(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

giolyn,
if she is determine, can try this.
give FM, half feed (or 1/3 feed) to make sure bb is not super hungry and frustrated. after that, latch. slowly reduce the FM volume feed by feed, little by little.. then gradually change over. meanwhile, can ask her to pump first also if she wants.

QQ: Yah, hubby said we have to let her go. When she told me (I just came back from Taka), I also asked what if her uncle after 1mth chut pattern on her again, then what happens?
Re the MOM, tell your friend not to worry. It's just a SOP thing if the employer changes more than 4 maids within a 12-month window. First, the employer will be asked to sit in for a compulsory course. After that if the employer changes maid again (within the 12-month window), then he/she will be invited to MOM for an interview. SOP lah, nothing to worry abt.
My only worry is if the MOM bans the employer from employing any further maids. But looks like this is not the case. Frankly, I don't think the MOM has a solution to this problem.

Pink
I want red scale.

Hey is ur mil at parkway giant this afternoon? Saw an oldfork bought lots of cat food ( real lot think more then 50cans) first thing in my mind was wonder it she ur mil.

ecmom.. so funny le.
pink's place has no cat now..

moogen, star,
ah will never clear my breasts de then he stops sucking le. out of 3 latches, maybe 1 latch is successful, the other 2 are half bucket of water. so shall i pump out the extra? if i dun pump, i scare next time not enough and i feel heavy. if i pump out i also no space to keep and a bit wasted like that.
probably ah will is still sleepy now, maybe next month will be better. he cannot latch for long. 5-10 min then stop liao. sigh!
v tired le like that.

Pink: actually not frequent, we only go to NTUC like once every 2 -3 week. i will need to go tonight.. think will spend about $80 again.

bunnie: trying for #3 already??

QQ: pump out extra if he cannot clear. so breast will know to produce more, if not ss will drop. throw away if no space too store, dun feel sayang, cos u are producing lah, this 1st month critical, so dun let SS drop if possible.

AAA,
not bomb attach at phlipine airport. All phi maids have difficulty in coming to Singapore coz phil imigration controling, they wants all maid to go thru them. Hear from my friends, the new maids have to go thru some course b4 come to singapore. So next time their salary no longer $360 is $600+.

My friend want to direct hire back her ex-maid but kana stop by Phil imigration. I'm also waiting for my new maid, don know when she will be her.

QQ, yah. pump out to get the breasts to recognise need to produce more. when the demands increases ard 3/6 weeks, then you won't be so stressed too.

star, moogen,
so shall i pump every 3 hour now?
my 1 side is yielding quite a lot. more than 100ml., but the other side super little and pump also cannot clear type. so i hand express also. so throw is ok..... i feel syaang but no choice.

star, means this 1th month i try my best to pump pump. then after it is established then i can suka suka pump or dun pump as and when i like right? i oni see one side supply going up, and the other side like dying down.l jialat.
haha!! but both of them looks similar size, milk quantity sucks! i let ah will suck more on the low side, hope to increase, but poor ah will... din drink enough after a while and making noise liao.

QQ: Yes, I would say to pump out too. Having too much is def a better prob than not having enough.

Ecmom: I dunno due to what reason. The agency wasn't very forthcoming with the details.
I didn't hear abt the fees increment yet though. Currently, we are paying abt $600 for each maid too. Part of this goes to the govt as levy, although we can claim tax relief on this levy.

Astro
hey... The bus pass by my blk... I can see from my window... The gals so happy... Lol... Nv seen such thing on the road before ma...

Bunnie
i m trying to slim down also... Now my weight is 60.8kg.... I need to do lots of sit up n hoola hoop... Both mi n nick is gaining weight... Our legs cannot tahan our body weight... Always pain...

Qq
if u going for a stroll at the neighbourhood here... Call mi... Heez.

QQ,

When you latch one side, pump the other side, especially the one that is not yielding. When you latching, the yield will improve. Keep doing that and I think will balance out.

QQ, what I did the last time was latch and then after finish, pump. it's quite normal for one side to yield more than the other. I don't know if it'll work well but you can get him to latch on to your lesser one first (to stimulate) and then give him the other breast. any extra then you pump out.

or like what mejo said, can do them simultaneously.

QQ,
heehee, cos u ask how they come to woodlands so i go see the route.
Get Jay to tell his bro, weekend mil go their place is a must.

