(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

QQ
her disorder is related to ADD disorder - attention deficit disorder. 1 symptom is hyperactiveness + short attention span but this kinda 'illness' ..there's no cause, they are born with it.
http://www.add-adhd.org/ADHD_attention-deficit.html
and another very sad thing abt her is that she had all her teeth extracted at 1.5yr old bcos of tooth decay caused by BM. since then her mum refused to give her milk which is why my fren suspect that she's lack of a lot of nutrients. she's already 7 and the teeth are not grown back leh. lack of calcum must be. hiaz.

Pink, i can watch SATC many times, and i am not sick at all...ha ha. There is once i went to Hanoi with my frens, i just watched the serial in the hotel, while my frens went out shopping. i am just so crazy...

CK,

Hmm, recently I've been reading news of mothers selling their daughters for sex to pay the rent etc. In Japan, a woman sold her daughter, a one year old toddler, to man to have his way with her for 20000 yen. What is the world coming to??? There's no logic to people's action sometimes.

hi mummies, finally got some time to log on. Just celebrated Ethan's bb shower today.. phew tiring , in fact i have a pounding headache now.

Donation for Hair For Hope 2010
mummies, pete is shaving his head again for this yr's event. He is hoping to raise as much cash as possible for the Children's Cancer foundation
(CCF). Pls show your support by visiting the link below, click DONATE TO THIS SHAVEE. Thank u very much on behalf of pete & CCF!

http://www.hairforhope.org.sg:8080/hfh/shavee/show/943

pinkpink,
Oh, the girl so poor thing. Milk is very important to kids. Hai....
Yesterday i asked my nanny how come her son so tall as parents are short. She said she didn't let him eat special. Her son said milk is very important. Just drink milk can liao.

Belle,
It's tiring when have party.

Pinkpink, CK, Huingee,
hmmm ... there are studies that shown milk (other than bm) is actually no good but I'm not sure how true. Reyes' doctor is one of those that don't encourage milk. She believes in getting the neccessary nutrients from natural food. I had stopped given them milk (any form) since they were 2+. (all started cos Reyes is allergic to it) And they havnt been having fever, cough or flu since then.

I can't say anything for height though cos my kids are short. But then again, they were short to begin with. Haha!

Bunnie
ask autum to conduct lessons one o e SARS when e kids hvg art n craft

I can't bao also la, I ONI know how to eat

wat u mean fail?
E shape is it?
U r so xian2 qi1 liang2 mu3
u bake n nw bao1 bak chang

RR, my HB hates milk, and they drank condensed milk when young. his teeth is very bad...and his brother starts wearing dentures from 20+...i also read a jap dr. book on cancer...he dont advocates milk. he said milk caused phelgm, which is food for cancer cell, if i remembered correctly. Very confusing...

Belle & SQ, the hair cut is something i want to do in future...if my family dont kill me...but i think they will not : )

Ck
When I was a volunteer w CCF, I read o parent(s) who cut their hair so tey look e same s their children who r undergoing chemotherapy n losing hair. It's a v touching course under such circumstances. I can't bear to even thk abt it nw tt I m a mother o two

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">Date - 3rd July (SATURDAY)</font></font>
<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">TIME 5PM TO 9PM</font></font>
<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">Venue - Jurong SAFRA </font></font>

<font color="ff6000">1. kiddo
2. pinkpink
3. nanabear</font> <font color="119911">(crabstick, cheese hotdogs, hotdogs, sweet corn, sweet potato)</font>
<font color="ff6000">4. Giolyn
5. Kelley
6. mist
7. joelle
8. Astro &amp; Family</font> (tentative)..

I dunno what to contribute ... juz buy water???

i suspect themother didn't wanna give milk to prevent further tooth decay which will cause her more $? erm. pink, sry i am just spectulating.. but i seriously wondered why..

ADD.. i went or a workshop on this.. it is a learning disability.. a life time disabiity.. an area in thebrain which sustains attention.. is underdeveloped or damaged.. and hence the kid/adult finds it difficult to sustain focus more than 3 minutes.. adults are on the fly all the time. unable to complete tasks and then forgetting about it.. can't sit still. kids and youngsters get repeatedly punnished bcause they are mistaken as being notti for not staying in still.. poor thing..
medicine .. which stimulate that part of the brain is given to help them manage their attention deficit. but has sideeffects..
very poor thing..

