(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

aaa
maybe cos ayden is a boy. that's why they are not so particular

voodoo i've heard. even if she's well treated, she wants to make sure it stays that way mah. so they do voodoo to make sure they are the one in control, not the employer

Pink,

yah, i agree tt it's very sian to go back to office at this stage. Do a chop chop one and go back hm quickly to rest.

Ash,

haha... me also hvn't wean off X from bottle.. i got tons of things to train X leh. hv to start w toilet training, then transferring him to sleep in another room... wow, just look at these 2 tasks already need alot of energy liao.

SQ,

How come your baby look like mine too huh? hahaha... babies all look alike.

Ash: Yah lor.. Not a good timing..
Unfortunately. But keeping her here risks making the other maid wanna quit. Then I'll rather not.

SQ: Aiyooh.. Then does that put the new indo maid on suspicion? This old Philly maid (came abt slightly 1mth before the Indo) was ok before. Nonsense started only when the Indo maid arrives..

SQ: I don't check on arrival but I get them to declare whatever valuables/cash they have on hand. I write it down on their file so when they leave, they can't have more than what they came with (cos we don't hand out cash to them). I tell them the reason for the declaration. And I ask them to show me the items/cash amount they declared.

Hi ecmom,

read your post. got so many qns marks on what happen to to elisa and your maid still dun utter a word on what happen, then i suggest just change her lah.

As for your hubby, he is right tt there is no evidence tt the maid cause harm to elisha. but the maid is also not telling the truth, then causing fear, anxiety, stress for nothing. How many times can he tolerate elisha had such blister w/o knowing what actually happen?

My opinion, just tell your hb tt you need to change the maid and case closed... hmmm, i sound abit fierce hor, but i see no point arguing over such matters lah. Change your maid and set your mind at ease.

Astro,

Yes, i agree it's super duper stress to hv everyone in the fmy and sick. your maid on recovery liao, get her to eat Vit C and yourself as well too.

is your miser helping? get him to help out to relieve your stress....

AAA,
Managing maids are not easy.

Astro,
It's like this one, Teng will get sick more often as he is expose to more virus at cc.
Your maid cough really drag very long, not good for yh if she is taking care of him too.
Dun be too stress, slowly everything will get into pieces.
If you haven't start work, how about only let Teng go on half day. By doing that, he will not get sick so often. Also let him rest at home till he is ok then let him go back cc.

Hj,
Men sometimes are too considerate for others and neglect their wives feelings. You need to stress him you cannot stand this maid.

ecmom,

forgot to share my experience on my maid. yesterday my maid took abt 1 hr to fetch my boy from CC (actually the walk distance to the CC is abt 15 to 20 mins).

I called the CC and ask what time she fetch and maid is back i asked her where did she go. at least my maid responded though i can validate the truth. I told her strictly, i dun like pple to lie. she assured me that she didn lie, never mind i will monitor her timing. In my case, she at least told me something which i can monitor in future, but your maid didn tell you anything, that means u hv to be on alert mode for 24hr by 7.. too stress on u liao.

and hor, i tell u hor, me not shy one, i bf my baby everywhere in the hse, including living room, so tt i can watch out for any funny behaviours.

regarding your mum picking on the maid, i wanna tell u all elders are like tt. My MIL also behave the same way!! and worse, she communicates family matters to maid too. Hence, i requested my hubby to tell mil not to come first, i wanna use this time to really train my maid. At least to do things the way i want it to be.

AAA,

aiyo, really not a good time to change maid, but i guess better to bite the bullet now, else your better maid also resign then worse for u...

any relatives to help u during your confinement? else abit stress for the maid to jaga 2 kids leh. Or your maid jus do simple cleaning while your 2 kids are sleeping loh. the she jaga them when they are awake

bad news.. today EVee start to have fever. haiz.. EJ is still having fever, but not that high le. Around 38.3, 38.4. Today EV is at 38.5. So much for not letting EJ kiss and hug mei mei..

Mejo,
i am already a carrier of that virus that causes cold sores.. and i used to have cold sores outbreaks when I was younger.. even now, every now and then, i get some cold sores.. so I suppose it's unavoidable that my kids may/will get them from me.. as I cannot don't kiss/hug my children! :p

Astro, *patpat* dun stress. Get yourself well first. Quickly see all sort of doctor once u found the medicine dun work for u. Cos u need to be well and then the kids will be well again. Dun blame urself. Dun be depress. If one pd medicine dun work, go for another pd. No need to keep going to Dr Ong.

HJ, dun be stress. Tell ur maid the consequence of u changing her eg she has to pay her own air fare, even if she wants to transfer, not all employer will want a transfer maid, no income when she is waiting for ner employer. If u really determine to change her. Then just ask the agency to take her away since ur mom is around and u are at home. Just a bit siong for the time being while getting a new maid.

wha,mummies.. this is what i read in rae's comm booklet last night.

"Racia do not want to eat the porridge given and she cried asking to eat the biscuits that you pack for her"

Autum: rae exact opp.. she dun like vegetables.. she can live purely on meat and rice only!

