(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

star
ya, i dun tell her if i'm going off to toilet, for short while in GUG
but in CC, i will tell her
then she will cry and the teacher will carry her

astro
i saw the stickers last week. but wondering what designs i would buy, if i buy. cos i already have quite a lot. greedy

SQ: then first.. u got to make YE associate the potty with something pleasant. kai used the same method with the potty book.. some books have the potty training theme and comes with lights and sounds.. at regular intervals.. let her play with the book and bring the potty to her.. wether or not she pee or not.. nvm.. just make sure she gets this 'pleasant' associations.. when u can get her to sit down on the potty for a while.. say 5 minutes.. then every 30 minutes then do as what kai did.. go without diapers.. and shh in potty. will have lot sof accidents.. but inevitable lah..

can ye pull her pants down? and tell u she wants to pee? or go all quiet when pee-poo??

bunnie
i dunno which one, but at least i can start searching at the correct floor

star
you are not confusing us. dun worry

SQ: u get those other designs which u have not ordered for YE before lah. i also tempted to get another set but she has sooo much name sticker liao.. dun think i have enuff books/items/cups/snack boxes etc to use them all.

HJ: u here? i wanna ask u.. joann has the crayola twisterble colouring pencils??

astro
she has the potty book
then she will read on my bed
ask her if she wants to sit on potty, she says no

think she can't pull down her pants yet. at least it will take a v long time if she does. she will squat when she wants to poo. v funny to watch. she can eat half way, then want to poo. then she will attempt to climb out of the hi chair and squat on it. haha. and she will gek with the face of intense concentration.

astro: i pei fu ur hubby for being so calm. my hubby will become irritated and then start complaining about my habits also, then we will start fighting. It's come to the extent I give him a taste of his own medicine, I will also work late without giving notice and make him wait for me :p but not too often, cuz i more kan cheong to rush home to see V, but at times I do have to work late, so end up we both leave work at 8 plus (work in the same place mah). i also duno much of wat he does but i know quite a number of his colleagues. So if I cannot find him (hp no signal or dun answer) I will call around his colleagues to find him or leave a msg for him to call me. more malu rt :p but bo bian, esp if i am rushing off from work but I still can't find him to tell him.

SQ: Rae loves to sit on the toilet bowl whenever i put her training cover on it. she thinks its fun. i think my prob is that i dun put her on the toilet bowl regularly enuff.. cos i am lazy to start lor.. cos i know once i start, must be consistent. anyway i feel maybe she is not thatr eady yet leh. she only tells me after she poo-ed.

star: no lah.. u are observent.. by nature. teng's reserved.. and timid.. the more i schold him.. the more i dun build his confidence. he likes to be appluad.. and he can be very notti to get my attention. if i give him the attention.. he gets worse.. so i rather not give him the attention. teng takes a long long time to warm up.. he is not really sticky by definition.. just reserved ..so just have to let him tough it out.. and encourage him lah.. bo bian..

SQ/star: ya. i saw that stall that time when i got QQ her iron supplement.. but i think need go after gug.. coz that time still not open at 10 plus yet..

Starfruit: see if i interpret correctly

astro appears to be more bo chup about R, so he more sticky to her?

SQ scolds her dotter a bit more and dun tell her when she leave, so YE more sticky cuz dun feel assured?

star
same, have a lot
i ordered $16.50 (dunno how many) from the website you gave
then bought in taiwan
then ordered another 600 in a spree (haven't collected)
my hubby's gonna faint if he knows
i have to start sticking on YE's mamy poko diapers to finish using them all!
but i might still buy cos hiao2!

astro: that stall be prepared to wait. last week that stall opened after GUG ended and I happen to be browsing at OP that's how I saw and cheong for it :p

bunnie: haiz.. which is why u see.. miser and i NEVER fight.. coz his tempermant like that.. how to start a fight with him?! i met my nemesis liao lah.. :S

SQ: ok.. then first thing. rid the association of reading the potty book on ur bed.. either buy her a new book.. just let her read it.. seated in the bath room for regular intervals.. then bring her potty..when she is used to reading the book in the BATHROOm/toilet..

then YE is ready liao. coz she is doing all the actions.. start formulating a plan.. and buy her a new potty book to form the right association

me here!

re: toilet training
hmm, sometimes i feel that EJ can tell us when he wants to poo.. but no use, cos even if he can tell, he won't sit on potty. he must poo standing up! haiz..

