(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

huajing
last time seth has bf jaundice oso. but no need to go off bf totally. i was told to go on half fm and half bm. end up i gave fm at night so i can sleep better. haa... it was good enough leh.. after a few nights of fm, his jaundice level dropped. it's rather common for bb to have jaundice even at 1 month. i remember seth was still rather yellow at the full moon party. u monitor lo, but dun go off bm totally just to 'prove' that it is bf jaundice la.

pink
mr tan's case reminds me of another case of a fren's fren. they live in penang or some island off malaysia. then wife was abt 8 months preggy. then she felt something amiss and wanted to go to her gynae. but the hb was not gan jiong, kept telling her no prob wan...late liao.. go gynae the next morning n such (cos gotta take boat wan) end up she threatened the hb, if anything happen to the bb, she wun forgive him. so in the end they went... but still too late, bb lost heartbeat liao. if he had brought her to the gynae when she first felt wrong, it would still be in time. sigh. men dun have maternal love n instincts like we do.

mist
ur MIL sure nag at the maid...hiaz

joelle
hiaz..if he chooses to go this fri, i will be very disappointed with him.

astro
actually i feel like going to the clinic to check my nose but afraid to go. i guess im having some kind of sinus infection, there're clots in my nose (yellow and sometimes with bit of blood) forming every few hours. this morning woke up cannot breath thru my nose, luckily i bought nasal spray last evening to clear the clots.

pink: avoid overt reliance on the nasal spray. i remembered i was having blocked nose.. then GP wanted to prescribe me nose drops.. then after that said preggy cannot.. but i am not sure if nasal spray = nose drops.. and will there be any effect. maybe u cld call ur gynae up and just ask if nasal spray is safe to use?

btw, it is common for us to have nose bleeds coz our vessels dilate during preg.

astro,
hahaha.. and i bet u will loh.... shd i pity his wife huh?? hahaha.. ;p

Pink,
sometimes man hor, got certain priorities in life, and the rest are not impt. To him, i think 4 faced buddha give him assurance in his biz, that's y he die die has to go. This is man!!! Really made us hate them sometimes, just like my hubby, even when both me and xavier are sick, he will still insist to go to his usual game, cannot skip one game! funny right, can made good judgement sometimes... sigh!

astro: hey, can you tell me more abt h1n1 and why i shd be more concerned now that my status has changed?
i could have taken it too lightly.

hj: change your PD.. what's his/her name? agree with mejo, there's nothing wrong with BM.. also, if you're getting tired travelling to and fro the hospital, why not consider renting a sunbed at home?

AA: as per highlighted to pink, H1n1 virus in itself is relatively mild.. as in some patients have nothing more than a cough but yet they have beeen tested positive for h1n1. On ordinary folks, it is nothing more than a common cold, except that it is slighlty more infectious. It seemed to spread prevalently in the teens.. and an article i read in ST sunday by an Associate professor of infectious dieases claimed that people borned before 1957 seemed to have some immunity to the virus because of a similar virus strain (to H1n1) then.. that would also account why teens, supposedly fit, catch the virus so easily and why RP has such a high case because the students are all teens. very few old age people are down with it as far as the media have said..

Why we ought to be concerned (though i would agree, we can't get paranoid) is that our immunity during pregnancy is very much lowered and pregnancy itself, without any existing dieases background, is already tricky and not to been taken lightly. I had a cough in my first tri and it took me so long to recover, nearly a month! my gynae also assured me that it is normal and indeed tricky to get the cough durin gthe first tri. it takes a longer time to heal.. some of my oct mummies are falling sick.. and experiencing a longer recovery time.

as with any dieases which takes a longer time to receover, we risk complications which could set in. Further more, if we develop fever, we need to bring the fever down ASAP but tamiflu (so far still effective against H1N1) is yet tested on pregnant ladies for an effective conclusion. It is a Cat C medicine.

Pple under chemo, dialysis or in general lowered immunity faces similar risks.. Though i wil also agree (grudingly though) with miser that we are not the higest risk group.. the virus itself , to me, is not the issue here.. it is the recovery process and the medication which is tricky for preg ladies, i feel. Unless of course the virus starts mutating and become more severe/fatal.. then haiz. also dunno how liao..

I asked after my colleague who is down with h1n1 currently. she said the medicaine make her vomit.

AA, given you are in first tri, when immunity is still lower (as compared to second), do take care to take the necessary multi vits and vit c.

SQ, Pink, and other preggies ladies. u ladies too..

erm, i sm not trying to create unnecessary worry here. but feel that we should konw enough to ensure good health for ourseives, unborn bbs and also out borned kids.. they are also in the high risk group.

to add on. the H1n1 virus. (if not in human body) can survive outside for up to 8 hours.but are fragile. water and sap can kil them effecitvely.. and infection normally occurs if face -to face within 2 metres in distance.
(source: my Principal's speech which he quoted from MOH/MoE)

so i feel the virus is quite like the normal flu..(it is the influzena virus anyway) .. so best meaures is vit c, good hygiene.. etc

astro, take flu jab.
but u cant take now. Bring teng and your family members for flu jab.

