(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

astro,
Ok, slowly let Teng get use to the environment and teachers other than the laoshi. I normally will go by the hard way cos i think can see improvement better.

Ash: so meaning.. asher can actually sleep past 715.. if this week wasn't as busy for u? great leh

huingee: i also wanted the hard way. coz usually that's the shortest.. ha..else i wun have cio-ed teng twice :p
but i think i cannot push my luck too much with this P...:p:p

ash: i rememerbed in france.. when honey mooning with miser.. or some general trips.. then i will try to speak in french. then i will tell miser to tell me all his requests the night before so that i can try to conjugate and get the words out fluently the next day.. stupid miser.. always asked a great deal of things! but i can still handle. but i get super stressed when i tell him the responses then he wants to ask more questions! then i tahan.. and tried to ask.. then once i leave the counter. i will give him a scolding!!! ha. 'u think that easy to ask ah? give me such short notice! french not easy ah!!!'.. blah blah blah.. then he always laughed at me.. those were the times

ash: erm... still too much. try to cut down to 360ml, two feeds :p esp that afternoon feed.. try to drop it.. and 'pushed' max milk intake to the morning and night feed..in between all solids...
but one thing at a time.. start with the sleeping first

but i have also learned.. everyone has their own preferred way of rearing their children.. so please take my suggestions.. as only suggestions

Hi Pink,
leia's nose bleed again? get your PD to refer? the frequency of bleeding seems to be more often leh...

astro : congrats!! see.. it takes TIME.. time is of essence.. :p

even til today.. If i dun drop Tiff and go off immediately.. she sees me she still cry not really cry but whine lor.. haha

btw.. just a slight note. our kids as they approach toddlers age.. will be waking up more and more often in the night.. but as long as they are allowed to fall back to sleep themselves.. it is ok.. no great damage done. they will adjust again. till 4/5 years.. they will sleep better again
(when they drop their afternoon nap)

nana: yes. thanks goodnesss. teng PERFORMED today and the P saw it.. else i will have NO MORE time! :p
ha.. i expect teng to keep fussing nonstop. he is so persistent when he cries.. haiz. give up

ash: why are u bored?

pink: yesterday leia nose bleed again?
have u managed to do some research on her nose bleeding?

Re: teaching chinese
ay, i speak to Xaiver in both languages.... sometimes when i wanna teach him new words, i will say in English and chinese, so that he knows it's 2 different lang... hehehe....

I see some of the toddlers quite good w all the words and phrases leh... my boy only manage simple words... now i ask him to say good nite and morning (in chinese) everyday!! but he say An An for Good morning... hahaha

Autum, edde,

Er, YT also speak mandarin with ang mo accent even though she mainly speak mandarin! In fact, she only recently started to speak a bit of English phrases. I heard from a SAHM also whose son never even go to any English enrichment courses or what, also speak mandarin with ang mo accent. Haha. Dunno why, so strange. But you can also try encouraging him to speak more accurately.

edde,

I also think Anthea have answered you perfectly. Wahahaha.

sorry was away to feed anthea lunch and put her to bed.

astro, i agree that immersion is the best way to learn a lang. thats why i nvr learn my jap hahahhaha! but when i mean translation i dun mean translating word for word in the sentence, but just the vocab u intend to teach. hence there isnt any syntex (is this the word) involved. yes, sporean students really CMI, chinese compo use eng grammar, eng compo use chinese grammar.. really CMI.

ash, she uses 2 lang in 1 sentence coz she doesnt know how to say in mandarin for some words. for eg she will say "I eat fan4" coz she doesnt know how to say "I" and "eat" in mandarin. prob is also becoz i speak both lang to her, hence she knows i understand her in eng and too used to using eng with me, thus very hard to make her speak mand to me.

dats why pple say its best when both parents speak a diff lang each to the child.

autum, we dun speak dat way coz we know how to speak "effectively" mah... but u realise a mandarin speaker will speak eng with an accent too?? and vice versa?? sometimes when u hear someone speak u can tell he/she is more of a mand/eng speaker. me worse, my lecturer can tell that i am a teochew speaker from my mandarin!!!!

mejo, haha.. opps! :p hm.. YT's case makes me wonder, if mandarin/chinese really a more difficult to learn.. even thou its only spoken mandarin..

Carol,
bored huh? come help me do some work leh.. heheh

Astro,
ay, i only teach zhao an and wan an... didn teach wu an... hahaha... actually, now he can speak wan an.... it's the zhao an, he still continue w his an an!! hehehe...

I have this idea of introducing terms in 2 languages, cos that's my weakness.... So i wanna address my weakness for Xavier, so i can learn too... I never can "correlate" English and Chinese terms for the same things.

edde: i see.. ya. dun translate word for word.. i get what u mean. .. i think in this stage it is difficult not to translate word for words though. coz toddlers dun speak complex sentences yt .. yalor. CMI :p

miser speak chinese to teng. me speak english to teng.. but like anthea.. teng can combine both langs also. think to them .. it is just the most efficient way to speak.. when they accquire more vocab.. they can speak more fluently and 'uniformly' in one lang..
yesterday at titu's house.. there was another bb there.. then teng went 'mama bao rayner.. auntie bao bb;.. ha.. amusing wor :p

i really think it is the tonal aspects of mandarin that makes the kids speak english cheena! hahaha. but cute leh.. poo tow.. and comb xi1 fa zai! da du zi! kekekeke :p

teochew speaker from ur chinese?! wah. i wonder how she konws that abot u :p

ash: wah. once ufind the deal.. let me know.. then teng can get his first customised shelf.. :p

mist: ha.an an is very cute lah..
teng will say good morning to me.. or good night to me when he sleeps.. sometimes naps.. i get myself 'jammed'.. coz he cannot be saying good afternoon to me! so .. he says 'see u later' now.. hahahaha..

ash, u r a teochew speaker also?? i speak teochew since young.. mum told me when i first entered sch, i cldnt understand a single word from my teachers wahhahahahaha!

astro, ya i wonder how they can tell too.. and some more my lecturer is from PRC.. just like some boh liao viewers will comment that so and so actors/actresses chinese hv teochew/hokkien accent.. i wonder how they can tell..

mist u got my sms? i rec yr trf liao.. xie xie ni!

i am getting a headache from my office's aircon!
wah. not bad leh.. RP's department for IT.. got synconised scans for conflicker virus one.. just saw a dialog box. they doing a background scan for my laptop. hahaha. good :p

i am bored too.. waiting for my tuition kid to come but forever late.. sms also no reply duno whether coming or not.. kaoz..

Astro,
aiyo, an an is not the right lang mah... anyway, i let him be, while i still continue to say zhao an, i think he will be speak the right one when he's ready lah....

hahaha..... good afternoon for nap, err..... really not right.. next time dun know how to explain y cannot use wu an for his nap... hahaha

exactly!!! sometimes i feel like telling their mother i will charge for no show lor!! but i hv no gut to say coz the mother very fierce.. hahaha..

ash / kaexin : remember at the sale i bought so many shoes? i bought a canvas and i love it so much.. when i wanna take out and wear.. i realise that both side is right side!!! i almost wanna cry.. den i emailed crocs.. they say try to help me.. see have a not.. hahaha! so happy..

wah faint, refresh then saw edde post on the chicken **drool**

edde,
dun care you go and buy KFC and delivery to my house now. kekekekeke