(2007/02) February

smurfy, I look forward to receiving hand-me-down esp for big items like cot, playpen etc. Breast pump wise, I will reject cos I think that is a very personal item and I will get new one. For the cot, all u need is to get new mattress for your baby and it will be good enough. Too bad, I dun have much of such offers, only my hb's aunt said she will pack some baby's clothes for me.

Gig, yes, more relieved now that baby is growing well cos initially I was worried when I didnt put on weight at all. Now in total, I have put on about 5kg since pregnancy.

JC, I will send you the link later. those are only snippets of AD, havent put up the studio pics yet.

Hi Giggler, Belle & Smurfy,
Me did not take the medicine to curb the vomiting coz I dun want to keep on relying on the medicine leh. so bad hor...already in this state and still vomit...
will be seeing my gynae this sat but i think he will only ask me to eat those pills again!

Hey Cheeryale,
send me your pic too leh! [email protected] I have almost finish uploading mine to share with you gals...

Smurfy - I do agree exps r running high. So I was glad that my gf is lending me the cot & I m having a free pram. Also, hb just told me, his coll is giving us a playmat, cos he has an extra brand new one.

As for car seat, BIL has it, so we r nt buying. Will chk w/ him if his can convert to infant seat or nt.

I wun b getting breast pump yet cos I m nt sure if I hv the demand or supply or nt. If really need it then I will buy. We r also deciding if we r getting steriliser cos it's rather exp.

Yest went to Metro, Kiddy Palace & Tom & Stefanie to chk out pricing. All places sell the same price. Bt I supp if u hv Kiddy or Metro card, u canenjoy the discount. OG may sell also.

I also chk out on bibs, mittens & booties or soft hat pricing. T&S sells those 1 full set - tat means the hat, botties & mittens for abt $5.90, which is cheaper than u buy separates. Kiddy Palace I chk was for socks was abt $12.90 or $15.90 for 6 pairs. then mittens are abt $1.90 per pair.

Smurfy - I've also attached a list Gig has given us las time. Then yest I did some chks, so I will update my list.

Once done then I will attach here & share w/ u gals.

talk abt putting on wt. My las visit vs tis Mon visit, I put on 1.1kg. Gynae say it's ok. Overall I've put on 7.1kg already. Fast hor? Scary also. ha ha ha....

Doggy - hv u tried using any other food to curb ur MS? Like I mentioned las time I used fruits then sour plums when necessary? Then when @ hme, I took the pills bt I try to avoid as much as possible.

I hv nt heard of any pass down clothes frm anybody yet. bt it's ok, I will just wait for the right time to go & buy them. Wun buy alot since bb will b @ mum's hse then he can share my niece's newborn clothes, all unisex cols anyway. Just buy some go-out clothes can le bah.

JC, wow... your bb stuff really value for money since they are shared among 6 bb!

Ah ger, hahaha... that's not your intentions rite? You'd rather bb come out later to be piggy bb rite? Me waiting for my fren to pass me bb's clothings too. I'll only buy if no one pass me any clothings by the end of the yr.

cherryale, cant compare our wt gain with bb's. That time, I only put on 8kg but bb came out to be 3kg, whereas my fren put on 20kg but bb weighed less than 3kg.

doggy, take the med if you really cant take it lor. Since the gynae prescribed the med means it's safe lah.

Cherryale... FYI, I've already put on like 13kg so far. Oh dear!

Any of you decided which brand of breast pump you wanna buy? If you are decided on breastfeeding, then better get one on standby cos I think it really helped me establish my supply. For my son, i didn't pump until much later, and by that time, my supply has already dropped drastically. Too late to save. For my daughter, since I already had a pump from my son's days, I started pumping once i left the hospital and my supply increased slowly. My daughter refused to be latched on directly so very headache also. Now thinking how to latch on bb and still pump, increase and maintain supply.

