(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Irin: i should consider getting myself a dog then.. then no mess to clear when teng feed himself with the utensils and all the food drop on the floor!!!! :p BRILLANT idea u just gave me :p

btw, i noticed teng.. he uses a different grasp on the spoon as compared to rayden.. then the spoon too 'long' and 'too straight'.. then my food normally more liquid kind..(cause my mum again la.. what else? pasta can choke teng one leh..duh..) so teng keeps 'dropping' the food when bring to mouth.. so i went to buy a pair of 'twisted' spoon and fork.. bent at an angle and not too long. hopefully wun drop too much.. if not my mum will stop him fromfeeding himself coz mess wor.. haiz..

i should get my mum to go observe ur RR.. then she will know she hindering teng a lot.. u will help me 'shut her up' if she dares question me in front of u, wun u, my dear irin? :p

bbmouse: food at gogo not very nice hor? :p kekeke.. regarding the water in FM.. it is another story altogether.. u need water to dissolve the powder.. and that goes to the total 'milk' intake.. not on top of the milk intake.. so it is not anything 'additional'..
water to bbs is 'harmless'.. but the worry here is we dunno how much is too much..and when too much then will alter their body nutrients composition, taking away too much sodium coz their kidneys still immature.. if sips of water on a very extraordinary hot day. is ok lah. not like my mum.. teng milk 'strike' give water liao that kind. and A LOT of water.. that was why i said no.. coz TOO much liao.. sips is ok..

re: bbs shakin head
they are cute when they shake their heads furiously to indicate displeasure..
i waiting for teng to nod his head to tell me i am pretty, kind, capable, smart... blah blah blah. but he still shaking his head..
bbgirl: i am like u liao.. keep teachiing teng to nod head :p

he doesn't know how t nod his head to indicate approval yet.. i remembered seeing anthea doing that in kinder last time and pax telling me nodding head comes later.. ok.. teng will smile brightly.. if u asked a question which he wants to reply 'yes'.. instead.. like 'want milk?' *shakes head FURIOUSLY* 'so dun want milk, want bread ah?' *DAZZLING SMILE*.. ... charmer :p

re: shake head n nod head
EJ will nod head to indicate he wants food.. n shake head to indicate he doesn't want something. hmm, but sometimes he nods his head for nothing i feel.. altho it's quite cute to watch.

bbmouse,
the bin is nice right.. yea, can be a nice decor pc.. then if it lasts till when the kids grow up, we can really use it as a real dustbin.

Irin, Astro,
i m the worst.. never let EJ feed himself, other than Cheerios.. which is also not often (I usually feed him).. cos I don't want mess la. me jialat hor.. hindering his development!

Baking Mummies,
I finally bot an oven today!! Sona brand $49 nia. haha.. then after that I was so excited, i went to Phoon Huat n thot I will buy the paper cups so i can bake some muffins tonight.. then i tell u, i was so overwhelmed! I dunno what size cups to buy.. i saw one, come in 1000pc pack.. i was like.. huh? how can finish.. then i chose another one with design.. after that I asked hubby how does normal flour looks like.. hubby gave me the DUH look.. he asked me what type of floor to use.. i say i dunno! then he told me i better dun start first.. go and do homework first. then after that, i realised that I think i need something called a baking tray/mould with the cups? err.. do I need that huh? I m so clueless.. jialat.. end up I put back the paper cups also.. So baking mummies, please help!

1. what tray, mould, cups, do i need? must i buy grease paper? what's that huh?
2. do i buy normal flour? i saw they sell a muffin pre-mix.. so should i buy that or buy flour?
3. besides flour, what are the usual ingredients? must buy baking powder? butter? oil?

Ok, i think i sound like a total idiot.. please bear with me!

ya bbmouse. On kept changing prices? normally should be reducing, instead of increasing leh. i also wondering why. i think we have many mysteries for ON. wah, normally i cannot remember numbers very well.
and this colour is good, goes well with white.
very sharp.

