(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

hi mummies.. i am here..

evelyn: ur stuff with me. Is joelle or yvonne meeting u again? if yes can pass to them

QQ: u got chicken essence?? wha not bad leh./. i wanted to push her on stage to get the baby hamper got diapers.. but hor.. she dun want

SQ: post up ur photo of YE on the bike and show me leh.

QQ: so how, u wanna sign up same slot as me for the dancing tot class at thomson plaza?

QQ,

When forced to, they will speak English. Like YT knows that her cousins can't understand mandarin, she try her best. MIL said she offered her cousin her drink and ask, "Do you want to he shui?". Wahaha. Somemore the "he shui" is spoken like a foreigner trying to speak mandarin.

Mummies, do you let your kids play with your old toys? I just realised that YT is playing with "antiques". Got some smurfs figurines made in 1981 and even macdonald transformers made in the 1980s. Haha.

star,

I remember for the first gymboree trial, you let Rae wear a denim overall. Then everyone kept commenting that she will be cold cuz she very "exposed", haha.

hi all. am back from forum.. kekek. signed up for the little gym liao. starts next sat! whahaha.. wah very complicated lah.. but enjoyed some discount.. but will stick to marina sq for the time being. sats.. 11- 1145am.. but i still have the priority/early bird discount to swap to forum branch at a later timing on sat if i want to.. plus my UOB card..another 10% it is best of many worlds la! hahaha.

then ya. gug ends next sun for me.. deferring one month of lessons.. that one also very complicated.. wah. usually i am very straight forward.. but miser lor. makes thing so complicated. ahaha.. anyway. good. i am feeling excited for teng.. today at forum branch. bumped into the same teacher..Teacher P.J. filipino with a computer science degree..at first i thought i heard BJ.. then i worried that teng will assoicate him with the BJ in barney! then i thought i heard PJ.. and repeated 'PJ? (then in my mind i thought pyjamas?!).. then he 'gave up', pointed to his picture on the board.. hahaha. his intials.. :p

haha.. so 'embarrassing' :p he remembers teng. teng asked him for stamps on his hands again :p

QQ: steady! hey.. i agree with juni.. actually. it is ok for a child to be more dominant in one lang.. we all do. hence it is called the mother tongue.. i used to feel that we can be multilingual.. now i realised, and read, that we don't.. we have a dominant lang.. the lang which we used to process our thoughts.. my dominant lang is english. miser is chinese..

teng's ( i still cannot figure out which one yet :p).. but tian's is most likely chinese.. which is good.. coz got market value.. :p.. it is clear that tian understands English.. but u have a pt.. that she needs to learn to articulate it more.. else she might find it too hard and in singaporean educational system. it can be a disadvantage. ..

read more english story books to her as well. get her started to develop a habit in reading english stories.. that shd do her well. i grew up this way too

anyway.. wld it be possible for one of you to speak predominately in english to her? rather than both speak english to her? else can be comfusing coz both parents were intially chinese, now both english.. she cld feel lost.. teng associates me and ellie to english, my mum and miser to chinese.. so far quite ok, you might want to try?

sq/star/qq: remember that today during breakfast, i said teng has not displayed his possessiveness yet? though he is able to use pronouns and recognise whose things .. well.. today.. at california kitchen. the kid's meal has a super huge sundae! sot one they all. adult size sundae, kiddy size pizza.. ha! anyway.. i shared with teng.. then all the hot fudge al at the bottom of the glass. so i took the glass away from teng to clear the fudge, teng shouted 'no. it's MINE!!!'.. then ellie, miser and I repeated 'wah.. MINE ah, teng?' teng repeated and said , 'yes, mine'... whahahah..

RR: great.. i think hmm. just one dose.. wun make Reyes immune to tamiflu also lah.. but it is good that her temp is going down.. tamiflu really is super strong.. gosh..
ya. confusing hor, the cold and the flu?

juni: how did the waterbabies session go today?

QQ: ya. we saw u all on stage. then miser brought teng go up close and personal. then he kept laughing.. kekeke. u and jay really spontaneous.. me and miser would never let ourselves be pulled on stage :p

QQ/star: if want lelong goggles, i want! white-blue one preferably! hehehehe..

Here's the updated list.

bel and sam
EJ EV
RR
Teng (sats, 330 - 5pm/ occasional sundays, 330 - 5pm is fine too
Sylvia (wkends before noon)
seth(Joelle) (sat or sun anytime after 5)
rae
Kaiser

miser today.. spent $2000+, brought a plasma tv and an amplifier.. ha.. he doesn't to feel the pinch!then me if i want to buy/sign teng up for anything. he asks me questionS.. ha. then also came home 'empty handed'.. hahaha..

juni: curious.. Kira speaks predominatly english or german at home? if she can master chinese also. wah. solid liao. at least half the world's economies is open to her :p.. how about dialects ah? :p..heh. kira the multiingual water bb :p

wah i saw the clips liao. kira can swim, really can swim.

astro, oh u went sign up today? so on!!!
i was talking to jay these few days about classes, so he will speak to tian in english la. but i wll oni speak to her in english during gug class.
very mesy right? sil is supposed to speak cantonese, but she ended up speaking mandarin to her. and sometimes english.

star, the photos are really cute and funny. jay said rae looked chubby when she was young too.. but of course, tian is more chubby, and cannot fight cause really fAT. haha!
i will bring tian to see the dancing and if got trial class then try once first. we feel that she might be running around in dancing class too. that's what we tot and we must see her in action first.
she doesn't like to be confined and wanna play freely. we feel that stopping gug at the moment might lose themomentum for her since she is used to the environment. however, we will slowly see... the earliest that we will stop will be around december.

