(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

YY,
I think it might be abit different for them cos their maids have no off days? Ellie has, right? So easier to give her pay and she decides how she spends her $. I used to give my ex-maid her pay in lump sum too cos she has off days. She will go buy her own stuffs, send $ back & etc ...

RR: yes.. ellie has one day off.. now i dunno how to 'increase' her pay for the next contract offer.. so fast.. coming end of the 3rd year with us.. i wonder what permutations i can give.. i can't give more than 1 day off.. and can't be keep incrasing pay.. i can't imaginng having to pay her .. like.. $600 per month? wah...

Take care, Astro...Just wash your hands with soap more often.

Kaexin, what tokyo hotel do you recommend? I may want to go mount fuji...where to book day tour?

YY,
3 years and you need to increase her pay again? You can't give her another off day? Else the way you increase her pay, it's going to be alot.

giolyn,

My MIL asked that the maid salary be kept from her. Her rational is that, if we found money on her, then it isn't from her salary, she might have stolen it or gotten it from somewhere somehow. Similarly, if money is lost, then money can't be found on her, she won't be wrongly accused. We use a book to record her expenses, which MIL will pay on her behalf and she will sign and then deduct that accordingly from her salary. Actually till now, she is in the negative! She spent more than she had earn so far because she had spent more than a $100 on calling cards. So in the end, we bought a handphone for her because we also don't want her to waste money. She said handphone can use sms instead. Hopefully she will save more with the handphone. Then she asked that we don't deduct from her first 'big' salary because she wanted to send it home so I helped her transfer it home already. Till now, she is 'cashless'.

mist. mistake ba..

Teng,pls get well soon.
astro, load your family with vit C and yakult??
wash wash wash hands bah.

eh i was thinking if my maid works for me for many years, she can reach 600 per month woh.
say 2 years then increase 50. like that she has to work for me for 8 years then can reach that level. sounds ok right? but this one is provided no off day.
i have a plan.
say if ellie's pay is 400 now (assume la). 1 day off
after 2 years, 450. 1 off day
4 years, 500, 1 off day
the increament u give, should be $30 to the basic pay, then $20 to no off day compensation.
something like tht.
so if she takes 1 off day, then she gets 450. if she wanna take 2 off days, then she gets 430. u get what i mean?

next time for my case, say if her pay is 350 now, 1 day off.
next time 400, 1 day off.
if she wants 2 day off, then she gets oni 380.

mejo u are quite right. cause my maid also scare we accuse her for $$ she has. so she said MAM U KEEP. ask me to keep.
i ok lor cause this was how she was managed by earlier employer also.

dunno wat happened to me.
i missed tian's dental appt on 2 nov.
jialat.

and tian fell down at civic centre. mimi kept sms me and said sorry. paiseh
tian said she din run, but i dunno how she fell. nevernmind, i din even apply any oilment to her bruise. luckily on the other hand.
mil is here, tian kept crying and did dun want to bath la, brush teeth la. end up standing besides nainai and yangorh. i beat her hand on the spot. made her give in.
she can stand outside toilet for half an hour while maid cannot even get to brush her teeth. cause nainai was there, all standing outside toilet.
i was feeding ah will, came out after ahwill slept le, and saw it. buey tahan and it was after 10pm le. just beat her and force her to brush. sigh
now mil here more challenging. tian tot she has some mountain to rely on! huh! never test my power.

QQ,

Hmm, I also missed YT's dental appointment and is miss until dun even now what's the date. I think it is 26 oct but can't be sure. But why Tian doesn't want to brush? I always threaten YT that her teeth will fall out if she refuses to brush. She saw my dad's fake teeth before so she understood what I meant.

sighh... thanks mummy for the advice. Dunno what is going through my maid's head. The day before is about handphone, yesterday is about bra. Last nite i found her not wearing her bra!!! i noticed her uneasy gesture and asked her whether is she not wearing her bra. She stumbled and admitted yes. I told her off and tell her to stop embarrassing herself in front of ours.

Germaine, ha ha...

Mummies, this morning, cheyanne saw my spare tyre and told me...mummies, u got baby inside. I replied yes...she continued, she coming out next week!!

CK: preggy??

Germaine: does ur maid have this habit of not wearing bras? anyway if u noticed, it must have been very obvious.

QQ: why dun u scheduled an appt on sat. and try not to change the appt cos if u follow by the original appt date, they will SMS to alert u. however if u changed, dunno why their system cannot alert u by SMS.

Astro: pls take care, and wash hands.

Wha QQ, ur maid salary computation is damn complex leh.. i catch no ball.

Germ
Ur maid is hilarious!

QQ
Ur mil so fast appear suddenly?
YE also like tt
When papa or others r Ard she this got mountain to lean on n do al kinds o stupid thgs

Ck
Many mths aft I deliver meimei, YE stil Tks I hv another bb inside me when she sees e area where my waist she hv been

Astro
Really xiong for u

Star, it is not grossly obvious cos she was wearing loose grey shirt. It is her gesture like crossing her arms when talking to me, avoiding facing me when i was talking to her. So make me suspect lor. *faint*

QQ,
Last time Esther fell down also dun want to shower. I told her must shower, will not be painful. She listened and actually not painful. Think nainai there so Tian will act up. Think mimi very stress liao.

Germaine,
What is her reason for not wearing bra? Not enough?
My ex-maid wear her bra and panty for 5days

I keep my maid,s salary, I told them I don't want them to have money with them, 1st they no off day so don't think they need to spent. 2nd I don't lock/keep my bag, I juz leave it on table, to avoid any misunderstanding. Is better for them not to have money with them. When they need to buy anything, they tell me and I get for them or bring them out to buy.

