(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Nana, Kai,

March 8 babies dun cry when they go to school mah... ay, my ah boy still cry abit lah... after that okay liao...

mist : kekeke.. eh.. i say only la.. hahaha.. just kidding.. but T no cry when just go sch also.. only now when tell her in the morning.. go to school ok? she will pretend to go back to sleep .. haha

*raise hands* i can help with the english idioms! :p
but more child frenly one. coz at this age hor..according to Piaget.. they cannot fathom out abstract association. for them. they are still stuck at the tangible association.. let me give u an example..

suppose.. this one.. 'to take a leaf out of the book'.. we konw what this means.. and can 'abstractulise' it..ie. to do something/copy from someone coz it will help you.. but hor.. tell it to our kids.. they will really take a leaf out of a book!! :p

and look what i have found? :p
http://www.usingenglish.com/reference/idioms/t.html

there u go.. the list is there.. now is which are more relevent for our kids :p
kekekeke.. the power of technology.. :p

let's see what the P of purple train propose is accurate or not.. nearing 3.. they get more andmore independent and will cry less when they start childcare/independent playgroup.. if more and more cases from this thread prove this.. then my own conclusion will be teng was indeed not really when i started him on purple trian the other time???. ha.. well..but he is happy and fine now.. we shall see lah..

Mist
i like the way you describe 5th march bb. firm for a reason - not fierce. haha.
wat time is your appointment tomorrow?

QQ
i realised something in common between Tian and Leia. both quite tall....

Moogen
your english is so powerful, should have more idioms from you!

Star
the idioms are for us or for our bb?
if its for our bb, should look out for those simpler ones.

i have my own version -
as happy as a bird!

pink:
own version?.. wow.. how come u associate it to a bird ah?

that is a simile. not really an idiom.
the nearest equivalent would be 'happy-go-lucky'

this orginal version of this similie is as happy as a lark..

no choice to accept her in facebook, cause last night i eating at living room and sil and nick accept, i cannot don accept.

The bb is finally asleep. She was crying for quite awhile just now, couldn't figure out what she wants so just give milk. :p So long didn't handle bb liao, so funny, haha!

RR: ha.. u over simplify that! :p
there should be more spaces between the commas..or maybe replace the commas with question marks! :p so it becomes.. milk?.....sleep?..... diaper?.....milk?..........sleep?.....diaper?...........

:pP

i need help.
i dunno if any of u encounter this before.
I dunno if i should go bakc to my gynae or go GP.

my health check results is out.
everything is ok, except
1. MCH in blood slightly lower
2. urine got white blood cells and also epithelial cells.
i dunno what are these, but i am quite sure that these are the reassons of my swollen feet sometimes. maybe i give gynae a call.

QQ,
I'm not quite sure about these. You should give your gynae a call to check.

YY,
I'm trying to figure too, hehe.

called dr ang, the nurse said its normal cause it could be infection. so Dr ang will also tell me its infection.
GP can help me solve the problem.

i guess i go GP, also go sinseh in KL. then hope can solve the problem.

Pink, i also want to ask GP.
actually i saw GP before, he said i am ok leh. just a little bit of fa1 yan2 at joints.
Alamak.. i feel like going to see Dr ong.. if only there is an adult version of service from her.

anyoen got good GP to recommend? i dun really trust western doctors now... but i just want to know if i am really ok.
the clinical report indicated that everything is ok, but need to get antibiotics from GP to clear the infection.

Hmm, I'm quite bad at English idioms. They always tend to be quite abstract. I'm better with Chinese ones cuz last time my cousin's got a book that explained the idioms and yan yu with all the stories behind them.

QQ: for item 2)
Urinalysis (cont.)

In this ArticleWhat is a urinalysis?

What can a urinalysis show?

What does urinalysis involve?

What is macroscopic urinalysis?

What is urine dipstick chemical analysis?

What are the pros and cons of dip sticks?

What is microscopic urinalysis?

How is microscopic urinalysis done?

What kind of cells can be detected? What can the presence of red blood cells in the urine mean? What can the presence of white blood cells in the urine mean? Urinalysis Index
What kind of cells can be detected?

Epithelial (flat cells) and red and white blood cells may be seen in the urine.

Sometimes cells, cellular debris, and casts are seen in the microscopic urinalysis. Epithelial cells (cells in the lining of the bladder or urethra) may suggest inflammation within the bladder, but they also may originate form the skin and could be contamination.

Casts and cellular debris originate from higher up in the urinary tract, such as in the kidneys. These are material shed from kidney cell lining and travel down through the urinary tubes. These usually suggest an injury to the kidney from an inflammation or lack of blood flow to the kidneys. Rarely, tumor cells can be in the urine suggesting a urinary tract cancer.

item 1)Lower MCH count
http://uk.answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080717075021AAw5bYC
It could mean a number of things but the most likely cause is that you are deficient in iron. Are you a menstruating woman, or is there any other obvious source of blood loss? Are you taking anti-inflammatories or aspirin? Have you had any rectal blood loss? Are you a fussy eater who may not be getting enough iron in your diet?