I dun latch, fully pump bm both breast. But both sides yeild differently too. I think it's normal bah.

huingee, moogen,
both sides different amt it is normal. but it is TOO different then worried. it is v v v v much different. haha!

i am already latching my low side today, then heavy side bbnever get to drink cause zzz le. then i pump both sides. so far din see any improvement yet. lets wait for few days.
mejo, it is hard to pump one side and latch one side. maybe i try tomorrow. never tot of that cause when i feed, i very focus and concentrate one. haha!!! cannot multitask, cause this ahwill, he will bend his body arch here arch there and try to catch my nipple. once got it then ok for a while. after a while, pull my nipple away and sometimes delatch and milk kena his face and my body.
i try tomorrow...
thanks for all advise. so pumping is a must. i am lazy i dun pump 3 hrly, i pump 5 hourly cause lazy...

huingee, it is not possible de. but we wil try telling bil that idea. he said he will end up divorce after too much quarreling, he can forsee that. hear liao quite scare.
he mentioned once in a while ok, but i ask him long term, short stay like weekends, LONG TERM, he said not sure. have to check.
so we are giving him more time.

huingee, i heard noises justnow, but then i din see anything. that time was busy, with ah wil, and tian on the way home, jay busy with computer, auntie busy with dinner set up.
so missed liao. haha!!

Ecmom: Hmm... You don't get what I was trying to say.
What I meant was: Even if the fee increment and the extent of increment is true, I don't think the Sing govt will allow the maids' fees to be increased from $360 to $600 at one go. This will cause many households to be unable to afford maids, and face a short-term crisis due to a shortage of childcare/elderly care alternatives. So, if the Phillipines govt raises the minimin wage (I say the phillipines govt as I don't think the Sing govt will raise this), I believe the Sing govt will moderate the increment by lowering the levy amount (such that the nett amount paid by the employers will not be raised too much). Over time, the govt may then raise the levy again.
But I think this (rise in min wage rate) is unlikely to happen with the GE round the corner. Too many households have the help of domestic maids, and this unpopular move is too risky for the govt.

yvonne, ok. when i am more free bah.
we all go walk walk if the weather is good, ok?
oh i am about 10kg heavier than u. jialat. i doubt that i can ever go back to 53kg. maybe 63kg also not v possible.

ecmom, if maid salary is 600, plus levy,then will be 800 liao. hm... quite ex.with higher
pay, the quality must be good, otherwise how?
i wonder how they control maid issue at hkg. bad maids will be sent home, at their own lost if they are not good. here is like a little bit opposite.

AAA, actually if the maid's quality is good, got a highly recommended (so call they give them 1-5 stars) then it would be worth it for some families who finds it affordable. however, there should be a limit la. i think it will be a gradual effect too, not so abrupt. by then maybe i dun have a maid at home le.

Star,
I ever been to the hainan market u mentioned. but long time didn't go there. the chicken there is cheap.

QQ,
u prepare everything for your maid arrival le? excited?

QQ: I didn't want to be the first one to say this. I agree with you. An increment in maids fees may raise the quality of maids because it creates a lower demand for the maids (due to the higher cost).
I think right now, at least in S'pore, there seems to be a demand outstriping supply issue in maids. This causes a deterioration in quality, and the maids to be choosy over the jobs they get.

autum, i am excited. planning starts tomorrow. today i do a bit of work, plus ordered cakes angku.

huingee, yes. he wins.

AAA,
I was told there is a shortage of maids because Indonesia has freezed up the supply. For some reasons, the Indo gov is not letting maids out. So what happens is a crunch.. as Malaysia market is now competing for Phily maids.. that's why number of Phily maids coming to SG is dwindling. My maid agency told me this.

QQ,
As i read your story on your MIL, I suddenly feel a bit sad for her. I can't imagine the day will come when my children will discuss if they can take me in for weekdays or weekends. Sorry to say this.. i am not putting blame on you/Jay.. I just feel a bit emo.

Autum: Not sure abt that. I read the Indo govt has stopped maids going into Malaysia due to the high rate of abuse there.
On the demand end, I feel the number of households with maids these days compared to say 10 years ago has exploded dramatically. The scale is now tilted towards the exporting countries (of maids) becos having a maid has become a "necessity" that removing this will cause much grief. And the price of necessities is generally quite inelastic.

