'best' is different from your 'best' n someone else's 'very best'

I know Wat u mean by 'bad days'. Some days I wonder if my kids wil turn out btr w/o me stayg @ home n lording over tem. The answer is no. Growing up w a mummy is definitely diff from growing up with ONI maids/grandparents @ home. At least I can hv more inputs ovr the kind o person I want tem to b.

Jus like YE Nw. I'm happy to hear fr her principal n teachers Wat a well behaved n polite girl she is. It doesn't matter that she can't write her name/ spell alot o words. I look out for feedback n Wat kind o person n character she is becoming. I'd rather she has 人缘n gets along w people, than being top in class/clever etc. If I dun SAH, then I hv less control ovr character building n can ONI watch how she grows.

Of course the working mums here also can do these, but I know I can't de. Haha. My small brain can ONI do so much at one time. Work vs family. I can ONI hv ONE S priority(Wh is why I peifu the working mums)

When I was akid, my mum gave up her job n devoted her life to us (in fact til Nw she stil does. In addition to hovering ovr us, she hovers ovr my kids too!)

Even when she lies seriously ill in the hospital bed n can't eat/drink, she stil runs the household fr the hospital! She amazes me. I grew up seeing my frens with wkg mums n tell mine to jus leave me alone. Then I insisted on Nt eating her homecooked meals so I can hangout at the canteen n fast food joints with frens n tell tem n my mum in no uncertain terms how nice it is to hv mothers wkg n eating out n 没人管我. Luckily I hv a v sensible fren whose mum was wkg n 'counsel' me o/w. The older I grew, the more I hear abt others' household n realized Wat a lucky gal I hv been. N I told my mum Ltr on how wrong i hv been!

I m a SAHM tdy cos I aspire to b like my own mum. If I do thgs rite, one day YE n meimei wil tel me tey r glad I SAH w tem. Tey may make a diff choice when it's their turn but Tt's ok. I also know I can Nvr b s gd a mum s my own, so Tt's an inspiration but I still set realistic n reachable goals for myself *Ah Q self consolation*

I m telling u this cos I know exactly Wat those 'bad days' u r talking abt feels like. N u may b too harsh on urself (in this sense we r quite similar)

I imagine life for my kids without me n no way will they b btr off. 有妈妈在是不一样的

On a lighter note...

QQ
Haha my Hb is the VERY-contented-until-can-rot kind
He will NEVER change house I suspect
In fact chances r he wil grow old n die in this house
*shudder at the morbid thought*

It is Nt only priority cos frankly I'm too lazy to shift
N I dun like to look at finances n calculate type
Haha

Star
Rae can really post!
I dun let my gals play at such water play area de
Cos Thks to my mum, she keeps telling me kis running ard w wet clothes will fall sick! N sometimes when there is a strong gust of wind tey get cold n start sneezing n catch a cold!
Then true enuf, on occasions when I dun heed her advice n let YE run wild n wet at e pool, she comes back w runnynose!

Yes tis Rae really can post at the camera. Lucky u hv a ready model for ur camera. YE sometimes wil refuse to take pictures or she 1 2b e cameraman instead

I also wonderhow come tey r so engrossed w e spring. I Tot tey r too old for it le

Pax
U must b such a regular at waraku u can recognize the place

morning! wha this is the 1st week of 2011 .. all my colleagues back to off today. Wishing all mummies a good 2011 this yr.

Pink, wha enya is soo cute.. hahaha such a sweet photo of the 2 girls.

AAA: but its a good attempt this trip to bring 2 kids on your own there.. hahah, i enjoyed my last malacca trip a lot of maybe the last time i was there was when i was in sec school, i find the place changed a lot, lot of big mall. ACtually equatorial location is good cos u are within walking distance to all the historical sites and the famous peranakan restaurants.
Actually its very tiring to bring our kids on a holiday, and u brought 2 of them somemore. were they well behaved on the way there?
And how come u and your hb goes up t malacca so often?

QQ, SQ, we should go malacca!!

SQ if u guys are comfy, no need to move lah. urs current is a 5room? point blk isit?

Talking about being a good mum, i am also quite scared now, hope i can really manage and be fairwhen #2 comes along.

Ash: u flying today? have a safe trip.

pax, yeah its warauku.. hahah do u go there often?

pax, wah u are waraku VIP?
this is my 2nd time in waraku, 1st time was another branch at tanjung pagar, i think more than 5 years ago. haha!!

SQ, i told jay (before ur response) that u prob will stay at clementi for many years. I was so right. haha!!!
I feel quite touch about your mum. i think YE and Yhui will definitely appreciate your stay with them at home, though it might come at a later stage (same as you) or earlier like now. when they are in teens age, more rebellious thus we also bobian.

AAA, actually i also told jay many times, i am not a good mum, etc etc etc... jay's response is always:" if you are not a good mum, then not many good mums liao. I also want to be your kids, so xing4 fu2."
my response:" is it? call me mama then."

Star, frankly speaking, i feel quite poor thing for didi now, cause we always dump him to our maid while all focus is still on tian. now didi has learn to protest and scream for us. in a way good also otherwise we wont even know if he is there.
malacca? before u deliver or after?

