(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

belle, i am a hougang st 11, nearer to Lor Ah Soo side, inbetween kovan MRT and serangoon MRT lah. exact location is right behind upper sereangoon shopping centre. i think may be a bit diff for you to pop by.

Hey this is strange. I was charged5 for $3.20 n was specifically told this is promo price! I asked for 4pcs initially then the staff asked me if I want to get 5 pcs cos Its going at $3.20 instead of 70cts a piece!

Star, Irin, I got it at Nex the Cold Storage Provence just on Monday! Then Irin went yesterday. This is really strange.

Irin
I think u got back more change. Cos if 5 for $2.80 is cheaper then 10 for $6.30 so nobody will buy 10? Just a thought.

Autum,
ya, ya!! Paiseh, I got it wrong, haha!! It was $3.20. I kept thinking of $2.80 cos I went thru the same thing as you, wanted to buy 4 (one for each of us mah) initially. It was $3.20 for 5 and $6.30 for 10.

belle, star,

Hmm, I do pass by AMK hub on the occassions when Hb don't fetch me home. Do you want to pass to me and then I pass to Star on Sun?

popular having 20% off storewide fm dec 31 to Jan 2 and also StarHub TV can watch all channels from dec 31 to Jan 3 as well

Mist: for teng's case, the ENT specialist dun recommend us to wait for him to outgrow.. coz of his slurred speech. Teng's speech is not that bad because u can hear him clearly but u know that he sounds different as if he is speaking with a blocked nose. plus his snoring at night which results in sleep deprivation which gives him his dark eye circles despite having enough hours of sleep..the ENT said he can sleep deeply but it is poor quality sleep because of congested breathing..(in future might affect school performance.. which can linked to hyperactivity or attention deficit because when the ENT channel is all blocked up, the child cannot hear clearly...though this, with my limited knowledge of special needs for ADHD, i will disagree because ADHD is a neurological disorder.. something to do with the brain.. and not somthing which happen because the ears are blocked. and definitly not teng because all those who seen him will know he focuses v well).. and slows his growth.. i am not sure if this is why teng has lost some weight because of this or because of increased metabolism.. but he is still happy and well.. such things hard ot pin pt..

another impt reason why the ENT recommended surgey is because teng dun respond to the night antihistamine and nasonex spray.. the spray is prescribed with the intention to shink the adenoids in the nose, but his is still enlarged..and the speech still slightly slurred.. so sensitive nose tend to be because of the enlarged adneoids which wun shrink back to normal size...

a video on Adenoids, snoring and blocked nose in children done up this by ENT specialist
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G2l_-YUwOuY

some information on adenoids, the tonsils and the turbinate:

for his enlarged tonsils:
http://kidshealth.org/parent/medical/ears/tonsil.html?tracking=P_RelatedArticle#

for his enlarged adenoids:
http://kidshealth.org/kid/ill_injure/sick/adenoids.html

for the slightly swollen turbinates:
http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_hb4384/is_6_41/ai_n29357267/

star: adenoids is far back of the nose, turbinate in the nose and tonsils in the throat. his speech is a 'by-product'. My current understanding is the speech can be because the adenoids, the turbinates or both.. ent says treats the immediately obvious first and monitor the speech and if need be speech theraphy.
teng's vocal cords are ok.. so i think it might be a resonance issue coz of the blocked up nose. I am concerned because speech is determined quite early so his nose needs to be settled else he falls into a permenent 大舌头 when he grows up.

'■Resonance Disorders: These are caused by an imbalance in sound energy as the voice passes through the spaces of the throat, nose, or mouth. When parents report that their child’s voice sounds “nasal” they are usually hearing one of two different types of resonance disorder:

■Hyponasality (or Denasality): This is when not enough voice energy comes through the nose, making the child sound “stopped up.” This might be caused by some blockage in the nose, or by allergies.

■Hypernasality: This happens when the movable, soft part of the palate (the velum) does not completely close off the nose from the back of the throat during speech. Because of this, too much sound energy escapes through the nose. This can be due to a history of cleft palate, a submucous cleft, a short palate, a wide nasopharynx, the removal of too much tissue during an adenoidectomy, or poor movement of the soft palate.

