(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

nite Astro.

i'm fatter now. :p NOT! heee..

was asleep, suddenly woke up and tell my fil i wan to change the dining area colour! Lol! Heng he haven paint.

Astro,
ok la! Slim la, now u can go slp 'floating in the air'. Kekeke! Good to hear yh is recovering fast. How is rayner? Also recovering?

Hj,
ya, i think will order new grills, cos after the tiles is up, the old one cannot fit in liao. wah, u rent so long, wont cost alot? Y u wan to sell again when u haven move in? *blur

pax,
long time no see.

Enne, where u going? Business trip?

Autum,
omg! Drive carefully.
hmm, evee got drink alot of water? Y i m asking this becos, bel drink too much water, and i suspect the fits last time was becos of this. Cos too much water can wash off the minerals in the body. So the blood is diluted. Hmm, u can ask dr ? She is taking the multi vit already? Wierd. Y suddenly like tt.

good am, i din sleep well last night, dunno why. the mind was too active. kept having dreams.

pax, good that ur mum helping!

Astro, u din put on too much in fact, then now lost a lot? wah v slim liao.. like that.

Autum, no worry, give her more iron rich food, then see how. last time my report not nice dr also said eat more iron rich food. but then, my blood count was ok la. oni other indicators. once something lower than standard value they will say suspect iron deficiency la, pin2 xue3 la, etc etc etc.. sometimes when we have rashes, the blood count will be affected de.
i was having swollen ft tht time,so blood also related. also, i was still on the way on building up my blood that time.

i go class liao. lnt. bye

Autum,

hmmm, ev low blood count... so weird leh... she taking supplement also? Give her more fish and see how?

Astro,

read briefly on yh frustration in drinking milk. i suspect your milk flow quite fast now..(wow!) hehehe... that's y yh cannot keep up w the flow... actually mine also lah... what i did was i pump abit out first, then feed the baby. u can try.

Pink,
sigh, your mil one kind leh.. but anyway, ignore her lah.... My fridge becomes my BM freeze liao... stocking up bm... maybe i shd lelong my milk and see which mummy wants... before i run out of space.... ;p

AAA,

aiyo, your maid problem.. me cannot help much, very New in this area also. i try my best to jaga mine lah.

Actually my maid quite smart one, i just hope she's not overly smart and give me headache.. aiyah, see how it goes lah.

Phew! another 1 more day before my hubby comes back from his biz trip. I jus tahan abit.

just wanna share my thots... these few days while my hubby is away, suddenly i see Xavier has grow up liao.

He seems to know tt papa go working and he's like a small adult, helping out this and that. though i hvn't train him to sleep in another room himself, he's ok w me going out to feed the baby and come back again to accompany him. He also dun need me to pat him to sleep which he often needs it when my hubby is ard.... wow! proud of him

nobody in today?

AAA delivered liao. Ariel is 3.9kg. 52cm..
wow, big big...
both mama and baby are fine.

mist, good to hear that gorgor is getting more independent now. it is so fast, u can sell your bm now!!! haha!! do u know if anyone provide service to convert bm into capsules? or powders? if got then u can store your bm in powder form.
i dunno if got such thing.

ecmom, the grill thing. i don't know if got temporary grills but u can ask around. maybe those easy fixing type? but house will b ugly la.
u can remove when you return the house to e owner.

my ah tian tin regressed a lot now. sleep also wan ppl accompany, refuse to nap in the pm, drag till 6pm then nap. very petty and xiao3 qi4, not so sociable most of the time. sian.

We just came back from the zoo. The weather is hot till beyond description!!!! No wonder there weren't much people in the zoo for a Saturday. There were even lots of empty seats in KFC compared to usual weekend lunch crowd.

My legs are aching and body so warm now. Hope the kids won't fall sick from the weather but they are happy lah. Now they seem like can remember the route, kept telling us what animals they want to see next and which way to go. They were so excited and kept running around despite the heat.

very long no pop in and chit chat le...everytime want to join in the chat but don't have time to keep up...so end up silent reader if i got time to look see look see...

AAA,
Gong xi on your #3!!!

