(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

edde,
over the weekend, i went to a so-called well known "school". i look at the way the kids behave i know i'm not sending YE there.

at the end of the day, i know that when i leave this world, my job as a mummy is done if i've taught her how to be likeable, and get along with people. doesn't matter that she doesn't have expensive schools and the so-called "good" schools in her CV. Also, doesn't matter if she comes last in class. I rather she get the "Integrity Award", "Human Relations Award", than "First in Class". with two kids, you might need to evaluate your priorities and just give her the very best you can? then jiu4 gou4 le4.

haha... me and hubby always joke that this' the poor man's talk. zi4 wo3 an1 wei4

SQ, U r right. We tried to give them our best. But i do hit ah bien's hands hard when he gets v notti. This boy is kinda stubborn...boh bian, me & HB both stubborn and persistent types so he inherited our genes.

Btw, mummies...can help to ask ard if anyone wanna buy my BRAND NEW SONY DVD HOME SYSTEM?

star,
thanks in advance for the recipes
will let you know the outcome if i have courage to try again.
where got wet bottom? no leh, my muffins' bottom wet not cos the tray is wet leh. it's cos only the top gets the heat bah... but if i dun use a rack, the bottom lands up burnt! so what i do is i bake halfway, then pop them out of the muffin tin and put direct on the tray in the microwave. then bottom not so wet lor...

aiya, troublesome lah. this am i just bought one from starbucks to eat. eat and throw. dun have to bake so ma2 fan2

the lazy man just spoke

oh ya, i have one very puzzling question.
YE has been grinding her teeth these few days cos she likes the sound! how do i rid her of that habit? i dun want her teeth to get shorter and shorter! help me!

edde,
You don't have to feel bad about not being able to give Anthea the best after #2 comes along. Anthea's case not so bad liao. My RR are worse. My budget for them had always been halved since birth. Every single dollar I have to spend on them is only 50cts for each. Sometimes I feel guilty too cos I would be able to give either one of them more if there's only one. They didn't choose to come out together & yet they are being 'forced' to share everything. That's why my hubby says if we plan for a #3 must make sure we are better off financially 1st. Else it's only 33cts each for every $1 we have for them.

carol,
i din try ON PJs before.
but i love mothercare's PJs

irin,
though monetary it feels that they are lesser, but they are in fact richer by the experience of having someone to grow up with TOGETHER. this will surpass whatever monetary sacrifices they might be faced. and i say might cos i look at the both of them, they have more toys than YEx2! so they are still well off!

dun worry k

SQ,
I was thinking about starbucks cranberry & orange muffins when starfruit posted about muffins. haha!
RR also like to grind their teeth nowadays. They find it interesting that they can make funny sounds from it. Think they'll outgrow that phase & stop doing it. I don't know how to stop them from doing that too.

irin,
i'm hoping that my encyclopedia fren astro will be able to advise me. else, i'll have to do the research myself one of these nights

cranberry and orange nice? i've always been going after the chocolates and double chocolates all my life!

SQ,
it's not only the monetary part. Attention, time as well, all divided into 2. I've got to consider sending them for classes or playgroups also cos the amount we need to fork out at one go is x2.

SQ, thx for yr wise and comforting words.. maybe i just feel guilty towards anthea bah.. just like parents will worry if they will be fair to all their kids.

which well known sch u went? if not convenient to tell maybe can PM me, secarly i hv been there too! haha!

to tell u frankly, my first choice is Eton. coz i hv heard gd reviews from pple i tok to. not very impressed with wat i saw there but at least much better than the rest i went. but now i think cannot liao.. how to send 2 kids to a sch that cost me 1k+ EACH? i must be damn loaded to do that. unless i go back to teaching, then my pay all dumped into the sch. even the learning vision that my fren sent her kids and said its gd is $800+ before subsidy.

sometimes i do agree that 多生育,少分享. i mean not mentioning intangible and non-material things. soft skills u mentioned are basic essentials of coz
i always tell my students so wat if they have straight As but no moral values? i despise such pple.

wei.. u where got poor man???? yr hubby doc and u banker leh.. heehee...

SQ,
ok, if yy or you manage to find out what are the adverse effect & any way to stop the grinding, let me know too.

cranberry & orange not bad & I just tried their banana yesterday, yummy too! The chocolate muffins at Gogobam is good too. I like all muffins as long as not too dry lah. hehe!

irin,
we have a pair of twins in our GUG class.
i was telling hubby that if we think course fees for one kid is siong, imagine two! so i really peifu the parents. i suppose we always want the best for them bah... and you know what. the good thing is R&R being twins already have an advantage over most kids cos they learn the invaluable skills of communication and sharing and interaction from each other without having to pay the playgroups! so you already have a headstart

re: muffins
orange/banana/cranberry = 4kg
chocolates/double chocs = 7kg

the above weight looks familiar?

edde,
i not banker lah. bbmouse is *wink*
and there's nothing wrong with 多生育,少分享
look at the old times. our parents' and our times. we may be poorer but so much happier than the current generation though they have all the material needs.

irin, yes i can imagine yr kao siao lor! all X2! really siong.. i guess now with no2 and me not working, i really have to adjust my xin tai.. cant have the pie and eat it. where got such rosy pic one!? i will just hv to work within my means liao..

