(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

huingee
oh esther's tattoo is so lovely!

mummys anyone organising GYMBOREE spree? got sale le..

huingee: wah.. esther's tattoo is complex! and pretty! i think she wun want to wash it away :p

autum/mejo: still relatively early for kids to drop their afternoon nap now.. most will drop at around 3-4 years old.. Pax's M has dropped his afternoon nap liao..

today brought teng go eat kenny roger's kid meal.. decided not to bring what is already cooked by ellie coz that boy sure wants to eat our food instead..

the boy was so happy! and kept nodding and smiling and giving double thumbs up signs (saying nice, good!) to the waiters/waitresses who hovered around him.. hahah. so cute! :p

so he took..
- 1 piece of kenny roger's drumstick (small one)
- his bowl of corn nibblets side (bingo! i know he would like that.. hahaha)
-his corn muffin (suprisingly he already knew it was called a muffin before i told him!)
-stole our sides (garlic parsely potatoes, macoroni chese, pasta salad and italian GREEN BEanS ah! (green beans leh.. he ate! wah liew.now i know it is not the veg he is rejecting.. but the way it is cooked! now i know he likes giam giam/oily stuff..eeks.. like miser.. his palate :S)

happy to know he enjoyed the meal.. erm.. quite a lot of oil used.. but i take consolation that they use olive oil?!:s and lots of healthy herbs? ya.. must be *self denial*

astro: good lah.. relax a bit.. actually i also start to relax so much with rae meals during the weekend.. yesterday.. she had her first taste of luncheon meat!! shocking right.. i was shocked too.. she kept inisiting on wanting to try so i gave her a bit and she loved it.. kept asking for more, so i shared the piece with her and ate it so fast so she only took less than half of the slice!

Kenny Rogers sounds good, maybe i should bring rae there there. Hey can i ask, what is included in the KR's kids meal?? any drinks?
i brought rae to sake and ordered a bento set (train) for kids for rae, she didn;t eat it at all, exot for the fries! but the box very interesting, a lot of differnt type of food and it cost $7.90. it came with a bottle of yakult too.. she wanted one more bottle after she finished, when i say there is none, wha she cried so badly in the restauranT! i scared of her liao!!

huingee
esther looks so much like you
i echo star

astro
i also like kenny rogers. too bad there's none at United Square else we can go after class.
you v goot lat hor? so you went home after class and then came out again?
and you really dun eat much wor, esp for a preggie. how i wish i can have that lack of appetite

star: ha.. his diet was all haywired in hongkong liao. just trying to hold on.. and releasing slowly. else the boy will BALLOON.. ha..

for kenny rogers, the kid's meal consists of a roasted chicken part ( i think they usually give the drumstick), one side dish of ur choice, one corn muffin and soft drink.. soft drink, i replaced it to a rootbeer for me.. teng just drink his cold cold plain water.. ha :p
think u can request change of drinks .. but must top up.. i think their default drinks are coke, sprit and iced tea (if i can drink now, i sure whallop teng's iced tea) :p

i went to sakae/inchinban many times liao coz nothing to eat one in cwp :S.. but i never ordered the kiddy meals for teng.. so much! cannot finish ah!

SQ: ya. came back.. wanted to nap.. aiya.. teng was woken up as i attempt to 'transit' him upstairs (from the cab).. then end up.. he didn't want to sleep.. and crawled all over us! so he a bit sot sot for the entire day. kept laughing.. like the way he does when he is overtired.. :S

yalor.. no kenny rogers! what a pity! i am really tired at the food choices at USQ leh :S
ya.. after u all left. i got myself a chicken rice.. i only finished half a plate.. haiz. no appetite lah. maybe come 2 T. i will eat like elephant lah..:S

Astro: the sakae bento box portion for kids is actually very small.. but surprisingly a good variety of differnt types of food, there were rice with mini sausage flowers, mash eggs and a small stripe of avacardo, 2 fired chicken pieces, fries, 2 pork balls plus jap fishcake adn crab meat.. so nicely presented.. i took a pic, will post up and show u after i download.

