(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

AAA: i will only be back after 24th. u all go ahead first if all can make it.

Huignee: pumpkin rice is nice, make sure u akk lots of dried shrimps

Autum: yes wanton another dish i like to make, i will also add diced water chestnut to make it crunchy. yumz.

re:Yummihouse Honey
Mummies interested to get more, i've got stock of the kid's/everybody one going at $47.50. pls pm me to get urs! thanks! =D

re: pumpkin rice
is it hokkien? my family like pumpkin leh..but we've neva cooked pumpkin rice. cabbage rice and yam rice yes... dunno abt pumpkin... wouldn't it be sticky and nua nua?

Star
I use diced carrots instead of diced waterchestnut cos very lazy to wash the mud n peel the wchestnut. Also carrot makes it healthier bah. Wahaha. Lazy excuse :p

Joelle
I do think pumpkin is hokkien or Teo chew bah. But not sure. My aunt use to make Kim-kway-kwey (pumpkin kwey).

star, i tried to email u disney's reply wrt dinner hrs but the mail bounced. anyway, i enquired for my date and was told dinner is from 1800-2230. fyip

edde: haha thanks, u sms me lah.. faster, i cant access my yahoo acct at work.

actually for dinner, hb called to make resevations liao.. haha yesterday, i pester him, he say the guy on the other line his english CMI and dunno if we did make a successful reservations. apparently for dinner there are 2 seating, 7:30 to 9pm and 9 to 11pm. we took the earlier seating one cos 9pm a bit lah lah.

Huingee, SQ,
I just went to the shop and discovered something! Huingee is right to say that Potato Flour is used (other than Corn Flour).. my apologies for that. But I am still somewhat right.. shu-fen is still Tapioca flour.. which means, there is actually 3 types of flour that can be used to make soft-coating, make thick gravy etc.. heehee.

And I finally know that the chinese name for potato flour is actually 太白粉 or 生粉! I have always heard that term in chinese cooking shows and have always wondered if it is tapioca flour.. so now I know it is NOT. haha..

Ok, my guess is that tapioca flour is a cheaper cousin to potato flour and corn flour. I believe most restaurants would be using potato or corn flour.. but this is my guess only.. no basis de. :p

Autum,
think all 3 work the same but there are some differences depending on what you are cooking. And there's also arrowroot flour & sweet potato flour (makes meat crispy when deep-fried) for thickeners as well but think not commonly use.

Tapioca flour - thickens sauce/gravy very quickly. However will be lumpy if not stir/dissolve fast enough. The "kou gan" not as good too.

Corn flour - Dissolve nicely, easily. Good for dairy-based sauces. However cannot freeze sauces, gravy that are thickened by cornflour. And it doesn't thicken well with acidic sauces too.

Potato flour - Good for allergies conditions cos some might be allergic to grain-based products. But you cannot re-boil gravy,sauces that's been thickened by potato flour. It'll become watery again.

SQ,
see, Irin to the rescue! the expert not speaking, and I this fake expert, making noises! wahhahahaha :p

Irin,
I have to kow-tow to your knowledge!

Giolyn,
cos I tried all 3 types of flours before. Last time I used to think all are the same so will just grab any one of them from the supermarkets but it turns out the effect/result is sometimes different.

So I concluded the "safest" to use (for myself) is corn flour.

SQ,
if you don't freeze gravy/sauce and no one has allergy condition in the family, corn flour should be fine bah. If not you can get potato flour too.

RR, SQ, Autum,
I forgot what flour i using, i think corn flour bah cos i remembered the corn picture on the packet. Heehee, i just buy any flour my downstairs ntuc sell.

SQ,
those all-purpose flour or wheat flour is to make cakes, pau, breads etc. not really for cooking use. Actually u need to know what you are using the flour for. If you just want to create a soft-coating for meats, then using tapioca or corn or potato flour, all doesn't matter. The difference is for making soups and gravy. So if u want to reheat soup/gravy, then that's when you need to be more careful. But do you use that in your soups? If you don't then no need to bother bah. :p

For my case, I seldom use that as a thickener. I tried in pasta sauce, tomato-ketchup-gravy to put over fried fish.. and that's about it. Don't really use that to make soups per se. Restaurants use it for Shark's fin soup.. and those thick gravy..

Autum
Noted
I m so dense
Need u al to explain to me in so many ways then I get it
Sigh... Tt's e prob o relying on my mummy to cook for so many yrs
Nw I duno a single thg cos I hv Nvr done it myself!

Ash
Roger

Flour: Hey, to soften meat, must use potato flour. This is what the maids tell us. Correct?

RR: Wha! I kow tow to your knowledge. How long did you trial and error to get such info? So no matter which type of flour used, we can't freeze the gravy. Right?

Gang fights: Hey, wanna ask you mummies here.. For those with boys, are you concerned? I'm so afraid Ayden will turn out like this.. :p
And I really don't understand the youngsters.. Why do they join gangs in this modern age? There's no protection money to be earned mah.. In fact, I heard one needs to pay a "membership fee" to be enrolled in the gangs..

So am I so outdated that I don't understand the youths anymore? Is this generation gap?

