(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

mommies tks I know bb health most impt n hb keep reminding me tt bb can feel it

ck: I reminded myself tt it's god's gift no matter of gender. it's juz gd to hv another bb n preferred gender is juz a bonus

SQ: not blunt la, I had same thots too tt such hi % still can change. was 80% g n now 90% b

pax: I've planned to use vacuum bags for jkts for handcarry but I Iike star's sug on those recycle bags too. Tks didn't think of those

can someone tell me if you know about the price?
what is the price of surgery for bilateral inguinal hernia?
cause i asked kkh, they said dunno.?
then there is this pte rate and subsidised rate? if i wanna take subsidise rate, then have to go poly and get referral. if not, then consider pte patient.
each consultation is differnt in price.

Subsidised:
$28 each consultation,
earliest appt is 25 Jan.

Pte rate:
$80 each consultation,
earliest is 30 dec.

there is 1 month diff, and i feel like going pte.
just dunno if i am being kaykiang and might have a huge bill next time.

QQ,
did you get insurance for ah will? There are few types of hernia, not sure if there'll be vast difference for the surgeries. I've done a hernia claim for a client's gal (subsidized), about $2k including pre & post.

Private bill should be about $3k+. It's going to be a day surgery for ah will, right? Or babies need to stay for observation?

Pax
Nice! I m sure the teachers will like it.

QQ
If it's a one-off thing then go private is ok. But if u think it may be longer term, like need follow up care or surgery, then go Poly to get letter is worth bah. Did u buy insurance for Will?

RR, Autum, thanks
i also think if it is one off thing, then can go pte. faster gaodim
i think he is in pain, though could be slightly. i dunno if bb needs to stay for observation, or just day surgery and go home.

i bought insurance for him, hospitalisation one. however there is a 90 or 120 days wait period right? so i am not sure. now asking agent to check and get back to me. if this is an inborn problem then also not claimable la.
so juist prepare that cannot claim.

if 3-4K, ok la. i might want to go pte.
anyway pte i have other choices too. mt A, etc etc. dun need to wait for kkh that have > 1-2 months queue for appt, then surgery dunno how many months wait period.
i also feel that this could b affecting ah will's development a bit, cause when he flip le, he scream and want us to put him back to lie down.

Another pt for consideration will ah will be well enuff for 30 dec appt? If he is nt maybe also be good to build up his health n let him see doc in jan.

star,
pd said can go see doctor le by the time suegery is scheduled, he should b recovered.
if not recovered then we will b even more worried.

QQ
U mean aft ah wil flip he scream cos o pain?
Then gd to fix it soon
When it comes to kids I usually won't hv e patience to wait
If adult condition then I hv more patience

But o cos if u can wait then wait if u r concerned abt cost

Case in point:
For YE's birth, we spent a bomb in pte
I Tot I wld hv gone kkh if I had known earlier
But come meimei's turn, we still went mt E
Cos I hv a trusted gynae n PD there
Plus I was happy with mt E n know I would certainly pu3 hei4 if I go anywhere else n get anything less

So ultimately it's still up to u

Sorry if u feel that 我说了等于白说

QQ,
ya, there's a waiting period. Then might not be able to claim from insurance le. You just got the insurance?

KKH private also need to queue for 1-2 mths for surgery?

RR,
this kkh, need to wait 1.5 month to see surgeon. then surgery need to wait another 1-2 months.
so u think i will wait?
i am such an impantient person regarding my kids. if it is ah jay i will ask him to wait. i bought when ah will was 1.5-2 months old. cause i was so busy and fan2 during that time about maid, etc, dun even have time to do other things.

SQ, ya i also tot that if i ask u, ur pattern will say go ahead to pte. haha!!
i understand the feeling of choosing pte or subsidised. my dad alway chose pte de, cause he wants ppl to attend to him immed. he cannot wait.

now i think think think, go pte bah. unless someone comes tell me that the cost is 5 digits.

QQ,
it won't be 5 figure unless complications. *touchwood*
Should be a day surgery and cost about $3-4k for normal pte hospital unless you go to Gleneagle, Mt E then more exp. Anyway can pay from your Medisave, right?

