(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Irin: After my posting, saw yours. We share the same with maids. As in, one who dotes on them (and spoils them) is definitely far better than one who ill-treats them.
No question abt that.

ok no time to read archive, can I ask how to prepare avocado for bb? My mum just cut and feed without cooking is it ok?

bbmouse,

Thanks... we have a hard time to make him laugh/smile... After the photo shoot, all of us so tired.

Autum/Starfruit,

My boy born in March. EDD suppose to be in april but he popped out early & wanted to
be a March bb...

He is a very active boy, when he's at home, he also likes to carry things & walk ard
..hahaha

pinkpink,

I happened to see the devil hairband there & since he was wearing red so i let him try on.
Still worry the outcome will turn out to be girlish..haha..

oops.. i sneaking in again.

star, so cannot bake ah? i will refrain from baking after surgery cause i scare flour go into my eyes then jialat.. how long will the flap fully heal? maybe i give instruction then hb bake for me. haha!!
I never keep my playard, its still a playard for her now, but doors must be opened otherwise she will complain. She likes to go in go out from the playard, its just like a house to her. good la, i no need to keep.

bbmouse, double swing/slide should be steady leh. i got no twins like irin, otherwise i will buy it. heart itchy itchy. when i went home last night, i looked at my house, wow so small and how to put so many things... haha!

Dlim, yes i brought tian for photoshoot end feb... u can check out my tian's photos there.
http://tynn-tynn.blogspot.com
J is active. cause he kept walking in GUG class last time.

bbmouse,

No leh...i didnt go to onsen in Hokkaido leh. That is a place for hot spring rite? Actually I want to join the other
tour package cox they cover alot of places but then the tour like not so popular so I end up with CTC.

U been there? Nice?

QQ,

Wow..yr Tian's so sexy with the red tube top leh!! *Whistle*!! hahaha... she soooo sweet!

Ya lor..not just in the GUG class, even at home, he likes to walk ard.. I so busy with him leh..

QQ,

Can I add Tian's blog to Jayden's blog? After reading yr blog, I feel so bad cox
I hardly have time to update. Not like u..

QQ: y au r right... i forgot all abt the flour, ya better dun bake... and remember, dun go to dusty places or go for BBQ(as in go near extreme heat source)till ur flap heals and remember to wear sunglassess ALL the TIME when u r outdoor. It heals quite fast, think about 1 week plus to 2 week can liao.. but that 1st week, be xtra careful.. cos any trauma or impact, u can go blind leh. so be careful and dun let Tian wack ur face esp ur eyes. Oh and no make up for that 1st 2 weeks.

k i go take a nap with baby now.. be back later.

bbmouse,

Sry i overlooked. My tour include 3 nights in Japanese traditional Inn with "Onsen hotspring"
bath but i think is within the hotel leh.

Yours is somewhere esle? And i also heard their hotspring is public area one leh not
those private type. U try b4?

hi pple,
i'm back .. in RP.. :p
pink: remember what u said? just continue to 'run away from home'..? :p well doing that now.. mum and ellie nothign wrong. just dun feel like staying at home.. teng is fine too.. just some viral infection again.. what's new right? Dr Ong jokingly said she is doing gd business these days! ha! :p

anyway.. given blocked nose -fedac syrup.. another nose drop (illadin) and muscus solvan.. and one more 'lung topic'.. to protect his lungs wor.. else all the circulating virus around these days harmful to bbs lungs.. that one sachet, granules mixed with a little water , once at night. supposed to help improve his immunity too..

PAx: evil u :p. nvm.. hey. M and J ate the no sugar version ah? as in dou sar? seriously, i dunno how much to reduce if i want to feed teng the homemade breads/bun/cakes..

bbmouse: ok.. eh. what is wheezing? as in what symptoms would a child who is wheezing show?

yvonne: which clinic did u go to? why that blunder? ... hmmm. do a google search on that medcine.. see what it says? . soemtimes.. they give very diluted med.. which in its orginal concentration. cannot be given to children below 2.. i noticed that in one of teng's med long long ago..

hey, nose drops hor.. if same kind, cannot give more than 5 days.. that we know.. but if u follow up with another nose drops, different brand. can straight away give without 'resting' one leh! hahaha.. so contradictionary. .forgot to ask Dr ong in detail why.. asked the clinci assistant.. she gave me very weird and contracting ans.. :p and dun keep nose drops in fridge.. cannot instill cold. will hurt the nose..