HJ,
saw ya FB post...glad that ya horrible maid is being sent back! hope ya kids are ok...

astro,
hope ya boy gets well soon!!

will pop in again and see if i can catch up with the post again...coz nowadays, i sleep and naps with J, very jialat ah!

very sianz and pek chek...rashes is back again...actually on and off but this time jialat...hope it will go away before CNY...if not, go pai nian very sianz

wow baby ariel is big!
my sec school fren's wife just gave birth to a 4.4kg boy! must be tall like the dad who's more than 1.9m tall.

Mash
how have u been? are u still a SAHM>?

pix of enya! havent receive the source files, took camera to take these pix from the pc screen.
3579348.jpg
3579349.jpg

Mash,
hello ...

Pinkpink,
aiyoh, this is so cute!! Seems like this photographer is really good with newborn pixs.

mash
i find that they look alike but mr tan said she doesnt have phoenix eyes like him and leia.

rr
ya she specialises in newborn pix

AAA
congrats on bb ariel!! she is big!! wah! gonna be a tall girl!

pink
enya looks so comfortable in the basket! i think i know ur sec sch friend! cjc huh?! his boy shares the same birthday as him! so nice!

i went for my sec sch reunion today. n like mejo... i found out 3 of my classmates have been married n divorced! rather shocking... seeing that we r not that old... so those marriages usually last only a short while. sad to here leh.

back from shopping! I meet wierd ppl today. Anyway, i bought quite alot of clothes, also go buy toilet bowls and lights. Spend a bomb! Nick keep teasing and say his pocket today is very shallow. Wahaha

aaa,
wah! Bb ariel is big! Take care!

Mash,
come in more often la, don silent read. Hehehe.

I m dead tired. Weather super hot! And my feet is so painful from the walking. I go slp.

Astro,
the rashes looks like raised bumps in red. hmm, actually EVee appears to be perfectly fine. even her fever is gone le. as for the blood thing, well.. after hearing what PD says, we suspects that EV could be thalassemia minor.. cos apparently my hb has this low blood count thing.. and low blood count could be one of the symptoms of thalassemia minor. and thalassemia minor is hereditary.. so it's possible that EV got it from him.

But all this is conjecture. cos at this point we don't know for sure. PD said it could be simply not enough iron, so that's why he suggest giving her iron-rich foods.. then we see how.

mist, belle,
thanks for concern. we are ok.. EV appears fine. just got to find out more about her blood condition.

Pink,
Enya looks so cute!! very nice photo..

AAA,
congrats! hope to see Ariel in this forum soon.

yvonne,
hmm, i dun think evee drinks too much water leh. just normal bah. i give her those gummies vitamins lor. but i think i need to buy more, those iron-enriched type.

anyone doing vitamins spree??

Mash, wah, long time no see liao.

Autum, oh yes. i wonder if they check blood when they were just born. not sure.
u get the report from dr (for this test and future test) to compare. if EV is taking FM, iron level should be ok. feed her more red meat now.
the bumps sounds like hives? hong mo?

yvonne, haha!! told u, buying a house cost a bomb. u will keep buying things initially cause you need them for your house.

Enya is cute! chubby, and she is so comfy in the basket. haha!!

autum
ic. Must take care lor.

qq,
this shop auntie ah, veri wad one. She say ' ban jia veri happy hor? Buy all these also veri good hor.' of cos good la! We give them so good business. Our pocket burn a big hole also veri shiok! Lol! Anyway we just smile and pay den go off. Don wan to talk nonsense with them. All veri 'fake' to treat customer. I don like. Maybe i pms la! Haiz. Suppose to be happy to buy all this. But today not happy at all. Wadever the person talk, will sting mi. Lol!

yvonne, it is like that de.
just stay happie! as long as u like the stuff u bought.

Autum, too much iron later cause constipation also. vitamin spree? see if any experience mummies can help here.
to make iroon absorption better, i think need vitamin C. not sure if i can still remember.

