(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

pax
thanks! u can start emailing ur je551 order to me. i have some pending orders...waiting for the new batch :p but mostly winter wear now.

mist
once every weekend is fine. imagine we are alone working in an unknown place. as long as she pays herself. my maid sms her family everyday.

just now rina said my mil pass her her old phone since she is no longer using. we scroll the pix in the phone. all cats photos but no leia's photo :p

AAA
i hv not tried apple w fish bones. :p

AAA, pink, mist, astro
for confinement, u can also cook apple w red dates, longan, dangshen n water to make dessert. recommended by my sil's hb's aunt-in-law who is a TCM practitioner.
as a soup for a meal, jus add chicken. u can also core the apple and steam till soft and eat.
that aunt-in-law recommended the apple receipes bcos my sil has vv vv bad constipation after birth. also cannot eat too heaty if constipated.
use those big fuji apple.

the apple receipes are suitable for the whole family. for kids, dun add too much herbs. u can also jus cook soup using chicken, apple, gouqizhi and red-dates. i hv also cooked winter melon apple chicken soup. a slightly different taste.

Pax,
I just cooked pumpkin, apple and chicken soup for the kids this evening. A little rushed today so just dumped anything I could find in the fridge. :p

irin
if add pumpkin, the soup orangey right? i like winter melon apple chix soup.

actually i hvn't been cooking soup for a while now, bcos the kids hv been requesting for porridge or chicken stew n rice on weekends. Sunday, i cooked baked rice topped w egg bits n shredded cheese, yummy.

pink
i'v been trying to revamp my work attire, wearing more skirts, rather than pants and tee / polos all the time. not ez. my work atire is so much of a tee / jeans bcos of my job.. :p

Pax,
nope, I'll put the pumpkin in last so that it won't become too soft and mashy. It'll still be in bit-size pieces in clear soup.

I get lazy recently too especially on some days when only cooking for the 2 of them. I'll just cook a meat and a vege dish for them without soup. :p But can see they'll eat slower when without soups. Maybe harder to swallow the rice.

irin
yup, i think so.. M also like soup w his rice. he saw the baked rice and asked me where's the soup. :p
at least u bother to cook separate dishes. i jus dump everything into a 1-dish meal. :p

Pax,
hahaha, baked rice with creamy soups lor. :p

I still havn't been able to master the skill of cooking 1-dish meals yet. haiz ... Anyway think they are too used to separate dishes le. Like this evening, there was pumpkin, fishball & chicken (all from the soup), they asked me "mama, 没有菜,没有鸡蛋?"

irin
ahaha.. so cute! u can cook rice cooker fried rice. just fried the ingredients, add uncooked rice n dump into rice cooker w enuf stock to cook the rice. top w egg bits

creamy soup? alamak, i only know creamy soup fr campbell.

Pax,
oh ya hor ... my idea of fried rice is only frying leftover rice so seldom fry rice for them. hehe. Maybe should try that one of these days.

Creamy soups ah? I used to cook pumpkin chicken soup (but I used small chicken pieces instead of thigh/drumstick), add in mushroom & full cream milk and it becomes creamy soup le. :p

irin
wat abt yakisoba or yakiudon (yaki= fried)? jus fry carrot, cabbage, mushroom, chicken pieces tog, add some soy sauce, then add cooked udon or soba n fry together. wa lah, fried noodles (jap style) for dinner.

pax
yakisoba?must add some jap sweet sauce? wonder where to find.
i dun know how to bake rice..

did u book hardrock for ur penang trip?