E is cute feeding himself. actually i let tian feed herself if she rejects my food. then at least she got eat something. fruits, etc she self feed (hands mostly, fork and sppon for show 90% oni). sometimes heng heng can hook one or two, or with my help, then she happie and forgot that she didn't want the food earlier.
nanny commented that she SEE, observe what food to be served first, then choose to eat or not. ina way, its good cause grow up liao, but another way can be picky if the colour is not the correct one. sigh!! i just hope that she takes more milk, now she is taking oni 330ml a day (or less). but i got give yogurt, cheese la.

autum, wah. many things to tell u then. haha!

1. it depends on what size you want to have. 1st of all, check your oven size, dun buy too big tray. then oven cannot go in.
- basically need a support if using papercups(flimsy and cheap), unless you use those steady type, which will not topple with batter inside.
2. flour: according to pax's recipe, plain flour or self raising flour.
as for me, I'm trying differnt flour.
you can use plain flour or low protein flour (di1 jing1 mian4 fen3). just buy normal flour as a start.
3. baking powder, + baking soda (based on pax's recipes)
buy olive oil..
and advertisement again
http://pax-recipe.blogspot.com

edde, i read that your muffin is very hard? u try again and see? normally i dun like mine cause it turns hard after 1 day. so, I'm improving mine and housemate said got improvement. nanny also said that.. good.
when i am done, i will reveal my mi4 ji2 to you. haha! now i have no confirmed clue yet.

autum: if u dun mind EJ relying u to feed him then ok to feed him urself.. it is like what u told me the other time.. with bbs holding the milk bottles by themselves theory..

hmmm.. ok. let me try answer ur questions..
1. trays/moulds/cups - essentially they all mean the same thing.. something to hold teh mixture when baking so that they will have the cupcakes form when baked. .. trays and moulds are the same..cups ( i am assuming u mean the paper kind ah?).. is to be placed insides the holes of the moulds/trays so that when the muffins is done.. u have that pieces of paper that is stick to the bottom (so that u can just put the muffin on the table without needing a plate)..

grease paper.. grey in colour. looks like tracing paper.. on sale on super market also. if u use the 'cups' then dunn need grease paper.. coz grease paper is to help u for easy removal

2. refer to ur muffin recipe.. they will tell u which kind of flour they want.. if u buy the muffin pre mix.. u dun need anything else. if plain flour need the baking powder and such..

3. usual ingredients is again dependent on ur muffin recipe.. so go to GG and find pax's blog and search for recipe?

Astro: Anna nods her head to indicate the food is nice. She shakes her head cos she thinks it's fun. Our fault also lah, cos it was really funny to ee her shake her head and say "ne ne ne ne ne" and we laughed. That's why she kept doing it everytime we ask her something.

Pink: www.borderlinx.com

Autum: Only thing abt the dustbin - it is too deep for Anna to reach into it. Altho we didn't put anything inside, she has gladly transported some of her toys and dumps them inside the bin. But she can't reach in to take them.

autum,
to answer ur qns:
1. if you use paper cups, dont need grease paper. u put the paper cups into the mould (usually makes 9 or 12 muffins per mould).
2. i recommend plain flour. pre-mix right, sometimes they use unhealthy ingredients, like hydrogenated oil.
3. yea. u need baking powder, butter, sugar. usually these few. u can buy some color rice to put as topping as well.

why dont u go to allrecipes.com they have good recipes there. choose those with higher ratings.

happy baking!

mickey, michelle,
not only baby clothes! it's me+my sis+my aunt+josi clothes, so altogether add up to that amt. so each person 150+ average. crazy rite. just now i went emphasis, bought again. a lot of their clothes 50%! i think i've been shopping-deprived, coz during term time i dont have time to go town at all.

Astro, Jaxe, QQ,
err.. recipes i can find.. but i dun even know how to start.. as in, i must buy a mould tin? that means each time can only bake 6 or 12 muffins at a time? isn't that very time consuming? i dunno cos i have no idea at all..

i thot just spoon the mixture into those cups and lay them all on a flat tray (which comes with the oven).. err.. that won't work is it? the cups must be sitting inside the moulded-cup tray?

autum: u can finish all 6 - 12 muffins at one go ah? :p.. how many u want to make at one go?