Star,
so qiao, today I also fed EJ luncheon meat! haha.. but mine is on purpose!! :p yah, i know it's bad, but just thought let him try. we sliced it really thin and fry it.. so it comes out really crispy like biscuit, and he kept asking for more.. total took about 3 slices.. but they are wafer-thin slices.

astro,
i don't like Kenny Rogers for the chicken cos i feel they are tasteless. but i like the sides. the sides are all very nice, and the corn muffin is also nice.

kaoz.. having gastric pain and diarrhea now.. gastric pain will induce diarrhea one meh??!!

ya man mejo!! the GUG teachers like to draw on their hands and feet! nowadays anthea will take pen then ask me to draw for her else she will tatoo herself.

star, i also order the kids bento set for anthea, and ended up she was only interested in yakult and refuse to eat. so yi2 qi4 zhi1 xia4 i drank up her yakult and left her crying.

astro, yr kenny roger meal sounds so yummy!! next sat go try.. hopefully anthea eats as much as teng! half the amt i also happy.

so difficult to make anthea open her mouth for food nowadays.. sometimes i feel like taking a plier and pry open her mouth!!! i can feel my blood pressure boiling when feeding her.. jeng3 hek4 ah!!!!

went to parkway parade today.. can rent the little tikes buggy for $3/hr and anthea loves it! though the whole place was packed with pple and we felt so paisay going thru the crowd with 1 buggy and 1 stroller.

autum, star, haha.. my mum also fed anthea luncheon meat on fri!! aiya i dun care liao. as long as she wants to eat i give.

autum, astro, kenny's macaroni cheese is the best! my fav!! but very sinful..

edde,
forgot to say, gastric can definitely cause diarrhoea. it's all part of the system mah.. gastric makes your stomach churn and cause a lot of gases and sour juices which then makes you have LS lor..

autum, oh.. coz last time my gastric wont induce diarrhea, but recently its always the case.. macaroni cheese sinful coz cheese fat mah.. but that the yummy part.. must gor lotsa cheese on the macaroni then nice! wahahaha!

huingee, the SOL rest looks gd! the handpainting is FOC? i read abt it on mag but always forget abt this place. is it very crowded??

hi mummies, i gave chloe the kenny rogers muffin after she turned one :p i m NOT a muffin lover, but i love the one at KR..nice! i wish i can stuff chloe's mouth w muffins too..today all she had was MILK MILK n 2 fishballs

Kai,

Yar, I'm also waiting for someone to start the spree, haha.

edde,

Yar lor and those are normal white board markers leh. I always wipe/wash them off at the first opportunity.

autum: kenny roger's chicken tasteless? hmm .sometimes i find it too salty! ok.. now i know we are quite diffeerent in terms of our palates! :p

edde: yalor.. i restricted teng's intake of that.. but he want..'marco-ni cheese'.. ha.. he sure know the tastiest to pick! :p
btw.. my stomach also strang strange one now :S

Belle,

Chloe still not fully well yet right? It will take some time for her appetite to come back. It will come back with a vengence. You will have your chance to stuff her with muffins.

edde,

Yar, can understand how you feel about food but lucky for me, there is at least two things that YT will open her mouth wide wide for, marcaroni (and other similar pasta) and ice cream.

blur, i am not a muffin lover but i also love KR one!! but i find the std drop liao, last time when it first came to spore the muffin was very nice!

mejo, sama sama.. give her rice/porridge/noodles she will clamp her mouth. see anything sweet only will open her mouth BIG BIG and ask for more. today i had to resort to feeding her 1 mouthful of rice then 1 mouthful of pudding to make her eat. its such a bad habit but i am really desperate.

astro, teng has gd taste!! can bring him to europe liao, wont starve there. if bring anthea to ang mo ctry think she will be on diet, coz she only likes cheena food.

astro,
KR chicken is tasteless, the only tasty and salty part is the skin. but once the skin is gone, i feel the meat is not nice. i dunno why they didn't marinate? or somehow the marinate is only on the skin. by the way, i am not really into salty stuff. :p

belle,
why Chloe eat so little? cos she still not fully recovered?

Edde/astro/autum
i love kenny rogers macaroni and cheese too!
and i will eat double portion. so my two sides consist of the same thing.
aiyo, i feel like having that for lunch tomr
oh oh

star
i've never taken note of the crayola easel

edde
i know what you meant by yi4 qi4 zhi1 xia4. sometimes i will do those things too. like if YE is crying, all the more i will do it cos my mentality is "since you wanna cry, i let you cry until you full!" sadistic i know

SQ, wow! double portion!! i wld love to do that too!! i am a heartless mummy.. if she cry, i let her cry till she song4, if she falls down, i will luff at her. i am not the sayang-sayang kinda mummy def! me also sadistic!! wahahha!

