(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

hey mummies, need to survey how much u guys are paying for ur utilities bill. We seldom on the aircon yet still need to pay at least $100 every mth. MIL's 5rm yet she is paying abt $50+ more than me and she cooks and washes laundry everyday.

Anyone bringing the kids to the mamil milkathon next sat?? still hesitating to sign up cos its v far...@ ECP

Aiyo debate abt milk...so drinking milk is essential and gd anot? But dun drink oso can get calcium fr other sources. Like ah bian now, refuse to drink milk. So we compensate by giving him supplements. But sometimes, those vits can be too heaty and causes constipation.

hey mummies, wad kind of shampoo for kids is gd? Cos i realise the johnson & johnson head to toe wash isnt v gd for the hair....i dun wanna the boys grow up wif frizzy hair. Shld let them use gd shampoo fr now rgt?? so that their hair will feel soft when they grow older??

SQ, maybe ah bian follow hb's genes and has v thick hair. I feel his hair and its not soft for a young kid lor...dats y i was thinking to get a gd shampoo instead.

SQ, tks will chk it out.

Just read fr YP mag that its not advisable to use VICKs on young kids. I think some of us mention abt tis before rgt??

Milk Debate: Hubby heard it on radio some time back. And we started wondering then. At best, milk (esp FM) has NO additional benefits to the kids.
Fresh milk is better, but we still give ler.. How to rid a habit that has been around for decades?

BB_mar,
I'm using Gaia baby shampoo & conditioner for the kids. I think it makes their hair very soft. Reyes' long hair also won't get entangle.

Pinkpink,
aiyah, I've given up my shampoo slot liao, haha! Nioxin shampoo don't have biotin?

Btw, you got my JE orders? :p

QQ, AAA, bbmarch,

I think FM is still good lar if the kids have no allergies. If however, you are suspecting certain skin/body conditions are due to the milk, might want to stop and monitor. FM are all fortified with vits and minerals. I wouldn't say no additional benefits. No additional benefits ONLY if you are getting all nutrients from food but the truth is, most of our vegs and meat are no longer as nutritious as they are in the past. Especially veg.

This is the conclusion from the second paper. You can read more in details on the link I've given. It is a scientific review paper, i.e. they sum up others research in a sort of summary.

Consumption of 0.5 litre milk daily supplies a significant amount of many of the nutrients that are required daily. Milk components take part in metabolism in several ways; by providing essential amino acids, vitamins, minerals and fatty acids, or by affecting absorption of nutrients. Milk fat is diverse with a wide-ranging spectrum of fatty acids and lipids. Milk fat has been notified for decades, but as discussed in this review a moderate intake of milk fat has no negative health effects, on the contrary, many milk fat component have important roles in the body. Milk protein is especially rich in amino acids that stimulates muscle synthesis, and some proteins and peptides in milk have positive health effect e.g. on blood pressure, inflammation, oxidation and tissue development. Fermented milk has special health-promoting properties, e.g. stimulation of immune response and protection against cancer, virus and allergy, and fermented milk and full-fat milk may also delay gastric emptying from the stomach and possibly have an effect on appetite regulation. For some individuals, milk proteins, fat or milk sugar may cause health problems. Heat treatment of milk may also result in reduction of bioactive compounds and formation of potentially harmful products of carbohydrates and proteins. Milk can be significantly altered by changing the feeding regimes. Content of several fatty acids such as c9, t11-CLA and the ratio between omega-6 and omega-3 fatty acids are affected by the amount of grass and supplemental feeds (concentrate) in the diet. Milk content of several vitamins and minerals are also influenced by the cow's diet. Iodine and selenium are examples of trace elements that may be added to the feed, and thereby milk can be a good food source of these elements.