CK,
yes, after what I heard from the doctor, I went to read up alot on my own and there are many other reasons which cause milk to be harmful to kids and even adults. But there are always 2 sides to these, that's why I think it still depends on individual.

astro
ya, the mummy didnt want further tooth decay tho her teeth were already extracted.
they discovered she dare not order noodle from a stall bcos of the heavy plate.

CK
condensed milk too sweet rite? my hubby's cousin also didnt like milk when shes a baby. was given condensed milk. she's ok le.

RR,

I think moderate consumption of milk should be okay. Cannot do 1 litre a day that kind lar. Last time hb drank so much milk that he got stones! As for allergies, apparently it shouldn't be a problem for most children after 3 years old. In any case, you do have to supplement extra calcium through other food if you are not letting RR drink milk. I glance through the article and realise that the sugar and protein in milk will react to form harmful products under high heat. think that is one of the main concerns for milk consumption. The other thing is sugar. Sweetened milk is no good, sweetened milk + high heat = very bad! Opps, I should cut down on all those Teh! Maybe teh ice is not so bad though cuz after mixing, immediately pour on ice! Then I must reduce eating those soup with milk. :/

You know, for the first article, they purposely infect people with virus to do the experiment, haha. I wonder how much the "volunteers" were paid.

Mejo,
not only about viral infection but other problems arise from milk too. Here are some which I came across and some others which I don't have the info now.

1. Humans lose the capacity to digest milk, as over time, many of us lose the lactase enzyme. That's why you see some people start to have lactose-intolerance only when they are older.

2. Protein in the cow’s milk damages the human immune system. Amino acids, the units that make up proteins, are building blocks for all living cells. When amino acids in our food are properly broken down by the digestive system into protein, it does no harm to the immune system. Protein from milk, however, is absorbed into the blood fully indigested, provoking an immune response.

3. Cow's milk is not a good source of calcium. The ideal calcium to magnesium ratio should be 2:1. Milk's ratio is 10:1. By relying on cow's milk for calcium, you will have magnesium deficiency and imbalance.

For alternative sources of calcium and magnesium in almost correct ratio, choose seeds, nuts, and crunchy vegetables like broccoli, cabbage, carrots and cauliflower.

4. In actuality, cow's milk is nature’s design specifically to meet the needs of a growing calf, and is lacking in the essential elements necessary for human growth and balance. It is high in animal-protein, and when consumed causes calcium to be leeched from our bodies.

5. Milk inhibits iron absorption, so milk drinking populations as in India have twice the incidence of anemia and iron deficiency than that of China, where milk is not popular. As for calcium, milk does not necessarily prevent osteoporosis. In a Harvard Nurses' Health Study conducted on 78,000 women over a 12-year period, it was found that those who consumed a lot of milk a day had twice the number of hip fractures as compared to those who did not consume milk at all.

6. 80% of the protein in milk is casein. Casein is a potential allergen... a histamine that creates lots of mucus.

Mejo,
oh, one of my BIL went to volunteer for one of those tests/drugs done at CGH. They paid him $150 a day for 18 days! But then he had to stay there and get his blood drawn on daily basis.

SQ
u once volunteered for CCF? i have a good frn who is a volunteer there.. dats how i got to know abt CCF. the 1st time pete shaved was before chloe was born
after he shave he just wear a beanie lor :p i used to ply the streets to sell those tulips..

CK
its for a good cause, dun think your family will object ba.. for me i admit i dun hv the courage to go botak yet.

Huingee
yeah tiring i dun hv much pics taken le.. not even with my son!
will post on my blog later still having that stubborn headache.. think its due to the weather, my back sng like duno wat after the celebration

Huingee,
ya, they do get their calcium from food.

Some Calcium sources

Rice and alternatives
Calcium enriched breads, cereals, noodles

Vegetables
Green leafy vegetables

Fruits

Meat and alternatives
Ikan bilis, sardines with bones, salmon, dhal, tofu &amp; etc ...

RR,

Hmm, I don't agree with most of the points, especially the second one. Most normal people should be able to break down milk proteins fully. Only some with certain conditions (such as autisim) may have problems doing that. And why would provoking allergies damage the immune system? Again, not everybody is allergic. As for calcium, formula milk is fortified (in fact, most milk in the market is fortified). They change the composition of the milk so it is not exactly the original cow milk. Casein is not a histamine but I think there are certain studies linking a midway breakdown product of casein to the release of histamine. Having said that, again, most people should be able to break down milk proteins completely. I think the problem lies in some people not being able to completely breakdown milk proteins and if these people do not know of their conditions, then it is harmful to them. And the truth is casein is practically everywhere, avoiding milk is not enough... You can't even eat macdonald fries if you want a true milk-free diet.