SQ,
I like your words. Very inspiring. But for me, it's the other way round.. I don't have a very inspiring mother.. (cos she has to work and don't have the time and energy).. so for me, I always tell myself, I don't want to be like my mother.. :p Of course, I still love my mother dearly, and I understand she doesn't have a choice, because she is a single parent.. so now, what i tell myself is, since I have a choice, I must do much better than her and be the kind of mother I hope to have as a kid (having home cooked meals, picnics, waterplay, etc..). I think we all do our "best" in our own ways. I can't agree more!

QQ,
haha, MAMA! :p

Autum
I admire pple like u
Kids who grew up in a tough envy n yet turned out so well
My mum used to tell show lucky we r n we 生在福中不知福but of course I jus treat her words s 耳边风

Ya I psycho myself many pple dun hv a choice cos o demands of living, so I m lucky. I jus need a roof ovr my head n Tt's al I ask for

Mama QQ
Haha

morning ladies

morning to u too, mama QQ. ..hey.. it matches ur login!..--> 'mmqq'.. was that ur intention?

SQ: woo-hoo.. words of wisdom indeed..

autum: guess.. what?.. i am like u! ha.. my mother wasn't that... my environment is tough..but i grew up anyway.. so it kinda enforced the preception that i just grew up like that..:S. .. but unlike u.. i am still not sensible to realise she didn't had a choice.. ha...i dun have high expectations of myself as a mother because i know i am too detached to be one.. for me.. as long as my kids know the meaning of 'mother' more than the literal meaning of it.. i am happy liao..

hmmm. blusy. could be monday and new year blues. . cld be simply i have class today!

hmmmm.. i am thinking of doing someting drastic again.. like quit and do part time!.. i wonder why i think of that.. but i realised.. i can't go beyond 3 years without feeling bored at the job.. chiam :S

Star/QQ/SQ: u all going to malacca? march?.. haiz.. i told Mise ri am becoming a hermit yesterday.. his response is.. 'what's wrong with that?' :S

Thanks AA and star..

teng today NOTTI!.. ahh.. ignored him as he whined away for my attention in the cab.. arghh..

AA: it is taxing to bring kids anywhere alone sans help.. but such things involve getting accustomed to and soon things wld be fine.. i remembered i had to pyscho myself to SMiLE while brining teng ot hong kong last itme.. come late march/early april.. i wanna bring teng and yh to japan.. ho ho ho.. god bless me.. (this yh is energier bunny.. he can refuse sleep.. smile at u.. not fuss..BUT at night.. he wakes up screaming on top of hs voice.. and he needs a lot of pacifying to get back to sleep.. haiz)...

SQ: Thanks for writing so much of your thoughts.. I appreciate..

Our situation has many differences wor. If there is a qualifying test, you'll surely pass the test.

You stay at home and you're involved with the kids, whereas I stay at home and still leave everything to the maids. But do I want to be more involved? I really don't cos I don't enjoy the babycare chores. And unlike you, given a choice, I will still pay for this "service".

I grew up with a working mum. I watched with envy those friends with sahms and I questioned and asked my mum how come she did not sah like so and so's mum, and I made a promise to myself that I will sah with my kids when I have kids, only to find when I fulfil my promise that it's not something simple nor is it something all women is meant to do or capable of doing.

You have watched how your mum ran the household as a child and could draw on her experience. Through watching, next time YE and YH will be able to learn from your experience. I wish I can say the same with my kids, but no lah. There's nothing for them to learn from me.. :p Hopefully, like Autum, they can learn what not to become.

My biggest fear is if my hubby were to leave this world prematurely. He compensates and fills in the gaps where I'm lacking and believe me, there are lots of gaps, that if he's not around one day, I won't be able to fill up those gaps ler.. What a morbid thought! But I think of it now and then. :p

Star: Not that hubby and I have been to malacca so many times, I was there before with my friends when younger. Yup, lots of changes, but the attraction sites, besides the new malls, are more or less the same I guess?
Yup, the hotel is within the walking distance of the attractions and restaurants, but we still drove out. And we didn't really cover much. We only walked one stretch of shops along the road from the chic rice and chendol stall.
Hey, the stall sells this giant lollipop. Very cute. I got them one each, and they were so happy.

QQ: Looks like all mums have self-doubts hor? Hmm.. When didi is older and can walk and run, I'm sure you'll be bringing him out together too. It was the same case for us with ayden. He's left at home most times, until he's more independent, now we're doing the same to meimei, but I know that when she's older, we'll also be bringing her out together..

And hor.. We concluded here that children cannot remember anything before 3 yrs old right?? So you see... He won't know de..

Actually I doubt that they don't remember, but I happily accept it cos it serves me better. :p

Astro: Yup.. It needs getting used to. Funny thing is we still choose to do it over and over.. Haha..
YH is a bit like Ayden, playful. Add to that, Ayden doesn't have any fear. We can pretend to walk away from the mall, and hide to see if he'll follow, and he won't. He'll simply continue doing whatever he was doing.

