(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

re: pomelo

so is it acidic or not? last time, i cannot eat pomelo at night! after 8pm, if i eat pomelo, i sure will get gastric! then after that i know liao, i just dun eat pomelo at night. maybe i should try again.. see if still have this kind of effect on my stomach or not.

astro
nope not inverted, just small lor. my galfrens were laughing at me, said god is fair

RR
men after 30s tend to gain weight fast unless they have thin parents.

Autum,
82kg is when his stomach is empty or after exercising hor. :p

My mum says too much pomelo will cause the stomach to "zhang feng", maybe those with gastric cannot eat too much?

Pinkpink,
oh no, Kent started to put on weight since he was 22 and he's not even 30 yet. More to come?

irin,
mr wong is quite conscious about eating. as in, he knows he is getting old liao.. so don't want to eat so much. cut down on carbo etc. of course we still eat all the pork trotter, KFC, crabs etc.. but just generally eat less and in moderation..

Astro,
i can't remember the name of the shop in AMK Hub. It's on the 2nd floor.. along the whole row of kiddy shops.. i think near to Fox Baby Clothes. they are one of the authorised re-sellers of medela products so their staff is quite knowleadgeable about medela pumps. you can go and ask them many questions.. just pretend u are buying la! :p

Pinkpink,

You are supposed to "stuff" the whole areola in wor, not just the N. So N size shouldn't matter. You should pinch the areola together and get as much of it into the baby's mouth as possible.

Pinkpink,
he's the same age as me, reaching 30 soon. I think he'll probably be 90kg by then. :p

Autum, YY,
that shop is Mums and Babes, beside Fox.

Astro: Wha! I think you zou2 huo3 ru4 mo2 liao. If your first-time mum, I can understand. But you're a 2nd time mum!
Yah, PISA can also use as single pump.

Re medela milk bags, if you're pumping for consumption on same day, then don't use the milk bags, use bottles.

Descaling: Must descale both the steriliser and the warmer. Use lemon. But don't wait til you smell the burnt smell, cos this means all the water have evaporated, which I think will spoil the motor. Switch the lemon juice, pour in a small amount of water and switch onthe power for abt 3mins.. Then can liao.. If you see lots of brown floating UFOs, then re-peat this step. Have you gotten a warmer? It's very useful.

Re sterilising:
The problem is not when you're home. There are many methods. Which method you use is really your preference. But when you return to work. Haha.. Then it becomes more tricky.

Re sterilising at work:
When you return to work, your bb would have been at least 4mth old.. By then, he shd have some levels of resistance/anti-bodies build-up.
I kept my funnels + shields in a tupperware container. At home they are sterilised and placed into the container. At work, I will use boiling water to gently cleanse them before pumping. After the pump, I pour boiling water into the container with the funnels + shields inside. Lock the container and with it a few shake. Repeat this process. This is how I sterilise. I will bring along enough storage bottles. I keep the expressed BM in the fridge and bring them home when hubby comes to pick me. If the journey from your workplace and home is quite far, then you need to use a freeze bag.

What else did you write? Actually lots of things you can ask the mummies here lah.

Wha so long a post. I better start another post. :p

Astro: Yes lah. The tubings cannot wash or sterilise!

Nana: I need a new steriliser too. $138 is cheap. Am thinking of getting the pigeon one this time round.. Cheaper.

AA: ha.. yes. i can be very detailed.. :p
thanks for taking the effort to take all these out.. actually i didn't ask any questions. i was just rambling what i have read.. and sharing with SQ :p

ya.. sterilising at work hor.. hahah i think i will use the medela steambags.. think that is very convenient.. dun need to boil water even! and ya. i hae a warmer

autum: ok. i dun need to pretend. coz i am buying some storage bottles :p

rr: roger , mums and babes..

Pink: hahahahah so cute ur gfs :p mine tend to be quite flat.. hmmm

Star, Astro: Yes, was telling Astro if the nipples are smaller than the "stem", that is not a preoblem at all. Cos our nipples is fluid and will mould and fill up the entire "stem". Astro, really, you're be surprised your nipples can become so "thick"! Haha!

Star, Astro: It's called Yang2 Zhi1 Gan1 Lu4. Agree that it's extremely yummmy!!!

Yvonne: Citrus fruits are no good for sensitive airways. Esp for the kids.

QQ, Astro: Yah, I use the max power all the time. Cos I'm lazy and I really feel a higher power makes the entire process shorter. And once I'm used the the high power, then I can't get used to the lower power anymore. Cos I'll feel "unmilked" even after the same interval of pumping with the high power. But of course, when my nipples are cracking and sore from barracuda's attack, then I go on a lower power lah, no choice then.

Astro: My work place provides boiling water on demand lah, so I use the boiling water method. One less thing to carry to work.

RR: I bought the set. Asked them to open up the box and could fit into my boot.
Didn't want to wait for delivery cos only available next week cos no delivery over the weekends. I'll have it cleaned and set up when anna is asleep. Haha..
By the way, wnana ask you. Do you find the material not very good? As in, there're scratches on the set even though it's brand new? IS your set like this? If not, I'm going to ask for an exchange.

Mejo: the dragon fly custome very hot leh. Rae has a giraffee costume.. we will all have a good laugh everytime she wears it.

AAA: i think by #3 ur nipples will be so seasoned that it will prob not bleed.