SQ, ya lor.. hubby kept telling me that also. last time we gong gong also nvr go wat enrichment class, but that doesnt make us any lousier..

ok, so the rule is "give the best within our means"
luckily i intend to stop at 2!

angel: ha..no la...bbs very smart wan..wun get confused wan... anyway.. i like to 'confuse' him. give him different ones to drink so he wun be so hard and fast. but for milk i designate the dr brown cup so dat he has the 'sense of security' like wat a bottle gives... dunno my theory right or not.. heh.

edde,
then you dun worry so much also
think about it but dun fret
i dunno if this will be increasingly challenging as your hormones play a greater role in upsetting the balance

and hor, if we keep worrying, not only do we look stupid, we upset them, and we grow old leh... heng3 kuai4 lao3 de4, esp with childbirth. scary

irin: hey..i seriously envy ur twins leh! they r so much 'richer' with each other's company. and i'll give anything to have a partner! i believe u have given them both the best money can buy liao, each other!

re: teeth grinding
seth oso loves to do dat! n i'll usually stuff the pacifier into his mouth to stop him! sometimes when outside, i'll roll his hanky n let him bite aka dog-and-bone style. he jus needs something to grip can liao. worse case, i'll smack his lips n he knows he gotta stop.

haha SQ, not exactly worrying lah.. coz 既来之,则安之, just feel a bit 遗憾 dats all... i am a perfectionist. if things dun go as i planned, i will feel like needles poking.. haha.. thx dear

astro, if you're organising JG trial, count me in.

SQ, star, think the grinding thing will pass cuz it's a phrase. i asked my dentist and she said nothing u can do at this stage. too young. domie did that for a while but he just suddenly stopped.

joelle
you reminded me! no wonder YE keeps putting her hanky in her mouth and bite! i asked her if she's a dog

then when she's zzz, she will grind and grink and i will keep smacking her cheeks. but i dun dare smack too hard in case got bruises. she just ignored me and kept grinkign still

ok ok, so she's not the only one doing that. i'm more fang4 xin1 le4

edde
good

wa moogen,
you seldom come here but you speak words of wisdom! ok ok, thanks for the reassurance. i was thinking of asking my dentist too.
i'm worried cos i have this teeth grinding problem also. it's subconscious. but my teeth are getting shorter and shorter! and i can feel my jaws locking

Irin/SQ: Muffin Recipe below.. i took pax's cheese muffin recipe asaguide + another recipe i found online, made some slight revision, and this is my version below.

<font color="0000ff">Choc Chips Muffin
Makes about 12 to 15 muffins
Prep time: 10mins
Bake time: 15 to 20mins.
- 250g plain flour (or 10 rounded tablespoon)
- 3 teaspoon baking powder (pls level the powder on your spoon)
- 1/2 tsp salt
- 100gm granulated sugar*
- 2 medium size eggs
- 235ml Milk ( I use UHT Full Cream)
- 1/2 cup vegtable oil
- 1/2 tsp vanilla essence
- 1cup hershey bitter sweet choco chips

* Pls reduce sugar if you are using raisins or if you plan to do a savory muffin. Pax recommends 50g sugar for her cheese muffins)

Method:
1) Preheat oven 200degrees.
2)Shift flour, baking powder in a bowl. Add sugar and salt to the flour mixture. Leave aside.
3) In another bowl, break the eggs, add vanilla essence, milk and oil, mix till even.
4) Make a well in the centre of your flour mixture and pour the egg mixture in step 2 all at once into this centre well. Using a batter beater, mix the mixture. DO NOT OVER MIX, mixture will be lumpy, just ensure that all flour is mixed in.
5) Add chocolate chips and mix through.
6) Spoon mixture into muffin trays or baking cups (2/3 full). Bake at 200 degrees middle rack for 15 to 20mins or until cooked and brown.
7) Let cool before consuming. Enjoy</font>

SQ: hope the above steps is simple enuff to follow. hehe.. have fun trying.

SQ, wah. what words of wisdom. haha. easier to correct if she still do it when she's older and can understand what you're saying. think it soothes them when teething or just plain fun.

bbmarch, i wanna tag on aquadoodle too.

Too many archives.. Don't think I can catch up anymore. Will just start from here.

Edde: How are you doing? You had pain? Just when I thought the MS is going away, it's now back today for no rhyme or reason..