QQ: for u and jay.. who has a better command of english? how about chinese ah?

coz i want to capitaise on another 10% early bird discount. u see :p

astro , both of us half pail of water.. haha!
i am better in chinese, and his english is worse than mine. how?

eh today on stage, i must say we all super funy. this tian was even funnier. haha! she was helping her papa holding the baby. haha!
and jay's response was the slowest among the daddies. aiyo! faint
so physically, I am better and faster than him?? haha!! but he can swim faster la.

QQ: i showed miser ur post :p he says. no problem one.. 'worst' is be like him! I looked at him.. then he explained 'most imptly, must have one solid lang then will have the ability to grasp the relatively difficult concepts in that lang.. can liao.. '.. which makes some sense? right? ha.. anyway. think ur situation. could swap. coz tian's chinese super powerful liao! .. so need the better english one to balance.. ?

i must say this though. i feel the emcee made the whole event slightly RA! :p

AStro, haha! i dunno what the emcee was saying. i oni listen to him once in a while. i kept talking to tian and laughed laughed laughed.

yes he made some sense. need one language to grasp the concept.
actually aiya, this hor. i was not concerning too much, but recently this Jay getting more ON about this after listening to our friend's experiences. i feel that mandarin is easier to grasp any concept. maths, values etc etc...

QQ: what's ur friend's experiences?
heh. i would say english easier to grasp.. like now. i dun even know what like. trigonometry is in chinese! :p
then physics, angle of reflection, refraction.. wah liew.. headache :p hahahah

and hor.. having said that miser is good in chinese here. look at what he came up with for didi teng? ( i told him the meaning iwant in english and tasked him to go and find the equivelent chinese translations.. look at what he came up with?

奕川
奕达
奕传
奕伟
奕同
奕满
奕涵 (this one still looks good)

i looked at him, STUNNED..and said 'is this all u can come up with?'. he just kept laughing!.. wah liew..

astro: how to read this.. Yi Han?
got googles to lelong leh.. cos i am taking mich's pink ones.

QQ: u went on stage too.. yeah they were all so fat then.. hahah so funny.
good, let her try, if she wants dancing, then go dancing lor, if she wants GUG stay put there lor. I ask rae again today if she wants Teacher ZZ or dancing, she told me dancing again!

Astro: 2K for TV and humidifier not expensive leh.. how come buy another TV? ur home TV spolit?

star: yes... yi han2..
heh. can i take it? white- blue one?:p

star.. not humidifier.. but amplifier.. :p the sound system to him accordinf to mise.. spoilt liao.. then dunno what lah.. eventually he decided to switch the entire set!.. my tv still very good wor. dunno him lsh. he wants to enjoy state of the art entertainment!

CK: not mygym.. it is little gym. think originated from america? dunno.. but per lesson of 45 mins. is abt the same.. inclusive membership.. but take away membership.. shd be about $45..

QQ,
retail therapy for our kids ah? haha!! Think she's happy enough to stick to me 24/7. She's like superglue these few days.

Anyway her fever went off le. Had been around 37-37.3 since afternoon. I'm feeling so relieved now, keeping my finger crossed that it won't come back in the night.

Hi Astro, very interesting topic here. i can talk abt this forever:)

Kira speaks more English since her surrounding is filled with English, but to her dad, she speaks German at times too. And at school, she speaks some Chinese, I hope:) I've just video her speaking some chinese, show you guys later.

bb swimming session with Yvonne and family was fantastic and a success. Sam dive head in with Klaus holding her and Bel head down with her dad twice. You see how much grp dynamic can trigger intrinsic motivation...or we can just call it peer pressure:)

Juni,
seems like you all had fun. Thought Joelle was supposed to join for today's session too?
Oh, by the way, we are fine with any timing for the swimming classes.

Haha, I'm not the real joker in this thread lah, there are some others who can do a better job. :p

RR, Seth had a bad experience at the pool during our last potluck meetup, so I think it's fair that he needs more time to gain the confidence once again. Hopefully, he can join us soon for bb swimming:)

juni: wow!. sam so brave!!.. hey. ur link. i think u must share it for us to view?
i feel kira will have a unique lang advantage in future..

RR: glad that reyes is batter! and i seen what you did to reyden! whahahah..

