(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

blur, haha!!
since u oni plan for 1 week, u can contribute 5 days.

oyster sauce , i dun buy cause i chicken and heard ppl said it is not good for health. somemore when jay takes it his skin will start to rot. it is that serious and chemical for him.
so when we eat out, we try to ask for no oyster sauce de. those cai4 png, no choice we just eat as per normal la. so since we already taking outside, then at home we try to b slightly more healthy and bland.

u know this fish sauce (yu2 lu4) it is even worst for jay's skin. somehow his skin is that terrible.

i know autum got oyster sauce at home.
RR got all the sauces including yu lu4. now i am not sure alredy cause RR said might drop this yu lu due to reyes eczema.

QQ,
I tried the yu lu once then never use liao. I find those we bought from supermarket tastes different from those authentic Thai yu lu leh or maybe I got a wrong brand.

I have oyster sauce, hosin, black pepper, chilli dou ban sauce, char siew sauce & etc ... but mostly for adults cos Kent likes spicy stuffs. The thing I don't have is MSG. I think I'm allergic to it. I get headache or numbness in limbs with that.

i also have most of the sauce. But i think may change the light soya sauce to terriyaki sauce. cos i feel less salty. I also use oyster sauce but i see the price it range quite a lot in the supermarket. So i will just buy the most exp ones to prevent any allegy esp the kids will eat a bit here and there.

alamak, my post gone..

i was saying, QQ there is a vegetarian version of the oyster sauce, made from mushroom, maybe u can try this. i suspect jay is allegic to the seafood in oyster sauce and fish sauce.

Re: 100 recipe,
QQ< post it in the march google group then all can use and contribute lah. I contribute 2 more dishes, 1 healthy and 1 not healthy
1) Steam tofu with mince meat
2) Century egg with dark soy sauce and fried shallots.. yumz

Re: Oyster sauce
i used it to marinate chicken or oster sauce veg.
Recently i changed to veg mushroom sauce, the taste seems similar but more healthy bah.

Belle,
I think apple and pears are quite safe. The other fruits you must take note.

Isit true that soy sauce is a lot saltier than salt?

Germaine: i dun think i can replace soy sauce with terriyaki, they taste so different and terriyaki is sweet. I cannot imagine replacing the soy sauce with terriyaki sauce when i cook claypot rice.. hehe

star, mmm... the teriyaki sauce i mention is not the sweet sweet niam niam type. mmm... perhaps one of this day i may try using it to cook claypot rice.

belle: rae was allegic to carrots last time.. i didn't give her carrots till she was muhc older.
Is the rash on the mouth or tummy? rae's was all over her body, if its around the mouth, check to see if its from the drool or maybe toys/teether that he has been putting to his mouth. hey i tot should start with plain rice cereal first? as bb's first food. no?

Star
When it was YE/rae's time, bb cereal was THE 1st food for bb
Nw Ter's another sch o Thot le
Doesn't hv 2b cereal
Can b 'safe' food like avocado n bananas le

SQ: some of my recipe damn unhealthy one.. hahah but this dish is yummy, i will fry my own shallots in some oil, then i pour the cooked oil + shallots over the century eggs and add a dose of dark soy sauce on top.. its damn yummy, dun use too much oil, if not its too greasy.
I do it this way cos i dun like to eat the ginger and "raw" century eggs.. hehe

SQ: wha i have so much to learn now.. u mean now can start with fruits first ah? but once u start the sweet fruits, i dun think they want the plain rice cereals already right?

i dun think soya sauce is saltier than salt. i can put a spoon of soya sauce yet not salty, but if u put a pinch of salt, then its salty enuf liao

Giolyn, Huingee,
the watery one is teriyaki sauce? Not the Jap soy sauce? I use that for cha soba. It's not as giam as our normal light soy sauce.

I used to buy teriyaki sauce for grilled salmon till lately I found this frozen garlic/herbs-marinated salmon in NTUC. Very nice, no need marinate, just pan-fry. RR love it.

Ash: i mean the actual salt content, not taste, cos i tot i ever read up that its actually healtier to use salt (less sodium) as conpared to soy sauce. I think QQ mentioned before but i need verification lah. where are all my scientist, QQ, Mejo, Astro, RR..heheh

SQ: last time i gave with BM.. then after that water cos lazy to add BM.. hahah

Starfruit, Ash,
Reyes' doctor told us it's better to use sea salt than soy sauce (forgot the reason liao). The salt will be good for her skin so now we all use sea salt instead. Maybe cos of the processing?

RR, the front of the btl say teriyaki leh. check it out again if u go NTUC. sighh... my turn to think of menu for this weekend. cos since hb is in camp, i will have to cook both lunch and dinner for the weekend lioa.