SQ,
are u actually bothered that YE is sticky to u?

starfruit: long long long time ago, back in 1997, we worked for the same boss briefly, but different offices. just colleagues nothing ... I left N** in 1998 so we occasionally kept in touch cuz all ex colleagues come out to meet once a year or something. We exchange emails only once or twice a year, then dunno how we got together in 2002 :p I just rejoined N** in 2006 after we got married, and he's been in the same place for over 1 decade :p I meanwhile have already changed like 6 or 7 jobs :p

astro: aiyo, u dun fight and u wan to complain? my hubby complain why must we fight? I was like ?!?!?!!? we 2 different person different taste different ideas even we married also 2 individuals rt ?????

bunnie: hahah yes correct for astro.. as for SQ half correct cos its not exactly the scolding lah..i think cos SQ's reaction to YE is stronger as compared to her hb.. thus maybe YE feels that she needs to sick closer to SQ for the assurance? maybe cos YE's daddy's behaviour is more predictable..thus YE is alwasy wanting to stick to SQ....wha i am getting confusing again.. haha but this is my observation lah.. could be wrong cos i only see SQ/YE and astro/Teng once a week.. so can be incorrect too.. hehe

bunnie: no.. teng's not sticky.. as in sticky sticky.. he can say byebye to me when ileave for work.. if ellie goes off. he might fuss for a while but if i am there.. he is also calmed down relatively easily.. but when both of us not there.. then he cry big time lah.. like any children lah.. miser asked me how, monday still left teng to cry. i just said yes.. he has to learn.. ya.. i am very bo chap when it come to this.. coz i see/heard him cry nonstop for more than dunno how many hours when cio-ing him.. this leaving him , and i dun see him, is really.. sad to say. peanuts.. gosh. i sound very meanto my own son.. but i am really like that.. detached

wa bunnie
what were you doing in N** in 1998?

autum
only to the extent that she refuses to let her daddy attend class with her. and she can cry when going to mil's house though she's been going there since birth. and also she will cry when she hears my voice on the phone, cos she's reminded of me.

lidat am i bothered??

bunnie: wha so fated with ur hb.. heheh he's been in there for so long??!! impressed!

astro: what are the signs that our tods are ready for toilet training har?

Re: the name sticker stall
Hey u all just place order and pay for it then proceed to lunch.. after lunch go pick it up.. like this just nice.
last week i waited for 30mins for it.. we went grocery shopping by the time i am done, the name sticker ok liao.

bunnie: in the first place. i not complaining we dun fight. i complaining. he can 'make me feel less angry' when i actually was very angry.. and i was trying to be very assertive to send him the RIGHT message.. the man just tai-ji everything away.. 'entertained me'.. but strangely. i am also placated. aiyoh. weak lah me!

SQ: start buying a potty book then

bunnie/star
ya. i get v annoyed when YE fusses and cries and doesn't listen to me. buay tahan repeat myself 10,000 times, though i know she's oni a kid. the more she cries, the more i can sit there and watch and let her finish crying. then i pick her up, if she cries, i put her down again and the whole process repeats itself. eventually she will stop. my mum says she doesn't feel loved. maybe so cos i'm always v curt and impatient with her

Astro,
i don't understand what you mean by saying YE is 'ready' and 'doing all the actions'.. i mean, how to define ready and what are the actions u are talking about??

SQ,
err, it doesn't matter when she cry or refuses etc.. it's whether u feel bothered.. sad, unhappy, uncomfortable, distress etc..

SQ: actually i think YE is very sweet.. she loves u so much.. i am always very touch by the unconditional love our kids have for us. i think soon, they won;t want to stick to us liao. I am extremely sticky to rae...but lately she more sticky to daddy.. hahah.. also good lah, gimme a break!

SQ: YE is a mummy's gal leh.. funny leh.. i wun be so sticky to my mum one.. if she nags at me.. yet u nag at YE.. she loves u more.. wah liew.. another miser in making! :S

star: able to walk (no problem for all of us now lah).. show awareness that she is doing a pee/poo.. gestulate/articulate their intentions.. and able to pull down the pants ....(this one then considered really toilet trained)

autum
when i'm driving, sometimes i will get flashes of "what if sth happens to me". i think YE will be v jialat if i'm not here for her cos she oni sticks to me. this is my main worry

astro: it's not to say u bochup lah, different people just have different ways of dealing with it. some pple are more emotionally detached and that's OK.

SQ: same type of job, but different department. learn to say bye bye? u no it's like kids who refuses to leave the playground etc etc, one mummy taught me to say byebye to the playground and it works mostly. Sometimes she is not ready yet,l but at the 2nd or 3rd time i ask her to say byebye, she is ok with it. she knows say byebye = must go.

