(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

astro
i think rayan is a perfectly nice name! haa... unique ma... if wanna tweak it such that it's easy to pronounce, then not special liao. :p the reason ppl think it sounds girlish is due to the 'yan' which is a cheena interpretation of the word yan4 (swallow).. if that's the case then ryan oso can read as rie-yan4 wat! if they think ray is girlish then rayner oso girly liao ma. so yeah.... rayan is good! hahaha....

Pink: If the combined test result doesn't meet the requirement, your gynae will advise you to go for amniocenthesis. My gynae called me yesterday to say my results are ok, so no need for the amniocenthesis test.
Why not you call up your gynae and ask them? They shd have a copy of your results by now right?

pax
both NT scan and blood test were done by 3rd party. its thicker but in the high range. Leia's was 1.6mm. this one is 2.5mm.
i read some article, some say 2.5mm is the max, the sonographer told me max is about 2.7mm.

hhmm.. my take on names.. keep in simple.. like my Matthew and Joanne. we din wan fancy names, jus wan simple (common also nvr mind) names. fancy names, u get diff prounication fr diff pple, get mutated by diff pple. mr pax has a common name - M of MJ, his idol. :p
my good friend's sil named her boys Marcus and Matthew and this Matthew is jus 1 day older than my Matthew (same bday as Zoe Tay's Brayden).

Joelle: I feel for Rayan.. Besides the "yan", it is not common. That's why it's open for mis-interpretation. Ryan is widely known to be a boy's name; hence even with the "yan", there's no misinterpretation.

AA
i just called.
the nurse told me Dr look at overall result. they have patients with NT scan up to 4mm and turned out to be alright. :p maybe i did too much research tat scare myself.

Pax: The combined results are adjusted for the mum's age. As in, the older the mum, the "stricter" the test ie the larger the demoninator has to be to be considered in the normal range. Eg, 1/1000 may be within the acceptable range for a mum who is 18, but the prob must be at least 1/10000 for a mum who is 41.

Pink: Agree with Pax. We know too much for our own good. Wait for the gynae to go through the results with you. You may be surprised he won't even go through them, will just tell you results are ok..

YY,

Haha, miser very funny leh. Then I also have some hobby related names that I can give my kids next time:

Seleriana
Glabrior
Xero (full name is xerographica)
Brachy (full name is Brachyculous)
Mima
Harrisii
Hirtzii
Seideliana
Somnians

Then Biochemistry related names:

Serine
Proline
Zwitterion (Zwitter for short?)
Valine

Yvonne!
i'm eating soft diet. tell u wat i hv in my millet, white rice, barley porridge - dried scallop, black fungus (hei mu er), wolfberries, silken tofu, minced meat.

mejo, all this are names? Hmm, too chim already.

Pink,aa,
not sure if u remember, when i had sam, her nt scan also not normal, not thick enough, and bb undersize at the scanning month, but dr always say is ok. I also keep reading n reading, the more i read, the more scary it is, but if dr say is ok, i think u don have to think too much.

Pax: Oscar is not a definitive test. It's based on probability. May get type 1 or (worse) type 2 errors. Amniocenthesis is a test performed on the amniotic fluid. This is a definitive test. A small amt of amniotic fluid needs to be drawn direcly from the womb, and because it is more invasive, there is a small %tage risk of miscarriage. So gynaes will usually only ask patients who "fail" the oscar test to go for the amniocenthesis test.

pinkpink,
Dun be too worried, for gynae they will call you if they find the results not so good and ask you to go for another test to confirm. Singapore dr are normally more careful. Hence, no call from them means ok.

Pax,
Me too, I had problem in fancy names. Prefer simple and nice name.

Hb commented that next time our kids will be call by teacher to answer questions more often cos their name easy to pronouce and remember.

pax, i tell u, my stomach is growling so loudly tt sam cant slp well! She keep touching my stomach and laughing at the noise! Haven eat my lunch la... Surprisingly i nv eat junk food today, no more gastric and heartburn. Your porridge veri healthy! I still thinking wad to eat, lots of durain sitting on the floor waiting for mi, but got abit sore throat after eating few seeds last night.

Yvonne,

haha, hobby names are names of airplants. I particularly like Xero, it is the king of airplants and I got three at home. Below are some chemical names. But no lar, I never intended to give any English names to my kids. They can all stick with their chinese names.

yvonne
ur stomach not well, dun eat durian lah. eat porridge. if Sam dun like soft porridge, cook teochew porridge type. can go w steam egg w minced pork, vege. Sam can only eat egg yolk right? u put thin layer of minced pork in oiled shallow dish. crack 2 eggs whole over the minced pork. add a little water or stock. steam for 10-15min till all cook. this way, Sam can eat the yolk, the rest of u can eat the white... :p or u can beat 1 egg n crack 2nd egg whole. u know wat i mean?

Mejo: Xero sounds like Zero.. Not this name pls.. :p

Yvonne: Sam's nuchal translucency is not thick enough? I haven't come across readings abt the opposite case. Anyway, Sam is perfectly well!

