(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Ck , u back in sg?
CO looks good in the photos, u brought her to the turf club riding school? I think i need to bring rae there she loves horses.

CK, CO is so so mature. and of course she can be vain, she is a gal afterall.

AAA, huingee,mist, thanks.
i da3 ting1 da3 ting1 already, and heard from a mum (my fren's fren) with two boys who went for hernia operation. one at kkh, subsidised, one at pte,. pte one cost 3-4k. subsidised one cost 1k plus. there is really a difference in cost.
however her comment was: she feels that the one who went for pte, better recovery
the one from kkh, subsidised, seems more painful after op.

i am going for pte, could be kkh pte, as long as they are able to give me earlier slot. at few weeks i can wait, but not months.

so i am that impatient. of course my decision might changed after seeing surgeon. now need to see surgeon within 1 week or 2.

by the way i aready told sil to recover fast and she is on antibiotic now. good.

huingee, AAA,
i am v prone to do it at pte at kkh. my appt is at 30 dec. i will go see her, and if everything ok, can do op in jan, which is v soon.
meanwhile i will call my pd and ask her tomorrow.

oh by the way, my insurance agent told me that the chances of claiming insurance for ah will is 30%. cause if dr indicates that this is in born problem, then cannot claim.
but this was not detectednthen, so it could be claimed.
and if go mt A, it might b easier to claim.

QQ,
but the policy is inforce for more than 90 days already? Cos you said you got when he was around 2mths old. He's only 4mths+ now wor so less than 90 days?

You can let the doctor know that you want to file an insurance claim for this and see if he/she can "help". Sometimes you can just file a claim with a brief discharge summary instead of a detailed report that says it was a congenital condition.

QQ
if i were u, i would go pte hospital. nt pte govt hospital. even in pte govt hospital, the care still is nt as gd as in pte hospital. this is fr my own exp, as well as hearing fr friends. i hv heard of vv bad exp, even in A class ward, the care was really bad. then they switched to pte, got the immed attn n care.
hvg said that Ah Will is a bb n KKH is a specialist hospital n the op is nt a major one, shld b ok...
has Ah Will's case cnf as Hydrocele or Hernia? or u need the specialist to assess?

RR, the medishield one cannot le cause still within that period
pink of health is 30 days, and it is about 30 days or plus days. now
checking.
i should be submitted early nov woh.
aiya, anyway if no insurance also nevermind la. cause so complex. we wil still submit claims and it is v much dpending on the discharge summary

his experience told him that mt A is more cincai. all other hospital can give a long and detail summary thus unable to claim. they can just write suspected congenital.. then no more liao.
mt A wont

Conversation between YE n her daddy
YE: Wat is she doing papa? (referring to TV scene)
Hb: she is baking bread
YE: no. Bread no need to bake. Just go to the bakery n buy

Shows Wat a 'failure' I hv been

She better Nt tell her frens one day that chickens come from the supermarket shelves (instead of the farm)

QQ
the other thing is make sure nobody goes near Ah Will during this time of recovery. no choice leh. u hv to make sure he gets well soon. with small bb in the house, u hv to lay down the rules. make sure anybody who want to carry him must sanitise hands...

pax,
hernia was diagnosed oni at Dr ong there. about 1 week ago.
initally mentioned hydrocele by GP but this hydrocele can wait till 1 yo and see if it goes away
so dr ong said go pd surgeon and get advise. she said it is v high chance operation de. cause quite big
an d me and my maid feel it it gets bigger and bigger nowadays.

pax, now the rules is still hidden, but i think they all know that i am v gancheong and start scolding ppl. tian also knows that she when as to sanitise hands when she comes home. she will remind everyone to sanitise.

i have become so impatient now. i must drink liang cha already.

Oops pax
I duno Wat tt is abt
Btr go check out
Tks for e pointer

QQ
R u sure?
Ur mind Nt playg tricks on u?

