(2007/02) February

Gig - my mum said if my legs get water retention so early, hw to last till CNY? Cos I kip telling mum I want piglet, then she said talk to bb lor. I onyl hv slight, bt these fw nights I will start to b more diligent in massaging my feet, hopefully it will subside. I also dunno if it's partly due to I walk alot & walk very fast.

Koh - my hb is a regular, same as Stella, they are rather ok in taking leave one cos they hv to clear no matter wat also. Besides those 2wks are his 06 AL. Luckily I m only delivering nx yr, then he'd hv completed his course, doesn't need to use it for exams anymore.

Cook? Y nt u order confinement food? Cook + look after is gng to b very tedious leh. Besides the costs of buying food during CNY is almost equivalent to ordering a meal alone. I m gng to order just lunch then reheat & eat for dinner. Then buy milk powder & drink lor. I also wanna save on food during tis time.

Koh..hey glad u are doing ok..my gynae says cramps are normal still..dont worry..if u are not having excessive discharge it shouldnt be serious either..

Ya lor..so much! But her tummy not so big leh..n her gynae said her baby girl is not very big..normal size n weight..so its her own extra weight she put on herself..well she eats a lot..she doesnt control..but her BP n glucose is normal leh..

My weight gain was very slow also..My gynae say ok in 1st trimester, n told me to put on more for 2nd tri..1st half of 2nd tri I only put on another 1 kg..he say still ok..then I tried to put on more lah..so now I already put on about 5-6kg. BUT..i lost 3kg when I was in hospital..so now must gain that back.

Ya u should aim to gain at least 1/2 kg a week..so around at least 2kg a month..that's to meet the 10-12kg by 36 weeks..my gynae say gain 12-15kg..but I aiming to gain only 10-12kg the most, according to some books that range is ok also..I find 15kg too much leh..

Koh, will ur bb a Sporean? By asking u to go back work after 2 months will mean that the company need to compensate you 1 month salary, rite? Meaning ur existing 1 month + 1 month = 2 months! That's what we did for our account staff. She came back to work third month, so we compensate her.

AH ger

my hb works rotating shift mah.(12 hr kind) so he officially works only 3-4 days per week, so if he takes 2 weeks AL plus his own off days, altogether he gets one mth off work lor

smurfy
maybe u r rite lor... but i think he feel streeful ... anyway if he is at home also cant help mi anything... but i scared at home alone with baby...

ah ger,
my hubby say he cannot afford to order confinement food for mi, so i got to cook myself... but i don know how to cook... haa.. anyway.. my first preg also pass like this... i only know how to cook maggie mee.... heehee... but whole month confinement eat maggie mee not so good and healthy hor... maybe like u lor, buy milk.. but i will buy milo instead..

charis,

i also think like u, 10-12 kg is enough for mi... like that losing weight after delivery will be more easier for mi.. but i think my first mth will be quite tiring for mi, so losing weight will be no prob....

i think i will not BF my baby.. cause i don know how to cook confinement food, den no nutrient for my baby leh... Formula will be better for my nany, but expenses higher...

jas,

i also hope he will compensate mi... u know he say he will use part of my salary during maternity to pay for part timer salary...
my baby will not be s'porean... should be m'sian.. because we cannot afford to support them here, after disscussion, we decide to leave all our kids there.. financially can cope mah... no choice loh...

Charis - I think u meant to say DO cut dwn & nt DUN cut dwn.

Koh - my coll also put on very little bt by due she put on 12kg. 3rd tri is the nightmare. My coll jus said I seem to hv remained stagnant on my weight, I din put on. I said my scale has bn gng up!!!!!

Smurfy - oh, my hb's in diff situation as urs. Cos he's a regular so he has to utilise the AL no matter wat. The AL tat he's using is 06's nt 07's, so even if he doesn't use them he also can't bring over to 08.

charis,

u are in how many weeks now? I'm 26 weeks this week. sometimes can feel bb movement quite alot of times in a day. some days like last two days he's very quiet so i got a bit worried. though i sayang my stomach and shake it a little bit, he still wont move.