As for steriliser, we kindda came to a conclusion that the good old way (boiling bottles in a pot of hot water) is better cos it removes the oil (from breast milk) and the smell of milk. I had a steam steriliser too but there would be a smell there. So ultimately, we still had to sterilise the bottles the old way.

Giggler... you are really small size and must have controlled yourself really well to only put on 8kg throughout the whole preggie. For my no.1, i ballooned 25kg, and my daughter, about 20kg. This one i think should be thereabouts since I've already put on so much. ARGHH!!! All i had to do was eat proper meals and i started putting on weight like nobody's biz. Aiyo.

thanks for the feedbacks on hands-me-down

ah ger,
looking forward for ur checklist compilation.

doggy
yah, oso agreed with giggler. though it;s best to do without any kinds of medication right now. but if really u cannot take it, what the gynae prescibe shld still be safe. though what u eat now directly affects bb, mother's quality of life is equally impt during this period.

Gig, wow, you are so lucky. Only put on 8 kg and baby is 3kg, plus water and all, end up you dun have much weight to lose after giving birth. How much weight have you put on for this pregnancy?

RE: Breast pump
I got Ameda pump, I find it good and not as exp as Medela PIS. Also have one Avent manual pump. I agree to have a good breast pump to standby. I rem I got engorgement on my 5th day and luckily I got the Avent manual pump that time. So my advice is to get the Avent manual pump if there's budget constraint. That is, cheap and good, in my opinion.

mag, I'm belong to the big build so wt incr doesnt need to be big. Whereas usu those small build need to put on more wt.

cherryale, that's why I managed to shed all my wt within 1-2mths after I gave birth that time. I also had massage lady that time. But not sure if the massage really helped also lor. I put on 5kg so far.

Giggler: I also belong to the big frame. I have really broad shoulders from swimming but really small wrists. Strange huh. How much did u pay for the ameda. That's the one i'm looking at getting too. My mini electrics are very noisy and the suction isn't very good. Anyway, i think they are going to break down soon from all my previous heavy duty pumping.

Any of you decided on your massage lady yet? I'm worried sick about losing weight.

Any of you know anything about taking daily vitamin C? I have been taking vitc but haven't consulted the doctor.

Stella and Cherryale, thanks for your lovely photos! They are very nice!!!

Stella, u so young and look very much alike ur mum!

Cherryale, so petite and slim are u, and u look very young too! Love ur wedding gown.

Cheeryale, ur bb is growing fast! 1 month increased by > 500g!!! And yet ur weight increase only so little. I hope my bb is growing well too as seems like she is the smallest one in term of weight here.

mag, ya, my hubby is joining his new company today in Hainan. Quite worried on him as this is his first trip to China and a lot of uncertainties... Hope it is a right career move. He will be station in Spore but for the beginning will travel to China often. How far is Guangzhou to Shanghai? I find it more convenient and cheaper to go by train if the distance not too far. That time i travel by train from Suzhou to Shanghai, only cost about RMB28 and took about 1 hour. The train is new and comfortable.

mag, u gained quite a lot of weight in ur previous pregnancy but managed to shed the weight ya? Is the massage really useful?

doggie, better seek doctor's opinion. Cld be due to certain food which result in ur vomiting?

bac frm lunch! Had a very filling lunch cos hungry.

Went to Surf & Turf @ Suntec. Nice food & their set lunches are reasonably priced. Frm $9.90 onwards, u get a soup + main (salad or meat) + drink. Then their soup is very big bowl + real ingredients inside then nt diluted also. Nice!

Gig - yeah lah, I told hb already, go & collect APs inadvance for me! wahahahahaha.......... I told gynae I've bn talking to bb to cme out late, dunno he will listen to me or nt.

As for wt, nt exactly u put on more then bb will b heavy also. It really depends whether u or bb is the one absorbing. I guess it's very much dependent on wat u take also. Nutritious stuff I guess bb will absorb, bt snacks like tidbits perhaps will just go to mummy.

Smurfy - yes, I will try to do them these fw days if I hv the time. Came bac frm super long hols alot of things to catch up b4 the new mth starts again nx wk!