Reasons for Concern:

■If the voice is hoarse, harsh, breathy, or of poor quality
■If the voice is always too loud or too soft
■If the voice is too high or too low for the child's age or sex
■If the voice often breaks or suddenly changes pitch
■If the voice sounds hyponasal or hypernasal
'

SQ/Ash: I dunno. I know def the tonsils need to go. coz currently, there is no conclusive evidence that tonsils helps in the immune systems to prevent throat infection (the topic we were discussing on some days back). So the tonsils can go just the way as the appendix.

I am in second mind over the adenoids and the turbinates. Adenoids swell rapidly from 3 - 6 years old and reduced and goes away by age of 12. the ENT dun recommend waiting for it to go away coz it is causing teng some problem with sleep depreviation and of course the speech. but adenoids can help in the immune system till 5... and enlarged adenoids is common in young children..

same goes for turbinates and maybe even more.. coz for the turbinate, cannot remove the whole thing coz it is impt.. my only concern is how much to remove.. coz if too much , it upsets the nasal equilibrium in the nose.. might lead to a sydronme called Empty Nose Syndrome
http://www.emptynosesyndrome.org/what_is_ens.php
though i doubt it will happen in the case of teng's.. but still it is a matter of how much to trim for his turbinates.. i am thinking if we can dun trim. but swollen turbinates can be a cause of blocked nose which leads to the snoring..

I am not sure. i know there must be an operation for the tonsils.. all three can be done at one sitting.. one hour day op.. and dischrage in the same day.. discomfort is minimal.. most children dun report any.. but tonsils might caused throat to be sore and needs a recovery period of a week or so...

i can't make a decision because it seems all linked together and required a multi prongs approach.. i would be arranging another opinion.. but i will just bring the cd of the scope done on teng(the ent said to me, 'mummy, be brave' as he inserted the scope into teng's nosestrils.. while it is not painful.. it is irritating.. they wrap teng up so that he cannot resist.. but still he was tossing his head around coz he hates to be restrained.. ' i dun want to do another uncessary scope on him.. miser said dun need to .. just bring the cd..

also miser says he doesn't like the ent coz he feels he is a saleman.. miser wasn't there.. but conclude based on the ent's website and his video...that makes me even more sian coz i got to 'lug' miser around for him to 'sense' if the doctor is genuine or not.. but his time is so tight.. and not like i have the time of my world now that i need to do some coordination work for next sem which needs ot happen now.. so i feel vexed..

Mejo: possible complication is the empty nose syndrome but that one i think not that much unless major reduction of the turbinate. or the common post operative bleeding..but dun be too much if they perform intracapular tonsillectomy.
(in the link for the tonsils) and also coblation on the turbinates. (good so that he doesn't have to be on long term steriod nasal spray and antihistamine...)

I wasn't assured on the risks and must have, unknowingly, given a very worried look for the ent to tell me quite specifically, ' it is much safer that you giving birth to him...'
i do want to take time to deliberate on it.. but while it is not time critical.. it does affect teng's sleep and speech if too much time is taken to consider if the op goes ahead..

thanks ladies for showing interest in teng's case. I think i feel much better posting all these here coz it helps me to streamline my thoughts.. sorry for those who feels i am spamming the forum on this.. coz it is afterall nothing really major.. considering it is a day op kind of things..

pink: kudos to u for being strong for leia when she has to haveher eyes scrapped while awake.. it was nothing comparable, i feel, for teng's scope.. but i feel sian if he has be subjected to it a second time...

YY,

Mothers know best. Quiet your mind and listen to your intuitions and you will make the best decisions. It is funny that you talked about time because just yesterday I was already telling YT that there is no time because she is so slow and like to play around while I'm trying to dress her etc. then she kissed me and said she will give me time and now she has given me an extra 30 minutes.

Believe that you have all the time in the world to consider and when you are relaxed enough, the correct answer will come to you.

mejo: thanks for the comfort. yes i need to quiet my mind and listen to my intuitions more..

Huingee: yes, i am doing what you have sensibly advise.. but sometimes i can't help but get irritated with miser 'go for another opinion approach'.. i wonder how many opinions he need.. but i know i wld regret if i jump in without him pulling the reins ... it is ironic because he said he knows need op liao.. but is considering..actuyally i dun even know if e is considering.. of what he is considering.. i dun feel he is 'interested'...sian.. pragmatic.. but grating.. when i feel frustrated...

