(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Autum, so conclusion, i told mil that
she can come anytime she likes, be it next year or next next year, after her dotter get married, or make their decision to stay in singapore or wat. my house is always open for mil, but not sil cause already full house liao. then if she wanna come here ad hoc basic also welcome. anything. i am ok.
she said she bu2 fang4 xin1 my maid, ask me to think thrice. i told her, i have no money to engage 2 nannies, and tian's school, and also infant care. etc. unless i kena toto then everything will be solved.
mil kept quiet la. she asked sil (in front of me) if she wants to be a kindy teacher or not? or just teach piano...
sil never reply and say yes or no. somethng like that.
and sil also dun feel like staying with her brother too.
plus they wanna move their piano here but jay said cannot.
so lots of logistics and i am out of it. we just go ahead with our plan.

plan 1 - maid...
plan 2 - if maid CMI (during my maternity leave) then we go plan 2, infant care + cc.
Plan 3 - keep the maid, probably give an auntie(nanny or another auntie) some money to OVERSEE at home.
something like that.

SQ: The standard CMI anymore. Hubby says taste worse than any no name hawker stall.

QQ: I just read what your MIL wants to work as. Why doesn't she ask her son to help her find such a job? Actually, if she wants to work, then she can neither take care of ah boy nor jagar the maid for you, then what for?

Autum, so jay said,
both indo/philly also can, as long as good, got experience, obedient... then ok liao.

actually, can u feel that jay was angry with his mum? i remain neutral cause already anticipate that. i also told my mum to stand by to come here for 1-2 weeks, whenever needed, for transition. so my whole team will be slowly diao4 dong4 when in need. big project sia..

AAA, no no no.
my mil dun want to work, she can jaga the maid and grandkids. she wants her dotter to come here, and her dotter will come oni when there is a job for her.

QQ,
Wa, move piano here will cost how much? I like piano leh, will not oppose if i no need to pay for the transport fee.
Dun wait for mil or sil.

AAA, cause i am the only lobang queen at home. anything i also got lobang like that.
sil (Staying with me)'s 1st job also recommended by my fren. then another sil's bf's job also my lobang. they think i super lobang queen la. actually it is not. just happened that it matched the criteria and timing nia.

Huingee, haha!!
move here transport fees for piano? i think we dun need to pay. mil will gaodim. jay very fan3 dui4. actually i dun fan3 dui4 de cause it is just a space nia.
then jay said his mom's pattern. give her one chance later all other furniture will come.
so he said, CAN but u give me one whole list, what to move here from KL. then we will see if we want to take in eveyrthing or selectively.
for example: her wok, her kitchen things
the shen2 tai2 (jay said cannot, oni have the ancestor plate ok, all other guan1 yin1 and whoever, dun bring over)
and some furnitures she also wanna bring over leh.
*none of my business*. let them settle themselves.

QQ, you can ask RR to help. She may have lobang. Then if RR has a suitable job, that'll also become your lobang. And you'll continue to be their lobang queen!

QQ
If language is no issue, then try Phil first. But then again, everything still boils down to luck. My hb's friend 1st indo maid with her for 6yrs n maid very good (single no kids). Then she got new one, she said it's even better than her previous maid! Also single no kids. This friend got 3 kids. Youngest same age as EVee.

QQ,
i went to visit my gf and she just got a new indo maid,, her mum came fm penang to train the maid to clean, cook and i saw her maid not bad.
must be aft "trained by the mum"!she can even speak english, ask me, Maam, do you want to drink water ? :p aft i said yes, ask me warm or ice wate r?

QQ,
if u take some med and u feel that the med making your heart beat faster, this cld be a side effect. i found out that i have a drug allergy and this was just recently like the last 3 yrs.
and the drug is actually very common. even K takes it when needed.

Kaexin: Yah, my friend's Indo maid trained by her MIL (she can speak bahasa) is also very good. I find these days philly maids have become more picky and demanding, maybe cos they have more choices, while Indo maids are more humble and willing to listen and learn. The main prob abt Indo maid is the communication. However, becos malay also uses the english alphabets, the younger and smarter ones can pick up the english language quite fast.
I also find Indo maids can cook better than Philly maids.

AAA
how to resolve the issue of Indo not eating pork? Every meal got to be cooked separately for them? I find that a hassle.