All of these possibilities would need to be considered. Alternatives could be mild congenital abnormalities in your blood such as thalassemia or sickle trait. Essentially you need to see your doctor and discuss possibilities with him.
Source(s):
Practising Physician for many years

u definitely dun have sickle trait or thalassemia.. more likely lower iron following ur blood loss the other time..

QQ: sounds liek infection to me.. cross referencing with the limitted research i did :p

Pink:hmm. not really excited or what.. actually having some doubts on how to 'incoporate' this bb into my career plans.. and my life in general.. haha. but it must be done :p the incoporation part.. see lah. i do things without planning one.. want to have #2.. i just do it.. now considering how to fit it in :p or rather.. fit work in with taking care of #2 :p

yes, astro. i also searching. i think its infection. but infection will cause swollen legs?? i dunno leh. but i am worried that kidney got problem cause too high in these counts may indicate a kindey related issue too. jialat.

my blood level went back to 11.7 now. borderline normal, but already not bad.
except that the MCH is slightly lower. it know it needs time to build up. now about close to 4 months le. guess another 2-3 months i should be fully recovered in iron etc etc.

i wonder how is jay's report.

QQ
i also had infection for a while.
u need to take antibiotic for a while, may still come back, has to take for a few round before it slowly goes away.

Astro
oic...hmm u still have plan for #3 and #4 rite? must plan ahead.

hi mommes, thanks for the concern.

so far for today no vomits(touchwood) and I am trying to back to his normal schedule feeding coz I realized when I fed every hrly, he seems to be tired of sucking and his lip area becomes red.

thank god he's still active but although I hate to admit it but can see being sick has taken its toll on him, he 'slim' down when his weight already weight below average. it took so long for him to gain weight.. hai..

doc say to stay for observation, if today n tml so far so good then can go home.

they tested negative for rotavirus but the stool culture results not yet out.

thank goodness its not due to his underlying condition.

Enne,

Maybe you will want to widen the hole in the bottle nipple? I tried sucking water out of YT's bottle at my mom's place yesterday and it is really really difficult. Please take care of yourself too!

Enne
mine still long way to go.

thank god that Leighton is fine. bb bound to fall sick once in a while. as long as he's fine, try to beef him up slowly after this. you take care too.

Mejo-Yeah hor, now he 8 mths le, maybe shd widen the hole now le.. thx for pointing tat out!

pinkpink-Yeah lo but its so hard for him to put on weight.. we was still hoping he could hit 7kg soon but after this episode, dun think possible, takes time again.. hopefully his weight now dun drop too drastic.. as long as he's fine now, slowly ba.

QQ, Ash-thanks crossing fingers that he wun vomit today!!!

thank god he's still active coz all the docs who seen him keep asking me to consider putting him on drip!! some even 'reprimand' me say bb dehydrated very fast and that his threshold(due to his condition) is different from other kids etc etc.. i know for bb own good but 'bu she de' ma..

Kai-u quitted? me also 'throwing' letter soon also le.. but duno wad shd I do after tat.... find part time? coz seems hard to find job now.. but dun think I can be full time SAHM for long also.

QQ; what is this.. ur report chim leh. anything to do with ur diet. I have a good GP to recommend but she is at my area, very far for you leh.

Pink: those can use for use lah.
Cat got your tongue measn u become tongue tied and cannot talk.

Astro: u r compiling , one more "The early bird catches the worm". I like this
imagine rae really go wake up early to look for birds catching worms.. hahahah so funny

astro, can always depend on your goggling skills!

RR, had to laugh at your milk, sleep, diaper...

QQ, you wanna try this GP at holland close? there shld be a shuttle that stops at the bus stop there right? think it's called family sth clinic. i find the doc quite ok. dr clement sth.

enne, glad that he's better.

Enne
health most impt. weight can slowly build up.

AA
did u check ur NT scan measurement?
sorry, a bit paranoid. want to check wats yours.

pink, AA cleared the test liao.

moogen. is it near OCBC? i went there before. many years ago.
actually i can go and see him hor. cause woodalnds one i am not very confident leh.

Moogen,
I think's Dr Clement Lai, near the bank blk 40+. I went see him once. My mum and sis like to go see him. Esp my sis, she thinks he handsome got charisma.

QQ,

go seek your 2nd opinion bah... Me also not very sure how to interpret your report.

Pink,

My gynae appt abt 12 tomorrow... why leh??

Pink,

hahaha... 5th March babies very logical one... haha.. that's one they are firm and assertive for a reason or goal. ;p

Astro,

here's one idiom, i always use.. "Birds of feathers flock together"

Pink,

hahaha... okay, i will go for a good lunch before going back to office... hehehe... see if i've got time to report lah. ;p

My colleagues betting that it's gal... hahaha

QQ/huingee, yup... that's the one! family health clinic (if i rem correctly). much better than the one i used to go @ hillview. at least he's willing to spend time to explain and talk to you instead of rushing you off to attend to the next patient.

huingee, yes the 888 one, dr siao is ok. but long Q.
i will decide to go dr siao or dr loh near kaexin. see how.

the one that i went to (usually cause less ppl)
is causeway point. he said i mild infection at joints nia. so i dun want to go back later he gives me pain killer again.
no pain actually.