Astro
*hugs*. Don't know what else to advise u because I m sure u must be quite vexed now. Just look forward n don't feel bad. I agree with Mejo that mummy knows best. Teng is a lucky boy because he has a mummy who cares so much for him.

i was so busy today...

and astro, u are so well researched into teng's condition. miser* teng is so blessed to have u as a wife * mama. this is also the reason that miser seems a bit bochap (cause u already know a lot a he knows less that u!) but in fact i think is is cool and should have decisions with him.
he needs a little bit more time for analysis, probably.
there is no harm seeking a 2nd opinion.

astro
what makes you bring Teng to see the ENT specialist? bcos u noticed that something is wrong with his speech or his voice?

Leia is coughing and having running nose every 2mths. most doc told me that she is allergic to something. her daddy is also worried that she takes after his seasonal cough. he had the scope test before, said it was very uncomfortable, and the strangest conclusion is that he has crocked nose. did Teng struggled a lot?

you may want to ask Tracy? if im not wrong, her son had the same prob and went thru the surgery.

last min went to NEX :p still as crowded but not so bad

mejo
tks for offering ur help but i dun stay at amk now le :p i do passby bishan daily cos need to fetch chloe .

Star
i m thinking if u go nex i can pass to u :p nvm la if i eng eng n passby ur place i can deliver to u cos u the queen now hahah cannot make u walk all the way ma. we will play by ear ok? unless u need it urgent pls sms me so i can arrange.

while i was out, ethan vomitted all his milk out haiz.. when maid prep dinner i carried him on the sarong then cough cough. i lso kenna now hv to wash mat, clothes n sarong

Astro
Mayb miser appears to b Bo chap cos he knows u wil take care o thgs

Belle
Oh..... I hate it when the kids fall sick n vomit (next dread is fever)
Poor ethan

Astro: Another thing is whether there is a "right" age for the the operation. I mean.. he'st still a growing boy, will the organs grow into size again if the operation is done now? Layman as it is, what I'm driving at is like lasik cant be done on children too young as their eyesight is still adjusting.. Know what I mean?
In any case, I think there's no harm going for a second opinion if you have doubts. Ask the doc the same questions you have listed above, until you're satisfied with the answers.

Pink, RR: Congrats on the new job!
You must be excited. I went for an interview recently too. It's quite a senior position and involves quite a number of stakeholders and I went through 6 rounds. Then at the last round, I met the big boss, who came down from Zurich, and the most unexpected thing happened. He told me at the interview that there's a headcount freeze and he no longer has the position to offer me! My goodness... My spontaneous thought was he must be joking with me or it must be a test (part of the interview), but when the conversation did not change from him being half apologetic and half embarrassed for spending so much of my time going for the previous interviews, I knew it's for real. :p
Chey! Waste my time. When I think of it now, it sounds like a big joke! Wahahah!!!

SQ
yeah he coughed so hard till he cant contain his food.. today maid didnt cook any porridge for him cos we dun think he has got any appetite.

All this wassant talk. I don't even know what pastry it is!
I like the cranberry scones at 4 leaves.. So yummy..
I can eat so many a day. Hey, there's a pastry shop at Isetan Scotts basement. They have very good mini stuff made from glutinous rice or something.. The texture is quite refreshing.. Worth a try.

Astro, we can shake hands...i bought CO to see ENT today. Her diagnosis quite similar to Teng. She got rhinosinustis, adenotonsillitis and "trapped water" in her ear drum.

The dr. did not mention about the speech, only said it will affect her earing.

What i can say is you love Teng more than me. Cos i did not feel anything when i saw him inserting the tube through her nose : )

I am definitely proud of her, cos she did not struggle when the tube was inserted. I just held her hands tight.

No wonder, the nurse commented that she is brave.

Astro, CO also snored in her sleep, and occasionally pain in her ear.

My PD suggested to reomove the enlarged tonsils. But another PD actually kids may outgrow from 4 years onwards. When i see the PD today, the diagnosis was more than i expected.

Anyway, i am likely go for the 45 mins. day ops before CNY.

