(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

QQ, ya u r right. Some maids tried all ways to seduce sirs. But dun b frightened by all these scary stories. There are also v gd and hardworking maids ard. Cross ur fingers ok? SIL's maid just arrive but we still havent met up wif her. Dunno if she will bring her over tonite.

AAA, ya luckily the employers found out in the end and the maid got caught.

Autum, but she shldn't throw away the pot mah...so exp leh!!

Autum, QQ, AAA, bbmar,
Ya loh, the maid disgusting. My mum and sis kept telling me stories about little boy kena seduce by maid. They even told me one story, two teenage boys in the family kena AIDS from maid.

huingee, AIDS?? OMG....its indeed v serious!! But i thot maid needs to go for body chk-up every 6mths?? how come nvr detect she had AIDS??

AAA,

MIL read that 11 year old boy have sex with maid story and she so scared cuz our house got two young boys. Our maid read it on newspaper herself and then tell my MIL that she thinks that other maid is so crazy and scary. Haha. My mil actually din even want our maid to know so that she won't get weird ideas. But this maid very studious, like to read books and magazines, newspaper etc. She even very she de to spend $4+ on those fashion magazines. But she only buy once I think, thereafter SIL bought back bahasa newspapers for her, she's very happy already.

Mejo: Your indo maid is very studious indeed. Actually one of my maids now (the smarter one) is liddat too. She'll read the (eng) newspaper, and I pass them my fashion magazines after I've flipped through them. She has the ambition to work for an ang moh employer next time, so she said she wants to improve her english. I support her idea to want to improve herself.

HN: Aids is quite serious wor.. How come can go undetected?

Oh yah...

QQ, Nana: I think a lot of philly maids want to work for ang moh family. Maybe that's where the good ones have gone to. Cos they are treated better and are given lots of freedom, compared with chinese family. I have an ex-boss, he's english. He came to Sing from HK, brought his maid down with him, and after a few years, he went back to england, and brought the maid with him again. They really treat her like family, that she's willing to leave with them. They sponsor her in taking driving lessons in England.

huingee, AIDS? this one cannot be forgiven de. my god!

AAA, i also think some maids also hope to get a good employer for them. so that they have better life quality. hm... really ... a mixed views. but most importantly, dun hanky panky do funny things can liao .

Autum, yalor. i also can understand why my mil told me that story. she worries la. she has no confidence in me or her own son ah? sot sot dei.
and YES, i will be the MAM.

AAA, i guess land is big in England. So with a maid that can drive and help to buy groceries is common there. I heard from a friend that it is also common in Malaysia for the maid to drive to buy grocery.

hello mummies
got back from tmc check up.. waliew heavy rain again, passed by a canal near PIE which is almost over-flowing.

maid talk today?
my indon maid is quite guai, but she dun hv initiative. do things not thorough. Recently start to doze off when pat ethan to zz, stimes i wake late she also go back to sleep! i noticed that n just last sat told her off, told her not to zz anytime she likes. if want to zz or tired i let her zz / nap 3-4pm. do u know i was catching up on my zz at abt 9am when i came out (wanting to pump) n saw her lying down (buddha style side ways) with chloe in front of her with the tv on! wah ! scolded her n she sorry sorry nonstop. haiz.. this maid of mine need to be constantly reminded one. nthing to do also duno how to find things to do type.

QQ: Yah.. It's everyone's wish to have a good boss lah. We ourselves also mah. And I believe in yuan2 fen4. There're some people that we just can't get along, and some that we'll naturally have a liking for.

Germaine: Most of us chinese will think this way. But nah, they have a driver, so doesn't need the maid to drive. His children are all big liao, either in boarding school or in the uni. They do it becos the maid wants to learn driving, and they encourage her to pick up more skills, but knowing the hefty cost, they pay for her.

can i survey

WAT TIME DOES YOUR MAIDS WAKE UP??
initially my maid will wake 530am (i find it too early) now she rubberband time..stimes 645, stimes 630. When i go back to work i need to wake 7am. so she should at least wake by 6am?

Belle, actually i dun really bother wat time they wake up or sleep. Cos their "official" working hours is 630am-1030pm. So we dun normally bother my maid after 1030pm unless we reach home late. As long as my breakfast and drink is ready when i wake up. I am ok with whatever time she wakes up.

Germaine: Yah lor.. And when she's in singapore, the maid almost have the house to herself, cos he travels more than 6mths in a year and the wife and children are in england.
Guess that's why maids want to work for ang moh bosses lor.

Belle: I'm not sure. The one who sleeps with Ariel wakes up together with Ariel, so rubber time wan. The other one usually by 6am bhah.. Not sure, we don't monitor.

belle,

My maid will wake up around 5 am and then she will collect clothes from all levels and then start doing laundry. But she will go back to sleep after soaking the clothes and wake up again later like 8 plus or so? At night, she will go to her room by 8 - 9 pm.