Can feel more of his movement today so abit more relieve.

Now i still dont feel strong kicks from him yet. but sometimes can seek the stomach moving when his movements are bigger.

when bb gets better, ya u will sometimes experience pain when he kick or punch too hard. sometimes u will also find your tummy shape looks funny like tilt to one side cos of the bb position. Certain positions will definitely make u feel more uncomfortable.

Ah ger..no I mean salt dont cut down..pregnant women must make sure they dont reduce their salt intake too much..seriously..I checked with my gynae..n also Miriam Stoppard's book mentioned this too..

koh, if sporean bb then the company will need to compensate u, else difficult... My bb will be a msian too. Have not checked wif my boss whether can give me 3 months ML. Hope he approve thoh during confinement still need to work from home.

I admire ur courage and determination. Sure soon you will be "һԲ"(yi jia tuan yuan) Cheers!!!

Starlite..should be ok..r u having enough food? Cos i notice when I had too little to eat, baby is less active.

My baby also same, my hubby shake shake, say hello, he didnt move, but he'll move later..I tink shy lah..hahaha..

ANyway, coming back to yr issue..26 weeks baby's mvmts are still not strong..my gynae said 7months when baby start laying down fat then the mvmts will be very obvious.

Im 24 weeks, this week. Still cant feel kicks yet..jus 'bubbles', only stronger than in 20 weeks.

Last nite i sing to my bb at the same time tap my tummy lightly to the rhythm. Then my bb is like kicking here and there as if follow my tapping! Then when i stop, she also stop. To9 gonna try again.

Stella, my hb used to b on shift, either 8 - 5.30 or 3 - 11p, bt ever since they implement the 5 days wk week, he's strictly on morning shift. bt then once a mth he will do over-night duty.

Stella - so ur hb will b off for 1 mth arh? Hmm......... I also dun wan hb to take so long, save his AL for something else the nx time when we really need.

Koh - las time hw did u pass ur confinement? My mum said can cook mee sua. Wat u can do is, buy sliced fish, then buy those Know or Maggie cubes (no MSG one), then u cook it as maggie mee lor. Add sesame oil, cos I heard during confinement is a must-hv for sesame oil.

Then my gf's mum told me, to buy chkn then marinate w/ dark soya sauce + sesame oil then just put it over steamer & steam it. Same goes for fish. The oilier the fish is, the better it is for breastfeeding, so she had alot of salmon & cod fish soup.

Milo - nt as much calcium leh, drink the AnMum kind meant for breastfeeding will b better cos it supplies u w/ more calcium esp when u breastfeed. U will breastfeed ur bb right? So u must take more if nt bb snatch ur calcium then end up nx time u will hv weak bones due to lack of calcium. Anyway Milo can b a subsitute like when u r hungry bt my coll advises me to drink a glass of AnMum everytime after 1 breastfeeding session.

Koh - mum said my sis's gynae gave her sme suppls to help boost up during breastfeeding to give extra nutrients. U can perhaps ask ur gynae for more details during ur nx visit. Then formula-fed bbs I heard, they r nt as strong as bf bbs leh. In terms of immunity. Nt say they r weak, bt then when touchwood when bb falls sick, they tend to take longer period to recover.

10 - 12kg. Ha ha ha, I think I can nv maintain tat cos I m already 8kg so far. Sobs.....

Charis - dun cut dwn bt then dun increase right? Cos when u said DUN cut dwn, ppl may think we shld increase the intake.

Bt I tot salt is usually part of the reason for water retention?

Koh - I dun understand, wat do u mean by he wil use part of ur salary for the p/t salary? If u r given 2mths of maternity leave, then u shd b paid 2mths full right? Hw can he tkae part of ur salry to pay the p/t? Since u r the victim, y nt u call MOM & clarify? Rather than we here, so nt professionals who may give u wrong info. Ha ha ha.....