AAA, of course, i am concerned. i also dunno how the SS work nowadays, how accessible are they... Read somewhere that they even have fb and blog. like tat is very scary. sighh...hb was angry that the parents of the murderes are getting lawyer to fight for their sons for the recent gang fight. I told him if i were them i also will do that. Cos my kids mah. Life imprisonment is better than death sentence mah.

Germaine: This is so tragic - for the parents of both the victim and the murderers..
I don't understand the psyche of the aggressors. Have the boys lost their minds? Surely they must know that the slaying will kill the other boy, and they will become murderers and have to pay for their crimes.

One friend commented the proliferation of online action games have made kids immune to fightings. And they've lost touch with reality.
So scary..

AAA: i'm not thinking so far ahead yet :p

anyone has recommendations for hotels in london? pref with lifts cos alot of B&B got no lifts

gangster?
AAA, my dad used to be a sponsor in the black gang. he joined for the sake of his sons. he was not the active one, he oni got name on it, so that if ppl go kacau my brothers, the gangster will b warned to stay away from them.
now dun have anymore cause he passed away and also sons all grown up le.

Autum, i also have no idea what flour to use. i have oni corn flour at home. others i dun use.
next time i go buy and try.
i have all purpose flour too, for making pancakes.
RR sounds like a GURU of flours....
i r3eally learnt a lot from u gals.

New kids: There's a recent report by ST. Parents splurging thousands on handbags for their kids (girls I assume).. And teenagers being spotted as regulars in branded stores and high-end restaurants.

What do you all feel about this trend?

I feel this will always be a trend to show that ppl is getting more affluent. Just like us, dun think we travel much/ at all when we were 3yo. But look at our kids, how many of them have been travelling. I am not surprise having a yacht will be a trend in future.

AAA,
You can freeze gravy/sauce thickened with tapioca or potato flour but not corn flour.

For soup thickeners, tapioca flour will give a lumpy texture so better not to use that.

Didn't really trial and error but I did used all 3 types before and it gives me different texture and different "results" though same dish.

Re: Kids fight
I never think so far leh. Anyway I was a terror when young too so I don't expect my kids (read: reyden) to be an angel.

ash, jan time ur tummy how big?
i dunno woh. cause my build bigger than yours.
nevermind. see how when my cousin brings back in dec.

AAA,

I don't even splurge on branded stuffs for myself!!! I mean, I have like a total of 2 bags worth more than $100 for my entire 30 years of life! One word - siao. Anyway, it drives the economy so why not, for the others I mean. I'm more interested in having my money work for me and for other more meaningful things. Like donating to this girl's cause. http://blinknow.org/about-maggie-doyne/

I'm so impressed with her and her parents.

RE: gangsters

Hmm, I dunno. They must be either mentally or emotionally stupid. It is not even organised crime like Japan or Hong Kong. It is organised stupidity. :/

Mejo,
whahahaha.. I like that - organized stupidity! :p but then again, if they can be organized, they can't be THAT stupid! kekeke..

AAA
i m v concerned abt this in our society cos it concerns the safety for all , in fact i m quite 'affected' till i follow the story from ST to TNP to SM & WB all those ba gua news, though i hardly go to downtown east, it's so shocking it happend at such a crowded place frequented by families. Then now another grp at bt panjang, wonder are these real gangsters or copycats just shouting 369 for fun.

QQ
wat 100 dish? i never follow archives la, u mean u wanna write down a list for your maid to cook up a storm? :p

can bbs be allergic to fruits? as in apples or pears. Ethan hv red rashes recently, on n off, we gave him apples, pears, pumpkin, avocado so far, hv not started on cereals yet.

AAA
yeah i read the article on splurging on branded stuff, hmmm i guess spend within your means ba, also crack head how to teach my kids abt thriftiness in future. My most ex bag is agnes b, nthing more than 150 :p

blur,
oh, star has a friend with 100 dishes to cook, so tat dun need to crack head to think of what to cook. just ROTATE can liao.

so i am building my own 100 dish list. a bit complex la.
mayb it is easier to make 1 month plan, rather than this 100 dish list. cause some dish cannot appear at the same time la.

i suddenly become so smart.
i have an idea.
we have a few of us v into recipes and menu planning now. hm.. maybe we COMBINE? haha!!!!

i think i plan in terms of MEALS or DAYS/WEEKS easier.

Autum,

Ha. Dunno what to say for these people really. I feel sad for the parents. Anyway, I believe people have to take responsibilities for themselves. If an armless youth can fulfil his dream to become a pianist, what the heck is a fully abled youth doing by becoming a gangster? What in the world?

QQ
100 dishes is super challenge lor, my head is big like sotong head just by thinking 1 week's menu hahha.

I read cannot use oyster sauce why le? my maid loves to put that :p

we got oyster sauce chicken thigh, oyster sauce steam tofu hee. i wrote my own n stuck on the fridge when headache duno wat to cook just stand in front of the fridge haha. tom we are cooking ayam lemak chilli padi, got this recipe from newpaper cos it's the spore idol's fav dish .

oh anyone got chicken feet (braised) recipe to share? i want to try with dried chilli le, no time n lazy to go surf.