Pax: I remembered cos I went through a scare when I was carrying Ayden. Gynae observed at ard week 7 his NT thickness was on the high side. At week 11/12 when we did the oscar test, everything was normal. Phew! Hence I remember the sharings lah..

pink, wahahaha, cos my diet is bad. I eating onli icecream, kinderbuano(still got half tray in the fridge), potato chip and fast food for the past 1 week. Mad right? I saw ntuc having offer, so lug back everything, and i seldom go out, so keep munching all this junk, end up heartburn. Maybe too long nv eat such food since i bfing sam, now stuff myself silly and my body cant take it.

fin lunch. wash up liao, i need to declutter the kids' corner. then nap a little. iron clothes or declutter my TV console before fetching the kids...

catch up later mommies!

AA
oh.. i dun rmbr. i also MIA here n there. :p
yes, Ayden is a ok too!

yvonne
wat happened? how come u didn't eat w ur kids? cook more soup n rice, u can eat the same as them mah.. aiyo.. hv to take care leh. still bfg.

pax, i don understand. Lol, i onli know now i m more hungry! Lol! A hungry gal cant think.

Aa, ya, i remember there is some prob with the result, and i very worry, cos i ate veri little, remember onli subway? Lol, but dr said i m young and bel is healthy, should not have any prob, so i have to keep eating more sam will grow bigger. Even nick was panicking tt time.

pink, not too worry cause i also heard of 4mm thick cases before.
the problem with internet is: we will find what we want to find.
same as me yesterday. i was worried about the health report, then i key in keywords, and scary words came out. made my brain cannot work anymore.
after clarification with dr, then i realise the same words can be used for serious cases and also trivial cases.
they have to look at many more parameters to confirm.

astro, i am not good at names, but rayan very diff to pronouce la. Ryan is cool, at least to me.

pink about the insurance.
my medishield covers my pregnancy complication. but the min payment from me is 3K. as long as more than 3K, then i get reimbursement of up to 90%. as for post and pre hospitalisation fees, i can get 90% reimbursement too.
it is not expensive, i guess general medishield covers that. GE or AIA also got coverage, as long as you have signed up the policy more than 10 months ago before you pregnant.

my total bill came up to about 6K in total, which i spent 2.8K using medisave, then others can claim. i pay oni 10%. which is < 500.
not bad already. cause this is included in my medishield plan.

pax, ai ya today sam cannot poo, den cry the whole morning, den nv nap, lunch time too tired to eat, and i rushing to fetch bel, come back continue feed sam, bel wan to eat her share also, den 2 fighting for the soup. And i struggling feeding sam. After finish feeding both wan to slp but my stomach so noisy, cannot let them wait for mi to finish eating den slp, so drag till now lor. Lol messy?

QQ/pink/pax,
actually the policy i am needs to at least 3mths in effect before you are certified pregnant. can claim up to USD10K and it also covers 1st visit by paed for the newborn.

Pax: my hb went for the op many years back. I remember he was in ICU for a few hrs after the op. after condition stablised, he was wheeled back to normal ward.

Astro: wha how come didi's name sound so girl girl har, not masculine leh. Even the way u spell it Ray Yearn and ra yan and the chinese name.. makes me think of a girl instead of a boy leh. how about reyan ?? i think RE is more masculine than RA

Yvonne,
Sometimes they eat very slow, by the time I wait for them to finish i already very hungry. So nowadays normally I eat with them.

star
no side effects hor? ICU bcos collapsed lungs. how long did he stay in hospital?

kaexin
i think another plan in the mkt is 10mths. QBE, if i'm not wrong. ur plan is the best liao!

anybody in Junction 8 this week, can go vote for Jvel, tracy's gal. she is shortlisted for the Singapore Calendar Baby 2010‏

Traz
Jvel is so sweet! my Jo is bah bah, chubby, ugly but adorable. ur girl is simple sweet pretty! GOOD LUCK!

pax, kaexin's plan is expensive. also need to buy 2 years cause including the incubation period plus pregnant period. but very good package la. baokaliao.
if company is paying that, its good.

my company dun do that, and i dun want to pay such a high premium.

huingee, same here. we can finish ebfore tian. she eats very slow and super bueh tahan her.

QQ
same lah.. her coy good welfare mah.. gahmen / agencies - employees must take care of themselves. maintain their health. at least kaexin can work hard, knowing that she no need to worry abt medical bills. for us, we work hard to pay insurance bills, worry abt inflating medical cost.

pax. haha!
today i had lunch with jay. ended up we went CS and buy healthy cereal.
he said cannot continue to be like this anymore. must cut down cholestrol cause his more than 200 LDL. he got a scare.
hope after half a year, or one year, can see some positive impact.

we have to jaga outselves.... yes.... hee.

QQ,
Same here, my hb cholestrol also very high more than 200LDL. Think it's lifestyle, diet, age and gene that cause this.
Now hb try to exercise, try to eat more veg and healthy stuff. Also he took fish oil now too.
His chlolestrol reading did reduce after one year of less cholestrol food. Think reduce about 50.