HJ,

For avocado, I just scoop out and mashed then mixed into porridge for my girl. The rest, I'll wrapped with clingwrap and put into fridge. Can use for up to a week!

Wah, my ger just woke up, after sleeping since 11pm!

nana: maids are not stupid.. they are humans beings too.. and if u think of it this way.. they come here.. leaving their families back home.. and all alone here, stranger to our cultures and langugage.. sure very vunerable one. and dun treat them like shit.. Tiff will observe and learn.. that's not gd.. and when she is unhappy, we worry abt possible abuse to Tiff.. and also.. her morale so low, cannot be productive and efficient.. sure many many cockups at work one.. then make u angrier.. and she gets scoldings.. it just goes on and on.. very sian..

i wanted to ask u. do u have a scedule.. with detailed things for her to do at specific time, written down? do u keep a record of things she needs to follow, like how many scoops of milk powder to water kind?.. so that she has somethign for reference..else with the lang barrier.. sure can 'forget' if never write down.. teng's recipes.. i cooked once for ellie to see, asked her to write down in her own words (she wrote english.. not in tagalog. i said in tagalog also nvm. as long as she can duplicate the same thing again for me.. anything goes).. very helpful.. u want to try that?

Irin: what ur maid is doing with reyden.. is what my mum does to teng
.. same thing. but ur maid listens to u.. and feels guilty. my mum doesn't.. ok. to give her credit.. she's trying. to communicate with ellie.. and to take care of teng alongside her.. and she knows that i DUN want teng to be spoilt. and teng quite ok liao.. now that he is not so uncomfortable (though still nose blocked).. so he doesn't get into situationns which both of us will be unhappy.. so better than nothing..

just now dr ong commented teng got character change. though still crying when sees her.. but will guai guai sit there (crying lah) for her to do examinations. and never try to swat at her apparatus.. i told her medicinee also .. then told her teng's possessed liao. she just laughed..

then my mum when ellie feeding teng at bukit timah plaza jus tnow, told me other maids look very unhappy. unlike ellie,, didn't get what she meant. but i also told her that some mums here found ellie good with bbs.. and i thought i saw a bit of pride on her face :p.. ok.. then told me ellie likes bitter groud.. go buy for her to eat.. i was like.. 'wah..? now my mum's the one possessed?'...:p dunno how long her niceties can last though.. :p

in short. agreeing with what u all said.. better to have a maid who spoils (but loves the bb) then one who pretends and abuse the child in private. wah if ellie does that. i might just give her a slap and SAYONARA...

Dlim: My hubby and I paid an agency to plan the itinerary out for us and then we self-drive. We went to so many onsens I lost count. The ones in the hotel are for the hotel guests use, some hotels will open to public also. Males and females are separated. It's not usually crowded. You know you have to strip down everything when you enter the pool hor? Before that, you can srcub clean yourself at one of the shower stations - they provide the shower cream, shampoo, conditioner for you. (My hubby and I joked that we have never been so clean in our lives. Go to the onsen and scrubed clean so many times. Hahaha.. ) After that you dip into the pool. It's for therapeutic effects. Becos we went there on our own, I don't feel self-conscious. No one knows me there and I know no one. So was easy for me to sway about inside the onsen naked.
You may feel a bit self-conscious leh, cos no matter what, it's not in our culture to go naked in front of others.

QQ: Ok, so it shd be stable. Will source around for one later this year. Not yet at the moment.

Astro: I have the sachet medicine. It's fluimucil? Becos of her phlegm, the doc used the stetoscope and listened to her lungs. He said there is some wheezing, so gave the med. I think this is considered as bronchitis.

pink/titu: i had a chit chat with a colleague (old fren in uni) yesteray. she has a 5 mths plus son. not staying with mIl or mother kind.. she has a smiliar situation like pink.. her maid is not exactly a maid.. soemone who looked after her and is many years her senior.. and because of that.. she tends to take things into her own hands with regards to looking aft the boy.. my fren is nothappy.. but she is not as aggresive as me.. so she will 'slowly' talk to her.. so the classic.. have to be nice but trying not the maid climb over her head kind..

titu, and that got me thinking.. when i went back to my office.. remembered u told me i got a good maid.. hmm. i was like. not really. now i realised..there must be a match between the employer and the maid.. ellie is relaxed.. and can follow anything u want her to do.. which is ok for me who is so particular with everything.. but if u put her into a household when the employers are chin cai.. and relies on her to take more iniaitaive.. then i think it wun work liao.. .. ya.. so must have a match in the personalities... in the house...

