(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

SQ: ya.. i will pay attention to the financial planners.. but the moment they open their mouth. i start dreaming.. haha. but i perfected the skilling of appearing to be paying attention. haha.

edde: trust urself lah.. and be critical of ur intentions and beliefs also.. like what mejo and titu said.. the bbs are individuals.. and we shouldn't expect them to fulfil and live the lives we did not mange to live.. as much as I want Teng to be what i want him to be.. teng is still teng.. no way i can force him.. i can pyscho. but he still choses his path..

astro, u go research and evaluate on shichida and tell us lah. u seem wanting very much for shichida to convince u its beneficial wor... hey dunno why yr "evaluations" always draw great impact on me. u hv the power to convince pple. hey why arent u in sales?!

edde,
ultimately it's always back to the kid herself.
my hubby and i have this mock retort for each other nowadays: "who cares about you?!"

like when he says kindermusik machiam a "waste" of time, just go there and shake backside and come home, i'll retort "who cares about you?!" as long as YE enjoys herself

or when he says he's hungry and wants to go wherever to eat, i'll tell him "who cares about you?!" YE is not hungry yet and we'll wait till she is then we all eat. we plan our meals around hers, not the other way round

that kind lah...

so you just evaluate anthea's reaction and can't go wrong liao

giolyn,
bel will wake up in sitting position with her eyes close to search for her pac in the middle of the nite(she always scare mi with this action), den if she cant find, she will wake mi up, she found, she go back to her sleeping position... sometime too thirsty, will cry and ask for water...

her sleeping time is 8pm, so 6pm onwards no more playing... cannot see the mirror also...

SQ, astro, bbmouse, yes noted
i shall not carry on with this topic lah.. dun wanna draw more "buay tahan edde" mummies! even my hubby huay tahan me liao. wanna be perfectionist and yet a procrastinator. i am someone with no self-confidence, dats why i need assurance for my decisions and hence easily swayed.

SQ/YY,
you gals are just like some of my female clients that I had to go thru my presentation over and over again. And in the end still got to meet up with the husbands to present again before they take up the plans. Make life difficult for financial planners. *abish!*

SQ,
crawl around in the living room or just play alone in her own bed... i wont entertain her, if she over stimulate, will humbin or cant slp at 8...

BBmouse: i know the powers of the right brain.. i am a right brained person .
.. and i have read research on it.. and discussed abt it .. to death.. with my ex colleagues.. i believe what u have mentioned.. but i feel shichida is not the only option to harness right brain.. (they attempt to develop whole brain development.. perhaps they try to do that by provoking the right brain.. but not enough evidence as to how they do it.. i got to find time to read the reserach done on shichida. coz the skimpy website is not doing justice to the age old method of shichida.. i look at the website. and the way they present and chose the information to present. i just raised my eyebrow.. my colleague laughed nonstop..that's how bad we think that website is.. )

and i have yet reconcile the way and the instructional strategies to theright brain training they seek to acheive.. coz many of those activities.. trains up... the left brain...

Edde: And hor, just know that there's an element of "risk" in every decision we make whether consciously or subconsciously. As in, we'll never know whether it's the right or wrong one until events are played out. It's ok to make mistakes - it'll worse if you're so afraid of making a mistake that you never began the journey at all.

SQ, cos it starts with a cry first so unlikely cos of pacifier since pacifier has dropped long time ago.

Yvonne, wah Bel sleeps very early hor. So u must be home by 8pm huh if u happen to be out? Wah Bel can entertain herself.

irin,
i acknowledge my stupidity so i always bring my hubby along for EVERY trip wan hor. haha... wont make the financial planners repeat lah

edde,
i bully him all the time. and treat him like a maid. thats why i dun need a maid

Astro: You've done research on the right brain training before. Share leh. Right and left brain can't be separated - both sides of the brains can and shd be used together. Hence the activities try to bridge the 2 sides of the brain together.