As for massage - infact it is more for reducing the wind in the stomach, nt so much for shedding off wt. Bt I guess if u hv lesser wind, it naturally leads to lesser wt in ur body?

jas... i think it takes slightly more than 2hrs from GZ to Shanghai. But hubby coming back today already so very happy. Ha... now have o figure out how to drive from home to airport.
The massage is good for water retention and wind, perhaps a little fat reduction, but for me, i didn't do it continuously for 8days the last time. It was during Hari Raya so the lady only came before and after so...
This time, i even made sure my indonesian maid knows how to wrap using the bengkung so she can wrap me up after my afternoon shower. I used to wear it for only 8hrs a day. Hope it would work better....

mag, I paid abt $240 for the Ameda but that's 2yrs ago. With the Euro gg up, think it's much more ex now. I heard that Medela mini elec is not good. If you got money, shd get the Medela PIS. Hahaha... you still haven decide on massage lady also? Me too!!! Seems like only 2 of us more concerned abt massage lady hor? I taking multi-vits from gynae so didnt take extra VitC.

Ah ger, hahaha... you better talk to bb from now leh. LOL... At least your gynae willing to let you delay till CNY period rite? Cos some gynae will want to induce you once you late by 1-2days, I think. Ya, even if bb comes out early, we cant bring him out to collect APs also mah... LOL
Abt bb absorbing nutrients, it very much depend on the condition of our placenta also, I think. Massage can help to reduce wind and blood circulation which help to reduce not only wt but also our tummy, I guess. Not just the massage lah, the binding also helps. So got to find good massage lady lor.

mag, I dun dare to take off the binder leh... Hahaha...
I only take off when the massage lady came the next day, very ks. Even before the massage, I wore my own abdominal binder. It's very helpful as I had c-section and it made my movement easier.

Gig - hv arh, I kip telling bb, cme out after 18 - 19, @ least I m nt so lonely @ hme.

No lah, no need to bring him out, ppl know u give birth already naturally will pass APs to u one. Even if they can't c me, @ least they c PILs mah. Ha ha ha.....

My gynae says if late then hv to monitor very closely, just incase bb shit.

If I m nt having c-sect, then I think chances of me getting a massage lady is there! Cos I anticipate I will hv alot of wind inside & also water retention.

Haben thought of the massage lady yet, when shld we call & pre-book?

Giggler, I couldn't tahan the smell, heat and stickiness so I had to bathe!
I super kiasu... dr already given me multivit, calcium, omega 3, and I'm still taking vitc on my own. It's easy to catch a flu in Guangzhou due to the unpredictable weather so better. Last year when I first got here, I caught a flu every month. It was awful.

Ah ger, i have been telling my bb to come out after CNY too, after i have enjoyed my favourite ba kuah. Haha... Hope she a good gal and listen to mummy...

Bb has been kicking real hard and more often nowadays, especially after i had cold stuff like ice cream or while watching dvd.

My big boss finally found out i am pregnant! He asked me to exercise more and even helped me carry heavy stuff and open car door this morning. A very fatherly boss...

Ah ger, hahaha... then you must also add and tell bb to be obedient bb and listen to you... LOL. My relatives dun have the practise of passing APs one. They only give you in person, no AP if you not there. What makes you think that c-section wont have wind and water retention? Think c-section got more wind cos the doc opened up your tummy leh. Got to pre-book massage lady now esp those popular ones. Then call them again after you deliver.

mag, I was not allowed to bathe cos I was under close monitor of my mil that time. Wow... you taking lots of supplements leh. Hehehe.

Jas - me no lover of bak kwa, I like the mini spring rolls.
Bt most impt is, I dun wanna b left @ hme doing nothing.