Irin: teng these days is ok with ellie and my mum.. seems like i become the third in his hierachy. and of course.. miser is the LOWEST in rank.. heeheee.. my mum said today .,, with a smile somemore.. and that is what is so strange.. that sometimes. teng wants to go to ellie instead of her.. hmmmm.. and she wasn't at all offended.. ehh.. anything oes.. as long as the boy is happy. and the household is calm .. i would be very stressed. if teng sticks to me.. and then cry the whole house down when i leave his sight..

Astro: Yah, it's observed by the doc, not me. Did your PD examine Teng's chest and listened to his breathing? If yes, am sure everything is fine. Don't worry.

And Flumucil becomes an orange solution when you mixed with water. Anna likes this one.

autumn,
my infant care here doesnt prepare breakfast leh...will feed milk if u request...only prepare lunch (porridge/meesua)...dun hv tea also..will just feed milk...

RE: Maid
sorry huh...but to those of u who are experienced, what do you suggest i should first do? Just go to the agency and seek professional advice? How to choose/interview maid? If new ones, normally hv to wait for how long?

hubby insisted that we have to start looking for one now...sigh...this maid tat we're going to get is very SUAY i must say...cos got to take care of 3 young kids + 1 old&naggy granny + 1 messy&barky dog!!!

si beh boh hua!!! hahaha

Irin, R is smart la. its like tian. she stick to my il when they were here. cause whenever she pointed here there, they will go. smart right? point the door or gate then can go down to playground already. if she points that to me, i act blur. oops.

Dlim, no prob to link.

eh, mama not sexy so make girlgirl more sexy mah. haha!
if u leave a comment there, then i should be able to link to j's blog. I oni posted photos, did u realise?

Astro, teng grew up liao, now more guai?

Mejo, u scaring me. use that avogado for 1 week? sure or not? a bit long to me. two days then turning a bit brownish already. i long time never give avog liao, cause lazy to buy.

astro.. I know la.. i never treat them as stupid.. but sometimes they are just really stupid leh! I have been scolding her everyday.. she cannot take simple instructions..

yes.. i did ask her to write down.. and she did.. i did not say that she must write in english or wat.. but i told her.. write it down den u can't forget.. but stil.. Sigh..

No.. i dun have a schedule.. my scehdule is tiff's schedule.. when time to do things for tiff.. she do lor..

I got a question for ALL leh..

When u all install the live cam.. will u all tell the maid that u installed a cam?? or dun tell first.. monitor and tell later??

Traz: Go to the agency and tell them the size of your household, what you want the maid to do (and therefore prefer what type of experience). The agency will give you a list of maids and their bio-data. You can go through the files and pictures and pick one you like. Some agencies will even arrange a call to the phillipines for you to speak to the potential maid of yours.
As for how long, this depends on whether the maid is already in Sing. If here already, can be quite soon. Else, they may have to wait to clear customs/paperwork/medical in phillipines and singapore, wait for them to come over from their village etc. This may take up to a few weeks.

astro.. i agree with u.. my maid.. i wan her with lots of initative.. cos most of the time we are not at home.. so she is like the care taker of the house.. need her to treat the hosue like her own..

Nana: My take on the live cam is like what the Singapore govt does with the traffic cameras. They tell you where the cameras will be to warn those motorists who speed. It serves a preventive measure. I will do the same with the live camera at home. Tell the maid you are installing the camera cos you want to know how the baby is when you're at work or outside. In your message, make it clear to her you will be able to see what she is doing to the baby. If you want her to do certain activities (such as feeding, changing etc) in front of the camera, she has to know also.

nana,
u sure u want this maid?
i hear liao a bit scare leh cause not under supervision. can get someone to supervise? or put her and tiff at your il or mum's home for a while?

bbmouse: yes she did. not worrying.. at least this round.. no antibodies.. heehee. think i got used to him having blocked nose.. hmmm. not nice..