Shichida's not the only school around teaching this. And it is very commercial, too commercial. And that's because the principal is a #1 salesperson.

bbmouse, u speak like my hubby! haha.. yes he told me this last nite. but omit the last sentence.

in a nutshell, this is wat he was trying to tell me last nite, "dun kpkb lah, if you wanna do it, just do it and bear any consequence. nobody can tell u for sure if anything works or wat is rite or wrong. you hv to decide for yrself and bear any outcome. period."

okok... i really have to stop liao. let's move on

SQ, let's run from Irin!! she's a financial planner!!! ..

whahaha.. irin financial planner? ok.. think ab ttime i meet u and u give me some good information.. :p

edde: ya. i am very critical of shichida.. even before i joined this forum.. coz that time. i actually wanted to apply for the job as their instructress! :pP.. haha. but they wanted only single, female (and maybe pretty?) people. so i off the list liao lor. i read that website a dozen time.. and i got frustrated each time. coz i can't seems to get a gist of what they attempt to do and what they tell us they want to do.. but i need to respect that shichida is an age old method.. and before i get my hands on those reserach. i think i better keep my comments to myself :p
no time to evaluate.. got other things to do at this pt in time.. such as my PBL review?! oh shucks! :p:p

ehh. i am not convicing.. but what i have.. is persistence.. coz i can wear people down.. till they believe whatever i say. heehee.. i used to think i make a good salesperson. but actually no. coz i am too sensitive to be refused or scolded at or shouted at... blah blah balh..

SQ: i get bullied by miser.. but i treat him like a maid.. hahaha :p

edde: stylo ur man! short and sharp.. said in how many words.. 38 words.. the whole conversation we had yesterday! hahhaaaa..

Germaine: Anna sleeps around 8pm. Actually for her, she naturally becomes sleepy around that time. So we just bring her to brush her teeth, change her into pj, then give her the milk bottle. Then we bring her to her cot, I'll sing her a lullaby and auntie will continue from there.

You need persistence to achieve this I think. There are instances where she still doesn t want to sleep yet, we still bring her into her room and off the lights. She may cry a lot but after a few ocassions, the routine sets in.

When we're outside and it's approaching 8pm, I prepare for her bedtime too. Either we start to head home, or I let her sleep at that place. SOmetimes she will want to stay awake longer which is understandable.

bbmouse: i have read reserch on right brain. but i have not draw my own conclusion on it.. i discussed abt it only. but not yet write paper abt it.. so no 'enlightenment' to share. heh!

giolyn,
u will go mad when u see her playing herself, she will pull the tissue from the box till empty, den eat the tissue, den tear my note book, eat the paper, suck the pen, ai yo, just making a mess in her bed... llol...

giolyn,
oh, if outside, cant reach home before 8, she will cry and fuss, den i have to entertain her... so usually, i have to be home by 8pm...

Astro; But you don't have to share your conclusions mah. Just share what those research you've read said abt the right brain.

germ,
i am thinking of buying pacy for K, as we noticed that when she wants to sleep, she will bite on to her Pjs.
so last ws and i decided to get her 1.
she has been eating pacy since we stop her at 5mths

yvonne,
k likes to tear the tissues in strips. then throw tem down onto the floor. or when she sees me reading newspaper, she also wants to tear them.
on sun, i bought maz and left it on the sofa, she was playing with her daddi, then suddenly went to grab my mag and tore the corners.

Hello Mummies!

I know it's been a long time...but Jesse has been sick for a month now and it's been tiring. We've also been away for CNY and didn't' connect to internet.

As usual, I'm very slack lah...only read this page of the thread... (Jesse's waking up soon) So everything no head no tail.

Astro: monitor his fever. Jesse also had high fever in Malaysia and the morning after his fever broke, he had rashes on his tummy which spread to his limbs and head over a few days. Then suddenly it all cleared. If it's the same thing, it's known as roseola infantum. Nothing much we can do about except be patient & give fluids lor. Other than Paracetemol for his fever, we didn't do anything else.

As for phelgm, runny nose...Jesse's one is finally stopping but that's after I finally gave up on the medication. He's been drugged for a month and I just thought I've had enough of that. It seems to be clearing but we're still quarantining him for the rest of the week.

For most of the last month, Jesse refused to go to sleep on his own. Wants us to sit there and watch him go to sleep or pat him to sleep. He has also been waking up at night. But now that he's getting better, I'm beginning to "test" him again and leave him to put himself to sleep in the day and at night.

Mejo, I wish your husband were more supportive of your efforts. You really do so much...no wonder your daughter seems so lovely and "easy".

Where do you intend to bring her swimming? Jesse went to the pool a few times in M'sia and he loved it. I hope to bring him too. Maybe we can go together - another person around not so dangerous? Anyway, all Jesse has done is sit/stand by the steps in the baby pool.

I think all mothers want to do what they think is best of their child. For me, I would love to try out some of the classes too (my husband doesn't mind) but it seems that none of the classes are suitable for Jesse at this stage because it clashes with his nap times. And this boy really gets a meltdown when he misses a nap! So I'm just waiting for the "right time" - probably after he consolidates his naps and we have a bigger chunk of awake time.