SQ: I was depressed for a while.. I met them over 5 weeks, and over this time, my hopes got higher and higher with each round of interview. I had gone all out and purchased new clothes/bags/shoes to get ready for work!
Then I blamed the headhunter for taking her own sweet time.. From this experience, I can say there's a HUGE difference between hhs in S'pore (super inexperienced and laid back/lame) vs those based in HK (so much more pro)..
But at the end of the day, I figured it's becos God doesn't want me to go back to work just yet, that He wants me to stay at home for the time being.
This kind of things do happen. Europe is in a pretty bad shape (this is a swiss bank), and with the new basel record, banks are taking the whip. I told the boss in the meeting he's very brave to choose to tell me in person about this news, instead of using the HR/HH to tell me. For this. I respect him.

Belle: Yup, the guy said so in the interview. That they'll call me as soon as he has a vacancy (either when the headcount freeze is lifted or if one of his staff leaves), and he added that by then I could have taken up another job but he had no choice as he had no job to offer me at this point. He said it's only fair he told me the truth instead of letting me wait. This guy (an ang moh) is quite suave-looking ler.. He had his hair all combed to the back.. Reminds me of Ken (as in Barbie and Ken), but not blonde, he's a brunette. :p

pink
Mr Tan may have sensitive upper respiratory tract. won't b surprising if Leia got his genes.

SQ
eerrr.. i said sales this week, but i'm gg only Thu bcos on leave mah.. heee.. did u buy anythg?

AAA
wah.. handsome boss leh! i can u/s ur frustrations. all the time, effort spent. but really Europe is the next to be hit hard. the last round when US banks were hit, Europe was nt so bad... it may jus trigger off another round of recession...

Was abt to go off ler...

Pax: Recession in Asia depends on China.. China is in a good shape, and as long as inflation is kept in check, it should continue on track.
Europe ah.. I'm wondering what exchange rate market has determined the periperal countries should have IF the EUR goes.. Big if..

Logging off.. Nite nite..

Hi mummies...

I rejected the job when I went for interview yesterday... Becos the dr require mi to learn her so call surgery, I have to be able to learn veri quickly in a mth.. And be veri veri committed ... So I also don Noe if I can be up to her standard, I rejected...

Will still continue to find job, but I think the 'fire' in mi have extinguish by her... I may stick back to admin work... I think will be easier... N will slowly take my time to find... Haha... Like veri discouraging Liao... I compare to the surgery she mention, I think staying at home to take care of the kids is easier , compared to cut or to do dressing to a bleeding patient... At least I m more confident... :s

The most silly thing I met when I preparing my resume n cert... Nick went thru everything n I actually ask him to do a rehersal with mi... So he see my certificate n testimonies ... Den he told mi tt I Nv fail my psle n n level.. Just tt I can't go sec 5... Stupid right.. N I don even Noe I have the laminated n level cert... I Tot is the veri veri thin printed paper! Arrggggg..... I really veri goondo! Lol...

yvonne
u vv funny lah....
why u so discouraged? dun like that lah. hv more confidence in urself, k?
there r factories in Woodlands area. maybe can find admin job 9-5?

Pax
I m still deciding , cos waiting for 2 replies... N now so many holidays going on... Everyone is slow... Haix haix... N my so gan jiong character , cannot make it... I hate to wait... Haha!

Family prob come n haunt mi when cny is coming ... I hate to think of tt...

Allow mi to vent...

Is it wrong to be the first wife children... Yes I m complaining... But I Nv compare... Now I wish I can don celebrate cny... Cos I don wan to look at their fake face... Everyone is just putting up a show so as not to disappoint my dad... Have decided not to go back to my dad's place for reunion dinner... Cos I Noe I won't feel happy.. I m bringing my mom over to my inlaw's place... Nick says I m veri harsh with this move... And I have cut connection in fb, they can't see my stats... They may think I m gaining attention, but sry, I do tt is Becos I don wan to see their stats to further misunderstanding...

How I wish I m not born to this world...
How I wish he just go and don ever come back...
If come back, y bring so many Sis n bro which don belongs to my world... I hate to listen to all those nonsense when I don even compare for all this 23yrs! No one understand mi...