AAA/ Giolyn
ok tks. will discuss with hubby again ..actually i dun mind wat time she wakes but if we dun fix it, she thinks she can rubber band anytime u know wat i mean. like anytime go zzz, i prefer her to zz at fix time if she tired, unless she not well then no need to say la.

mejo
wah! ur maid so early wake up. but she ends her day early le..9pm stimes my maid still dilly dally in the kitchen.

tomorrow 3 mths with us liao.. think i need to do review with her again

Belle,

But she's not exactly sleeping so early wor. She will go into her room and read her newspapers, magazines etc. I'm not sure what time she sleeps exactly.

mejo
i dun bother wat time she zz cos as long as she nthing to do oredi n retires to her room its ok for her to do her own stuff. most of the time from wat i observe she zz almost immed. once hubby caught her reading in the dark. sigh this maid hor duno how to on the light, she said afraid to wake bb, i said its fine but at least she should come out n on the lights in the other rooms right.

AAA,
my french boss is like your frend, the wife ususally in France. employs an indo maid and most of the time he is traveling, seldom in Spore, his maid got the 3 storey house all to herself. plus got 2 weeks home leave dont know how many times in a year, coz my boss says she got young kids at home. dont even need to cook coz he doesnt need to eat. only need to pack his fruits for breakfast or prepare salad.

Nana,
Maid are like that de, I already complain abt my maid till sian liao. She is same as your’s bo bian we have to keep nag, nag and nag.

QQ,
Not to ‘poor cool water’ but I find maid with experience won’t be obedient de, they have their pride, they feel they are good no need to listen to us esp phili maid.
As I told u, think what is your main purpose to get the maid, if she meet the requirement then is good liao, cant expect more. Then you will be very hapy with your maid 
Juz curious, how they found the maid fall for the sir since the mam and sir both don’t know?
My mil also ask me to watch my maid coz she is only here for few days to help she also notice my maid like to act and get close to my hb.

Autum,
Your friend maid single no kids, how old is she?

HG,
Yuck, how ur sis friend found out her maid did that?
Aiyo now I worried abt Cayden ha, my maid like to carry Cayden and hide at place where I cant see them.

Belle,
Sign… seems like most maid have same problem.
I told my maid she can sleep at 10pm till 6.30am but if she finish her chore early she can turn in early. So sometime she sleep at 9+. I let her nap with Elisha in the noon, but recently I found she getting sneaky, she wake at 6+ to show my hb she is awake, after he left, she go back to sleep. Sometime at night I let her accompany Elisha sleep, ask her to give Elisha milk at 9pm, off light and keep the portable player, when I do spot check at 9.15pm found she asleep and left the milk on bed, Elisha still watching the player with light off.

QQ
when i first employ maid, my mil kept telling me cannot leave maid alone at home with ah tan. i told ah tan and he dun know whether to be angry or to laugh at his own mum. angry bcos his own mum has no faith in him!

Autum
i agree. hao lai hao san. no matter wat, she has helped out a lot during the 1.5yr of EV's life.

blurbelle, Mejo
my maid's sleeping time depends on Enya. Enya usually wakes around 7+, so maid will wake up with her. at night, i dun bother her after enya falls asleep at 9pm+ but she will do a bit of chores like folding clothes, sometimes help me watch over leia while i bath..so she sleeps around 10+. im flexible. as long as chores are done, dinner cooked, meimei fed and sleep..ok

AAA,
Agreed, maids at ang mo family got more flexible, saw some maid brought the master to poliwag buy themself, they can have maid gathering there also, all wear very sexy. Me and my hb was like hm...will my maid compare after seeing it?
We try to be as flexible as possible, but then we still Asia Chinese afterall, we have our expectation, really cant follow them.

ecmom,
i understand de. so i say all by LUCK one. 9pm a bit early to sleep for me, but i think if my maid wanna sleep early and wake up early i am ok. noon nap is ok as long as things are done and kids are sleeping.
i am now wearing my rain coat in case cold water pouring at me, as in I am prepared to face anything, everything with my maid's arrival.... then observe, if buey ngam, that's it. or max 1 replacement. see how.
my colig also pour me cold water la, but she said: afterall, the overall benefits outbeat the inconveniences and problems. depends on how I see it. as long as dun get a bian4 tai4 one can already.
new one has no exp with babies, might be bian4 tai4 after that. scared.
why the mam realised the maid fell in love with hb? got story one. i din say here cause i tot too elaboratedla.
the maid worked for them for many years le, got gan3 qing2 already. then slowly over years she become a bit bian4 tai4, and ended up she admitted she loved her sir, and the kids. the sir was blur (but he treats maid very nice hor though he never touch the maid), but the maid already becoming bian4 tai4 and doing all tricks (weird and funny tricks) in order to make the sir love her more.
for kids, she put her own hair (from pte part) in the diapers so that kids also follow her.
i dunno what she did to make sir listen to her, but though just tricks but not much effect afterall. they realised oni when the maid turned bian4 tai4 a bit.