Pax,
ya, I'll fry udon/noodles or beehoon for them sometimes too. But I always have the mentality that noodles are not as filling as rice. Especially since they are not drinking milk before sleep liao so dinner must 吃饱饱. haha!! Think the problem lies with me. :p

pink
my cheapo way of making sweet jap sauce is to add mirin with our normal light soy sauce. i use it for my marinates, chawanmushi and cold soba sauce (this one gotta add seaweed stock). =p

pink
i dun add jap sweet sauce. can jus add oyster sauce. i usually jus add dark & light soy sauce. jap sweet sauce u can find fr jasons or the bigger ntuc.
yes, i got hardrock hotel penang

baked rice? vv ez. u add watever ingredients u wan, like fried rice. mixed vege, ham, chicken. fry them together, add uncooked rice, add stock enuf to cook the rice. put everything into an oven proof dish (or u can fry everything in a corningware or visions). bake in oven for 20min. just before serving, spread shredded cheese over. http://pax-recipe.blogspot.com/2008/01/sandys-baked-rice.html

irin
ahaha.. ya, i think the problem is u lah.. udon is actually quite filling. but hor, bee hoon def not filling..

pink
i lazy to use oven. i jus cook everything in my tupperchef fryer. :p it's quite good bcos at vv low flame, heated condition, it's like baking.

Linda: good to see u here.
we missed u leh. Do come in more often.

RR: wha so nice to feed RR leh.. still ask how come no. 菜 and 鸡蛋. cute lah. i dun Rae will request for me to cook more dishes for her.. cos for her, everything she also dun want one. I peeled grapes for her last nite.. spend so much time peeling them, she refused to take even 1, so end up i ate it all lor.!
another one pot dish, stir fry cabbage and carrots, add into uncook rice and u get cabbage rice.

pink: install an oven un ur new place.. very useful.. can bake chix wings (yumz), roast veggie etc

Huignee: no, not that well, i still feel kind weak.

Pink,

yah loh, i also kind of understand, that's y i agree to my maid's request.

But i told her that it will be a gentleman agreement.. she can call only during weekend, after she finish her work at night. and she better dun cry to me tt she wanna go hm after that.

Pax,

i tried your baked rice recipe before... hahaha.. nice!!!

the apple soup, i wanna try tomorrow... let u all hv review. I've got a slight different recipe... hahaha

Working from hm these few days... jaga maid and boy, MIL fly to KL liao....

Mist,
At least you can work from home rather than take leave to stay at home.
Good also now mil not around easier to set rules for the maid and kids.

mist,
u may find i am hard-hearted, but I won't agree to calling every week. I only let my maid call once a month. actually she herself told me once-a-month, so I just agreed.. but sometimes, her cousin will sms to my handphone to ask her to call home (for some urgent matters), I will let her call. But it's more on an ad-hoc basis.

star
the "good" thing is you will lose even more weight. hee. i psycho. pple sick till so cham i think of losing weight

pax
think i got a problem. i tried the baked rice recipe using uncooked rice, never succeed! but since you and the mummies are ok with it, obviously i'm the mad one. lousy skill

YE eats alot of outside food even on weekdays. we usu go for dinner after fetching hubby. maybe i should stop going out on weekdays and cook some food for her. haiz

autum/mist
times have really changed man. when our family had a maid years ago, she oni called back home once every few months. in fact, some of the maids i know also do that now. calling back every week sounds like such a good deal. but as long as you are comfy with it lah. i'm just kpo

kaexin
just buy two pairs of crocs hk. either different colors or sizes. then you qualify for the discounts

SQ,
what kind of outside food does YE eats? Normally we will buy ban-mian for EJ. Quite boring for him, but so far, he will eat cos he likes noodles. He will eat about 1/3 of a normal bowl of ban-mian.

SQ,
At least you got time to go out now. When baby comes you will not have the time to go fetch hb and go out for dinner.
Enjoy now and maybe cook 2 days home cooked food bah.
Your mil didn't cook and ask you over for dinner?
I miss the time when i had home cooked food everyday when i got back.