Ck,
I pick my maid last night, while chat with her in the kitchen, she ask me "mam are u pregnant."

I lough till can't stop.

Hg,
Good to hear ur maid is good. How long she been with u?

HJ, i din ask her for reason cos i feel very edgy then.
star, it was 9pm so not really bedtime yet. I mean if dun wear, take out when it is lights off and not walking around braless. eerrggg....

ecmon,
Actually so far so good, still early to tell also. She only with us for 5 days, must wait one month to see. Then after her loan finish must she see any pattern comes out or not.

star,

I thought I did but maybe I didn't... Guess I'll just have to make another appointment. Opps. Will they hold it against me for missing one?

ash: i saw it in today's papers as well then i tot of juni and her pressure cooker soup recipe. hhehe i think pax uses pressure cooker too. i scared it will explode..hahah think watch too many movies on exploding pressure cooker already.

star: not sure if can bring maid. maybe i shld call n ask. i asked maid if she used b4 n she said yes. n i tot can save time n gas cos cooking time for soup can shorten by so much. but i juz duno if this brand is reliable

ladies,,
koi dun do delivery anymore iszit?
haiz.. i feel like drinking some bubble tea.. but i lazy to go out to get.. actually even order.. who to drink with me at home?! :S
sian!

called up NDC and if i'm not wrong, its like this: sporeans/PR - unless referred by polyclinic, then will hv some subsidies. if not, NDC's is also like any pte dental clinics.
for domestic workers, no subsidised rates. so no diff b/w NDC any other dental clinics

Ash
I tk pax uses e Tupperware brand pressure cooker
Btr get a reliable one vs any pots n pans

Astro
U hv a koi bbt near ur hse meh?
I would luv to hv one too
Always buy when we r at tpy on sat else go home sure regret!

wha i am coughing so badly now.. drank half a cup of ribena.. think really cannot drink cold drinks lah. just went to the toilet to throw up some much phlegm.

i went jb for a while today. my phone rang again. mimi called.
sigh!!!!
tian cried big time again today, she said. mimi said she v stress. i dunno what to do just let them be. mimi kept saying tian nottie. wanna wear shoes herself, then mimi let her do it. but tian started crying badly aftertat. fullstop.

when i reach home i ask tian about it. tian said today deepavali celebration, she wear her fairy outfit. someone took her magic wand, so she cried. full stop.
then after school, she wearing her shoes, mimi wear until too loose, then tian wanna wear by herself until tight tight so that dun fall down . so mimi let her wear but mimi wanna go home mah, rushing. so she cried. she said she wanna wear tight tight mah, she has to chase after mimi cause mimi walk so fast.
i ask tianwhy never ask mimi to WAIT FOR HER?
tian said mimi walk so fast, very gan3 shi2 jian1. no time.
so shall I believe my gal? i found that mimi maybe got something to rush, so kept rushing her and she cried cause not enough time.
i just let her be la. anyway, i just hope both of them are happie.

in the past few days, everyday also cry.
mimi said tian is sick. so temper not good
but she has no fever, nothing.
maid said tian is ok leh, still quite normal to her.
mil said normaltoo.. v good.
me??? i am lost.

SQ, yes she is here. she offer to bring tian to school next monday.
and tian's routine is no more. eat less (cause mil said too much le), and play more.
i just close my eyes and rest.
waiting for u gals to meet on monday.
just stay happie.

CK, i see u left right front back, where got tummy???
u must practice this..
CHEST OUT, TUMMY IN. then CO wont say that anymore.

hahaha!!!!!!

ecmom, u also preg? haha!!! see la. sometimes we must wear nicer in front of maid le. otherwise my maid always amazed by my auntie outfit. she wears nicer than me when we go out. my cousin commentd that i should wear better now. haha!!
good luck to your maid ok?

huingee, stay positive!!!! i also hope mine is a good one.
i feel so happie last night (hope not too early) caus emy mil commented that my maid is good.
what a good start i have.

QQ,
Ya, my mum also commented my maid ok. My mum is those not easy to please one. Ya, hope she is fine. Dylan can accept her, let her shower and bring him to school.

Star, I'm also quite scared of the pressure cooker but it can produce quick and good meals:) We use it at least twice a week.

Autum, I think your mum must have always set a good example of healthy eating habits otherwise how do instill good habits, just by telling alone, I find isn't enough.

QQ, there are days when Kira is totally out of hand. She hells at the playground, cries at the school when I pick her up...most of the time is becos she didn't had enough sleep; nap too short. Or when she is growing, she throws tantrum too. Other days, she can be really good. Maybe it's the same case with Tian. Don't hit her, just be firm. I feel very sad when I think of canning:-(

I chanced upon this thread as currently there are some discussion on maid issue.
I would like to seek advise from anyone who has got a transfer maid before.

I am about to bring my maid from the agency.
May I know what are the things I need to check?
Maid must bring along her Passport right?
As for work permit, Will agent change it to under my name as her employer? Or i hv to do it myself?
Also her medical checkup report is it compulsory I must have a copy as proof?? Shd I insist the agency give me a copy? Where can i verify that she has indeed done a check up? Thanks alot

Pls kindly reply me in this thread.
Thanks so much in advance

QQ Whenever Kira has a plaster, she will refuse to let me shower that injured area. The last time, she had her arm raised during shower, sleeping, walking for at least a week and cnnot remove plaster:-( I was really distressed, super drama!