Blood drawn daily?!?! Pay me $1500 a day I also don't want! What make your BIL do it???

SQ,

I didn't go and investigate that sugar + protein = danger thing fully wor. In any case, calcium can affect absorption of iron so maybe not so good to use in cooking all the time.

Oh ya, anyone wants to take over my hair loss shampoo? If not, I'll just pass to my dad.

I ran out of shampoo liao so went to get the Nioxin shampoo when I went for haircut just now.

RR,

Oh yar, the 5th point is a bit laughable... because you cannot just link anemia to milk drinking like that. You have to look at the nutrition on a whole. First of all, maybe the Indians are not eating enough meat to begin with and don't forget Chinese like to eat all those organs like livers blah blah. You can't take everything on the Internet for real... Not even newspaper and books can be fully trusted.

I must agree that not everybody is suited for drinking milk and one should never drink milk near the meals. Must space out, if not absorption of certain nutrients will be affect. Also full fat milk can slow down digestion and affect appetite. So again, don't drink milk right before or right after a meal.

Mejo,
haha, I also don't know what made him to go for that. We only know about it when he came back.

Hmmm ... this milk thing is getting too complicated.

Oh, and calcium alone will not prevent osteoporesis. You NEED to exercise. Not just any exercise, but weight lifting or resistance training.

RR,

It is cool that you bought this up though, I never knew there was a milk debate. One more reason to get rid of the cows anyway, they are the worst pollutants.

Wa RR
I can't imagine running out o shampoo
or conditioner or bath foam or facial foam or cosmetics
I find buyg tem so therapeutic

mejo
my hb also like to buy tos canned Campbell soup n add milk

Mejo,
yes, I never knew about this worldwide debate over milk too until I started searching/reading about it.
But like what you said, what are found in the internet might not be the truth anyway.

Cannot get rid of the cows lah, I like beef. haha!!

SQ,
not run out as in totally don't have, haha!! But think won't last till the shampoo arrives. Anyway the hairstylist used the Nioxin shampoo to wash my hair just now and she recommends it so I thought just buy and try.

RR
feedback in nioxin after using it.

mejo
oh! i better ask mum and maid not to give milk too close to meals! i learn something today.

RR, your shampoo is taken!

u mean from my spree right? correct?
got taker here. no worry.

mejo, everyone.
i am scared le. i also force tian to drink her milk. jialat. i stopped drinking FM since I was less than 2 yo. survived on milo oni then. but hor, now how? continue or wat?
SQ, u target your bf for a longer period then.

Wah, didn noe milk got so bad? I m drinking meji low fat everyday leh. 3days 1 bott. Sam is still drinking my bm and partial fm at night. She prefer milo, so i should change to milo better? I remember my mom change my fm to milo when i was k2.

QQ,
yes, from your spree de.
wah, you are fast to find another taker. Tks!

Pinkpink,
I'm thinking it should work well since I'm getting the nioxin tonic as well.

RR, the taker reserved liao. at wait list. haha!! RR.
not many la. my sil's frens lor. reaction so slow. i already placed order then they wanna add two bottles. so ok la i say if got i let her chope.

yvonne, what i heard about milo is.
milo used to be ok, better. nowadays also not so good liao. not sure about the reason.
but u know la, maybe last time they use GOOD ingredients, now no more.
later we going woodgrove for dinner. pass u your clothe ok?

re:milo
the other day i bought milo with thai text. guess wat, it taste sweeter than the normal version!

rr, sq, qq
i realise that mr tan is using this GNC shampoo which contains BIOTIN, and the shampoo which QQ is mass ordering also contains BIOTIN. so BIOTIN is the ingredient that will help hair growth i suppose.

finally can let ah bian join in for this gathering.

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Date - 3rd July (SATURDAY)
TIME 5PM TO 9PM
Venue - Jurong SAFRA</font></font>

<font color="ff6000">1. kiddo
2. pinkpink
3. nanabear (crabstick, cheese hotdogs, hotdogs, sweet corn, sweet potato)
4. Giolyn
5. Kelley
6. mist
7. joelle
8. Astro &amp; Family (tentative)..
9. bbmarch</font>