QQ,
yes, the rashes looks like hives now. but when they first appear, it doesn't look like hives. looks like measles. then PD says it looks like rubella.. but i never see rubella before, so i can't recognise it leh.

as for the blood thing.. i just went to google somemore.. think i better stop. the more i read, the scarier it becomes. I got the fax report from my PD le.. and she got many things out of range! not just the hemoglobin.. all those funny letters de (which we don't know what it means).. PCV, MCV, MCH etc.. all out of range. scared leh!

Woops, I was doing a search of my name and realised that my full name and YT's full name plus contact info is up on the internet blatantly. Hmm, it is in Singapore motherhood archives. I wonder if can ask them to delete the post?

Autum, told u la. when u go google, u will find things that you have in your mind. so, u have to stop doing it now. it is v scary.
i scared myself last time. but then after seeing my fren's reports, i got a relief. they all laughed at me la. i oni 1-2 indicators out, so... ok for them. i just need time to build my iron level and blood counts.
as for EV. u see ah, taking blood when she is unwell is also buey zhun one.
when she is well few months later. so, if she is Thal minor, it is possible to have out of points indicators. common woh...

QQ, Autum,

I think calcium will reduce iron absorption and vitamin D helps with both iron and calcium absorption. It is true that taking blood test during a period of sickness is not accurate. Anyway, I think I should be doing a last vitacost soon. They sent me the check to refund me finally. But US -> Sg so low now, sianz, I will have to wait a while to cash in the cheque. Probably the last time I'll be ordering for vitacost!

QQ,
actually logically speaking, if she is really Thal minor, then it's "normal" that all those indicators are out of range.

yes, all the MCV, MCH all related.. cos in the report, they are all grouped together under the header of Full Blood Count. The good thing is, her white blood count is within range, but hor, also a bit worrying.. cos her reading is 6.1, and the normal range for WBC is 6.0-17.0 so she just barely made it for WBC only. haiz..

Mejo,
actually i find something very puzzling. when we are preggie, we are told that calcium will interfere with iron absorption and we cannot take the iron pills and the calcium pills at the same time.. Then... why is it that all the FM, all say they have got a lot of iron, for our babies?? won't the calcium from the milk, interfere with the iron?

sulky.. warm.. bad mood going to snap at anyone who irriates me.. dunno why. think becoz i am under the weather again.. annoyed how come this stupid bug just wun leave my house! ellie also started mild coughing too.. i thought i heard yh hack a few times?! :S
teng's nose still blocked till canont make it.. my heart aches to see his nose so congested that he was SNORING so loudly (sometimes he chokes) in his sleep :S.. but the boy still in good spirit.. he didn't resist the nueb (borrowed from joelle, just use saline, hoping to clera a bit).. and treated it like a microphone..! held on to it himself.. and sang songs while being neub-ed! haiz. such a silly endearing boy..

yvonne: think tomorrow cannot liao.. teng might have to miss his lesson..
sry lei.. next term.. sure have again.. i will let u know

AA: CONGRATS! wow..3.9kg! what did u eat ah?! Ariel is the biggest out of ur As! :p *gasp*.. yh at full month just hit 4kg nia .. ariel must be real chubby :p

Pink: kekeke.. enya so cute.. that red ribbon urs or kelly's?

Autum: thalassemia minor.. hmmm.. ur hb confirmed a carrier? erm.. touchwood but EJ's blood count normal?
pd got give u a list of iron enriched food?

QQ: ya.. vitmin C helps with absorption of non-heme iron (meaning iron which comes from beans and veg).. iron which comes from meat (heme iron) is more easily absorbed by the body.
dun take calcium together with iron (min 2 hours gaps before and after) coz intervene absorption..

reading up on iron absorption.. then got a link to too much calcium.. our bbs all def too much calcium.. hahaha.. not just from milk but for other diet.. but careful coz not onli hinder iron absorption.. can also lead to picky eating wor! ohya..

autum: which reminds me.. ev drinking a lot of milk? cld that excess calcium hinder iron absorption for her too?

Sq/AA: sry. i think i forgot toanswer ur milk intake question for a newborn

there is a formula for calculating the amt for bottle fed bbs (for both ebm and fm).. wait.. let me serach ah...