i have not tried baking muffins.. cakes/bread yes.. so i think leave to others who have baked muffins to tell u the reason why..
my speculation is.. cannot. coz the paper cannot hold the wieght of the mixture at all. if u dun put them into the moulded cup tray. then it will 'go flat'.. coz no support.. then become muffin 'pancakes'? :p.. so need to be sitting insdie the cup tray

autum, no woh. cause the flimsy paper cups won't stand and the shape will come out funny.
and 6 muffins are small one. u can go find 9 muffins one. but hor, make sure the size can fit into your oven. based on the mould size, u buy the cups.
pax's recipe u can bake for one time oni, its for one batch, very simple.

autum. best still, buy those silicon mould, then no need paper cup. according to star. i did not buy because i have many trays at home liao. with differnt sizes. so, u may explore this. then u can save on your paper cups next time. easy to wash too.

autum: that blog which titu recommended to me tat time.. coz baking 6 cups and 12 cups muffins together kind leh..
got timing for u somemore.. instructions are easy to read also. can try that on top of pax's recipe lah.

QQ: ya.. silicon mould. i bought one at cwp cs the other time. not cheap leh. quite ex..
still haven't start baking muffins for teng. kekeke..

Re: Nod head

Although YT dunno to use nod head as a sign of approval, we certainly knows what she wants. If she doesn't want something, she will either 'shake head' or eh eh in frustration or both. She want something, will stretch out arm and open and close her fingers and asstt asstt (her version of yes, I guess). So yar, quite easy to tell.

autum,
eh..even if you buy pre-mix, it comes in dry powder form. u must also add either water or butter or eggs or some sort of liquid which they will tell u. some oven can put 2 trays at one time, one top, one bottom. oh, and i wouldn't recommend buying anything from phoot huat unless u cannot find anywhere else. coz they mark up price.

for muffin must use mould tray, or they will come out to be pancakes! for harder things like cookies then can put straight on flat tray.

Nan 3 : Hubby said there's a new version in the market with pro-biotics. We were wondering if we shd switch back to use Nan.. ??

Mejo: What is probiotics?

autum: grease paper is seldom used in muffins.. coz tedious to go trace and cut some many paper cups.. then they sell so many fanciful patterns.. and actually quite cheap.. so forget about the grease paper!

if cakes.. yes.. DEFINITELY need grease paper else dunno how to unmould the cake without horrible disfiguration :p

re phoon huat
when i go phoon huat.. when i am free and have plenty of time.. then i will go see the stock and variety of things they have.. ah boh. most of the time, i tell the assistants what i am baking and what i want.. they will get for me.. the place is super cramp.. and the things used. sometimes for PROFESSIONALs kind leh.. beginners go there.. sure get over-whelemed :p
i thin phonn huat is owned by hainanese leh.. :p

astro. aiya, tian dun really eat my mufins but i am still baking. one day she will like it, hopefully. haha! but i like to eat for myself. she is not very de keen. she dun like to eat leh. she will definitely prefer cookies because she likes biscuits. sigh!

QQ: then u do cookie for her?
both muffins and cookies just as easy..

teng likes bread and such a lot leh. he can reject everything but bread he wun reject leh. jialat.. like miser.. hmmm.. then buns also like.. paus also likes.. bread wholemeal, 12 grains as long as bread also like.. ok. i will bake baguette for him.. see if he can bite thru it or not! kekekeke.. my baguettes can wham pple silly one hor.. hard as rocks!!! :p

bbmouse, so cute to nod her head. fries is tasty mah.
i gave fresh milk to tian today she saw the colour then dun even want to try. sigh! then my sil put a piece of cheerios with a spoonful of fersh milk, she eat. then asked for more. she enjoyed putting cheerios, then eat. sigh! but still saw milk like wanna run away.
worried about her milk intake. normalyl 18 months then drinking 350ml a day. now she is only 15 month, then already drink less than that. got to eat more of other things liao. she eat not much solid though.