Autum: Since we get the Indo maids, we have switched to using chicken (and beef) most of the time now. Actually, many of them who work here become more flexible over time. If say a vege dish is cooked using pork pieces, they will still eat the vege, as long as the pork pieces are removed. Some of them even go to the extend as long as they don't see pork, they will eat.

hi mummies..

Autum : i din go for phil maid cos like AAA said.. their quality is not as good as before.. dunno where has all the good maids gone to.. and i had enuff of them for Tiffany's time.. so tot try an indo for a change.. she is "guai" la.. but!! dun seem to listen to instructions.. or rather.. dun understand dun wan to ask!

pink : nothing dangerous YET at least.. hope so.. i told her not to remove the things on top of the microwave when using.. she never remove.. i told her to not put cloth on top of the hot water flask.. she never listen.. sigh..

HN : yes.. she will be taking care of #2.. for baby for now her care still ok la..

alamak! am just so paraniod and so hard to please.. when #2 sleeps for 9 hours straight. i get worried. when she does not sleep.. i get irritated..

AAA
Ok. I guess also depends on the family's cooking style n preferences. When I cook soup I use pork ribs n pork bones most of the time. Only occassionally I use chicken to cook soup because pork ribs has higher nutitional value for my kids than chicken (I think). So unless the Indo maid willing to eat the dishes/soup without the meat, else she got nothing much to eat! Haha.

AAA,
when we have an Indo maid, my MIL still cook pork but prepare add chicken/fish for her. we dont take beef for religious reason. wahahaha....
now no more maid, MIL still prepare, soup/chix/pork, 2 meat(either fish/chix/pork) and 2 veggie. and this is only for 4/5 adults portion.

Autum: Oh yes, for soup mostly we use pork ribs too. Then the maids either don't drink the soup, or they drink after removing the pork ribs. Besides the soup, they'll be vege and fish right? Or just soup in your case? Actually this is an example of their willingness to adapt.

Nana: The good ones may have gone to HK and Macau! Wahahha!! Hey, one of my Indo maids is liddat too. She will reply she knows to everything, even when she doesn't know. So I've come to accept that she doesn't know anything, and when it's the first few times of doing something new, that she has to be first demonstrated to, and then monitored for the next few times.

autum, AAA,
yes. similar feeling about indo and phylly. my fren told me the same thing. though we have good philly maids around, but then after 2 years or 1 year, the pattern can come out like wan hp, wan off day, very mafan one.
nowadays some indo maids also mafan bah. i can oni share exp when i have one.

AAA, u are quite right. i also feel that (mil& sil) will come here de, it is a matter of time. so i dun wait for them, i proceed with my plan first. waiting for them can be torturous. we dun depend on mil, but if she is here, she will depend on me to shou1 liu2 her. he hee.. so bad hor. but i am just trying to see thing at my perspective.

giolyn, i ding2 zhui3 a lot with mil de. sometimes i shoot her gaolat gaolat if really buey tahan. afterall, if she dun come here now, when she is older, say 2-5 years later still will come here de la. should get someone to take care, or at least stay with the family. otherwise if fall sick or fall down in kl, nobody there then how?
here got more brains and hands. easier bah.
but here $$ not enough. haha! too many mouths to feed.

my fren insisted to get a indo maid, cause she said cannot stand philly. too ba1 bai1 (cantonese). autum, u know? too yaya, ba1 bai1.

We also use pork ribs to boil soup. i think no problem ba. most indo maids already know that we have this culture and as long as they dun see meat, then ok. still eat de.

we can be demanding ah. besides obedient, we want maid to have some common sense one. otherwise how to take care of bb leh? but i will train her la. so with experience is a must.
be it phy or indo (still open). i dunno if i will confuse the agent. lets see what agent say next week.

Autum: My indo maid takes charge of the cooking. For the afternoons, we'll usually go for a one-dish meal. Some afternoons, she'll cook noodles soup.. We'll buy the yong tau foo and she'll boil the stock using chicken bones. Very yummy. For macaroni, can use chicken minced meat instead of pork. For bee hoon, same thing, use chicken meat instead of pork.
So you see, it's not such a hassle not to use pork at all. And I believe chicken meat is healtier than pork, being it is white meat.