SQ, it could be mt E. and suddenly i have become so high class and go mt E. or shall I say Ah will is more high class now. haha!
anyway, i talk to pd tomorrow and see what she says. maybe she has better advice.
yesterday i oni told her go kkh, got subsidised rate.

SQ, i guess must b out women's mind playing tricks cause jay said no changes.
everfytime i say ah will slim down le, but the weighing scale tell me otherwise
so i think i am sot sot liao

QQ
beta get it done asap (fr wat i read)... 30 dec sounds like vv long time away. u wan to c a pte surgeon instead? or all in NUH & KKH??!!

QQ
put small btls of sanitiser everywhere. nt jus at the door. in the living rm, kitchen, bdrm, places where Ah Will mostly will "stay" and pple wan to carry him must sanitise their hands. u dunno where the germs r, seriously.

SQ
i dun think QQ's eyes r playing tricks. this condition can get quite serious. won't wan to it to get complicated.

QQ,
ya, Pink of Health waiting period is 30 days.
Mt E bill size might be quite abit more compared to Mt A wor.

star, his cough and phlegm, i think better ba but i am unsure cause i cannot hear wheezing but dr said still got. so going for review this thursday. should be ok after 1-2 weeks.

pax, tomorrow i will call dr ong liao. cause i wanna tell her the waiting period and suchask her if got recommendation or any advice.
i also feel tat it is a bit long to drag till 30 dec. i told kkh i wanna see earlier they din allow de, so rigid. got policies la.
actually the deciding factor will be WHEN the op can be done. i haven't told my mum, probably if i tell her she will say i am too tu2 already.

RR, yes the wait period if 30 days so got chance. but anyway i can claim some from medisave also, no problem de.

QQ
jus put in the claims to the insurers.
ask Dr Ong to recommend a pte surgeon bah. at least u can get an assessment 1st. if nt serious, can wait to do at KKH. if serious, u can decide to do it asap.

Ash,

Tell u a joke when I'm expecting my #2, my gynae told me it's a boy in one of my appt. My hubby abit disappointed. So for e next appt, while gynae was checking, my hubby asked gynae any possibility it's a gal cos e finger at e bottom? My gynae almost burst out laughing, she said "e arms is upright, above e head, so u tell me can e finger be at e bottom?" haha

My gynae said my hubby sot for a gal, I better go for #3.... I told her I'm crazy if do tt, not going for c sec for e 3rd time!!!!!

QQ,

Mummies all behave like Gan cheong spider when comes ti their kids. Can understand de.

Actually I prefer mt a leh, cos e after care is good.

re: sanitizer
i dun dare to use, will just wash hands cos both chloe & I have sensitive hands.. unless bobian i will stimes 'steal' at the cashier when shpg cos when out n we touch stuff, my hands feel very dusty.

QQ
sorry cant contribute re ah will's insurance stuff.. hope u find the best care for ah will ya.

mummies if ethan cry quite often during sleep , does it mean anything? def not colic, cos he dun cry nonstop.. it just seems like he got nite mare in his sleep v often, will cry til v chum. after pat pat etc should fall asleep again.. when i was P with him, i always shout at chloe when she misbehaves.. i always think i must hv 'scared' him when he is zz in my tummy le. *shrug* i come out with my own theory la..

belle
nt sure whether u rmbr. baby sleeping cycle will such that he will come into light sleep. if he's awaken, he may not be able to go back to sleep and so he will cry. patting him is to help him to fall asleep again. the other thing is to make sure he's nt overtired n hv quiet time for him b4 bed.
i thk other mommies can advice more. i can't rmbr liao..

pax
tks vaguely recall this but no clue heheh. i think ASTRO mentioned abt bb sleep cycle before.
when i say ethan cry, he can like 'scream' n wake up. he has quite a regular sleeping cycle.. only i recalled last wk we brought him out w chloe to watch hi-five, he was extremely excited. after he came back, he couldnt really zz well.. but it's one this one time la.