Charis - try to tap tap ur tummy @ times, @ c if ur bb responds to u? Tis morning while I was applying the cream, I sang song to bb. Ha ha ha.... I sang the gd morning song to him. Bt he also has no response leh.
Then night time if I hv the time I will play my CDs & let him listen, otherwise, I wil just play the Canon in D frm my hp & let him listen. :p

Oh, actually we dun hv to buy those exp CDs frm Mothercare. I think popular bkshops they hv those pirated CDs, all very cheap like 3 for $5 or so. Of cos nt original singers lah. Then u can play for them to listen. All are the childresn' songs like twinkle twinkle, or baa baa blakc sheep & etc. I saw once bt din buy. regretted.

Starlite
@ certain days I also dun feel bb's movements so when I realised that, it was @ night. So I will tok to bb, saying I din feel his movements today, then I try to tap my tummy more, hopefully he'll respond.

Bt I realise esp after my meal, he's super active. Ha ha ha, guess he has 2 much energy to spare so he wanna exercise abit.

Ah ger..so good hor, ur hb works fixed hrs now. rotating shift is very tiring.. mine works 12hr morning,12 hr night and off for next two days.

yup he take 14 days AL and 3 days paternity leave. well i also dunno whether he can "tong" for one mth or not, hope he can loh..wait & see

Stella - actually hv pros & cons lah. Bt anyway when he wks shift, it's like 1 wk am 1 wk pm bt sometimes will mix. He arh, I rather he wks am shift. When he wks pm shift, his bunch of mj kakis will ask him to play mj leh! They they will start frm 11+pm till wee hrs like 4 - 5am. @ least nw when he's on am shift, he can only play on Fri when he's back frm his class.

i'm finally back from all my classes and lunch...

Smurfy/ Jas: Took those photos at the beginning of the year. I am 24 and hb 28... our wedding photos were taken 4 years ago. Can only share them when i get back to sg.

Ah ger: my boy, we call him meow meow cos his real name is Melvrick. And now, when you ask him what's his name, he would say meow meow. As for my daughter, her name is merredith, chinese name Meng Faye, so MF for initials. When i was thinking of a nickname for her, Miffy just came to mind and it stuck.

Bellepepper: I made pp for both my kids at nearly 2mths old. Took the photos at the ICA. They would prop the bb up in the bumbo seat and so you just have to support her head. Did my own biometric pp when i went back in september. We have to input our thumbprints. I'm not sure how to go about doing that for a bb. But for signatures, we were told to leave it empty.

Koh: How come you only have 2 months ML?

Stella/ Ah ger: what line are your Hbs in? How come they have to work shifts one? 12hrs somemore. Previously my hb also in airforce and though he had to work shifts, his time seems pretty flexible as in he would pick me up always regardless.

All of you: I think I put on the most weight amongst all of you. I already put on like 13kg. ARGHH.... can't imagine when I'm week36. I'm only 24wks now. And I still have to drink some coffee every morning.

Koh..dont worry about not having enough nutrients if u dont eat confinement food..cos breast milk has enough good nutrients n antibodies for baby..U should still try to bf..remember ang mohs also dont do confinement, n they still bf right..Jus make sure u eating well, n maybe u can try drinking milk too..I heard eating lots of fish, will help to improve bf quality n flow.

Ah ger..yup i did tap my tummy..baby respond sometimes..music wise he doesnt respond by kicking or moving..instead i think he falls asleep..haha.