My bb arh, kick non-stop everytime. Esp Mon night when I stayed up real late cos hb @ fren's hse playing MJ. then bb also bz somersaulting cos I can feel nt kicking bt then those tossing movements. Ha ha ha...... I stayed up till abt 4am, then bb was still moving @ 3+. Hb said outside so noisy then bb is so excited, hw to slp? *faint*

Gig - adults of cos they dun bother bt then kids usually they will lor. Bt anyway, their APs also nt say super big, hv or dun hv also nvm one lah.

No no no, u got me wrong. I meant to say if I c-sect then I may nt b able to hv the massage lady so early. Or dunno if I m suitable to hv massage after tat or nt.

Good morning gals

so sorry i was not able to log in yesterday

i will send the links of my photos tonight.

smurfy,

regarding hand me downs, no need to feel paiseh to get from others. BB things are so expensive, i save whenever i can. So i am more than willing to take if people offer.

Jas,

I look like my mum meh? think i look more like dad.

ah ger,

I also noticed that my bb moves more at night, sometimes even when i am sleeping, can feel slight movements. its good to have active bb,at least we can be assured.

cherrydale/giggler,

my bb is so lightweighted..so worried that she is not getting enuff nutrient. Does the size of our bb got to do with our own birth weight as well? cos me & hb are small bb, abt 5 pounds only.

Stella

I m still trying to monitor & observe bb's movements. Usually early in the morning, then afternoon, then late night. Other than that I supposed bb is sleeping bah.......

Like yest, I din notice his movemments, then I told him "mama din feel ur kicks 2day, give mama a kick" shortly after, I guess he has just digested his milk or watever food inside, then he moved a little. @ least I know he is still safe & sound. Ha ha ha......

Stella - I read frm the bk, if both parents are small build, chances of the bb following is high. However that does not mean small builds will not have big babies.

hi hi ladies,

i'm back ... from 2 exams ...
one more to go ..
and tat's it for this semester ...

stella,

i din get your pic ..
can send to me as well ? [email protected]

catz,

u r sooo fair ...
and your complexion really smooth smooth ..
no wonder u wanna go for face treatment ..
your hubby really dun look like chinese ..
soo tan and dark ..

cherryale,

you look sweet and nice ..
your wedding gown looks like a design from tan yoong ?

your bb big size ya ...
he he ...

charis,

i think you're the most skinny among us all ..

all pics r so nice ..
i wonder how all of us look like current stage with protruding tummy..
ha ha ..

Thank God, my baby's kidneys have gone down to close to normal levels. I was surprised too. Thanks for praying for me.

My bb should be 24 wks today, and weighs around 800g.

I'll be going to Taiwan with my hb and girl in 4 wks time. My gynae was making jokes about the pretty girls in Taiwan, and told me that I'd better go with my hb to 'prevent AIDS'. The gynae's nurse scolded him. We had a good laugh.

Today, I'm going to be very busy. My Punggol SAHM playgroup is coming this afternoon. So gotta go and clean up the house.

Have a nice day gals!

hi pvl,

great tat bb is fine ..

r u going taiwan via budget airline
or f&e from tour agency ?
i'm planning to go on 10th Nov for roughly 4D3N
i think is going to be pretty cold soon there ..

Stella, dun worry, your baby will grow bigger soon. I am very petite though hb is tall. You can tell from my pics, he is at least 20cm taller than me so hopefully baby takes after daddy. BUT I will be worried if baby gets too big too. One of my colleague's DIL is going to give birth to a 4kg baby, her gynae has told her that she has to go for C-section, so big doesnt mean good.

hi ck,

yes, both gowns are from Tan Yoong. Envy that u can go on a trip soon. I dun know how long I have to wait for my next trip, luckily I went to Japan in Mar.

PVL, your gynae is quite open and daring to make such comments...cos some patients may get offended if not done properly.

Good morning to all... finally we're able to see this thread.

stella, not sure if our bb's birth wt is related to our birth wt or not leh. But dun need to worry too much abt bb's birth wt lah. You can always 'fatten' bb after you give birth. I rem my gal doubled her wt within the 1st mth. From 3.02kg (birth wt) to 6kg.

ck, yaya... I also very curious to see how we look in current state with our tummy.
Really got to take pic of myself asap liao.