Didn't know so many in our generation do what our parents want and not what we want. It seems we'll end up producing a generation of children who'll be encouraged to do what they like. That said, I didn't have tuition etc when I was young (just forced to learn piano). My parents were concerned about grades but allowed us to figure it out on our own. I did take 3 months of Chinese tuition just before O levels because I didn't think I was going to make it without it. Haha. So my and my husband's attitude towards grade is probably this: Just do your best. (I still don't think tuition is necessary...but we'll see.

You know, I don't feel sad at all for "throwing away" my degree and becoming a SAHM. I never wanted a degree, just did it for my mom. But now I realise that when my (SAH) mom told me to go out and work, it was for my benefit...working does have it perks lah. Maybe I'm just not as devoted, but a few days a week, I feel like I'm losing my marbles being a SAHM. But then, I still wouldn't do it differently.

Oh ya, re: Thalassemia. As long as one parent doesn't have it, it's okay. I have it...but you wouldn't know unless you did a blood test looking for it (i.e. blood count). Otherwise, everyone I know with it, functions very normally (my dad was a pilot with Thalassemia). As for children with Thalassemia major, I think it'll be very obvious early on and the child would have to go through dialysis three times a week for a very young age. I read up about it long time ago when I found I had it wanting to know the options and consequences.

I really hope to meet some of you wonderful moms one day...after Jesse gets better. What he has is very contagious...and it's going around.

If you really made it through this post... WOW! I'm sorry for being incoherent...

bbmouse: what i read is what u read and is what is available on the net.. i have this link (the first one below) to share with edde yesterday night. to help her see the difference between right and left brain.. coz apparently.. there might be a misperception on how shichida attempts to carry out it activities, type of activities they chose in relation to what they say they will do..

read the following links..I feel GUG did a lot of rightbrain traits.. left brain. i leve it to miser to train teng up!.. and i get the feeling. teng is a left brainer..i got pyscho-ed by miser also. i used to be right right brainer.. now i equal brain liao. haha. 'forced' to think and anaylse.. else get sacked liao lor!..

http://www.funderstanding.com/right_left_brain.cfm
http://www.m1creativity.com/map2003/assess/flexibty/thinkng.htm

in the links.. some tests to acertain if u left or right brainer. i scored 63%.. right brain slightly dominant

Giolyn
Leia sleeps late at 1030pm...she takes nap from 430-around 6pm...and play till 1030 :p its a habit. after i gave her 220ml of milk, she will become drunk and keeps turning and tossing on the bed till she falls asleep. she doesnt really sleep thru cos i still need to wake up at 5am to feed her once ( she will move a lot around this time ).

Edde
in my era, the she hui feng qi was to attend Yamaha music school to learn piano, to carry Umbro/Lafuma haversack, to buy branded trackshoes. i was quite envious of my schoolmates, but im still thankful to my parents. I think they have provided me with the best they can and Im still happy today even without those stuff.

astro
im also thinking whether Leia enjoys the class bcos there are other kids to play wif or she truely enjoys the activities :p if its just pure playing, i'll probably send her to the dou dou playgroup near our place, convenient and cheap.
I did some quizes in facebook, think im left brained leh, means more practical?

SQ
ok lah, next time when im helping in the cafe, u come and visit me

hi jesse: ya. doing just that.. andf i would love to meet u too!

ok.. pseduo left brain pretender wanabe.. must get cracking on her pbl review.. back later

pink: i did that test before too. i was pronunced.. 'equal brain'.. chey.. haha. anyway.. left brainers are more anayltical, systematic..more practical to a certain extent.. looks at parts than whole..

I got this part of a PDF file to share to see how u tend to process information..

"Sperry found that the left half of the brain
tends to function by processing information in an analytical, rational, logical, sequential
way. The right half of the brain tends to function by recognizing relationships,
integrating and synthesizing information, and arriving at intuitive insights.
In other words, the left side of your brain deals with a problem or situation by
collecting data, making analyses, and using a rational thinking process to reach a logical
conclusion. The right side of your brain approaches the same problem or situation by
making intuitive leaps to answers based on insights and perceptions. The left brain tends
to break information apart for analysis, while the right brain tends to put information
together to synthesize a whole picture."

pink: I find 'xiao dou dou' very cute sounding..!! haha. so cute,, Jiang xiao di is going to xiao dou dou class.. hahaha.. free trial allowed? go with leia and test test.. and uknow liao

Astro: On your links above, I vaguely remember doing such tests when I was younger. Now, I'm more keen to know the abilities of the right brain, as opposed to the manifestations of it, and how to harness the power of the grossly under utilised brain. Actually I wonder why God gave us a full brain and then it's only used so little. ??