ok.. will see tonight what colour the solution is..

ohya.. forgot to welcome all the 'new' mummies..
hilo to smurfy, maddy.. and anyone else? .. me Astro.. and my boy is teng.. 1st jan bb. not march :p

traz: go to a few agencies.. get copies of their packages.. asked many questions abt their packages and the legal adminstration if u are not sure.. they will explain politely.. and then request for copies of the maids' portfolio.. tell tem what is most impt to u.. child care /care of old folks/care of house and pets. must pritorise. then they can filter and recommend the best candidates for u.. do this a few times with 3 to 4 agencies.. ..
once u decided.. then will need to call the maid. unless u getting transfer and new maids (when u can see them in person) .. else need to call. prepare a list of qns to ask.. then can ascertain their level of ang mo.. and also the 'background'--> hee. this one. i feel impt. if the maid is at a havoc place with loud music playing ah. i wun take her.. coz that's what happen. i got another choice, stay in HK for 7u years.. super eloquent.. speaks cantonese.. and i think would be more exp than ellie. but i rejected her.. coz when i called ellie up. she was at home cooking for her boy and i heard a rooster crowing in the background! :p.. so i figured that ellie wld be more innocent.. :p

pink: u still need the link for the employers orientation course? think miser has it.. will check with him tonight..

Nana: The more you scold a person, the less the person will have his/her own initiative. Why shd the person take on the risk of being scolded by doing something she thinks is right before being told? This is normal human behaviour right?

Pink: For the link, if you go to the agency, they will tell you. I've forgotten abt it. You need to pass the test before they can process the paperwork to get the maid over to Sing.

hey Traz
try calling up maid agency and they will advise you the procedure. hahah your poor future maid, perhaps you can let her do less housework and concentrate on the kids instead.

Astro
u should change your nick to "runaway mum" hahaha.
u are right, im in the same situation as your friend's but im not staying with mine, so i wont feel frustrated all the time and i can close 1 eye easily.

Dlim
my current 'maid' is returning to Bangkok..she's our aunt's fren.

Irin
my gal is spoilt by many pple and hot-tempered by nature. i'd resigned to my fate :p

nana: hmm.. dun scold her lah. makes u angry.. and she more upset.. unhappy mood at home. no pt.. just change her and start afresh.. better than to let this all drag on.. kind of like bbmouse has just said.. sometimes i unhappy with my mum when she takes 'her own iniative'.. then i checked myself and tries to tell her that i apprecxiate her 'enthusiam and iniative;.. but this action can modify in another way etc.. so that she wun buay tahan me.. and dun want to take iniative anymore.. u get what i mean? tricky hor? human beings..

ehh. my schedule for her revolves round teng.. as in when teng's awake.. and my mum not yet reached.. teng's the sole focus.. and when my mum is here. then she can let my mum play with teng.. and she goes on to do the chores listed at that timing for the day..
ehh. could it be ur maid is 'eng'.. and dunno when to do what? apart from playing and feeding tiff??..i mean she can oly do one thing at a time.. and her way of structuring her day is not what u want . so u need to structure the day for her according to what u want.. and keep a book for her.. write everything down.. and see that she reads it the first few times. then has habit to refer mah. else write liao. keep. no pt also.

hmm. think camera ah?.. ehh. when teng eveuntally sleeps in together with her i the same room. will fix one focusing on teng.. but entire day. have yet decided that. think got to fix one. to keep a lookout on my mum.. !

Astro: Both of us have the same approach. Wanna ask you. Why you say you'll install when she sleeps with Teng? You want to fix a camera when Teng is sleeping? Isn't that the time you're also sleeping? Need the camera for what?

bbmouse,

u more daring than me *pei fu*...i shy shy leh..hahaha
So is there alot of ppl when u went for the hotspring?
Your is those hotel too?

Anyway, I shall see how...who knows my mood change & I
want to try leh? hahaha... Its a good experience rite!

Did u go to the Chitose Factory Outlet Mall? Anything to buy?