I Onli thank god tt I got preg n can get marry! Tts the happiest day of my life! Thank god I Nv marry a wrong man...

aaa
U must tel me abt the BAGS N shoes n clothes u bought!
*eyes big big*

Yvonne
U r an adult le
U can choose to do Wat u Thk is rite
Make urself happy

Ck
Ya how is ur mum?
N CO is certainly mature in her behv as well s looks
She is so brave
Any other kid would hv most prob struggle

AAA, wow ur that 2 weeks must b full of hope and really shopped like crazy? i wont be happie if this happen to me, but no choice cause market, is not good ahead. i think they will look for u ,again when it s time, but u might not be available anynmore though.

Yvonne, once u have negative thinking, u will continue to make urself depressed. this is not a happy thing to do. and u are right in a way, cause u din marry the wrong guy as u said. the sky is v v de fair de.

CK, dont feel bad. pd said she will outgrow right? isn't it a better option for CO?

morning..

AAA: wow.. your interview sounds tough. anyway i am very sure its a good experience. are u still activitely looking for a job now? so if a suitable position comes along, you will just go back to work?

Yvonne, wha the clinic must think highly of you to want to train you up leh. actually u should be more confident of yourself lah. I am sure whatever job you go into, you will be fine. So be confident ok.

Belle, aiyo, dun come all the way lah, my place still a bit out of the way even though its only about 2 bus stops away from nex. ya let me know when u r next heading down to nex or near here. u come by to nex very often?

CK: why did u decided to bring CO to ENT? how did you find out about her condition? cos of her complain of ear pain?
and yes how is your mum? you back in Singapore now?

AAA, nvm to lose that job cos i am sure u are always at the back of their mind when they need someone.

Yvonne, you are born cause your mother wants you to see the world and be part of the world. Dun you say such things to Belle and Sam when you are preg? Actually being fake is also a way to maintain harmony esp if just required one to fake once a year for cny. But if you really cannot tahan it then do what you think suit the ppl around you and yourself.

yvonne, i agree with SQ, u r an adult, u know best. we don;t know what family problems you have so won;t be able to advise if its a right or wrong move by cutting connection with your dad. dun be sad. New yr coming, its a new begining.

Sq
Ya I Noe... But I always feel so 好心美好报 when I still ask abt how they doing bla bla bla.. And end up they still feel not fairly treated...

Qq
I m not so negative le, just some thoughts came to my mind...

Star
Haha... Ya... Cos young easier to train ma... But I m married, with kids, I veri difficult to commit...

Giolyn
Ya... But den again, I m not fake ma... So when I Noe they actually feel not the way I think, I feel is not worth... Haha! Maybe I m 小气... But now I grown up Liao, have my own life, without them actually won't affect my daily life ...

Hmm.. I must learn to see open... If not my life get so irritating... Lol...

Star
Erm, not cutting connection with my dad, with kid over there... Haha... My family complicated one..

Pax
Not sad ... Just tt I got irritated y my family is like tt... Not normal... :s

Yvonne,
Sometimes the more the see them like reunion dinner will make you more up sad. It's like this one, meet less, see less, then less unhappiness. But maybe call your dad to talk to him, etc.
At least you have 2 adorable girls and one loving husband.

Yvonne,
No lah, i didn't mean to tell your dad about the unhappiness. I mean contact your dad thru phone, less meetup, less problem.

yvonne, in this case, u can have seperate meal time with just your dad lah. this is what we are doing with FIL (cos both my PIL are divorced) so for occasions, we celebrate seperately, like this fri, SIL is organising a lunch with FIL cos we didn;t meet for xmas lah.

Autum/QQ/SQ: i went for an Atas high tea with some mummies from the other thread.. and now i feel much better.. coz i tink i was just resisting the idea of a surgery on the boy.. hence felt vexed.. but i try to rationally analyse the risks.. it is super low.. so i am getting a second opinion.. coz teng might be having a cold which shows enlarged adenoids that time the scope was done (miser can still ask me how come i never tell doc he was sniffling?.. i was like.. like i wld have the prior knowledge of the entire olfactory system before seeing the ENT?'.. and teng is always sniffling!)
anyway. for miser.. he is bogged down by work..when he is that state.. he doesn't really follow up though he will listen if i keep irritating him...
teng's mini birthday celebration at CC today.. everything itake care of.. i was pissed to hear that he wld be home late yesterday.. wun even go with me to ge thte cake.. i just told him 'pls be automatic.. i already take care of the school celebration..everything liao.. u think what to do for actual on sat..' he can 'hah?...'.. i told him 'think nia.. v difficult?'..
sometimes i wanna make him feel gulity leh.. but the prob is.. he doesn't.. gosh..
and i dunno if coz i good hence he is bochap.. maybe he more chap in other things.. like insurance.. that kind..