Joelle: Have another one. Hehehe..

irin,
i can understd ur situation. everything must x2. u know the shicinda class that i attended , got triplets !!!! so that one must x3

heng yours only x2 and not x3 !

star,
i got mine fm joyofbaking.com

i wanna try the carrot muffin leh. but must grated the carrot first, so where is mt grater ???

bbmarch: ya we all got the Thomas AD at US$19 per piece, plus shipment about SGD26to SGD30, so i set should be less than $60 if possible. did u order the green polo for urself too?

Irin: u have any news from water reg our AD yet?

star,
yes yes yes. thanks! you bake this for yourself or feed Rae as well?

moogen,
i rem when i was young, i used to be woken up by my mum's slap cos i kept grinding. hahaa... i can't control

bbmouse,
at least you are back from your trip and you did well right?! and also you're into 2nd trimester soon/already

michelle: no need to hand grate, just cut carrots in chunks and throw into ur braun blender, they can blend and chop coarsly for u. faster this way. i prefer sweet muffins to savory ones.. i wanna do a choco and nuts one next.

bbmouse so u mc today? my appetite is damn bad.. smell of oily food only wanna puke.. i am praying so hard my bad MS isnt back to haunt me!

i finally read thru all the archive pages.. not in details, but saw all the birthday bash pictures. So NICE! so sad that we had to miss the birthday bash. Can see that all those who went had a good time.

re: Mechanical Tools
guess wat, after i saw the pics of the tool set, i went to Causeway Point just now and got the Tools Table Set from KP. I didn't see the Tools Stroller set.. only saw the table set, so got that. $15. And my colleague who went with me also got influenced to buy a set for her boy. Yeah, tonite can let EJ play liao.

SQ,
Happy Belated Birthday to YE. Hey, u very long never post her pic liao. Sms to me and I help u to post? Or email to me?

SQ: i bake this for myself and hb in mind.. but i gave some to rae this morning too, she likes leh.. hehe (i gave her the bits w/o the choco chips lah) i think if i bake a special batch for her, i will reduce the sugar and vanilla essence by half and omit the choco chips....hahaha. So far the muffins are quite moist, if u find that its not moist enuff, u can add a bit more oil.

haha autum,
you funnie leh... ok i go see if i can dig anything tonight. the pictures in the camera which hubby downloaded to dunno where
then he's not around these few days cos of reservist, so i also can't find them to email

thks for the bday wishes! i'm amazed how come you all can rem to say happy bday. i've never wished the mar bbs happy bday cos i can't rem who is when!

Edde: No, not on MC. But I came in to office after lunch. Self-declared. Nothing much going on as it's a HK easter mmon holiday today. And I'm goona leave early later..

You take care. Hope you don't have to go thru MS at all.

SQ: Yes, I survived the trip! The seminars were good. People were standing cos not enuf seats.

star,
YE also like my muffins, though i think they're disgusting
and what amazes me is my brother, hubby, mum and granny said they are nice!!! strange. they can't even pass my own test. so i think they are just being nice lah

joelle
goatie adds nan ren wei...nice lah..hahahaha

Edde
dun feel bad. you should aim to give anthea a happy childhood &amp; a good family life, rather than feeling bad for not sending her to the best school. by giving her a sibling, u are giving her the best companionship:p

SQ: Just happy that I could carry this through. My colleagues have been ehlping out so much. There is a back-up plan just in case but glad didn't need to use it.

bbmouse,
so u are back to work? no need for MC anymore? still having bad MS? hope not..

I think i m kind of getting over MS liao. I just went to eat sushi for lunch. yum yum.

Autum: Yes, back at work lor. My gynae is on vacation. So I'm not seeing him until mid Apr! Will be doing my OSCAR this Thur. MS is sstill around. I can't be too full or I'll definitely puke.
Was glad to find a type of sour plum in KL that doesn't have any bitter after taste. Bot a big bag back home.

Good that your MS days are over. You are in your week 13 or 14? That's 2nd trimester already.

bbmouse, gd, go home early for a gd rest. must recuperate aft the trip

pink, yes
thats the main reason why i want a no 2 too, so that anthea has a sibling to grow up with..

been wanting to tidy the house, but so lazy... gonna cook dinner tonite

bbmouse,
yea, i m in week 13 now. so considered to be in 2nd trimester. I m not doing OSCAR. Will do the triple test at wk 16. by the way, i briefly saw in the archive u said u didn't do the detailed scan last time. from what u described, your gynae did that for u. As long as his machine is good enough and he has the experience, then he can do the detailed scan for u. Not necessary must go to the 'scanning dept' to do.

SQ,
erm, I have put on 1kg for my 1st trimester. So not as bad as i thot. Initially i thot i didn't put on any weight at all. Now my appetite is just slightly better only. Still not eating as much as compared to when I had EJ. But ok la. The bb is growing well. Doc said it's ok that i don't put on much weight as long as baby is growing ok. And he said i dun really need to be eating for 2.