In contrast, a few of my ex-philly maids have refused to take instant noodles cos they said it's bad for health.

kaexin, my heartbeat fast is known de, cause gynae already warned me so. so ok la. taking it well now.

huingee, my mil also wanna buy a housen here but pte one she cannot afford. hdb they are not qualified. so no choice. u think she dun want to buy a house meh? she said wanna buy my neighbour's house. want to have 4 bedroom like us, and same block.
but not eligible la. haha! i kept laughing at their naiveness. who will pay installment for the house? sil??

QQ: You describe very aptly. The philly maids have become quite ba1 bai2. They they will chuk pattern after they know they're being "accepted" into the family..
I don't think there's anything wrong with you going ahead with your planning and not waiting for your MIL's decision. This is the logical move to make.

oh yes. my fren also mentioned indo maids will be more cincai for their meals. actually i just hope can gaodim my boy, my tian, then i am happie. think too much liao. haha!!

AAA, u also feel that they are more ba bai? i see. some indo maid also chuk pattern once they are accepted. some can be weird and scare their hb have another woman la, kids at home la. etc etc. a bit luan4. as for phylly, their family arrangements are better, and not so much problem in that sense.
afterall, it all depends on luck again.

autum, this round u seeking indo or phylly? cause your hb can speak bahasa woh.

QQ, not very true on their family arrangement part for Indo. So far according to my maids, all phily men are womaniser. They can have many families at different places. sighh.. and their partner dun even know.

giolyn, is it?? wah!!!
what are these men doing? oni women come out and work so hard to feed the family, send kids for education. they men do wat leh? hear liao also sian3.

indo one also womenizer when wives not around de. quite sad sometimes.

AAA,
I suppose there will be some adjustments to make for the meals.. of course if the (indo) maid is good, then everything else we will be willing/happy to accomodate. But generally I think we are still quite a pork-eating culture. Not just soups, we like to make char-siew meat, tau-you-bak, bak-kut-teh, wanton (using mince meat), then fried liver etc.. There will be other dishes of course.. but still we have to be mindful somehow..

QQ,
My hb can speak but I can't and I am the MAM! :p wahahhah.. cos most of the time, hb doesn't bother with the maid stuff de mah. I don't want to fan2 him also to talk to maid, cos I feel it's my job :p

As for Indo being cin cai when it comes to food, i think it also depends de. Hazel eats anything de.. and for lunch everyday, she will be eating the leftover food from dinner the night before. But the leftover is purposely cooked de.. not really leftover.. as in, we will purposely cook more for dinner, to have some leftover food for her for next day. Then on days we don't cook dinner, she will cook porridge/noodles/rice for herself the next day. I buy can-food tuna, sardine, mackerel.. then she can also cook eggs, potatoes.. whatever she wants. So all these things, you gradually got to tell your maid..

QQ: Yes.. The philly people's culture is very very liberal. I've heard of the initiation of a girl becoming a woman on her 18th or 21st birthday by sleeping with a guy! And cases of single mums are very common.
On the other hand, because the indo are more religious, they are more well-behaved, even though their religion allows the man to take up to 4 wives, this is not commonly practised.

AAA, QQ,
My sis have been telling me inod maid stories. Like her fren baby boy, penis infection. Checked and found it's the maid. She putted the baby's and another 5 year old boy P into her mouth.

Nana,
I see, you had bad experiences with Phil maids before. Oh well, then you try to communicate more with your current maid. Since she is guai by nature, at least not so bad.. u know she won't do monkey things. The rest of the things, u have to slowly teach.. boh-bian de.

re: Maid training
The other day, I was just lamenting to my mum.. After close to 2yrs, my maid's cooking has improved so tremendously and then she is leaving le.. haiz.. now she can fry a 'beautiful' plate of veg.. last time, the veg were either overcooked or undercooked.. then fry prawns with sauce.. initially, it used to be the prawns swimming in a pool of sauce (she doesn't know how to estimate).. now the prawns all come out nicely with right amount of sauce.

After suffering bad-cooking for almost 2yrs.. then when i thot things are smooth.. got to change again.. hahaha.

Edde,
Come to think of it.. i think Hazel is partly the reason why I keep losing weight?! Hahaha.. but hor, she puts on weight with me leh! Cos she gets to eat variety and quantity bah.. she told me back home, she will eat rice with like 2 dishes only (we normally cook 4).. maybe cos they bu-she-de chi ?