Pink: coz teng snores in his sleep.. speaks with a blocked nose sound.. and have those dark circle under his eyes.. all these annoyed me.. and make me frustrated.. thought it was allergy. but i can't even trace the allergen... then constantly blocked nose then cough.. and i not comfy with nightly antihistamine and long term nasonex spray...and sometime when he gets excited .. and speaks loudly. his voice can cracked/squeak ...these days lah.. so i think better bring him there..

crocked nose? what's that?
btw, i happened to read an article on nose bleeding in kids at the the clinic there.. they say it is pretty normal.. but if it gets too common.. then might want to give a check.. coz something might affect the tissues.. something like that. the article was quite brief..

teng resisted. coz the ENT told me to hold his head and dun let him more.. so i think he got scared.. coz noone normally does that to him.. then they applied pressure and wrapped his arms in a big piece of clothes.. teng being teng.. timid.. see that cry.. and then when the scope is inserted.. he started screaming.. :S

AA: pt by pt..
anenoids: wun. coz in a normal case.. it shrinks by 12 years old.. so if remove now.. it wun grow anymore.. now is the current age when they swell rapidly.. till 5..

tonsils: no.. wun grow back..

turbinate: they trimming it a bit.. so not a removal.. this one i think. i did not as.k.. when they grow older. the nose is bigger.. ok if the the turbinate grow back. wun casue so much congestion than the current size of the kids' nose..

btw.. ur interview is happening :p

as for the age.. no right age.. they have kids as young as 2..

CK: For rhinosinustis, adenotonsillitis .. is CO in an environment when she is prone to bacterial and smoke? i read that it is most an infection.. bacterial infection to cause the two above..

so for the water in the ear drum.. they going to put a tube into the ear to drain out the water?

Teng snores.. but his ears are cleared.. so i think he can hear ok. just a bit of impacted ear wax. which they will remove during the op..

if CO feels pain. i think it is sensible for u to decide to go.. coz teng dun feel pain. but i still want to 'solve' the issue. coz he alreayd had one ear infectin liao.. the other time.. i dun want to problem to keep persisting..

and i dun think u dun love CO lah.. it is more of she didn't put up a resistence and hence the experience is more pleasant for u..

what u mean the diagnosis is more than u expect?
i dunno if i wld let them outgrow it.. i dun think they would outgrow by 4.. given that the adenoids swell rapidly from 3 - 5 years old.. so it just compound the issue.. and not when the snoring will cause the kid to be sleep deprived. it is not good.. i feel... better to be more decisive.. than to wait.. for an outcome which i have no confidence of in the future.. i quite kiasi in that case....

I wanted to get the op done before CNY. miser wants aft CNY.. always clash in opinion.. argh. :S coz need a week or so for the throat to recover... so for CO.. what is her surgical procedure? remove tonsils.. and ?

Thanks Mummies for your concerns.

We will confirm a date for my mum's operations next week.

On CO's condition, is my PD who pointed out about the enlarged tonsils, and CO oftens gets throat infection. In addition, she snored in her sleep.

When i went to ENT, other than the enlarged tonsils, the specialist pointed out the enlarged nosils and the water in the ear drums. So it becomes a MUST for CO to go for ops. That is why i said is more than i expected.

Because enlarged tonsils is not a MUST to go for ops. Some PDs will say the kids may outgrow it when they are 4 & above.

her ops will be remove water, remove tonsils and the nose part. Sorry Astro, me quite laxed, i leave everything to dr. hide in shame : )

CK: yeap.. enlarged tonsils is quite ok. it is when it becaomes a hindrance.. in the case of teng and cO.. then it ought ot be removed..

pls dun say that.. i think it is more of i go and read too much.. and over-preempt myself.. i need to.. else i worry this and that. .. ha.. in a way.. u can say i dun trust the PDs as much.. :p

how long is the recovery period for CO?
so there's no tube inserted into CO's ear?