Salt intake-dont decrease..but if those who dont take salt at all..better make sure u have some salt in yr food..of cos dont increase so much, moderation..u see..cos some ppl think they should not have salt at all..

most of us eating outside, so will have alot of salt intake. me instead worry abt the high salt intake from outside foods. :x

ah ger,

ur receipe looks so yummy... hee hee... thanx for teaching mi how to cook... i have written it down on my notebook liao... hopefully can do better confinement for myself this time... last time i pass my confinement by eating milo and biscuit in late morning den eat maggie mee for dinner... everyday like that loh.. only the 3rd week onwards, sometime buy chicken rice den hubby will but fillet-o-fish to reward me... haha... i think my confinement like normal days leh... i still go out... but u are rite that calcium is very very important... like now.. my body so weak to carry my baby... here pain there pain... teeth also bleeds for nothing... really lack of calcium.. milk ? i really cannot... i will immediately vomit everything out once i taste milk...
u know my mum says last time i drink soya milk when i am a baby... from baby i don like milk... once taste a bit of milk, vomit liao... so lousy...

mag, as jas says i only can have 2 months ML since my baby is going to be m'sian... initially i don know, my boss also don know.. so we both thought ML is 3 mths, he says office no people , i can onli take 2 months, then now jas remind mi of citizenship, den i got to know that unless baby is s'porean, if not we are not entitled for the 3rd month ML...

Koh, you shouldn't give up on breastfeeding before you start leh. Your nutrient intake is not directly linked to the nutrition in your breastmilk. Your breastmilk will still be full of antibodies, and the exact correct amount of nutrients that your bb needs. Remember... formula costs a bomb! The amt of time you spend washing and stirilising bottles instead of direct breastfeeding can be used to prepare yourself very simple nutritious meals. I'm sure many of us here would be very happy to offer you simple recipes that don't take much time yet are tasty for you.
Think of your bb's health... breastmilk is best
. Formula is a lot of chemicals (not really milk at all). Pardon my breastfeeding enthusiasm

Smurfy..in that case..the salt intake should be sufficient if u eat outside often..then to moderate this in case u are taking too much, then drink more water..as in plain water.

Ah ger..ya interestingly, too much salt will contribute to water retention..but too little will also contribute to water retention..esp for preggies..that's wat i read..

Too little salt can also cause muscle cramps..

PVL,

actually i wanted to BF my baby.. but can i? am i up to it? i don know leh... i feel like my body got nothing to give the baby... maybe i should listen to all of u here.. i will try to BF my baby... i can only BF her for 2 months , as will send her to m'sia after 2 mths... but 2 mths of BF then sudden change to formula will be quite difficult for baby right?

charis, ah ger,

i also not sure whether is it becos i eating too little. Yesterday night i ate steamboat dinner at my sil place. Quite yummy and after that, my bb move quite alot....i scare its the high sugar that cause him to be hyperactive. :p

From morning till now, he still quite active....just now i took brown rice fish porridge for lunch...while eating, can feel him kicking all the way...

Talking about eating oily fish, i had been cooking cod fish brown rice porridge for lunch almost every sat. will normally cook for the whole family which include my son and hubby. My son likes the porridge very much...he will normally eat the cod fish skin as well which i dont...

I think it shd be quite a healthy food hor? Cos pple always said cod fish oil is good for brain...im also hoping it will help with my milk supply when bb is borned.

anyone got other healthy recipe to share?

mag, wow... you got a pair of beautiful kids.
I also cant stop drinking coffee this time round leh. Sigh....

Charis, that day I just discussed with my hb if want to circumcised our bb or not. But we decide not to...

Ah ger, I think walk too much will cause legs to be swollen also. I also think ordering confinement food easier if want to do cf ourself.

Starlite, my bb will kick whenever I sing "Twinkle, twinkle, little star" to my gal every nite.

koh, I think Ah ger gave you really good advice on bfg and cf food. I still think that bf is still the best lor. Those ang mohs also bf their bb though they dont take cf food mah. I just switch my gal to fm when I weaned her off leh. Guess it all depends on individual lah.