Ladies, it's final. I just went to book airticket for my maid to go home. 31 Aug.

Autum, yes mam. so confirm urs will be phylly. hazel is ok. but got other maids story one. my coligs maids watch tvs together at night (their house big, got a few maids), and lots of freedom one. quite hor2 mia3, and good life for them. no wonder some maids wanna get an employer like my colig. so they keep hopping and hope to drop on a wonderland.

huingee, dun scare me!! scary leh... why the maid wanna do that? she bian4 tai4?

Autum, so syang right? only if she can stay for another 2 years, more wonderful. sigh!!!

see, good maids also wanna leave for a better place with higher pay ma. so...

huingee,
OMG! the maid is bian-tai! eeeks!!

Nana,
Good leh, eat anything is good for us.. cos more fang bian for us.

Autum: I got my indo maids a eng-bahasa indo dictionary. They read it at night.

HN: That indo maid bian tai. :p Aiyooh. There was an incident of an indo maid sleeping with the employer's teen boy. She was jailed after being found out cos the boy is underage. This is very scary. Got to protect the boys in the family.

Nana: I think mine will too, although we've never tried cos we made an effort to limiting pork since their arrival.

QQ,
yes, my mum says so sayang also.. but ok la. Tian xia mei you bu san de yan xi.. And actually I encouraged her to go also. Because if I am her, I will go also. In search of a better life for herself and her daughter, that is what she should do. So that's why I even offered to let her go earlier.. her contract is technically till mid-Sep. I letting her go in end Aug. 2wks earlier la. The best I can offer. :p

come to think of it...we alys worry more for gals now we need to worry for our boys cos of these bain-tai maids ard. heard too many scary stories abt maids these days.

i alys rmbr the case whr this maid wanted to steal the employer's jewellery by baking into the cake. that's one story i will nvr forget.

Autum
wow you bought the airtix already! so fast!

rina also cant cook when she first came. she told me that she doesnt cook at her home. in fact i think she has maid to serve her. hahaha. now she cooks dinner for me almost everyday, standard not bad.

BB, wat bake cakes?
i am removing my phobia cause now looking for a maid.
my mil told me real story of a maid of her fren. the maid fell in love with the sir. and then treat the kids like her own.
but the mam was in the dark, and sir also dunno. eventually sent the maid away cause the maid confessed, and luckily sir not being seduced otherwise family broken liao.
so. this one...
maid must be taught by mam, not sir. less communication with sir better. sir as fierce as possible, hopefully not as nice to her. but mam need to be nicer to maid.
mil told me this for wat? she scare maid ill gao sua my hb? while i busy working? huh??
so NEED TO JAGA THE OLD BOY too! my god. haha!

Autum, no choice la.

QQ: Philly maids go for the sirs, indo maids go for the masters.. *faintz*

BBMar: I've heard that story too. The family found out cos the maid forgot to bring the cake along to the airport. She remembered at the airport and kept asking to come back to take the cake. The employers were very touched and bought her a ready made cake to bring home, she still insisted. They eventually found out why.

The other day, my collig shared her maid story wif me. Her mum had a slip-disc so was bed-ridden and boh bian they employed a phi maid. but this maid attitude prob and my collig tried to b nice to her as she needed her to take care of her sick mum. One day this maid use the AMC pot to cook porridge till "chao da" so she threw away the porridge. And wad happen next is more "tok gong"...she couldn't scrap away the burnt marks in the pot so she threw that AMC pot into the rubbish bin in the hse. Luckily my collig's aunt came to visit her sis and smelled the kitchen had a burnt smell then qns the maid. And the maid still can ans she cooked porridge for my collig's mum. the aunt then checked wif the sis and realised that the maid was lying. And then the aunt saw the AMC pot lying inside the bin and scolded the maid. In the end they sent off the maid.

Pink,
yes, bot airtic le. Strangely, I actually feel 'better' now, compared to few days ago. At least it's finalized to me, and not, like still waiting for her to decide yes or no etc.. and I like that this is an amiable parting. Hao lai hao san.

QQ,
Actually I think that is exactly what your MIL is trying to tell u.. to be careful that the maid doesn't gao-sua Jay. hahaha.. anyway, personally I feel that the maid should take instructions from the Mam ONLY. Cos the Mam is Mistress of the House mah.. but then, this is just my view la.