Autun: oh. i see. ya. sometimes it is over roasted.. then i find it too dry liao.. but when it is just done right. then not too bad

Edde: ya.. actually i didn't like the corn muffin the first time i ate it.. SO dense! .. now ok.. and i eat my corn muffin with knife and fork. and with chili.. hahaha
aiyo.. bring teng to europe?! miser will STARE at me if i dare suggest! :p too exp.. and just the effort (and the amount of whining he will have) when we come back and try to rectify his jet lag.. i dun dare liao :p

hey.. does anthea drink a lot of milk?

SQ: two macoroni cheese as both ur sides? wah.. i think i will get quite sick of it.. normally my sides is the garlic parlsey potatoes and intlian green beans.. only when miser is around. will i order the cheese side.. coz i cannot finish by myself..

i remembered eating quite a lot of KR when preg with teng. coz easy to 'balance' the diet.. my only grouse is they are very oil happy! :S

so maybe that's why teng also like KR now.. hahahha :p
the fish provocale is also not bad..mild and not too thick on the taste

edde: hahah. u never know.. skali u bring anthea go KR.. she hooked on marcoroni cheese.. then really have to keep going back liao.. hahaha :p

edde, SQ,
i also have my 'yi qi zhi xia' moments, but i don't let it come to fruition. ie.. before i do anything drastic, i will just let EJ be. is this bad? can someone tell me will I end up spoiling him? sometimes as parents, we really have so much self-doubts.

like last week, my hb tried to force EJ to eat.. so end up EJ scream and cry until tears all over the face that sort.. then end up i told hubby off. as in, i didn't fight with him, but i made a comment like this "why you want to force him? it doesn't achieve anything right? u just make him cry.."

well, hb initially felt a bit unhappy that i say such things and not trying to help him to make EJ eat. i think hb feels i don't care whether EJ eats or not. so hb says "he always don't want to eat, how can?".. and i went like "don't eat is ok what.. it's not like he is mal-nutrition or what..." then I could see hubby not happy with what i said..

anyway, the conversation sort of ended, cos i said "if he doesn't want to eat, what can u do, force open his mouth and pour the food down his throat?"... then after that he really didn't force EJ to eat.. then i start to have doubts.. i m not worried about the nutrition part, seriously.. i more worried about what kind of signals/messages am i sending? am i letting EJ feel it's ok to not eat and waste food? or that i will let him get away with things? i really don't know..

someone please enlighten me!

SQ: dun kill me. today i noticed u wanted to go toilet when in gug.. then YE cried right? i noticed.. YE expression like.. 'ok she is going to toilet liao, leave me alone, start crying now!'.. ha. she's notti :p

mejo/ autum / edde
she is much better but when it comes to food, she will pick n choose. i bought her a cheese bread with some sugar on top also ate one mouth n spit out! i scolded her for wasting mummy's money

last wk in hosp the milk is not moving.. then this week wah! its goin very fast.. today i think she drank at least 6 times milk liao.. tang boon arrh!

edde
stimes i let chloe cry too esp when she is notti, i dun care..but when MIL comes she will say aiya dun let her cry so much will hv WIND arrgh..

i can tell if its fake or real crying one haha..so i will depd on circumstances la..

autum: dun mind me.. regardless of whether EJ eat or not.. both u and ur hb must be more consistent in the signals both of u sending out.. as in if forced feed, both forced feed.. if dun want to feed, both dun feed.. else it might strain ur marriage.. and EJ gets mixed signals from both parents ..and kids when they grow up and test their parents.. they know where the crack might be...
think the issue here is not just the signals u sending.. but the signals both of u sending.. just my humble opinion.. sorry if i offend..

astro,
no offense at all.. in fact, just past few days, my colleague (who has children in primary/secondary school) was just telling me that going down the road, the #1 thing that couples fight about will be children. My colleague also knows my hb and she knows we both are not the quarrlesome type.. so I told her, "won't la, me and hb won't fight over kids".. and she immediately tells me "don't be so sure".. she went on to tell me stories about her friends who are the best marraige-couples that sort.. never fight as a couple, went through so much to be together.. then... they fight about the children.

she told me exactly what you said.. about kids knowing which parents to play on.. and my colleague's point is, sometimes we will just end up very frustrated with the spouse.. cos our reaction times and reaction behaviour differs... oh well..

astro, she drinks 3X milk now.
morn 8am less than 120ml milk
afternoon 130pm lunch - rice/porridge/noodle
before nap at 230/3pm - 180ml milk
dinner at 6pm - rice/porridge/noodle
before sleep 9/10pm - 240ml

she doesnt drink much milk before her lunch and dinner leh..