Juni,
oh ya ... But Seth's also one of the garang baby here, he should overcome and be with the rest pretty soon.

eh star, the pink one is vgo marlins too?
good, got taker for the goggles.

wah, juni. sam and bel are so brave.

star, i asked tian, she din answer me. how come? i dunno. she din say yes or no or which one. i guess she wants both? lets see.

astro, my friend? his son was totally chinese at home, then english in cc. then he tot its alright, now he is k1. he has problem to read english and comprehen the meanings. he is very good in chinese, superb. he can read many chiense words, but his mum is worried cause many questions come in english and also english's instructions.
he is ok in math, but he doesn;t understand the questions written in english. u see what i mean?
if you translate the question into chinese, he can give u answer immediately. but he gave the wrong answer when he read the instructions in engilsh.
i make it so complicated.. haha!

astro,
trigonometry is 三角学?
reflection is 反射
refraction is 折射
angle of reflection, 反射角
its easier in chinese leh.
once we see the words we know the meaning liao.

juni i cannot see the videos cause its private?

dun care about the chinese terms la. i just feel that its powerful cause just 1-2 characters mean the whole concept and easy to understand.

juni: i can't.. possibly because i forgot my google account :p

QQ: lack of exposure.. the kid.. can't comprehend.. and it could be a lack of vocabulary.. coz lang wise.. difficult to pick up vocabulary if u are not in the environemnt.. grammar and the rest stil relatively easier.. when lack of vocab. u dun understand the words used.. and hence u cannot comprehend.

in cc.. the type of english used could be quite instructional based.. nothing difficult to understand.. and for him to put into context.. in lang learning.. esp comprehension and such. contextual clues are very impt.. it could be for ur fren's kid. his abilty to pick up contextual clues is weakened coz he doesn't konw how to predict and infer in english..

juni is certified teaching el as second lang teacher right i shouldn't talk so much in fron to fher :p

astro,
precisely. we also feel that could be possible reason. and he lost interests in english? so better be balance a bit.

he can READ in english, actually i was so so so surprise. he gave a book, with dinosaurs.
he read so fluently and i got a shock. then i looked at the words in the book, he was just reading from his mind, but there were no such words in the book.
how shock can I be? he was telling me about tigers and how fierce, how big they can be in all ENGLISH. but no such words from the book woh.
he memorise what he hear from cc and read for me.

i give u an example.

ok...

Paul has 4 apples. he ate an apple and gave an apple to Mary. How many apples does paul have now? (something like that)

he knows paul, he knows apple and eat, but he doesn;t know what is going on in the end.
according to my friend, he has the vocab, but he has problem in comprehension.

QQ, kids do that even b4 they can read. They just know the text or story by heart.

Althought Lee Kuan Yew says chinese is important, we shd leave English and speak Chinese at home in his recent speech. I still feel that English is a must and Chinese cannot be neglected!

QQ: ah. ya. now u said it.. kekee. ok. i will remember it liao.. heh.. :p
ya. chinese is more powerful in that sense..

juni: got them.. wah.. bel and sam so brave! :p but sam more like gena sabo by nick like that :p:p
teng like that would cry big time liao :S

juni, i din know... i know that kids do that, but i din expect a 5 year old kid to do it to me mah.. i a bit shock la. after that i am ok and now i know.
so this also means that he cannot read in english yet, but will be able to read english soon.
right?

QQ, when I first enter primary, Raffles Girls' , ang moh form teacher. I came home crying to my mum that I didn't understand a single word in class. That was becos, I never had the experience of listening to a native speaker and at home we spoke only Chinese. But later on, I was fine. Kids pick up very quickly.

QQ: this is a classic case of knowing vocabulary but not in context.. like he knows apples, mary etc.. but when in context.. he doesn't konw how all the ideas/subjects/verbs/ conjuctions link up to one another.. hence he catch no ball at all.. many pple learn vocabulary by keeping vocabulary lists.. that is not effective at all..

juni:yep.. by heart..

juni: incidentally.. sq/star/qq/miser and me were having breakfast together today. and i was sharing my two cents worth on lang acqusition with them.. it amaze me how newborns can have this ability to pick up ANY lang.. and how after a while. if un-used. it all became foreign lang to them. heh..

ya, sam and bel are so brave.
tian doesn't like us to put her head into water. sometimes we still do, ngeh ngeh lai, and just do it. haha!

astro, yalor. means english and chinese also very important. since all exams will be in english? i will need to work harder to reduce her stress in future.
so chim. haha!
if she can comprehen better then it would be good and more relax for her in future.

keep us updated with teng's little gym next time ok? i would like to know what he learn from the class. and i can imagine what stunts that he can perform.

i told jay to imagine teng jumps down from a gymnastic bar, and take a bow, clap clap clap, with his signature smile. haha!

astro, exactly, you meant no chunking right. So this boy cannot really use the language he had learnt. In other words, wasted time! It's better to teach, 'this is a book' then just 'book'. Although I find this kinda useless too. It's actually better to say, 'this book is mine then 'this is a book' cos everyone can see that it's a book...hahahah!