(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

QQ: i think def need to ascertain the root cause of all these hives triggering issues.. i dunno how to.. but really.. these hives not the 'innocent' rash i thought them to be.. and food allergy can't be THAT bad mah.. or will it?? i not sure..

and if air quality or dust.. how come the covered parts.. like abdomen also have?? then towards the limbs.. look so different. more spot likes than the patches on the body leh.. why the diff?

what did Dr Ong say specifically abt this outbreak??

starfruit,

Snowflake curlies also nice but my ger got dark skin so pastel colours are wasted on her. Recently she turned orangy again, too much wolfberries. Sigh... think even just use in the soup also got effect (which my mind is screaming cannot be cuz vitamin A is fat soluble not water soluble) I hope YT skin colour will lighten up as she grows. I'm quite surprised at her skin colour cuz my DH is very fair and while I'm not exactly fair, YT is still darker than me!

Yvonne,

Do you mean you want to share the curlies?

star,
i onli bought 2 sets of ON clothes.. one of them cannot wear liao... den another, the long pants now become 3/4 pants... faint...

i cannot post on BP thread... y huh?

Star:not sure if u noticed one of my posts long long ago.. abt how teng SUDDENLY changed approaching his one year ... hmm.. now still 'changed'.. Rae also?.. haha. maybe personality developing..

so cute looking at teng these days. (that is if can stand his voice.. very whiny. veyr loud. talks non stop.. so different from passive teng when younger).. these day see strangers.. he will smile and lean towards them.. but the minute the stranger notice him.. and want to return the favour and play with him.. he like want to cry liao.. then after a few seconds.. he will check himself.. as if telling himself' hey.. i am nt supposed to cry liao!'.. then will start smiling and play with stranger liao!! i can see the dilemma in him. haha.. buay tahan him..

Mejo/autum: can i just complain. how come RP likes to 'complicate' matters?? haiz.. so confusing just reading abt academic calendar and taking attendence.. haiz..

Re: Hives

My younger sis used to get very bad hives when she is a child. She seemed to be allergic to anything containing latex. She will have breakouts just touching stuffs like balloons, i.e., breakouts around her mouth after blowing up a balloon. QQ, you might want to investigate Tian's clothes as a possible source of trigger.

I have a very serious case of hives in JC. It lasted for a week, all over my body. All because of one antibiotic pill that I took right after I had some prawns. The doc insist the prawns aren't the problem only the antibiotic. The effect is practically instantaneous... I eat pill. 5 mins later, my face feels hot. Then it feels itchy, then it swells.

mejo: me too.. not hives.. but swelling around the eyes.. also after prawns.. bt strange thing only me got it.. got emergency.. pple looked at me.. got scared leh.. haiz.. then somemore new year eve.. hmmm after reunion dinner leh.. haiz...

astro: good to see u here leh.. hehe bz day tomorrow??
ya personality changed overnite.. now she also super chatty and smiley to stranger, buay tahan her, i alwasy tell her dun anyhow smile to stranger, later kena abducted leh..hehe :p

Mejo: wolfberries will cause skin to turn yello? i dun think so leh, cos sonsumption amt so little only right? i let rae takes BNS/Pumpkin every meal (quite a lot) and also orange sweet potatoes and recently i reintro carrots again (cook together but i discard and dun let her eat after cooking, so far so good, skin never turn yellow leh.

ehh.. could be.. coz she slouching in the stroller mah.. :p teng not eqating as much liao leh.. if fact today. if u combined breakfast, lunch and dinner. he eats like than half his hushal.. i think maybe because cough.. and teething.. ? hmm..

YY,

Haha, now I understand why you have culture shock. Dun understand the rationale for marking the attendance that way if it doesn't affect grade. Or does it? I think bee says no affect grade for certain category right?