AAA : the pigeon one lasted me until recently it cracked.. and its used everyday.. and of cos cheaper.. if i remembered its like $99 or something

Autum,
yang zhi gan lu is mango sago with pomelo.

AAA,
ya, alot of scratches and I think they manually cut some of the holes. These could be the rejected goods cos of the manufacturing defects. That's why I say not very good but ok lah for $90, hehe.

Could fit into your boot? It looks bulky to me. :p

AAA, Nana,
last time i post before.. but posting again anyway.. one of my friend used a steamer to sterilise her bottles. those that we use to steam food.. those 2 tier or 3 tier steamer. actually it's the same thing.. cos the effect is just to steam and kill bacteria. So if you want something which u can re-use in future.. can also consider buying a food steamer! ha..

Astro: Not pretty. There's nothing glamarous abt breastfeeding lah. This is an image ads on breastfeeding shd alter. Right now, breastfeeding ads show a smiling mummy and a big fat happy baby suckling and looking at each other. Like real! What a false impression. :p
The more amazing thing is not that the nipples can expand, but that they can shrink back to the normal size after. Hahah..

Star: I don't have any expectations. Will try my best.

Nana: Mine is the Avent one. The top button came off liao. :p But not bad lah, it lasted for 2 babies..

Autum: It's the pomelo with mango juice and sago desert.

Irin: You're right! Could be. I questioned the boss if they've been used before! :p I also say for $90, and the kids can get so much fun out of it, it's worth it lah.
Close one eye re the material. All the pieces except for the slide fit into the boot with space to go leh. I also placed 2 more boxes of the Fast Track toys. The slide piece go into the front passenger seat.

AAA,
honestly right, i feel it's ok to use a food steamer even if it's been used before. cos if u think about it.. if u use the old-fashion method of boiling everything in a pot.. it's ok if the pot has been used before right? to cook soup or curry? haha.. i mean, don't need to purposely buy a new pot right? so I feel it's the same logic.

AAA
thanks! $200 is a good price...i used to think its much ex than that, will call her up since this will be the last chance i can eat my own placenta :p

Mejo
costume rental shop charging $50-60 for 3 days rental, so i rather buy, next time can pass to mei mei too. USD20 ...should comp up to SGD$40+ inclusive of shipping?

star: i got two pumps :p one avent uno.. and now the freestyle medela.. steady ah? for someone who did not succeed in bf-ing.. hahahah

Autum: True. But if I use the boiling method, I think I'll buy a BN pot leh. Hmm.. Don't think hubby will be comfy with using the steamer.. Nevermind, am looking out for promotions.
Prob is promotion is mostly for sets. I only need the steriliser this time round.

nana, i told u white flesh is sour right? Don spoil ur stomach! Throw away, go to another fruit stall and buy.

Aa, they ate a little, i eat like a yao gui. Lol! Thank god it didn worsen their cough!

Astro: i have 3 pumps, one avent manual, my ameda lactaline and a medela single pump.. hahah.. actually the single pump and avent was given to me.. the only 1 i bought was the ameda lactaline.. hehe

Yvonne,
white flesh also got sweet one le. in fact, most of the time, i only eat white flesh because they are super sweet.. i don't like red ones because red ones are bitter-sweet. white flesh got sour-sweet and super-sweet. I normally only get pomelo from hb hometown.. so they can give me the sweet ones cause they can tell which are the sweet ones and which are sour-sweet.

AAA,
ya, I also think it's the slide that is too long for the boot. The rest are all small parts.

Mejo,
you mean you dare to wesr that costume out? :p

RR: Was an instruction provided? I don't have any. Am wondering if I can figure out how ti fix it up. :p

Yvonne: It won't have an immediate impact of course. But the battle is a long-drawn one against sensitive airways. So I avoid cold drinks, ice cream, citrus foods all the way for anna. She gets to lick my ice cream once in a while only.

AAA,
no instruction. Quite easy de, you go to the website, look at the pix and fix. You might need some strength to push the parts in though.

Astro: aiyo.. end up i only use my ameda most of the time and my avent when i went out.. cos no electric plug so need the manual pump.

i am beginning to think teng has a problem with blocked nose :S.. as in now he recovers from stomach flu.. his slightly blocked nose is back again. wah liew.. i wonder why.. then hor. i suspect. coz his nasal is always blocked.. hence caused him to have panda eyes when he is quite well rested leh.. haiz. dunno lah..

RR: I saw the manual cut holes. There're leftover bits inside.. The maids are cleaning and clearing them up downstairs first.. Will ask them to help me..

AAA,
aiyoh.. anna sounds like she is going thru what i went thru as a kid
i remember when I was a kid and whenever my bronchitis attacks, we used to visit this GP and he always say only one thing, which today is imprinted in my brain "Do NOT eat orange!"

RR: Which website link did you look at?

Pink: Yah, I'm taking it this time too even though I honestly don't see any effects from consuming it last time round. Hahah..

yvonne: haha.. water retention.. no preggy also will ah..

y u all talking abt HB's weight!!

RR: ur HB not 30 yet ah.. can i secretly ask how old ah..

Autum: I went through the same thing as a child too. I have recovered from it and therefore I know it's a battle worth fighting. Anna hasn't tasted real orange yet. When she has her rosehip drink, she thought it's orange juice. Haha..