Main conclusions
• Milk contains many important nutrients.
• A moderate intake of milk fat has no negative health effects.
• The increasing consumption of milk products added sugar and sugar containing jams should be questioned.
• It is possible to adjust feeding regimes to develop milk with increased content of healthy components such as selenium, iodine and some fatty acids.

sq,
the bbt blk is 335. Sat open half day, i think. Den sun not open one. The auntie veri good life, 7pm closing. If good business, no more teas den will go home liao. Hehe.

noone around.. ? ah. blue! tomorrow school restrats and i have class! ahhh.. Monday BLACKS?!
and i can't find my ib token again.. argh. i keep losing them..

i suspect.. teng's sensitive nose and his constant excema might be due to fm also. hmm i not sure ..

YY,

It could be due to milk allergies. You can try suspending all FM and also food containing casesin and see if it helps. Now I'm suspecting that my nephew eternal running nose is also from drinking FM. Hmmm...

Astro
there's no harm stopping FM and milk related pdts for the time being.

bbmar
laptop, computer, DVD player, tv can be high power consumption. my bill is also approx $100. ur mil may be at home all the time, but she may not be using these "heavy duty" pdts.

bbmar
my bill started from $150+ to $280 after i have kids + Maid. we on aircon thru out the night, as well as MIL.

rr
got ur order.
just checked. nioxin has whole lots of ingredients, biotin is 1 of them. QQ's shampoo and mr tan's shampoo emphasis on the biotin ingredient.

SQ
u are not suaku. i was surprised when he told me he bought shampoo from GNC

hi hi! forum so active on a sunday? hehehe..

alamak! health talk.. and all the milk talk is scaring me la!!

somemore when i go back to work.. i intend to give full FM liao la.. or maybe i should consider partial BM..

am so paranoid now.. :/

Good Morning!

Bunnie,
Please describe what you mean by "fail" for your bakzang. Is it the wrapping or the taste?

re: Milk Debate
hmm, so should we give or not? I agree with AAA, that alot of this is also habit. It's decades old habit that we should all give milk to children. Hahah..

BB_March, the kids are using pigeon shampoo. Yes, J&J head to toe make the hair fizzy. this is what i notice too. I feel as long the kids use shampoo and soap separately, their hair texture will be better.

Pink, i feel you have to let your frens know that u are not like them anymore. You have your own family to take care of. No doubt you may feel left out or they may exclude you on certain activities but this is inevitable as you cant be living in two different kind of lifestyle forever. My frens generally include me in all the gatherings but i have to tell them that i have to leave by certain timing. They know these and they respect it as well.

bbmar,
Your mil electricity bill only $50+? Wa, very good leh. Mine last time if dun on aircon about $80 per mth bah. Now with aircon is $100+.

QQ,
Saw your bingo game at taka and bought it. It's called Zingo actually. 4 of us played last night, fun. Haha, Dylan cheated. Will take our ones if he didn't get it lst.

Pink,
I read about your friend's niece. Can report the parents for child abuse? It sounds like a very sad case for her. Hope that life will be good to her as she grows up.

bbmarch,
my utilities bill is also 100+. seldom switch on aircon but we cook everyday.

huingee
for swimming, i also use the 2-in-1s

i dun want them to drown at the toilet while i search for my shampoos and bath foams

yvonne
next time i sms you when we going swimming. then we can walk over at the same time
u free on sundays?

Re milk: I also hear that goat's milk (instead of cow's) is closer to humans milk. Is this accurate?

SQ: Hehe.. Yah, will look cute. Have ordered for her. I just hope anna won't get jealous and asked how come he doesn't have. :p
Milo: I bought Hollicks. Somehow, it taste different than it used to. :p How come?

Pink: What's gonna happen to the girl when the paretns are divorced? Who wants custody of her? So poor thing. She's the innocent sufferer..

Zingo: I have that game. Received it as a present for Anna. But haven't opened the box yet. Nice?