Yvonne,

How come cannot post??? You are already an active member for more than a year right? When is your first post ever?

star: no leh. i not busy leh.. coz i 'denial' got things to do never do.. heehee. attending m student's bb's first moneth.. ya.. my student.. 18 only.. hmmm.. i listen to her complain.. what she used to tell me, 'no prob'.. now complaining.. :p but this girl is mature for her age. should be able to responsible for her act

yalor. teng also super smiley liao.. hmmm.. and very stubborn boy leh.. VERY stubborn. chiam. i forsee a clash of wills in future.. me and him.. hmmmm....and he 'flirts' with strangers leh.. boys also want to flirt leh. chiam. i worry abt his orientation leh! hmmm.. heehee

re carrots/pumpkins turning skin orange/yellow
hmm teng wil have either one of these EVERY meal.. and from what i read. if the bb can't digest the betacarontene.. and convert in to vitamin A.. then migh tlook yellow/orange.. but that is harmless.. what is worrying is nitrate level in these root veg.. but singapore not much source for concern

Starfruit,

Hmm, the amt of solids YT take is different from Rae bah. She takes 2 adult bowls of food everyday for lunch and dinner. Recently I introduced breakfast of oats or multigrain, about 3/4 adult bowl. Wolfberries high in vitA. Vit A is fat soluble so hard for body to get rid of. Beta carotene gives the orangy colour of carrots and wolfberries. One beta carotene = 2 vit A. You got to watch the amount of vit A containing veg you are introducing cuz excessive vit A is toxic.

yvonne: u still cannot conclude that the rash is from the 2 woldberries.. u have to try again...let bel take it again and see if the rash comes back. U need to try and test for rash 3 xs before u can confirm that she is allergic. very ma fan hor. yes woldberries = gou qi zi

yvoone: wolfberries = guo ji zhi..

re rash in bbs
not everything linked to alergy leh. apparently it is VERy normal for bbs to have rash leh. particularly if they are fighting virus leh. dunno. that handsome A & E doctor at KK say one..

mejo: was reading through the facilator's responsiblities and guidelines.. got clearer explanations.. hmm. but i dun remember much. haha..

YY,

Hmm, so maybe it is not really excessive but that YT cannot digest it properly? I heard my MIL said PD told another relative that yellow skin due to excessive beta carotene is harmless but from my education, I also learnt that excessive vit A is harmful. In fact, pregnant women not supposed to take more than 100gram of carrots per day cuz excessive vit A can cause birth deformities such as cleft lips/palate.

Yvonne,

I can help you post your orders.

mejo: any idea what amt is considered excessive which = toxic? i mean the qty they consume is very little leh. i only add like 3 wolfberries to her bowl of porridge but i dun let her eat it. BNS/pumpkin, def at every meal.

ya.. too much vita A is toxic.. that's why gynae/pregenancy books reminded us to avoid too high level of vitamin A when pregnant.. .

Nick: yvonneho
Email: [email protected]
HP No.: will email you
Collection: Registered post

1.Item Name: Orange Legging
URL: http://www.gymboree.com/shop/dept_item.jsp?PRODUCT%3C%3Eprd_id=845524445968556&FOLDER%3C%3Efolder_id=2534374306235490&bmUID=1199638250776&productSizeSelected=0
Size: 12-18mth
if OOS: drop this item
Qty: 1
Price in USD: 3.99

2.Item Name: Winter Flower Legging
URL: http://www.gymboree.com/shop/dept_item.jsp?PRODUCT%3C%3Eprd_id=845524445969702&FOLDER%3C%3Efolder_id=2534374306235491&bmUID=1199637081865&productSizeSelected=0
if OOS: 18-24mth
Price in USD: 3.99

3.Item Name: Heart Stripe Legging
URL: http://www.gymboree.com/shop/dept_item.jsp?PRODUCT%3C%3Eprd_id=845524445969704&FOLDER%3C%3Efolder_id=2534374306235491&bmUID=1199637081870&productSizeSelected=0
if OOS: 18-24mth
Price in USD: 6.99

Total in SGD = 14.97 x 1.54 = SGD 23.10

star: BNS is what?

mejo: ya. i did soem read up on that before.. dunno what triggered my concern for taht.. maybe coz at that time teng's skin looked yellow.. but yellow skin frombetacarotene is harmless.. but i suspect lah.. not too sure.. betacarontene needs conversion to vitamin A.. so that's a limit to how much the bb can covert..so 'max' vitamin A liao.. then excess betacortene becomes yellow liao?.. too much vitamin A 'neat' is toxic def.. so the quesiton here.. carrot both high in vitamin A and carotene leh. heehee. ok. let's do a FMT on this problem statement and then 6th P on this! haha.. bonkers liao.. a bit zhuo huo ru m *** (pls understand myhanyun pinyin cannot make it.. so pls make use of ur prior knowledge. hahaha!)