Now in CC, i v brave liao ... walk in with her and daddy and then she also happy to sit with the bigger kids to eat breakfast (must serve her first lah) then after that I was talking to her teacher, then we said we were going to work already. she turned already and her face like want to cry liao and went "ma ma ..." then i went " BYBEYE!!!! MUMMY GO WORK!" i walked off immediately without turning back :p but she did ok. even for V, she also has seperation anxiety, so u can imagine for YE lah. V first week so happy bo chup us when we send her to CC< but the seperation anxiety only kicked in from 2nd week onwards. It's something we have to learn and they have to leanr, when to say byebye and then promised to be back at that place at the time.

autum: YE is really. coz she is gestiulating and aware that she is doing a poo (she attempts to climn out of her highchair.. or squat to do the poo).. as for other signs.. in the post to star..

astro: she has been pulling off her diaper herself when we go bath.. is this considered pulling down her pants.

SQ: will she calm down and stop crying if u attend to her instead of leaving her to cry and stop by herself?

star: no wor.. i meant a book for YE to read during her potty time.. to get her to SIT in her potty :p of course.. if that book is on potty training which can hold YE's attention.. even better

alamak. i think i am not clear tonight?
ha..

star/astro
yes, she's v sweet (i'm told all the time)
my hubby's my better half, and i dun really deserve my daughter
aiya, that's why i say i'm the jialat one
my blood really boils when she misbehaves (which is acceptable to most adults with normal threshold)
my threshold v low lah. or almost non-existent
that's why i say i'm the jialat one, not her
she's a good kid

SQ,
sorry to sound very harsh ok.. but u are thinking too highly of yourself and YE now. it's my honest opinion.. no matter how sticky the kid is now, if u go out of sight for a week, the kid will forget u. it's actually very sad, but it's true.

Can i say something else (hope u don't get offended).. i feel that subconciously, u actually want YE to stick to u. that's why u behave in such a way to make her want to stick to u. whatever that behaviour may be.. it's probably subconcious.. psst.. don't get angry hor, just offering u another viewpoint. :p

star: yes.. if u replaced that with a training pant.. she is pulling off her pant sliao .. right?

put her in pull-ups first lah.. then regularly bring her to the toilet. rae should be relatively easy to toilet trian mah..

astro: hahaha not weak lah, if he cannot deal with you then why would you have married him?

SQ: i lost my train of tots .. but i think it has to do with "pick your battle" u no once I fought with V over 30 mins for her to sit in the car seat. i ignore i scold i smack her all no use ... and guess wat was the magic ... i remember i had ribena sweets with me so i wearily took it out and asked her, u wan ribena sweets? she immediately nodded and climb into her car seat ... wah lau ... if i had known earlier ... save my breathe for the past 30 mins! not to say must bribe all the time lah, but got hard got soft, sometimes I just think "nevermind, I can win the battle another day".

astro: I am curious, why must have a book to read when sitting on the potty..i dun give a book to rae when she is sitting on her toilet trainer leh.. i kinda feel that this is a vey bad habit.... can i not introduce her to reading when she is sitting on the potty? or is this a recommended way..hope i dun offend anyone.. just my view hor.

bunnie: hahah ur ribena sweets is darn funny leh. kaoz. if i were u. i wild be like 'how come i forget my ribena sweets?!!! how could I? how could i?!!!'..

yalor.. he can deal with my temper outbursts.. and make me feel silly to lose my temper.. argh..

star
she will stop crying if i tend to her
then i will tell her i have to go, and she will start crying again. but i still have to leave her in CC
or if i stay, she will keep worrying that i will have to leave, and cry in anticipation of me leaving.
she understands that she has to stop crying, so she will do the shh shh keep quiet sign. but she cannot control after a while and will start sobbing again. v ke lian to see. the teachers told me cos she's too young, cannot control her emotions.
i felt so bad the first week cos in order to stop crying, she bit herself by putting her wrist at her mouth to stifle her sobs.

wa, i teared when the teacher told me that. she is so dong3 shi4 for a baby

bunnie
i say bye leh. when i have to leave her with mil or CC. but not for short toilet breaks

very funny leh.. our topic tonight.. we are switching between potty training (so matter of fact).. to sumthing so emotional like how our kids are sticky to us.. heheh

astro: u think rae will be easy to train ah? i really no clue how to start this toilet training man. maybe shouldjust get her off her diapers and put her in training pants!! the pull up diapers are quite diff to pull off one leh.

Star, Astro,
I agree with Star le.. i don't want to train EJ to sit on the potty to read. err.. how?

Bunnie,
smart move on the ribena sweets! haha, yeah, i agree to pick your battles wisely.