Huajing: can u jus call agency and get them to take them back. i agree with the mummies here. i will dismiss a maid that may potentially harm my children. this is too big a risk which i not take. cos if nothing bad happens, it may be too late.

Star,
Then I think try not to pack biscuit for her. Tell her eat the food together with her friends in school.
I don't like to give extra snack for Esther to bring to school. Cos other kids see liao will get their parents to prepare for them. I will do occasionally only.

HN: Yup, not easy. Easier to manage staff at work anytime.

Mist: Cleaning can stop temporarily. Actually I may get the philly maid to still stay around until the new maid comes along. And she can handle all the cleaning chores while the other maid handles the children. Think this might be better. I have to talk to the indo one first of course.

Ash: They don't get off days. We pay them extra in lieu of off days.

SQ: I can't help but worry. And that's part of the reason I always close one eye when it comes to maids. Cos, I can't live without them, unfortunately. Good thing anna goes to school. Now I wish ayden goes to school too.. :p

Autum,
Once one kid sick, the other kid might kena the virus also. Especially if the elder is sick.
Hope EV's fever dun get too high.

scary, maid issue.
autum, so i am phobia about maid again. it is never ending.
it is easy to spread the virus de, so just continue monitoring and giving medicine.

hj,
eh, please la. i thikn your hb will surrender de. you are the one staying at home, not him. so u are under stress. no point keeping the maid.

AAA, u also maid issue now? aiyo..
but your cl coming to help u, not too worry. hope your one maid can gaodim anna and ayden.

astro, i can feel your fan2-ness. but what to do? my colig told me recently the wind is too strong, many ppl will fall sick. so, just close the windows that has the strongest wind. hope this help. i am not a master hor, but i just feel that since it is so windy liao, close one panel is ok.

cheers!!
no worry bah, teng will pick up his appetite soon, and he has reserves.
i see yhe's photo i kept laughing, wah!! similar to teng, except the eyes. haha!!

blur, tian din change school yet, i try to build a rapport with the teachers first, so that she feels a bit more secure. eventually will put her in cc next time, see how. now i just want her to social social. the teachers v jialat, after yestrday the comm book is missing. alamak!!!
amazing right? maybe they bring home and write essay?

SQ: then like this lor.. MIL pack a hot dog bread for her this am together with biscuit, my mum even more power, ask me bring own snacks from now one. dun force her if she dun want to eat. wha.. but i was thinking that she should learn to go with the school system and eat whatever the school feed her rather than for us packing snacks for her. i dun wnat her to be the odd one out. but apparently, she has not been snacking at all the last 1 plus week cos she dun want to eat the food there!! wha headache now.

astro: dun stress, this illness is temporary only. u have ppl helping u this time, stay positive. and eat chocolates.. give u more happy hormones.. u need it now.

racia is so cool, but no need to force her to eat bah. if tian not eating snacks, i am ok. for meals (lunch?) then i am not ok. i will want her to eat de.
that's y many kids dun put on weight after attending cc cause fussy. my tian is one of them. or will be one of them.

star, i think u can do it this way. you pack for racia for the time being, let her know that after CNY she big gal liao then must eat food in school, no more biscuits from mama. will this work?

SQ: At this point, I like the idea if anna goes to school full day, and ayden goes for half day.
Hahaha..

Sending them to school certainly beats leaving them under the care of maids. Even considering that they will cry (big time) and whine in the beginning, at least we know they're not being abused, and they're picking up social skills.

AAA, so u also think infant care can be better than a maid? huh?

huingee, so nowadays will get sick easily. my colig told me this one month ago, then now really leh, many ppl sick.

SQ: huh? what timing? no lah.. ayden is still too young mah.. think got to wait at least 18mths before we start him on cc.. that's actually only another 2 mths to go.. and yes, ayden will be in the morning, and anna will stay in the pm..

star: i want A to learn to eat other stuffs. so i dun wan to prepare snacks for him. let him slowly learn to eat.(for playgrp last yr, hv to prepare own snacks) teachers hv been telling my mil tt A dun take porridge and fried noodles. will only take bread and cornflakes and some macaroni. so i take it as improvement since he try to eat macaroni

QQ: Am not sure abt IC.. Cos still so young. But I think if no choice (ie no one to jagar maid at home), and the parent finds a good IC which they can rest-assured of and be satisfied with, then yes, I think IC beats having a maid un-monitored with the bb at home.

QQ,
I think the weather plays a part. Rain, cold, hot sun in the afternoon.
Must make sure our kids drink more water and boil liang water for them to drink bah.

Ash, star,
Actually Dylan eats before he goes his playgroup. Hence i'm not concern with he getting hungry. If got extra snack at home i will pack for him.

i also dun want her be reliant on my snacks only.

Ash: same lah, i want her to learn to eat more food and not be so fussy. but now its seems like she hungry stike for more than 1 week liao. It was cos of the comms booklet this week that i realised she has not been snacking. she does drink her milo though

SQ/AAA: Anna's school is kindy not CC lah.

star: but she goes home after sch for lunch rite? then its ok la

mommies: does ICA still send us reminder to renew passport?