Pink, i still remember your mil's worry last time. and ah tan also dunno cry or laugh.

Ecmom,
I dunno how old exactly is my friend's maid.. but i think in her 20s.. she is educated type.. ie. in Indonesia, she has gone to college/university. But because cannot find job back home, she came here to be maid.

Pink,
Yes, no matter how, I will always be grateful to Hazel

QQ
think she 看破红尘, dun trust men :p
i wont get someone who has worked in singapore or Hong Kong definitely. probably someone who worked in middle east, took care of babies before.

Pink, those worked in sg before not ok meh?

SQ, yes. they call these xia4 zou4 yu3. something like that. weird la.

QQ
ya tis famous Korean actress in Singapore: jin1 ying2 ji1
her maid boil sanitary pad with soup stock n let e family drink
it was in e papers yrs ago
so drama
v difficult to forget

SQ, this is also similar to one of the stories that mil told us. she kept scaring us la.
i also heard this a few times from different sources before.
msia also got such cases.

belle,

yah, i agree maids pattern change... intially they wanna give employer good impression,so they wake up at 5.30am... later they will laxed...

Hv to tell her to wake up at certain timing loh.

QQ
i wont say not ok, i dun want her to compare us with their ex employer singapore. if we are stricter, she sure a bit 心里不平衡

QQ,
If experience in singapore they know many things, smarter than you. Know they have rights etc.

I find for maid if we treat them like family they will treat our kids well too. Think those maid that do funny things are maid not happy or weird ones.
Also bian tai ones are minority.

Ecmom,
aiya, these are stories. There are always bad stories about maid. Dun think too much, just that we need to spot check on them sometimes.

We went to Long Beach for dinner and their standard has dropped as well.
What happened?

QQ: Yes, finding maid is heng-suay plus also the employer's expectation of the maid. Think you'll have no problem on both fronts.

HJ: Yah lor. Over at my neighbourhood, maids cum maids' dogs gathering is very common. I think they call each other to walk the dogs at the same time so they can chit chat also. And yes, a lot of them will be wearing spagetti straps.

Pink, Autum: I dunno if this is the case for most people. But I also remember my first maid who took care of Anna very fondly. She did many wrong things and may possibly be the one who stole my piggy bank, yet when she called from the phillipines to say she wanted to come back to work for us, I was quick to forget her wrongs and welcomed her back. And I know that consciously or subconsciously, I've always been comparing my other maids' babycare skills with hers, and feel that hers was still the best, if not one of the best. Strange huh?

RE -BBQ

can we confirm things to bring for the BBQ.
for those charcoal tongs etc.....
food,drink...

and who confirm going ????
can we start communicated thru emails or sms or phone...

i'm aplogise as coming week i be rather get caught up in work therefore the chances of looking into forum would be difficult....

HJ
when my sil wanted to get a maid, i told her to state her terms & conditions during the phone interview. that includes keeping short hair, no spagetti strap tank tops etc. u may wan to consider doing that.

AAA
which Long Beach?

Pax: Now that you reminded me.. Would it have been easier for you (in future) to collect your loot from me instead of QQ, given your SIL stays so close to me?
Summarise and post the flooding issue again..

i think the recent floods are not so much PUB's fault. the intense rainfall is not expected. it's probably a 1-in-25-yr type of rainfall, i.e. we will only expect this type of intensity once every 25 yrs.. let me give some insight fr civil engrg pt of view.

1. Orchard
at Orchard-Scotts junction, where Ion stands nw was a park over Orchard MRT. the surface run-off on a pavement compared to a grassland is different. when rain fall on vegetation / grass, some of the rain are trapped in the leaves and drained into the soil, until such pt when the soil bcom saturated. on a pavement, all the rain go into a drain. the rainfall was so intense that the water going to the drain overwhelm the drainage system so fast that there is no time for the water to "regularise".
the localised drainage system for the development shld be ok, but somebody shld perhaps look at the overall drainage system in Orchard to Somerset area.
hydraulic and hydrology engineering

2. Marina Barrage
will only help w low lying areas which r below highest tide level. it will nt help w such rainfall.

3. MRT stns, tunnels, expressway tunnels
if u notice, the entrances into MRT stns and tunnels, expressway tunnels are built higher than the surrounding areas. they r actually build to abt 1m abv the highest tide level. this is a PUB requirement. all tunnels hv pumps and sumps to collect and pump out surface run-off...

ok.. i think i'm getting too technical...

AAA
we seldom go sil's pl. usually go to mil's pl. we arrange again in future.

oh btw, i got my CP & ON stuff via QQ/ pink.
thks thks! the CP tops for M nice! vv bright n boyish. the ON stuff for me, i vnt try on yet. decided nt to bring back hm bcos we'll b movg there in 4 wks time..