PVL, your family gg Taiwan for holidays? Enjoy yourself!!! Thank god that your bb is ok now.

I m also thinking of gng Taiwan leh, bt hb nt keen. He said I dun eat alot of things, go tare waste $$. Besides when preggy must try avoid roadside stalls leh, dunno hw clean/ safe they are.

cherryale,

this year never go anywhere ..
so this is my only chance left for the year ..
but also cause i have limited leave left and hubby is studying also .. so can only go for a short one ..

last year me and hubby always go for bridal shows .. so roughly by guessing .. and looking at bridal mag .. tat's why can guess yours is tan yoong one ..

ah ger,
the competition u were talking rite ..
was it held at raffles the plaza the other time ?
cause last year i remembered i went for the show .. and not sure u r one of the ouple on stage ?

giggler,
he he .. i look much chubbier now .. ha ha ..
current weight already 54kg .. he he ..
i just finished my first tube of elancyl ..
thinking when is the next guardian or JL sale ..
i wanna stock up another 2-3 tubes ..

stella,
i'm also light weight last time .. around 5 pound also ..i guess different bb grow at different rate .. like wat giggler said ..
can fatten after birth ... heh e ..

ah ger,

go there look see ma ..
i never been there before ..
though my mandarin sucks ... ha ha ..

eat first then think about it later ..
taking road stall stuff moderately i guess should be ok ba ..
now i'm looking at hubby's timetable ..
think 10th Nov is good date to go ...

Just back to work from a long weekend. Over slept this morning...hehehe. Cant find this thread this morning.

Thanks to all mummies who have sent me your lovely photos. Ive seen charis, jas, catz, gigler and ah ger. All of you very pretty leh.

Stella and cherryale, can I see your photos too? My email is [email protected]

During the weekend Ive managed to compile some photos (pre-wedd & wedd day). My wedding was a year ago on Oct 2005. Its very simple only lah. Dont expect too much ya.

http://photos.yahoo.com/jovy_ng

mummy2b,

u look much fairer in your wedding pics .. then the shot u took at home ..
nowadays gals r really skinny ..
he he ..

ah ger,
i just realised ...
10th nov .. next day is doc's appointment !
how arr ?
the week before tat .. my hubby gotto do assignment le ..

<font color="aa00aa">hello gals</font>
mia for awhile.......cant seem to get into the forum leh.....so weird..... so bear with me hor... i still scrolling thru the pages of archives...

<font color="0000ff">charis</font>
can i see ur pics also?? [email protected]
thanks thanks!!

i finally upload my pics le... u all can view it at this link:
http://tcgl.shutterfly.com

someone asking abt uploading photos rite? u can try this website: http://www.shutterfly.com
u can share a few albums online for pp to view one..

mummy2be, i love ur wedding gown! A lot of laces and the cutting is simple yet elegant! And oh, u matched with a pearl necklace! I have been finding a pearl necklace to match my wedding gown too, but the real pearl is way too expensive and so in the end I just wear the white gold necklace given by my mum.

Wow all the pics i saw all hourglass figure ones!!!

so envious... me like one big snowball like that.

nana, thanks for sharing ur photos! Ur look elegant on your wedding gown! Wow,u have 2 wedding dinners, must be very tiring... But it's nice to share the joy wif those u love...

jas,
thanks!! yup, got 2 wedding dinners cos my hubby is msian.....so spore dinner together with rom on 22 dec, then kl dinner on 26 dec.... spore one quite relaxed cos only nite time event....kl one very tiring......from morning till nite.... no chance to take a nap in the afternoon even....haha..

jas, have i seen ur photos?? haha.. share share hor...

saphira,
i like ur hairstyle le....looks like fairy... &amp; ur gown very flowy too..... reminds me of arwen in LOTR...keke

catz,
ur wedding looks so grand.....with all the swordbearers.... wow!! ur complexion so nice!!