QQ
just saw your sms. i'm bad with sms on weekends. the phone's in my bag most of the time

star
tell me where to buy small weekender. v nice size!

edde,
the muffins hard? you haven't seen mine. it's the most delicious muffin YE has eaten after suffering with me

michelle
no need argue fat or thin. see size of pants know liao

autum
have fun!

bmouse: ehh.. anna is lean and mean.. can.. teng cannot! pudgy! .. so i baked myown chips for him lor.. sans all those fats.. this boy cannot have extra calories liao..

bbmouse,

From wikipedia, "Probiotics are dietary supplements containing potentially beneficial bacteria or yeasts. According to the currently adopted definition by FAO/WHO, probiotics are: ‘Live microorganisms which when administered in adequate amounts confer a health benefit on the host’"

mejo: hahaha. i am also on wikipedia now. searchign for some things for my problem crafting..

the whole world using wikipedia.. but i have students telling me .. some facis dun recognise wikipedia as 'proper' reference.. ehh. to each his own. :p

astro, cookies more time consuming. i can only bake cookies when i have longer time. and its heaty for her also. i should bake breads... lazy to start, while all ingredients are ready.

tired today. i am going orh orh liao.

SQ. wah funny la the way u describe edde's muffins.

Astro: Not that she's lean. I boh-chap. I just let her try a bit of my fish and chips lah. Papa was not there with us, else he sure won't allow. *shhhh*

Mejo: Thanks.. Too chim for me..

QQ: Then hor, you try to give her cheerios in milk with a spoon. This way, she'll take in some spoonsful of milk too. Heheheh..

QQ,

Can lah. YT drink less than 350ml milk months ago. I think long long ago GP already told me each day 350ml minimum. So should be about there. YT recently drank more milk. The trick is, I mixed in chocolate flavoured pediasure to her usual milk. Not a long, just a scoop of the chocolate milk. She finish up the whole bottle of 180ml. Then her cereals I'll dump in about another 180ml worth of milk. That's her entire day of milk intake. You can try.

Speaking of trying food. Today I let YT tried bread dipped in curry. She is actually not afraid and show no sign that it is spicy and wanted more!

Now watching CH8 charity show...broke down afew times. Realli feel heartache for those children who became orphans overnite.

Baby Girl: Wha the LSS order comes up to $246.10 for the order.. will kena GST a not?

QQ: how much was ur total for ur last ON order,. the one that avoided GST by $0.05?

YY,

Yar lor, my students also said tat. But hor, I think wiki is perfectly legitimate. So far, i look at the science stuffs, have yet to find inaccurate stuffs. There are incomplete entries yar but I din see any inaccurate ones.

QQ: try adding milk into her food? dun be too concerend with actual drinking part. teng also like that. he is also not yet 18 mths leh.. worse! whole day drinking is less than 300ml!!!.. so i pump him on yogurt and chease.. and add milk into everything and anything!.. iron i not so worry. coz i take care of than for lunch.. just pure iron, no milk. then dinner and all snacks all milk and calcium based.. bread with cheese.. and such..

use milk based,, baked rice with her FM milk and chease with yogurt?! like that sure power. the calcium :p and so nice. no milk colour.. add some crunch to it tian might like?
try baked rice (brown) with tuna.. (includes some yogurt).. very nice
if got time. i cook some for teng.. and give a portion to tian and try?

SQ,

Do Ye like to drink it?

QQ,

Forgot to say, I told you already right, last time I hold Tian to help her into the coupe car, I only hold her arm nia I can feel the difference. So dun worry lar, she is of good weight and density.

SQ: We gave Isomil. Well.. cos it was at abt the same time when she has mucuos and couldn't recover. Dr Low said to change her milk to soy-based. SO we started on Isomil lor.

QQ, sorrie i was bz over sat...still nid to post the pic for mickeymouse??

mickeymouse, y u lelong ur shorts? too big?

Looks like im overfeeding ah bian?? He still nids to drink abt 600ml of milk per day leh....ok anot?? My dad complains he looks skinny but i told him once rch 1yr, wgt will stagnant mah. I shld hope he grow taller. haha!!

baby Girl: no.. u miscaluated for my medium weekender. price should be $88 (before disc) instead of $56 as indicated in ur table to carol. ya this is including domestic shipping.. very close leh.. i quite worried. Cos our total after discount is already $234 and ground shipping is $12.50.

SQ,

Haha, at least it helps a bit in YT's case but she won't drink if it is all choco either. Must mix. I dunno also, could be because she is teething or recovering from her illness, nowadays, she guai guai drink milk.

baby girl: what is the exchange rate now.
Hey do i need to submit my invoice to borderlinx? i need to email them, exactly as how it is with vpost?