Utilities bill: You wanna know mine? It's 300 - 500+. Gross in comparison to the average you girls are paying. :p

SQ,
The trip was tiring. I really think I am getting old! Haha.. we drove in. For going in, I drove most of the way. Then when coming back, hb drove all the time. Hmm, I felt I didn't do much there cos so short time! And you know with kids, we have to let them go back to hotel to sleep in the afternoon, so it's kind of like, waste time for us. hahaha.. but ok la. We got to see the family and some cousins. Nice! This trip was to celebrate my FIL 70th birthday, so all our family was there. And the younger kids enjoyed la, cos bday mah.. can sing song and cut cake. And we have 3 types of 'cakes'. One is a cake, one is argar-argar-jelly-cake (those 2 goldfish on top type), and one is shou4-tao2. Quite good la. My FIL very happy, I can see. At times like this, I really feel it's so unfortunate my MIL is no longer around. She passed away before her two younger sons got married (my hb and his younger brother).. I wish she is around to see all these.

Overall a good trip for us, although tiring.

Finally can come in.

I am in TMC now. admitted last night due to contractions (with increase frequency, till 8-10 mins apart). so scary.
i also got laosai yesterday. then the machine hardly detect my contractions, though the nurse can feel them on and off when i asked them to check.
then kena jab, pills, and on drip.
under observation till tomorrow.

now oni wk 31, hope can dong a few more weeks to 35-36wk, at least then me and baby are safe.

Giolyn,
no woh. i anticipated this contraction or stupid things coming to me v soon cause my heart not very an1 xin1 and also my pelvic floor keep having this urge to go toilet, plus very painful sometimes. but i read and asked gynae he said it is normal to feel that. but i just tot it is a bit too early though.

so this time we all hope that it is triggeredby laosai cause i had serious laosai past two days prob ate something wrong. and on saturday noon till night i was alone with tian, up and down, walk more and need to bath her, cook for her, etc. too siong bah.
i am such a toufu.

but the machine cannot detect my contraction, prob due to too small baby and LOTS of ROOM for bb to move now they cannot tie my tummy too tight until i cannot breath.

now i have to b careful otherwise i really feel that bb might come early. my gut feel.

huingee, yes the game is fun if there are more ppl playing. tian eveyrday also bring to mimi's house and hope to play with jie jie, mimi, and sometimes gorgor. gorgor fight with her most of the time, so she prefer to play with mimi and jie jie.

QQ
heard about you from Yvonne.
dun worry ok, you are already in the last trimester, just have to try to relax and rest well. JIA YOU!

Giolyn
you see. some pple wont understand till they are in our shoes. It's just too bad that im the pioneer mummy among them. they can say things like "ask your mum to help lah". wow sound so easy like that.

Autum
its not abuse la. just that maybe at that pt of time, the mum was affected by her teeth extraction so she insisted not to give milk.

AAA
they are going to divorce soon, knew each other since age 17. hiaz. no love liao. so sad. im hearing too many of such stories recently until im getting a bit paranoid.
a fren's brother also wants to 'LEAVE' the family, maybe midlife crisis of something. wife gave birth to 4 kids. he said they drawn apart after each kid bcos the wife doesnt want him to touch her while she is breastfeeding for 1 year. sad rite?

i watched prince of persia yesterday. not bad. the lead actress is sooo pretty.
thinking of bringing leia to watch toy story 3 and cats & dogs.

QQ : talk to baby.. baby will know.. u rest well .. hugz!

victoria also.. i got the feeing that she will come out quite early.. wont wait until my scheduled time.. and alas! the water bag broke.. lolz..

QQ : dun move about too much... rest very well in bed.. and dun tink so much ok

nana, i am ok la. i will be ok.
but i cannot answer you if my bb will be ok or not.
i hope la since already 3rd tri, hor?

QQ: You be careful. Rest and dong a few weeks more. If cannot, start your ML earlier.

Pink: Very sad. Then again, they must have grown at a different pace since 17 til now. Can't take marriage for granted. Got to take time off kids and relive the couplehood time. Of course,easier said than done.
The lead actress is the same girl who acted in Clash of the Titans.