Oopps.. Koh, sorry i dunno u dunno abt the 2 mths ML for non-Sporean bb. Since ur boss doesn't know, dun tell him lah and see whether he will change his mind and give u 3 months or not.

Think cf is more for the mummy so not necessary no cf then u do not have enuf nutrient to bf ur bb. Bf is natural food for bb way before there is powder milk, so ya, u shd try to bf ur bb.

bac frm lunch then was clearing some wk.

Mag - ur kids' names are unique.

My hb is a regular in the govt sector.

Mag - my coll kept consoling me, she put on 12kg during 1st tri & full term she put on 24kg!

Charis - music arh, so far I haben had any response, shall monitor the nx fw days/ wks. :p

Yes, I agree, ang mohs also bf, 1 of my coll here bf for 6mths leh - she's an ang moh.

Koh - actually I dunno hw to cook also, those are simple recipes my gf's mum told me when I went to her gal's 1st b/day las wk. Since it's so simple, I can rem it clearly.

Hmm................... I guess u can't stand the milk smell is it? They hv choc-flavoured also leh. If nt wat u can do is buy a tine of AnMum Breastfeeding, then buy another tin of Milo powder. So when u make urself a cup of milk, u pour 1 - 2 spoonfuls, so u hv some Milo taste. Just by drinking Milo, will also make ur body heaty leh.

Koh - take bread w/ cheese to add on ur calcium, then also yoghurt. If u dun like plain ones like me, then take those w/ fruits.

Starlite - brown rice is very gd! High in fibre also. Mum has bn cooking unpolished rice porridge whenever I go back. Even if I dun wanna eat too much of the grains, shld @ least drink the water.

My coll taught me yest, b it white rice porridge or brown rice porridge, use the water to make milk for the kid instead. it is very healthy.

Charis - too little will cause muscle cramps? Then could it be my leg cramp is due to shortage of salt intake? Bt then can't b leh, cos we take outside food everyday.

Gig - all my advices are heard frm ppl lah, so just share w/ all the ppl here lor. I also wanan cut dwn as much budget as possible, so I guess those are the ways. I cna't b scrimping on cf food bt yet end up spending on formulae milk. BF is the best way to save $$ during the fw mths. Bt BF needs alot of determination & I hope I can do tat, b it latch on or expressing out.

Koh, hmmmm. After 2 months you're going to send bb away? Aiyoh! So sad!!!! Are you sure you can bear it? Anyhow, you can start pumping after about a month, when the supply is more established. Then partial bottle feed. During 2nd month, can introduce formula gradually. At least you gave your bb the best even for a short time. Sounds like your situation quite difficult.

Wah..so many postings. Need to catch up. Since you all are talking about food. I came across an article today with regard to rice. The title of the article is very catchy (at least to me) Why rice is worse than sugar?. Have a read on the article and its quite shocking to know the facts..

mime_msword.gif
Why rice is worse than sugar
Why rice is worse than sugar.doc (41.5 k)</td></tr></table></center>

best if can formula + BF lor, then still can hv the nutrients. My coll said she stores her breastmilk in the freezer, can kip for up to a mth bt the freezer musn't b always open/ close.

Ah ger: according to Mrs Wong and gang, breastmilk can be kept in the freezer for up to 6mths. What i did then was put the milk into bags and then labeled them with date and times to be sure i use the old ones first.

Regulars are good what. My hb kindda missed his days in the airforce. He was able to hve flexible time but now, he has to work late and pay wise, government sector still pays better lor.

Just had my 6 month visit at gynae and bad news, sugar was a little high so at my 7 month visit, I need to do the GTT. ARRGGGGHHHHHHH.. so sad
Gotta fast and then kena poked 3 times.. hope I don't faint. Anyway, thankfully baby is doing well - at slightly under 24 wks, she's 625g and I've put on 1.5kg in total.