Share a joke from last night supper.

My inlaws bought KFC for our dinner last night, had quite a few pcs of leftovers so Kent brought home for supper last night.

Back home, he asked if I wanted to eat so I told him to help me heat up a pc of thigh meat. Apparently he couldn't be bothered and brought a pc of heated up breast meat to me.

I got fed up and nagged. Then he still add comments like "it's the same, chicken meat mah, why you so mafan". I told him "ok, next time you just touch my thighs will do, it's the same anyway". And I got my chicken breast changed almost immediately!! Wahahaha!! :p

QQ, Autum,

QQ,
Ya, that also say $3-4k for pte rates. But you got to take into account that these are govt hospitals.

RR, so u mean if i go pte hospitals then bill wil be higher?

see ah. this table i am quite blur also.
if go kk, but not subsidised rate, means wat?
if i go ward C, but under pte surgery, cheaper than ward A right?

QQ,
some pte hospitals will be more exp than govt hospitals pte rates. Don't think you need to look at the ward cos it should be a day surgery. If KKH not subsidized, it's considered govt pte rate.

RR, autum,
sounds chim.. but that means not much differnce if i go kk pte or pte hospital then.
this further affirms my choice.
anyway i will discuss with jay later he is now zzzz.

RR,

Wah liao, Yr joke is a good one!!! Haha no wonder Yr chic got change immediately, but I can't use this tactic on my hubby cos I like breast meat!! :p

QQ,

Depends on Hw complex ah wills condition, if str forward case, not much diff between pte n govt hos. N yes, pte patent can only choose b2 ward above.

Ash,

Personally, I also feel abit disappointed tt my #2 is a boy when scan showed e gender. But I got over quite fast, cos Baby's Heath is more impt than any other. Anyway, hv boys also good, I spend all my time n $ to doll myself up! Haha

QQ: if it's my hb, he has no patient to wait sure go for which ever faster.

RR: so funny!

Mist: accept my fate lo. But deep down still hope tt it's juz e finger. Hahahaha!!!!

SQ: since ye attending lnt le, why not let yh try schi?

M at tpy now waiting for car polish to b done. Juz finish my koi honey milk t, so sweet!

Ck,
Take care, is it very cold there?

Ash,
Cos you thot it's 80% girl initally, hence abit dissapointed. Heehee, boys can also be very sweet to mummy.

QQ,
Discuss with hb about Ah will's operation. At least he is citizen, easier to do many things. Also dun rush it unless dr ask you to do asap. Bring him go baibai for a smooth operation too.

QQ: Is there a trusted PD you want to perform the surgery on ah will? If so, got to check which hospital that doc is attached to? If u go under subsidized, the doc assigned to ah will is random, and everytime he goes for check up (Pre and post surgery) the doc attending to him is likely to be a different one, and waiting time is scarily long!!! In this sense, there s no "specialized care". You can consider pte in Govt hospital. Waiting is shorter and u can specify which specialist u want, and just wait for that specialist to have time.

QQ,
Yes, like what AAA said pte Govt hospital is good too if you choose a fix specialist. I like KKH cos it specialize in kids, dun go to the one near my office.

Qq: There can be quite a big difference in cost between kkh pte and pte hospital. The former is still a Govt hospital. Hmm... I would ask around for a specialist in kkh, and go under kkh pte with this dr to cut waiting time. Cos I believe a hernia surgery is considered quite common and minor, there shd be plenty of good drs at kkh to perform this well, so no need to go for specialized pte drs in pte hospitals.

Ash: Haha.. Yah, if really could be just a finger!
Your case reminded me if my friend s sis. Her gynae had told her all along to expect a girl, and she had gone and prepare pink stuff. This is her first born but in the family,, there are already 5 grandsons, no grand dotter. She is naturally excited. Then dunno at which month in the last tri, dr said it s a boy!!! Shd got into shock and cried. Good thing no need to buy too many things cos can get from the cousins. And my friend s mum had 6 grandchildren all boys...

QQ, i went to KKH for my treatment as "private" patient the last time. Faster service, but slightly cheaper than private rate. Honestly, i still prefer private hospital.