AAA, but it is hard to balance the maid issue cause really some of them kena abused by employer mah. sigh! how to balancel i think no solutions de

Autum, i also feel sad for my mil.

but this kind of discussions seems to be normal, cause we need to understand each kids bottom line then can work out a better plan, perhaps. the best plan is to give mil the open choice, everywhere is open, then we all dun need to shang nao jing. now it is not fully open, me and jay hope to pushthem a bit, before mil comes.

QQ: Yah lor. No solution de. Unless we stopped needing maids. But then these maids will become very poor thing, cos there goes their livelihood. So back to square one. No solution.. :p

CK,
actually hor, I anyhow order de. hahaha. skali i can't fit into any of the tees or shorts. cham! Nevermind, if i can't fit, i will either lelong or give to my nieces/cousins. I just hope the swim suit i can fit. That's the one item that i really want. the rest i just anyhow order de :p

QQ: Yah.. This should become more acceptable next time. Got professional people to take care of the daily needs + medical care, with many friends around doing a variety of activities + the freedom to come and go, this is ideal le..

AAA,
I think retirement village concept sounds good if you have a partner. But if I am a widow, I think I would want to live with my children. You know what I mean. But then everything now is just our discussion at this point now.. we won't really know how we feel in another 30yrs time. Maybe by time retirement village will really be hip.. who knows!

AAA, so must save more $$$ for our retirement liao. sigh!
and maids, actually many angmo countries dun have foreign maids de. they have to do their own housework,etc. unless they engage local ppl todo it.
here seems like many families also have a maid, or maids.

but in retirement village hor. there is a negative impact. cause anyone can leave anytime like that. maybe it is like waiting to go?
or better still, play and have fun? with all our hearts, before we go? alamak.
so living with children sounds good too.

QQ,
actually in asia, we are really spoilt cause we can hire maids cheaply. In Europe, US and Australia.. no such thing.. oh well.

Autum: No leh.. Actually if my hubby is still around, then we could choose to be living on our own. But if the partner is not around anymore, I don't want to inconvenient my children + there will be company at the village, and there is freedom to still stay with the children on a short term basis. This way, we won't overstay our welcome.
But yah lah.. All is talk only. Who knows what'll happen when we grow old?

Autum, QQ: yah, I think the low cost of maids is the reason so many households have maids. In Europe and the US, domestic helpers and nannies are rather expensive.

Autum, ialso think we are spoilt la.
my fren told me CEO in angmo country also do housework de. haha!! but then they off work early and have lots of family time mah.
here, the life is differnt.

just finish reading this baby bonus thing, and cda account thing.
so is it better to bank in one shot 6K or have the cda extra account with monthly contribution of $100-200?
i dunno how it works.

QQ,
We was a shock to hear that, if been confirm by my friend’s agency… but not sure when it will happen lah. Coz they ever have such operation b4 but only last for abt 2weeks. This time bit long, hope it won’t happen.

Yalor HK is real diff, the salary is high abt $800 (that why good maid all go there), employer no need to pay levy or tax. The maid have to pay their full loan b4 depart, so no lost on employer side…and they have to stay good… I ever ask mine why she don’t go HK instead since her SIL work there and the wage is more then dbl. she told me coz HK employer is very demanding, if the employer dissatisfied, can send them home directly. Unlike Singapore we have to send them back to agent (coz of the loan) and they got to transfer again… conclusion: that means they can no need to put in heart to work… juz try to hop here hop there… hoping to get “good” employer and have good life… so some maid will use Singapore as stepping stone, come here to earn “experience”. Then look forward to go HK.

Agreed, hope if maids salary increase their quality should improve. Actually It take us very long time to decide to change, in fact hb agreed to change coz she start letting Elisha and Cayden injured… that is our limit… really scare by all the maid problem. I have gave in too much to the current maid till I almost call her “mdm”… I don’t mind if increase a bit for the quality but not to $600 lah, + levy it too steep… :p

You selected a maid right? So when is she coming?

ecmom, yalor. not all can go hkg and work de. need money and stress plus if they dun have exp, they cannot go hkg cause nobody wants them too

SB kakis,
wanna ask, where can i buy magnetic sheets? that i can cut into smaller pieces for my own use? i wanna make labels, with magnets at the back.
arigato!