QQ,

No mah...mummy & daughter must dress sexy then next time
when yr gal grow up..then ppl will say u two look like sister!
Ya, i realised all photos...actually i also very lazy to write
commented leh..hehehe.. K..will post some comments there..

bbmouse: heehee.. i already have one. jus tput that on teng when he is sleeping.. so that if i want to check on him.. i dun have to open her door and disturb her mah :p.. then if i all of sudden worried.. can just switch it on to see if teng is still blissfully asleep :p.. heehee.. that one is miser's old camera. . so ok.. but if need install new one.. must think where to put and why i am doing that for

pink: look at my nick! :p

btw, i am suppsed to be on child MC. but since i am the runaway mum.. so i ran away.. hahaha.. forgot to request one frm Dr ong jus tnow.. called and Janice will send it to me..!!! wah.. good service.. whahahhaa.. heng dun need to go there to pick up myself ah!!! :p

huingee! it is sp ah! i remembered was one of the polys.. googled nanyang, ngee ann.. dun have leh.i very sure not temesek.. so i forgot all abt SP! :p

Dlim: I'm not more daring lah. I tell you. Last time I went Korea with my mum. We went to a hotspring. This wa an optional site. When the tour guide was introducing to us, so many of us raised our hands to say we wanna go. He went to book the tickets. After that, he told us have to strip and bare all, so many came up with excuses and want to back-out. It was so funny. The whole experience was awkward lah, with us trying to hide our bodies with an extremely small piece of towel. See, so I'm not brave at all.

Yes, we went to the Chitose Factory Outlet. There is a Coach outlet there. I'm not sure if prices were cheaper so didn't buy. You can check out first.

astro
i made 3 types, plain, cheese and tau sar. the base recipe is a little sweet. there's sugar added. it's not a lot. i'm not so particular now after Jo turned 1. they only eat plain or cheese ones...

star
it's not difficult to knead, but must study the process and get the feel. once u get it, u will know it and get the hang of it and fall in love with the freshly baked bread smell! I'm nuts abt making bread now!
research on the internet abt making brad, b4 u start ur 1st loaf. btw i prefer to knead my own dough. the machine is not human, cannot feel. :p Bread made with love.. i'm crazy liao..

a few websites to share
http://video.epicurious.com/?fr_story=c623f6d3e00a19c93102d8f72f33dd8e15b2f7fd&rf=bm
http://www.baking911.com/bread/101_intro.htm
http://happyhomebaking.blogspot.com/

bbmouse, astro, QQ..

Not that i wan to scold her leh.. Its very tiring to keep scolding ppl also leh..

Yes.. i intend to restrict her to the living room during day time.. moreover the house is big enuff for her to roam around..

2ndly.. she really seems "eng" leh.. cos now got my granny to look after and watch over mah.. so sometimes.. my granny will do some of the chores while she looks after T lor..

Not that i wan to scold her for her iniative.. but the prob is.. u see ar... Her thinking is.. "dunno do this right or not.. so i rather not do" BUT i got tell her since day 1.. do wat she thinks is right.. and i wont scold her.. jsut that if i dun like it.. i will tell her to do it the other way only..

E.g. Yesterday morning.. i soak the pearl abalone to cook for baby's porridge.. as its not soft yet.. so canot mah.. so leave overnite..

when i got home.. she pour away the water which is soaked the abalone and den keep the abalone in the fridge.. I wan to faint.. AND THRUOUT the day.. my granny keep telling her..canot our/throw away the water.. yet!!!!!!!

Huignee
thank you thank u! i managed to sign up, kept delaying to take the test..so boring!

Mejo
i'd collected the kitchen set, yet to set it up, looks pretty simple to me...hmm..i'll see whether leia likes it this weekend, if not, will post it for sales:p

Irin & mummies
my hubby and male colleague said if bb tried to vomit milk to get wat he/she wants, just let him/her vomit...if not they will always get their ways...faintz
recently Leia really machiam princess, knock a bit will cry for me to carry and sayang her until she's happy...attention-seeking?

bbmouse
Anna's toy mickey and minnie are different from the real bbmouse :p im sure she will enjoy her new companionship even more! hey u know wat, u must prepare a gift from anna to bbmouse, and another gift to from bbmouse to anna, on the day of delivery :p i heard its a way to foster a good relationship from the very start.