Autum, i also have the same thinking as u after seeing mejo's post.
yes i think contradicting. then hor, they still put in lots of iron, most of them makes us constipated instead? huh?

WBC, when we are sick, WBC count is also low de la. wait for few months then see.

Autum,

Of course it will! If I'm not wrong, the iron amounts for the formula milk is probably quite high. Interfere doesn't mean interfere 100%, still will have absorption, just less.

autum/mejo/qq: those food labels.. the ingredients are just listed as per added.. but the net effect.. as in the cancellation of all these. ain't taken into consideration.. logical..?

mejo: vit d doesn't help iron absorption.. vit c is the one . vit d helps calcium absorption

got to agree.. sometimes the more we read.. the more freaked out we get.. i am always guilty of this! :S.. the kawasaki disease is a good evidence for this liao :S

astro,
fish oil, calcium & iron, got any contradicting effects?
i know about calcium and iron now. how about fish oil ah? u know?

i start taking fish oil today.

astro, not to forget your reflux for teng last time. so dun over read.

my hb told me de, you will google and find what you have in your mind. it is true! the more we search, the more we think we are correct.
haha!!

QQ: yalor.. my reflux for teng.. :p but then knowledge is power.. so i rather be a kancheong spider with reagards to health.. hahaha. COZ.. i got that wood block (or pillar of strength some oct mums tell me miser is..duh..) to counter my paranoia:S

QQ, Astro,
i just told hb, we can all be doctors liao! wahahah.. cos anything we google we can find.. and we become so "smart".. :p

haiz.. whatever the case, now i must try to give more iron to EV. whether it's really she got some problem with her blood, or because she is sick.. just have to change her diet a bit.. then see how.

We are not unduly worried now. Cos hb said, if he is really Thalessemia carrier.. he has lived to almost 40yrs le.. and still ok! wahahaha..

Mejo,
hmm, then there are some natural foods that contain both iron and calcium - like brocoli. that would also be quite contradicting in nature! haha..

Astro, haha!!
good mah. if not u kancheong, he also gancheong, then the whole situation will be shaky.

too much calcium lead to picky eater? huh...
we must b careful then. but the calcium in milk also not fully absorbed de.

Autum,
pls la. i think thal minor similar to others de. no issue woh. that 's what i feel, but no evidence and proof de. i have many frens belong to that group. a few of my coligs too. they still go donate blood leh, ok de woh.

tian asked me last night,
tian: is EJ at home now?
me: yes i think so.
tian: can I go to EJ's house?
me: for what? EJ and EV are sick now. they are resting and sleeping early.
tian: Oh, i want to go swimming. or maybe we go uncle klaus there?
me: what time is it? go and sleep now.
tian: I want to swim ma.

YY,

Hmm, I did read some resources that said vit D helps in iron absorption and that usually vit D and iron deficiencies comes hand in hand. But then again, this is the internet and I'm kinda lazy to read the journals (and even those can be bewildering).

Autum,

There are minor health problems for carriers. A surprisingly big number of my family members are carriers and they all found out very late cuz there had been no ill effects. As a matter of fact, the ladies only found out due to pregnancy and gynae found something wrong with their blood report and one male relative only found out after donating blood.

QQ,

I love hearing the tods conversations and declarations nowsaday. Really cute. Like just now, I taught YT how to type her login to Pocoyo World and I had to point out to her all the letters cuz she is not familiar with the Upper case but the final number '2', she managed to find it herself then she said in mandarin,

"I grew taller a little. Just a little. Mama taught me, now I know so I grew taller a little."

Wahaha. So cute.

sq/aa: there u go

http://www.kellymom.com/bf/pumping/milkcalc.html
a calculator there

typically.. start infant in their first week of life with 1 oz.. then slowly increase. in the link got picture to show maximum capacity for infants at different age..

normally direct latch in early days.. so god is gd. dun let another factor stress us.. coz we dun know the milk intake

BUT. with yh.. haiz. ganna stressed. first 3 days. got admitted liao.. was told for his body weight.. 60ml.. i cld onli pump out 40ml MAX at that time. from both breasts.. wah liew.. stressed!