SQ: u come my house for dinner one day or we pot luck , i will cook for the adults (u and mr choo) with all my unhealty but yummy recipe and u can cook the healty food for the kids!!! hahahah.

RR: wha RR has interesting taste buds, the garlic/heard smell not too strong. Hey RR u need to post a pic of this salmon here and share with us. i have never seen this before.

Giolyn,
oh, next time I go and look for this. But how you know which is which since both say teriyaki? You look at the liquid inside to see if it's watery?

Starfruit,
nope. They are fine with garlic, onions, parsley, herbs and whatnot. Maybe cos I like bah so they also eat like me. haha!

Here it is. It comes in 5s but I've only got 1 left.

4725170.jpg

Belle: is the rash on Ethan all over his body or just arou d his mouth? If the latter, then if may well be his saliva causing the rash. He could be teething. Ayden had rashes arou d his mouth gov the longest time but PD td us not to worry as the area is limited to just his mouth. Looks ugly though and it bothers me more than him. Haha...

RR: good to expose the kids to many tastes now. And it s true, they usually follow the adults..

Rr
I wil hv to try tis salmon for YE
I pan fry w butter n add cheese she dun 1 2 eat

Then for meimei I add it to her porridge she also dun eat

Sigh... M I such a bad cook

Starfruit,
Ya, needs to thaw. Can put in oven but will be abit dry if overcooked. Ermmm ... Exp or not ah? The pack of 5s is $16.90, I think. Compare to fresh salmon, it's considered cheap bah.

Mejo, belle: did u read that there was a show of support in court for one if the boys charged with murder? My goodness. Wonder if these boys will be spared as they are minor.

SQ,
If i pan fry salmom, i dun put oil.
I just heat up the wok, then put the salmon with the skin at the bottom. Then cover the wok with lib for 5mins, then open lid and turn the salmon over and fry another side with lid on for 5mins. Before that just sprinkle some salt on the salmon 30mins before cooking.

RR,
I will try to see can find this marinated salmon. Looks good.

SQ: maybe u dun pan fry with butter and add cheese, just do the simple with a bit of oil and no cheese. maybe YE's taste bud not so sophisticated, she likes simple food?

rr and other mummies who wish to bake salmon in microwave oven, i use the water bath method like they use for creme caramel to prevent dryness.

put a shallow dish of water underneath the grill which lies the salmon, then grill for abt 10min (depending on thickness of salmon). the steam created from the water will make a "steaming" effect which cooks the fish and yet retain its moisture. then if u want more crispy skin, remove the shallow dish of water and contninue to grill for another 3-5min or so. but i realise the skin is not as crispy as pan fried method. salmon pan fried in butter is still the best! but i use this method when i am lazy to wash up :p

tonite i am gonna try soya sauce chicken (chi you ji) for the first time!! dunno will succeed or not kekeekkeke

i also need 100 dish list man.. every wk i hv to crack my brain thinking of wat to cook for my everything-also-dun-eat hb!!!!!

AAA,

Hb told me just now. He say the 'supporters' have also been rounded up by police. He also said that age will not be an issue. They will be prosecuted regardless of age. Those boys think they are so gunho killing people. Wait till they face the gallows.

Star,

I did a quick reading up of soy sauce on wikipedia. Well, nothing on the salt content there but apparently some soy sauce contained carcinogens, i.e. cancer causing agents. This is for the chemically processed soy sauce. Those made by the traditional natural way actually seem to be quite good for health. Quoting wiki, "A study by National University of Singapore shows that Chinese dark soy sauce contains 10 times the antioxidants of red wine, and can help prevent cardiovascular diseases.[14] (However, it is unlikely to be used in nearly as great a quantity as wine.) Soy sauce is rich in lactic acid bacteria and of excellent anti-allergic potential"

SQ,
There was a period of time when RR refused to eat fish too. Then I found this batang fish steak, pan fry till crispy and that "rekindled" their love for fish. Since then they eat fish again, cod, salmon, eel &amp; etc ... at least thrice a week.

RR: u must tell me where to buy this batang fish n how to pan fry till crispy! not true for A, he doesnt eat wat the adults eat

Ash
u want contact of my fren's confinement lady? 3 of my frens used her service and full of praises.

went for interview again. it was good, i'm excited but scared abt hitting quota. Hope I will hear good news soon.

Huingee,
I will cook some of their dishes separately too. Cos we take spicy food and we usually eat dinner at a later timing. If I cook together, it'll be cold by the time we eat.

Ash,
it's called batang steak. I think it's "majiao" fish but not quite sure. Can find at supermarkets. I'll use abit of oil and panfry till golden colour, crispy. Eat with rice or add into porridge also very nice.

For ourselves, I'll add cook dark soy sauce with water, abit of sugar, chilli padi &amp; spring onions then pour over the panfried fish. yummy. :D