Star,
I am the other way when it comes to packing food/snacks. All along i never pack, or just pack very simple stuff, like a slice of white bread with kaya. for the longest time.. until one morning, i saw EJ's schoolmate taking out her breakfast to eat. I was so impressed! She had a very nice-looking bread-bun, until I feel so paiseh.. hahah.. then i started to buy Honey Stars, Kokokrunch etc.. but still i only pack this type of cereals. Nothing fanciful.

QQ,
ya, maid issues are never-ending de. I think the key is to ask yourself very clearly, what you can live with, and what you can't live with. And after that, be consistent and hope for the best! Until today, I always remember very clearly what my BIL said about maids.. We cannot expect the maids to be so smart and good in everything. If the maid is so smart, she won't be in your house working as your maid le. So we have to live and accept the good and bad points. I felt very touched to hear him say that..

Sending to CCs won't get abused yes, but may also get neglect and viruses from other kids. So if kids keep falling ill, is also jialat. There is no best or right solution bah. We just have to live with our choices. Haiz..

autum,
same la. jay told me, if maid is smart enough they wont be a maid afterall. so it is a matter of we can live with that or not.
he cannot accept woh since nobody at home. he will respect my decision but then... i can accept i think but i have to assess the maid first la. if not pass then cannot.

QQ,
don't lose hope about maids. quite a few of us have good maids too. Me, Pink, Edde, Mist (also not bad la), Astro, Ash and now Mejo new maid not bad.

Sometimes I just feel that the horror stories get magnified because they sound horrible.. but good stories, people just feel it's ying1 gai1 de.. so they don't feel so "wow" by the good stories. This is also some human psychology involved bah.

SQ, AAA,

Her knee looked okay. I think it is not too bad, just that she got a very bad fright. Cuz she is outside with my SIL and her sons then my SIL thought she is throwing a tantrum cuz she wanted go out and didn't straight away help her but called for me instead. Only when I went out then we realised that she is actually stuck there.

Autum,

I think the virus is very very prevalent. Almost everyone got it and they almost invariably got it during childhood. Haiz. Do be careful with babies though cuz it can cause encephalitis in them. I suspect I'm a carrier too but I only ever had one outbreak of cold sore on the lips and even then, not 100% sure it is cold sore too.

star,

Yt's school have specifically asked us not to pack any food or snacks for them cuz the school will provide.

QQ, Autum: Erm... I beg to differ. I have a friend whose maid holds a political science degree in the phillipines. She is so smart, it's causing stress to my friend. My friend sends her and bb to a nanny's house in the daytime. Nanny's house has other older children. The maid requests my friend for a letter of indemnity in case the bb falls down or gets hurt. She told him she can't be responsible as there are other bigger children around.
The best part is.. My friend actually drafted a one-para letter in simple English. The maid took it and turned the letter into a full pager that read like a professional lawyer's letter!
And this is not the end. She requested for an unlimited talk-time subscription to the phliipines!

Ok, this case is quite isolated. But the jobless situation in the phillippines is really that bad. There are 2 extreme cases - the graduates who can't find jobs back home and want to try out being a domestic helper even though they have no experience (but they come with a sense of pride); the really poor farmers who can't make ends meet, hoping to work as a domestic helper but have never seen (let alone touch) a washing machine or an electric iron that spurts water in their entire lives!

I belong to the group who can't live without maids. And many times, I ren4 ming4, and close one eye. Still I have maids who quit on us, rather than the other way round. And I still say it's heng-suay when it comes to maids. I'm happy to have this new indo maid, but also it's becos of her that my philly maid wants to leave.. So... erm... end of the day... dunno what to say...

QQ,
don't have to worry about maids lah. Just take it as it comes. Positive thoughts attracts positive things.

Luck certainly got a part to play when it comes to maids. I agree with Autum, "horror stories get magnified because they sound horrible" and people won't go around telling people about their "good" maids cos they don't want to jinx themselves. I believe there are definitely more good than bad maids around.

YY,
you are not alone. *hug hug*
I'm having throat inflammation and fever again ... after recovering from the last round less than 2 weeks ago.
I suspect I got it from Kent cos he's down since last week too.
I'm thankful as long as the virus doesn't get to RR.

astro
jia you!! the kids will get better soon. u take care of urself ok? otherwise, when they recover, n u r in depression then u miss out on their healthy times. i agree w ash...dun keep thinking abt last time can? self-fulfilling prophecy is a good description!

sq
meimei looks girly! so cute! n ye seems to love meimei alot!! =) so heartwarming to see such photos.

huajing
i agree that u should change maid asap since u no longer trust this one. but i oso know ur hb's pattern... so i know there's no way u can change unless u change his mind first. but there's something disturbing me abt this whole issue.... if the maid had tried to burn elisha, she would have cried out and u would have heard her crying even if u were bfing didi ma. i can't figure this part out.