pax, yes i will call dr ong and ask her to recommend. i need someone who can tell me that i must do it urgently. dr ong said asap, cause i asked her a few times to reconfirm.

mist, my hb also same same for ah will's scan last time. dr said boy le then he was in denial until detail scan. he said he scared dr see wrongly then he will b dissappointed in the end.
so now his common phrase: how come u din buy this for ah boy?
when i buy things for tian, he says can buy for ah will too. or next time buy for ah will. something like that.

blur, could it be teething?
when tian was 6 mth old, she screamed in her sleep and cried. then i have to pat pat and carry her a bit to sleep. this lasted for about 1-2 weeks then no more. after 1-2 months, it came again.

i think if you use soap to wash immed after u reach home, also ok de.

QQ, better ask Dr. Ong to recommend a PD in KKH or private sector.

My PD experience with CO in KKH is unpleasant, furthermore, he is a senior PD, not cheap, maybe more expensive than the neighborhood PD.

My own experience in KKH was ok, cos my dr was good. So better find a good PD.

good luck.

Star, i not in sg. my frens bought her there with my mum, Can feed goat and rabbits there.

Kaeexin, Hakone, just a thin of snow.

CK,
Ya, think different doctors make a difference. Those we had from the KKH NICU were quite nice and subsequently when they were under review there for 1.5 years, the PDs we met were all ok too.

RR, your story so hilarious.

QQ, don't know whether the system is the same but when I went to National Dental Centre, I went in as a pte patient which means in the future, each time I go in, I'm considered a pte patient. If the same system works in KKH, then perhaps better to consider pte hospital? Because otherwise, in the future if ah will needs to see doc (touch wood) again for anything else like high fever etc etc, he'll be considered pte patient automatically. Seems no way to reverse the process.

Our KKH experience the last time when rae was hospitalised or suspected HFMD was not bad..for our case, we alwasy goback to KKH. esp the A&E.

QQ: ya i think go with dr ong advise. if she says urgent, then u schedule it earlier.
the hyrocele condition will go away right? anyway one possible cause of hydrocele could be hernia, (saw this on the website) maybe by correcting the hernia condition, his hydrocele will improve.

QQ,
You mentioned Ah Will spends most of his time in the living room. If someone is sick at home then you dun put him at living room, put him in the room if the sick person dun stay their own in the room. Now is quite critical, cannot get sick cos need to do operation.

QQ: Adding on to Huignee's comments, pls get all the sick ppl to wear mask. pls be diligent on this, at least for these few weeks. think everyone has to cooperate during this period. but the good thing is that maybe ah will's immunity will build up from this experience and he wont fall sick so easily.

QQ, frankly i have not stayed in pte hospital before. So i am not able to comment. So far i will decide based on the expertise of the doctor. If a recommended doctor is govt hospital and ur situation can wait then go for govt hospital otherwise pte.

Srar, hahha... i delivered in SGH 冷门 right? cos the gynae is highly recommended by a fren's hb who is a surgeon in Mt E. Somehow i am like long time fren of SGH. I used to work there as buyer, then i stayed there for a few days due to eye infection, i delivered there. hahah...

star, QQ,
Yes, maybe sick people wear mask is better. Then Ah Will still can stay in the living room. At least there is only one kid in the house, so not so bad.

CK, moogen, gioly, thanks.
moogen, wah once pte patient then forever pte? that is not v good hor. this is a good pt leh.
i will wait for dr ong 's advice. actually i asked her if painful before, she said no (via phone). last sat she was touching ah will, then ah will made noise, so she said he might feel a little bit pain.

huingee, yes ah will is always at living room de. cause he sleeps there cause we have camera installed at living room, everything also there. now he sleeps in our room most of the time.
star, yahor, can wear mask le.. din think about it too.

SQ,
I didn't think it was that funny till I told Edde about it. She said it's a classic joke and I should share. Hahaha!

Mich blurted out something about KFC last night and you should see the shock look on Kent's face. :p