Pink: Yes I will. I hear this will "lessen" the jealousy and sibling rivalry. Anna will be just be short of turning 18mths when bbmouse is born. I read that babies from 18mths to abt 3 yrs old will begin to understand jealousy. Hope she's fine with bbmouse. And hor, bbmouse will be sleeping in my room with us in the initial few months (after the CL leaves), hope she doesn't feel mummy daddy love her lesser becos of this.

bbmouse,
i bought a baby doll for elder girl to play with. Those without hair and have milk bottle to feed the bb. She likes the baby and last time when she see me feeding baby she will bring out her baby and feed her baby too.

nana: shouldn't it be the otherway? she does the house chores.. while ur granny looks after tiff? then ur granny more sensible and not as blur as her mah..

then quite interesting.. that u told her she can do what she thinks is right.. and u wun scold her but u will ask her to do it another way. then why not u tell her what u want FIRST? like that less amiguity.. and no chance for conflict mah.. everything ur way.. then she just follow.. she doesn't have to think also.. everyone happier..??

btw, what is pearl abalone?

pax: miser tried to make bread that time. when we still without teng and too much free time.. then forever we.. or rather miser cannot get the 'feel' right one. end up all the bread hard as rock.. cannot eat. then i lost my interest liao.. my bread machine (miser sot sot go and buy when he so damm high on bred that time) still sitting in the storeroom :p

Nana: The negative feeling will not go away. I think it may be better if you cahnge a maid, and change fast. In case she makes you so angry one day, you hit her.

pink: not just ur hb and male colleagues leh. i believe some of us here meant the same way. but can't find the words to tell u.. coz scared posted on forum.. might appear insensitive and make u unhappy :p well at least.. that's what i had in mind.. :p dun be angry with me.. but seriouly. how much milk can leia vomit. once, twice, trice.. she will get sick of vomiting.. and she's so smart.. will know that that wun get her ur attetnion.. and wil try other things liao

my mum, after getting told off my be, is trying to 'sayang' teng less and nt make such a drama when teng fall.. now teng better liao.. coz he knows.. maomao changed liao (?) :p

QQ: i missed ur one liner post :p. hmm. not sure if he is guai. but he is chirpier.. and seems more hardy and less clingy now..

astro.. i think i fail on 1 thing is i did not train her.. my 1st 2 maids.. i did train them.. but this one no.. cos no time..

Pearl abalone is "bei hai dao zhen zhu bao" - hokkaido pearl abalone.. its like scallop but not scallop..

bbmouse.. i so angry last nite i scream til i said "aiyo!! i wan to kill u ar!!!!!" but i din do anything lah.. just that when i angry.. i can say nasty things lor..

runaway mum aka astro
i wont feel offended, serious. its just lazy mum dun want to clean up the mess, and too coward to leave her sobbing away :p hahaha seems like im also spoiling her.

nana
change maid..really. sometimes maid and employer needs some kind of "yuan". doesnt matter whether she can be changed or whether she's actually not so bad, its obvious that she has no Yuan with you :p

wun it be so funny to see teng feed his doll?! whahahaha.. ok.. so now his pet doll.. is eric (what is his surname? forgot liao).. The Hungry Caterpillar's soft toy.. he love it a lot and brings it to bed.. teng calls him 'Cappy'. and will calm down when i give it to him should he fuss :p

nana: ur abalone. very chim.. :p anyway. seafood?
hmmm.. like that.. started on poor footing liao. she doesn't know what u want.. ad u too tired to tell her what u want also.. think got to change this maid.. or u sit down and teach her EVERYTHING.. from the very start leh.. else can't solve the probem one..actually it is all because of the situation lah. u not time now this time.. she is not stupid.. just confused

Traz,
how can the IC only feed milk and lunch? That is not correct. My IC feeds cereal for breakfast. For tea-break, mostly is also cereal, but because now they want to train my boy to eat, so they are giving him more solid foods.. like cakes, bread or cheese.. usually this kind of tea-break food is what the older kids (those in nursery/kindergarten) are eating for tea-break, so they will give him a small portion to eat. I know the older kids also get to eat red-bean soup etc. for tea-break.. of which EJ doesn't get to eat la, cos still too young to eat that I think.

Whatever the case, u should complain leh. At least, the most basic is to feed cereal. Cannot be just feed milk all the time! Especially when our babies are becoming toddlers. In the first few months when I sent EJ there, yes, he is on milk only.. but once he hit 4mths, the IC start to give him Heinz rice cereal.. then after 6mths, eat Nestle cereals..