yvonne: the flu jab dun protect against h1n1.. but if taking the flu jab and then still down with flu like signs.. then it is more likely to be h1n1.
i can still take.. but once i cross third tri.. then cannot liao..
first and third tris cannot take flu jabs.

astro
pregnant mummies are not supposed to take more than certain amount of Vit C rite?

went to see doc. might be having early bacteria infection bcos there're yellow crust and a bit of swelling inside my nose.
doc gave me anti biotics and nasal spray, he assured me its 100% safe for pregnant women.

pink: for that. i dunno.. i think everything should be taken in moderation. for myself. i take redoxon.. the other time i dun have redexon. i took the vit c with calcium supplements prescribed by the gynae.

good that GP assured that the nasal spray and antibiotics are safe. rest well so that you can recover fast from the bacterial infection.

yvonne: i am not sure. they said more likely.. but not necessarily.. i think anyone of us can be down with runny nose.. now haze coming back aslo.

astro, hmm, i took normal flu med prescribe from dr last time, it can cure. But i never follow instruction 3time a day la. Still can control the running tap. Lol. So irritating. I m blowing my nose during afternoon and night time.i think just common cold.

mummies, so happy!

EJ managed to poo in his potty for the first time today!!! And he asked for it! nowadays we take him off diaper in the evenings.. then we will tell him to let us know when he wants to pee/poo. So far he has never told us he wants to pee/poo.. it's always I have to ask him to go toilet to pee.. even then he always resist.

Then today, he told my maid, he wants to poo. then maid put him on potty and he pooed! And then he looked at his poo and point to it like so excited. hahah..

Hopefully this signals to me that diaper-free days are coming soon! I am crossing all my fingers and toes!

Evelyn:
BBQ at Evelyn's Place
Tentative date: 4 July, 4pm, Deadline:Mon 29 June
Venue: Hougang Ave 7, The Florida
1. Evelyn (apple juice, rice)
2. Kaexin
3. RR
4. Autum
5. nanabear (curry chicken)
6. Angel
7. Edde
8. Blurbelle (glutinous rice)yummy:)

hi bbq attenders, any more suggestion of what to bring? anyone wants to contribute plates and cups?cutleries?

evelyn, marinate chic, hotdogs, chic patty, sambal sotong wrap with aluminium foil, mashmallow, butter, brush, tongs, starter, charcoal, ice? thats wad i can think of in bbq.

evelyn,
err.. so u booked the pit? cos if u didn't book the pit and somebody else booked, then we can't even sit there right?

cos if bbq, then must prepare the raw food for bbq. if pot-luck, then it's different.. just bring cooked food.

Evelyn:
BBQ at Evelyn's Place
2. Kaexin (fried pork with sambal and garlic wrapped with lettuce)
3. RR
4. Autum
6. Angel
7. Edde
8. Blurbelle (glutinous rice)

Autum, aiyoh, I thought maybe too troublesome to bbq, so better have the pit, it's sheltered with benches around and table, so we can still have our pot luck there, you see. Will book tomorrow, shdn't be a problem, 4 pits here in total. Do you gals want to swim b4 eating?

Autum, if no pit, can come up to my place as well, will be a bit cramp, never mind, can squeeze a bit, die die have to meet up!

kaexin, we can get all the bbq stuff at our convenient store in the condo itself, so if you want to bbq, we can buy charcoal and stuff there, okay? Just confirm what you bring and the other mummies too, then it's easier to organise...
yipee, I think it's gonna be fun!

what was the question abt the video clip link you posted earlier?

I'm back ...

1st good news I see! Congrats AA! Wah, you are really productive. :p

Edde,
Reyes' a left hander. She doesn't know how to use her right hand at all while Reyden will do everything with his right hand. That's how I tell. Apparently my genes is stronger in her. :p
Anthea will only use her left hand? Don't worry about teaching her to write lah. Both my parents are right-handers, I still manage as well mah, hehe.

Autum,
happy for you too!
Not silly lah, it's a milestone mah.

AA,
oh ya, wanted to tell you no need to feel bad about those people's remarks lah. I've got those grandparents at RR's school telling me "Wah, you not working then you still send them to childcare ah? Cannot cope meh?!!" I got so irritated by them, just showed a face and ignored.

Evelyn:
BBQ at Evelyn's Place
2. Kaexin (fried pork with sambal and garlic wrapped with lettuce)
3. RR
4. Autum
6. Angel
7. Edde (cutlery, bowls, plates, kitchen towel/napkins)
8. Blurbelle (glutinous rice)

sorry guys, difficult to cook on sat coz anthea's class is till 330pm at suntec

irin u r back!!! had fun AGAIN at genting?? :p actually anthea uses both her hands but left hand seems more dominent.

QQ,
sorry to hear about your uncle. Take care.

Kai,
I'm here, just came back this evening. Will tt the RNL $$ to you tomorrow, k?

Juni,
I confirm with you again regarding this Sat's gathering? I'm very tired now, got to see whether my energy will come back by this weekend or not. hehe.

RR, come over and relax, no need to work lah. Once we meet up, kids swim in the pool, we chit chat, kids play at the playground, all stress gone.

Edde, no prob. Cutleries and stuff are as equally important. I'll see how much food we have then maybe add somemore if needed.