My hb is a regular in the army.. sometimes his hours are so horrible. Anyway, he's got 40+ days of leave to clear, even after selling away his max already so yeah, having him around for 2 wks would be great. Definitely gg to cater as cooking is very time consuming and my mom will be busy with my son, don't want her to over strain herself. But for me, I think I will only take confinement food for 2 wks 'cos I honestly don't really believe in true blue confinement lor. :p

koh, I think you should just try to bf your baby as much as you can before bb goes to M'sia.. at least some breast milk is better than nothing, especially the colostrum just after delivery.

When I finally weaned Timothy off the breast at 10 months, I nearly fainted from the price of formula!! *faint*

Giggler, I didn't bring Timothy to the gynae earlier 'cos I was scared he would freak out but he was quite happy today lah.

Mag, is it? Cos I ask my coll she said 1mth. I told my mum, she already said 1mth like nt so fresh already, let alone 6mths. funny right?

Regulars r gd in the past bt nt nw anymore. Govt no longer wanna kip old birds cos they r more exp.

Catz, so u hv to cut dwn on carbs like rice, noodles &amp; juices? Cos all these hv sugar. Then wat can u eat?

Btw, wana ask u gals, is sugar found in fruits healthier than normal sugar? Cos I take alot of fruits, I m a super fruit lover. bt then after hearing all these sugar level high (though I dun take dessert), I m beginning worry also.

My FIL has abit of high sugar level, &amp; he was told to take max 2 slices of watermelon &amp; max 2 apples per day. Rice, beehoon, noodles, soft drinks &amp; his dessert all must cut dwn.

Catz - u r gng to order only 2wks of cf food? which means during the 2 critical wks only? After tat wat r u gng to take? I was thinking if I really deliver b4 CNY, then I will miss 4 days of cf food &amp; they will replc. Which means to say by the time I rch 1mth, I will still b eating 4 days of cf food leh. So sick of the food by then.

koh,
breast milk contains antibodies that formulae milk dun have.

mummies2b,
some newspapers articles r meant to be read with a pinch of salt. usually they just leave the other side of the story out

catz,
what test did u do to knw ur sugar is on the high side?

ah ger,
i only know that fruits sugar is frutose, which is more easily digested and absorbed by the body as compared to glucose which is found in sugars.
btw, do u have the menu from Neo Garens? where to get it frm?

Starlite - I think 3wks b4 CNY will start to hike up, then as date draws closer to CNY, the higher the price will b.

tats y mum usually buy already then kip all in the freezer.

if u say 1wk b4 CNY, I think most of the food all snatched up already.

Smurfy - u can go to their website www.neogardens.com.sg, they hv their confinement catering menu inside. I printed a copy then kip @ hme, then slowly decide when I wanna try their trial set.

Wah........ seems like me promoting for Neo. ha ha ha........

Thks for the info on frutose, I will ask gynae nx Sat.

Hmm, wonder wat happen to CK leh, so many days din c her already.

Starlite..hehe..there u see after meals usually baby more active..SUgar does wake baby up, so does lying on the side..if u walk around, usually baby sleeps..

Giggler..why u considered circumcision? For us we doing it cos to obey the command in bible to do that for male babies. Circumcision is also beneficial in terms of hygiene.

Mummy2b..yup that's wat I heard too..white rice is esp bad for diabetics..My hb's family totally convert to brown rice for 1 year now already..we only have white rice once in a while, n when eat outside, or at my parents' plc. SO i eat brown rice all the time, lunch n dinner..we dont eat white bread either, only wholegrain.

But i also read that, should eat refined carbo once in a while, cos food such as white bread has extra nutrients added that wholegrain may lack..also the body cant take too much 'pure' food.

JC..cut down on white rice..but if have GD, should cut down a lot more on rice..subsitute with complex carbo like brown rice, oat, wholegrain stuff..

me all along also dun like rice, I rather take unpolished rice which is healthier cos high in fibre. Gd for ppl like me, if nt I think dunno can visit toilet once a wk or nt. Ha ha ha......