blur, gd that at least chloe wants milk now.. she is on her road to recovery!

autum, in my situation, i am yr hb, my hb is u. but now i am growing more and more boh chap. i guess its not abt sending signals to our kids now.. like the methods i use, they are def wrong but wat to do.. i am desperate. so we really hv to take cue from our kids sometimes. like u said, if EJ doesnt wanna eat, so wat if it means he is wasting food. so does it mean if we wanna teach him not to waste food, we pry open his mouth and pour the food down his throat?? cannot mah.. otherwise another sol will be we finishing their food and tell them its no gd to waste food. for me, my priority now is to make her eat, i hv no energy left to think so much hahaha!

autum: i agree with ur colleague..

me and miser also like u and ur hb.. the way we 'quarral'.. is 'ridiculous'.. hahaha.. just like those dying ambers of a bbq.. haha.. then cold war liao.. hahah. we 'fought over' teng before.. as in with regards to discipline lah.. or coaxing him to do something.. i forget what specifically.. could literally see teng, sucking on his thumb, staring at two of us.. obseving us.. wah liew.. then after that. both of us got more 'consistent'.. ha..

think the pt here is 'ignore'.. for u or ur hb.. and dun attempt to stop one another in front of ur kids.. (unless it is seriously out of hand).. else pride/ego can be hurt lah..
wait till the incident cools down. then talk it over for a more consistent approach?

again, my humble thoughts only..

edde: if u try to cut the afternoon feed graudally.. what happens? will she eat more at 6pm dinner? i think might have an effect leh.. domino effect.. cut down on that feed.. increase in dinner intake..less on bedtime milk (to 180ml).. then morning will drink more milk also..
hmmm...no breakfast?

edde,
so when your hb doesn't want to 'force' anthea to eat, do u feel like he 'doesn't care'? cos i think this is what my hb feels of me. ie. by not trying to force EJ to eat, hb thinks i don't care. but it's not that i don't care about EJ.. i definitely care cos he is my son! but it's hard to explain our feelings/thinking sometimes.

Astro,
me and hb never even cold war before! :p ok, i will not attempt to stop hubby.. but most of the time i don't.. i guess it's just this eating-issue.. argh!

well, at least up till now, EJ is still scared of me when i get angry and scold him seriously. Now i just pray that i m not spoiling him with my other actions (like not forcing him to eat or do certain things).

astro, sometimes she drinks lesser before her nap, but duno why she also eat lesser for dinner. morn breakfast is usually cornflakes or cake but she is always not interested coz she is more keen in playing/watching vcd.

erm.. been to many PDs.. they always say. dun force feed.. but i think easier than done.. i just trust that teng does know how much he should eat.. coz in hk.. he seriously went haywired.. and ate and drank very little.. but he still survived.. but visibly slimmer .. my mum was appalled as to what i did to her darling grandson.. haaa.. 'he doesn't want to eat.. how to force him eat?'..was my reply to her then :p

Re: Sending mixed signals

Haha, it reminds me of the funny story that my MIL told me. Last time, she send my hb, when he was still a boy, to be scolded by my FIL when he scored badly in school but my hb came back beaming from the "scolding" cuz my FIL have praised him instead. MIL wanna faint. Haha.

It is true that we should be consistent in our behaviour. Not just ourselves and also all the adults as a united front. But I feel it is always easier said than done. Even as an individual, I feel that I can be giving mixed signals too cause sometimes I'm just too lazy to "fight" and YT is STUBBORN.

autum, when my hb does that i wont think that he doesnt care, but he is spoiling anthea by allowing her to CHOOSE not to eat. haha.. my frank opinion lah.. no offence.. :p

Autum: then u got natural advantage.. coz EJ fears u.. then use it to ur best advantage.. seems like in ur case. u need to be the disciplinarian.. not ur hb liao..

edde: if feed her without giving her a chance to play or watch vcd? what happens?

haha, mejo yr PIL so cute.. i guess its difficult not to send wrong signals.. sometimes i send inconsistent signals too! alamak..

edde,
please no offense at all.. i seriously want to know.. cos i have never really discussed this issue with hb before. so i would like to know what is he thinking of.. and since you are similar to my hubby in this aspect of feeding, so it's quite good to know how you think!

mejo,
ya, even within us, it's quite tough to be consistent sometimes.. but i think i try my best to be like 98% maybe! hahaha..