Motherhood is not easy, we all learn along the way. All children are different too so there are no specific one way to teach/deal with them. This is an ongoing learning process for all of us.
and above all, love for our kids are very important. And it is this love for them that keep us going and make us want to be better parents for them too. i just hope that my children will remain close to me next time when they grow older.

AAA: I asked if you frequent malacca cos you posted that this is your 3rd time there, so i just assumed that u head over there often with your hubby.:p
I also wanna add, human beings are very amazing, i am sure if your hb is not around (touch wood hor), u will step up and fill up all the gaps cos your love for your children will be so strong and it is also this that will give you the courage to do and provide the best for them.

AAA
im absolutely not a good mum if I really want to compare! I just do whatever I feel I'm capable of amd what makes me happier. I prefer a balance between spending time with my kids vs spending time for my personal growth. everyone is different. no right or wrong.
both hubby and i are not hands-on, cos we leave the kids to the cc, the grandparents and the maid. the truth is, if i really want to get very involved, im sure there'll be a lot of conflicts among the women, so i leave it as it is.

Pink: The balance is good.
I think I'll appreciate them more (and vice versa) if I'm out working. Hubby and I are also very hands off.. Hey, I think you've slimmed down. What did you do again? Tell me more.. I feel I've put on weight after this festive season of feasting and eating.

Star: The other day when I brought anna for her eye check-up I met this mother with her son. The boy is in sec 1 or sec 2, and they're very close. While waiting for anna's turn, the mum and I shared a bit. She told me when the boy was younger that he had asked for a sibling, but as he grew older, he no longer does.. Now the boy and her are best pals! The boy is very si wen and well behaved. I'm so envious.

Aaa
I wld prefer tt some1 does e chores too
But I m such an ostrich n bcos I refuse to manage a 4th human being beyond my kids n Hb, I hv to do thgs myself

But when I m w my Hb or ah ma, I leave thgs to tem s much s I can
So we r similar
If I hv a gd maid, I wil gladly leave her to thgs too
But since no one will spare me a gd maid n I m too lazy to train my own, I hv 2b my own maid

Dun talk abt involvement
I SAH but I dun teach my kids Anythg
Oops
Tt's when j really wonder Wat I SAH For
So tt I can b THE maid!
Haiz
别提了

Star
I also wonder when u r talking abt malacca wor
Haha

Astro
My meimei also like yhe
Which is y I always Thk god is fair

Aaa
I agree w Star
We wil rise to the occasion n fill the void if need b
If my Hb leaves b4 me, I worry for the kids too!
But Tt's Nt sth j would 1 2 Thk too much of n scaring myself
What will be will be
(one of YE's fav song)

SQ: Looks ARE deceiving, esp when it comes to ayden. He looks so docile and demure, but he s super notti, but cute too lah. Hehe... He s starting school on wed!! Hubby and I wonder how the teachers will cope with him.
Anna has moods when taking pics. She could smile as easily as she could fret and pout. She s notti during this trip wor. I wonder why, she s quite a well behaved girl in general.

I just did my confession. It does the soul good to confess.

AAA: Anna is as posey as Rae... both can fight.. hahaha for the Miss Singapore title :p.. hahaha
Love anna's smile in the pic, so sweet!
Ayden removed his 5pt harness? i envy children who can sleep in car seat, rae cant at at our last malacca trip, she cried for half an hr cos she cant fall asleep on the car seat, when i pull her off and carry her, she fell asleep immediately and for 3 hrs after that!! i was aching by the time we got home!

SQ: well said, yes we will all "rise to the occassion" when we are required to.

Aaa
I told Hb the ONI way he can prove his love for me is to let me 'go' 1st. Haha
N I jus Wana end by saying 'u chose to SAH with tem, how bad can it be'?

At the end o the day, at least we can say we tried. Honest effort.

SQ: i think if i were to go first, i will not " leave" peacefully leh. That is if a spirit still have feelins/emotions. I will worry for my kids, hb, family! vice versa, i think if hb were leave before me, it would be the same too (touch wood).
aiyo why are we so morbid in this first week of the new yr. ..hehe

SQ: Thanks thanks.. Given a choice, I ll still choose to sah with them, you re right.
There are as many "pains" as there are "gains" staying at home. For those happy moments, they re worth it!

Haha!! One more thing abt the trip.. Anna was pretending to be a duck and went quack quack quack along the hotel corridor while ayden pretended to be a dog and wor wor wor along the corridor! I pity those staying on our floors. Was so noisy!

AAA
your hubby is hands-off but he did the bathing etc? I have very little patience.

i have been going for yoga twice a week. u wana join? pure yoga at chevron.

Mist: wanna pm me your add? The lipstick set is here, I ll mail to u, ok?

Pink: Which days? Yah I wanna join..
Hubby has his sports nites on wed and sun, I shd be ok other nites.
He enjoys them much more than me. Also he does it cos he knows I may not enjoy the chores.

Star: ayden never fail to fall asleep in the car. Sometimes as little as 20 mins is enough to bring him to dreamland. But it s really an indication he has insufficient sleep in the nite.