SQ,
ya, that's why I say I don't agree to calling back every week. I know it may sound mean, but this was actually pre-agreed between me and her, before she came over. In my phone interview with her, I told her no handphone, then she asked me if I will let her call back every month, and I agreed. So in that sense, I am glad, because this was already discussed and agreed before she came. And my maid is ok, she doesn't try to weasel me or bargain or anything like that. Only when there is urgent matters or special occassions like birthdays, christmas.. then I let her call more.

SQ,
wahahaha. dont want to buy 2 pairs mah. anyway, Keira is not into HK.

On cooking. Ws is crazy enough to drive all the way downtown to get atlantic salmon to cook for Keira to eat. me lazy, buy from downstairs can liao.

autum
agree. same sentiments

huingee
my mil not in good health recently. so i've been taking care of YE myself (rather, with my mum. hee hee). my mentality is also to enjoy these while it last. but i see irin and pax the working mums cooking i feel damn jialat. not working and not cooking

huingee,
yesterday my MIL fried chicken wings and OMG, THE CHILI that she mixed was super duper power! i ate until i was tearing :p

kaexin
ws has always been a 24 xiao4 father

i'm not surprised he does that

QQ
i sent you an email in case you miss my post. no need to order the bag for me if you haven't done so. i managed to find a spree for it! hee. if ordered liao nevermind. i will absorb

autum,
i love to eat ban mian for breakfast on weekends. but ws dont like giving it to keira, he said salty plus also the fact that the egg is mixed with the soup. wahahaha....so i finished the whole bowl myself.

keira still complaining her tummy pain. then i told her the hungry caterpillar book, coz she ate too much stuff, cake, rice & fish & veggie, banana, blueberries.

SQ,
i told him too onz also not good. stress me up nia. you know i cut some pork that he bought on sat to cook for lunch.
then he saw some white color fatty on the lean meat, he went to cut/remove the fatty parts. i gave him a piece of my mind !!

Huingee,

hmmm, yah, that's the only good supportive initiative my company has.. hahaha..

Autum,

okay, no lah, not hard-hearted lah... Actually the once a mth calling was my proposal, initially she okay... Now she request for weekly, for now i can tahan w this request. I will reject all other request after this liao. This is my gentleman agreement w her loh. I think y this arise was becos, last weekend when she called home, a few relatives passed away, eg her father inlaw, and her cousin's husband. Not sure is it she depress or what lah... sigh!!

SQ,
I tried to cook one lunch and one dinner on weekends.
But i cooking skill also limited, like cook similar food every weekend.
Esther loves fried rice. She requested fried rice for sat and sunday lunch.

Easy for me too. Just cook the rice when i wake up in the morning and fried it in the afternoon.

Kaexin,
I also find ban mian salty. But Dylan also loves cos he like soupy stuff.

huingee
as long s the kid eats, i am willing to cook
but YE will waste my effort and time cooking, then i will scold her. then my hubby said might as well forget it and eat out

kaexin
k's really his bao bei. the old folks will advise you to have another kid so ws won't be so kancheong anymore. hee

mist
if she ask for more, u can reject. i didnt set this agreement with rina so she has more 'freedom' lah but she happy, my gal happy so i dun care unless she overstep her limit.
we brought her to meet her SIL before, in dec bringing her to meet her tongxiang,hope she appreciates.

oh i may need to get a 2 week confinement lady. my ex nanny can only come to spore on 8th feb bcos her youngest teenage sis got pregnant w/o knowing, only realise she has a bb when she gave birth in taxi on 26oct! premature bb supposed to due around my time! so she had to help out.

SQ,

Thanks... I guess this was not discuss before, and i ask my maid y does she need to call hm every week. won't she feel more home sick...she say she just wanna keep in touch w her family... hmmm, okay, i am thinking of it as her last request lah. Subsequently I will not agree to her request liao, especially when baby comes along and very busy...

Now she told me, she's bored, cos not many things for her to do....hmmmm.... I told her, it's only the beginning, cos baby hvn't come mah... and she cannot cook our food yet. Next time, ask her to prepare breakfast for us. ;p