Found the main important point:

"Provitamin A carotenoids such as beta-carotene are generally considered safe because they are not associated with specific adverse health effects. Their conversion to vitamin A decreases when body stores are full. A high intake of provitamin A carotenoids can turn the skin yellow, but this is not considered dangerous to health."

Yvonne,

Eh, the curlies tumpang in your order or I put up a separate one? Btw, if you not interested, nevermind. It is ke you ke wu for me.

mejo: Bingo! ur paragraph on betacarotene turning in to vitamin A .. and the limit 'set' by bb's body. haha. i got good inferencing skill .. haha!

YY,

But very good! You got the main point correct! I din really do a search on it before even though YT has turned into an orange baby until just now. :p

mejo: haha.. that's why i tell u. i very good in 'smoking' thru.. art training mah.. haha. ops.. but i not saying all arts pple 'smoke' ah..true only for astro! haha..

aiya.. we need go sleep liao lah. else not polite to doze off while observing other pple's classes.. heehee..

star and yvonne: night

mejo,
no prob... all put together lor.. should be ok... i don mind sharing the clips... bel have limited clips too... wahaha... lazy mommie nv doll her up... wahahaha...

one last pt befor elongwinded astro retires for the night..

star: ehh. but pumpkin is both high in vitamin A and betacarotene.. and i suspect this combination of high in both vit A and betacarotene is 'natural' one leh. goes hand in hand.. so how ah? :p

ok. nite :p

BNS = Butter Nut Squash

ok i need to go to bed now.. yak tomorrow k. nite ladies

Yvonne: why u buy all leggings for bel.. no dress or top?

star,
my sis will be buying some clothes from hk... so i don buy first... she will have a tutu and ballet shoe for CNY... as for legging, all her long pants and tights all cannot fit liao... become 3/4... wahahaha...

Okay, nightnight everybody. If not, it will be embarrasing, as YY pointed out, to doze off while observing someone else class!

good morning..
yvonne, yalor. everyday she wil point here point there then she guides us where to go. very tiring leh but interesting. i no time to show flashcards cause busy busy...

astro, hive is like that one, like what mejo said. we did not change detergent lately, then dr ong also said cement is acidic, most likely can be due to cement but have to monitor. asked us to wash clothes at home then bring over. if they start hacking, i can start giving med to prevent. if this is not happening for a few occasions, then confirm liao. she said even adults also find it itchy when exposed to cement. it started from her limbs bah, then spread to everywhere she scratched.
now ok liao, i am fine too..

i think she is about 74-75cm la.
michelle, 2 months younger 70 cm liao not bad. u will be surprised that K might be taller than you.

sorry to freak all of u out with the rash. so my 2 drops of tears is okay hor cause its really very bad. i cannot tahan..

star, ya never change detergent lately. used that since birth.

astro, tian and teng can flirt together cause they flirt with strangers.as long as strangers bring her see bird or give her food, then can liao.

going to work soon. bye bye!!

QQ,
sayang, tian's rash is really bad, can understand why your tear drop. I see only feel so heart pain wanted to cry liao. Sorry I can't do anything juz hope that she will recover/outgrow it soon.

QQ, after meeting u yday then i noe ah bien's hives problem is a pc of cake. Tian's condition is worse and if i were u, i would hv broke down that day. So heartpain to c our little ones suffering. Last nite the hives came back again. My mummy told me it usually occur at nite time so must let them wear long sleeves and pants to avoid any direct wind.

For the time being, i let ah bien take the zrytec and c how things go. Hopefully he will outgrow this problem when he is older. Actually i was thinking if seeking chinese sinseh would be better as they are more into hives. Western doctors can only control the illness but no 100% solution. "ZI BEN BU ZI GENG"

Sianz,problems on shifting to new hse then now ah bien got hive problems. Haiz...realli gotto go bai bai one of these daz.

mash & moon, i got ur shoo shoo shoes liao.

QQ,
I'm too v surprised that Tian's hives is so bad. If i'm the mummies, will cry till my eyes swollen.

Yvonne,
I wrote to bee lee (adminstrator) to apply to get into the restricted zone like overseas spree as I'm member for one year. Think you can pm her also.