astro, facebook quiz says i am right brained leh.. haha.. think i am no brain.

pink, i dun hv those in my days too! not even a pair of levis jeans (which was the IN thing) even till now! but we grew up fine rite! hm..

astro
siao dou dou class is $50/mth for one lesson every sat or sun, or $120/mth for daily lesson on all weekdays...no trial. i dun mind trying the weekend class first since its so cheap.

i think i can be either left or right brain..practical most of the time, but when it comes to a point when too mucn analysis has to be done, i just use my intuition to make decision, if not very fan, i hate to feel very fan

edde: i lagi worse.. i got a normal right brain which is, unsuprisingnly, not fully maximised but only a pea size left brain. hahahaa.. and i am trying, however futile, to my best ability to increase that pea size left brain!
see hwo distracted i can be! damm.. haiz

germ,
juz read bbgal's post, i agree.
we normally get back from MIL ard 8+.
we usually wipe her down and change to PJ go bedroom and lights off.
upto her whetehr she wants to sleep or not. coz we dun brg her out anymore.

pink: i am totatlly opp from u.. i am right brain and absolutely random all the time.. but when it comes to impt decisions.. then i forced myself to think thru. coz else i will make hurried decisions. then i will curse.. and if i have a whip, whipped myself silly if i make a wrong decision! .. heehee

bbgirl: i read research. but i never reasearch into it.. different.. just share lor.. like the way u asked me to.. and u posted that we should learn from one another and not be paiseh here.. so ..

'just do it'..-- NIKE..

hahah...

Re: right or left brain training/ Shicida
I feel parent involvement is very important to expose the kids to right/left brian training or music. Yes, it's good to send them for classes but we ourselves have to do our part. To be effective, we parents have to spend time to teach the kids ourselves. Also we have to learn how to teach the kids. I remember last time i'm too anxious that i haven't master how to flash the cards fast and start to flash to me girl. In the end she get bored and everytime i want to flash to her again she will turn away. We parents have to make learning fun. I believe learn thru play is very important. Unfortunately, i'm a lazy and 3min hot mama. Will buy lots of education stuff and sometimes just leave it there. Also give myself excuse like i'm very busy with this and that.

huingee: ^5! i am just like that..paiseh.. *blushed*.. haha. but def i want to join music classes with teng ..

my nephew.. has a piano. my sil send him and her daughter there. but she doesn't join in the class. so end up.. nephew anyhow play.. daughter too shy to play. sil also nvm.. hmmm. i feel wasted lor..

edde: i hereby delegate u the impt task to read up on shichida and informed us here.. whahahahha!!!

astro, u missed my previous post huh.. I HATE READING!

huingee, i am also a lazy mum.. i am so eager to buy the baby einstein DVD, watched once and nvr touch it again. haha... luckily i din buy flashcards else it will be collecting dust too. oh yes, the kinder package is also collecting dust now. my excuse is, we are seldom at home on wkends, wkdays, by the time we are home aft dinner, its bedtime! jialat hor..

wah!! archive liao. cause of the GUG long list. haha!

giolyn. looked for pacy in sleep? hopefully not bah. try not to build up his habit of MAKAN the pacy in sleep. next time your life will be more gang kor. maybe teething pain? cry for comfort.

astro, i ever asked the schicida if i can be the teacher. i was ELIGIBLE leh.
haha!! cause i wasn't married last time. but they want to bond me fore dunno how many donkey years, so i gave up. i oni curious about their curriculum. Its very very commercialised.
and I'm a left brain person, sure cannot make it. haha!

talking about childhood, though my family quite ok, but i grew up under lots of stress due to HUGE family (we stay together). So i have lots of family disputes since young, then i learnt to look for friends when i grow up instead. haha!
mejo, your parents very very weida in that era cause they really pia hard to make u a phoenix!

astro
i like JUST DO IT! haha..u know when it comes to bridge, my Aries frens will take a whole lot of time to think, i get so impatient waiting! When im totally lost, i just throw out what i feel is correct!
im afraid that if i think too much and made the wrong decision, will be terribly upset...sounds like u leh! kekekkee

astro,
i colig also advise me to join music class with my girl as i will learn some and help her abit as i don't have music background.
Told hb i want give my kids chance to learn music as it's my dream to learn piano. Always envy friends have chance to play piano.

I think right brian training is good and i do believe it can train up photographic memory. Last time i also very tempt to send my girl to GUG or shicida.