(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Re: Language

Exposed them to English but main home language should be mandarin. Why? Because main school language is English. If you do not speak mandarin and expose them to enough mandarin at home, then they will not be good in mandarin at all. They will be "forced to" be good in English in school. That is my point of view. I came from a cantonese speaking family who mainly speak cantonese to each other but was ORDERED by my mum to speak mandarin to me and my sis. I've got A1 in English and A2 in Chinese at "O" levels. Back in my generation, chinese is quite easy but now, chinese is tougher (I think... ). But expose them to English. I wasn't exposed to English at all at home. There is no TV shows for me in English. They all watch canto or chinese shows at home so my spoken English is quite bad even until now. However, I love to read so written English and Chinese no problem. Therefore, cultivate the love to read. Read with them while they are seated on your laps with love and joy and forever they will associate reading with love and joy.

What I have said came from experience and what I have heard from others. I know of children who came from English speaking families and their Chinese is just... gone.

mejo .. over the weekend i talk to tiff in chinese.. i ask her to "chuan xue" den she go and take her shoes.. but before wearing them.. she come to me and tell me "wear shoe" and keep repeating.. so i repeat "chuan xue" also.. and den she got louder.. she wanted me to speak in english say "wear shoe"

nanabear,

Haha, that's good. It shows that she is bilingual. YT also like us to repeat things in English to her. She wants to know both "names". In CC, Tiff is exposed to English, so to her, she may have started to like English. Maybe you can try reading Chinese books to her. YT prefers me to read English books to her also cuz all the books I bought are mainly English. Only recently then got some Chinese books.

nanabear,

I think they may have started to associate English as the fun language whereas Mandarin is home/scold language, haha.

I'm still behind on toilet training. YT doesn't even want to take off her shorts on her own. :/

Mejo
How's yr eye assessment (lasik)?
Chinese n English theory - I think I come across what u mentioned before.

Nana
Initially had to ask them at around 1/2hr~1hr intervals to check their needs.
Sometimes they may play until forget.

Angel,

Er, I vaguely remember that my assessment should be next week. Hmm, now that you reminded me, I better go and call up to change the date.

Starfruit,
no lah, won't be sending them to Radin Mas. At Bukit Purmei leh, the travelling will make me ki siao liao. haha!!

Kaexin,
aiyah, I remember wrongly. Theirs on 30th May, next Sat. :p

huingee, yes apparently within 1km no need to ballot for OLN, dats why its my only hope left if i want a gals sch.. hopefully it stays this way till its time for me to register! :p

Yvonne,
Is Sam better?

QQ,
Dylan also uses towel bowl to poo, pee instead of potty. He even climb up the toliet bowl to sit without our helping. Heehee, might be due to the influence of jiejie.
Haha, Tian saw Esther using toliet bowl then now she also use. Good good.
But sometimes Esther will teach didi the wrong things like diving from my bed to the floor die down. Jumping on my bed to land on the bead bag etc. That day at playground also she went head down. I told her not to do that cos i scare Dylan also follow. Cos Dylan very daring to follow what jiejie do.

huingee,
ya. diving down is very dangerous. your kids are very daring, and brave. tian will tell them that it is wei1 xian3.

mejo,
my reason of speaking mandarin is a little bit differnt, though i think to a certain extend we have the same concept.
It is difficult for me to express the values, etc etc in english, but mandarin can.
so we speak mandarin at home, and next time she will learn english in school. but we teach her more simple english words in case she cannot understand and feel left out in school next time. so GUG is a must now, the only way to be exposed to english.

Mejo,
I speak to my kids at home in English. Now slowly use more chinese cos they really bad in chinese. Mmm, think Enlgish is easier to learn than chinese.

QQ,
Older kids normally will teach younger kids more dangerous things. Last time my nephew will ask Esther to jump here and there.

just a small note.
if there is any charity organisation that needs donation for the needy (besides NKF, salvation army, rainbow club, etc etc). please let me know the direct contact person/organisation. thanks.

Yvonne,
Vomit is it because of the phelgm? Last time Dylan will vomit if cough cos he drink milk, then more phelgm, then vomit.
Normally Dylan will visit dr ong 2 times last time.

yvonne
sam's crying cos she's uncomfy right?
you bao bao her and sayang and distract her abit?
actually when YE's sick and grouchy, i also dunno how to pacify her. just sayang oni (of course after taking all the nec med lah). and if can zzz is the best, can recover faster

yvonne: ya she's uncomfortable. like tt time A was sick, i think sometimes he cough n choke on phlegm or something while trying to sleep, he will cry too. n we can only sayang them more

kelley, go see my blog update.
its fun for her la. but mademe ganjiong only. cause just put muffin in oven for less than 20 s, she said ok liao, want me to take out.
basically she just do the mixing action nia.

yvonne, give her toys, tickle her, make her laugh? or she likes to go out breath fresh air? can also. music? tv? anything that can distract her.

hg, yes. Appt at 12noon.

Sq, kelley,
She got many prob. Because of sick, she never sleep well, i can say less den 10hrs a day. And teethin, keep biting me, and she is so hyper active, i don see her feel tired. Even she fall asleep, once cough, she wake up and start playing again. Like that how to recover.

qq, her fav tv also no use already. She breathing very fast and difficult now, don dare to play till so fierce. She no voice to laugh also. Sorethroat. Very funny if she laugh. Lol!

Kelley, ya. Really lack of attention.