(2007/02) February

Bitbit..very funny huh..so well "hohoho..Im neither cantonese or hokkien.."

High end..wah u r right..expensive hobby lor..my hobbies are not so ex. My hb also like to sleep n play comp games.

so sian lei, i got a new manager and he like don't noe hw to auto..... ask me to bring this and that to him. can't he see my big balloon!!

Ah ger, my detailed scan is not done by gynae, it is at a clinic in camden. The nurse from my gynae clinic says he will give mc.

Charis, my hb does all kinds but FOC - ROM/wedding pics for friends, children, tour scenaries, insects, birds etc. His quipments are very heavy so I dun really use them. I use my little canon ixus camera. Think my hb gets 2 or 3 days paternal leave but I have also asked him to take AL to be with me esp after the CL has left.

Bitbit, yah, I always say he has expensive hobbies all the items are 4 digits in cost. But one thing good is he can resell his items in the secondhand market and they hold value quite well. Only thing is the car mods, confirmed waste of money esp since we will be selling the current 2 door car after baby is borned.

smurfy, I have been buying flats from DMK, very cheap and comfy. They are round toes flatties. I bought a pair of black sequins flats and its very sweet and matches well with my working clothes. Now I have about 4 pairs from DMK.

Sorry can't help u, mum & MIL did them all.

Sunsweet, black chicken boil with ginger n wolfberries..but not too much ginger. Yummy..then eat with soya sauce n chili padi!

DMK shoes I also hv bt then nt everytime they r comfy leh. I hv a pair comfy bt then the heel dropped out; another pair is ok bt then abit painful. It's so diff for me to get shoes frm DMK.

Mitju - nice shoes bt then nt as comfy.

thanks ah ger, charis, cherryale.
kkekee i think i go check out the bata first, so many branches :D

pekochan,
welcome to the club. me oso got an inconsiderate boss

ah ger,

i bought new one .. so tat my parent new place in malacca get a quilt as well ..
since bb will be there most of time and we will also be going there often ..
so we need some basic stuff there also ..
can't ask my parent to buy for me ma ..
so my room and toilet i incharge lo ..
trying to save up to doll up the room and bathroom also ..

charis,
my hubby also interested in photography ..
but he rarely take pic of me lately ..
before i preggy yes .. he snap and snap ..
now he dun liao le. .
think 2molo i will snap some .. he he ..

smurfy,
i bought mine long time back ..
antonio club the brand .. about 19-29 per pair ..
upper part is leader .. is those slip in type with no heel .. looking for replacement still ..
can try vivie and bata as well ..
but i haven't located vivie shop yet ..

Funny..think baby is doing some dance in my tummy I think..he's moving so much..Im getting nauseous..serious.

Still waiting for hubby n SIL to confirm if we going out today..he didnt arrange yesterday with her..now we must wait for her to come home. Sian..maybe cant go shopping today already..

cherryale,

U like to wear flats ah? Me hor even b4 preg never wear flats. I always wear platfoam or inches, but I dun like the heel type (long and pointed) but I like the Elle heel type, u noe those that are more supportive when walking, eh.. duno how to explain. Tonight I am wearing my this favourite shoes also coz going to the dinner, hopefully can tahan for the nite.

Cherryalse mb need to ask him to cut down abit since now u r having bb already, unless u r rich lah. For me is diff, coz we are not rich, so everythng hv to be very thrifty and think before we buy. Even to hv a good dinner muz see occassion lor, cannot sukat sukat go makan big feast. Also to quote another eg, when there is diaper sales or wat, we will stock up first, we always buy alot and there was once we grab almost 10 packs at one shot. Abit kiasu but alot of savings.

ah ger, u r really
547397.gif
leh, all the cooking done by ur mum & MIL. The last time during my confinement, I am the one cooking for my mum coz she is looking after the baby. If I dun cook, no one is going to.

longan (almondjelly),
I've also been getting constipation since I started my prenatal vits which contains iron and also my calcium tablets. Sometimes when it gets very bad, I just stop my tablets for a day or 2.

Be careful not to "force" else may end up with piles. As for fruits, I always thought bananas were good for constipation, but later on, one of the forum mummies told me it actually causes constipation. So I have stopped bananas now.

Some of the forum mummies/MTBs advice are:
- drink one Yakult or take some unsweetened yoghurt everyday as it helps in replacing the friendly bacteria in our body. For Yakult, choose the "Light" one with less sugar.
- drink prune juice and munch on prunes. I prefer my prunes to be easier digested, so I soak them overnight in a bowl of water in the fridge. It'll plump up nicely the next day.
- Warm honey lemon water works for me too, but I don't take it too often as I'm not sure if honey will be too "liang" for me.
- My latest fav for solving this problem is eating figs and apricots in addition to the lots of fresh fruits and veges I take everyday. Figs has lots of little seeds in it which help provide roughage to move the stuff in our intestines. I soak my figs overnight in water too, for easier digestion. You can find figs at Cold Storage chiller section where they sell dried dates etc. Only $2+ per pack. I know my Indian friends take it during pregnancy as figs are very nutritious. I take 2-3 soaked figs now and bowels have been smooth everyday.
- If you're taking cheese, maybe stop during the constipated days as cheese causes constipation. You can replace cheese with tofu/yoghurt if you need the calcium.
- Last, warm water works for me... you also need lots of water if you're taking the dried fruits.
- Also read in some preggie book that sleeping on left side aids digestion.

Hope it helps!

Ck..she doesnt bring her hp to school..

Yeah..she come back liao..Looks like can go! Good..the walking can rock baby to sleep then.

Charis,

The reason for ur nausea might be becos u r hungry. Serious. U r preg now u shouldn't let ur stomach b empty.

bitbit,

i got your joke liao ..
heh e ..

charis,

enjoy your walkin and shoppin ...
tonite i'm meeting my colleague ..
just go bugis for a short while then go home liao ..
go and get the papa cream puff ..
yummy ...

Jus had a good lunch at 2pm leh..hungry so fast meh..
well I guess I'll get something to eat..maybe its baby that's hungry..haha.

ALrite..ciao..chat tmrw.

bitbit, b4 pregnant, I NEVER wear flats cos I am short always at least 3.5inches heels. But now no choice so I buy cheap flats, after giving birth then can throw away. Dinner should be ok since you are sitting down most of the time, maybe journey there and back a bit more xinku. walk slowly.

Guess both hb and I are ok financially since dual income but things are different with a baby. Both of us are quite spendthrift. But I have been reminding myself to save more and cut down on unneccessary things. Esp since hb wants to quit his job in Dec, and havent found another job yet.

HI All

I am with no.3 due 23feb.
Lucky you all have the comforts of Singapore. I'm still working in Guangzhou which is still, unfortunately pretty sad for medical and preggie mummies.

Their maternity wear is soooo 1980s.

Anyway, just a note to say HI

morning to all...........

Talking abt shoes, I like those thin heels, makes the legs slimmer & longer! Bt ever since preggy I dwngraded to flats, made me look shorter also.

Dunno y, recently I seem to hv shrunk in height, like got shorter. When I looked onto the ground, I felt like my legs got shorter also.

Bitbit - I dunno hw to cook, lazy to learn also. Esp those soup thing, ha ha, drinking is easier to learn then cooking it.

I had vegetarian kway teow tis morning. Decided to leave my bread & cheese for lunch instead. If nt I will hv a prob, thinking wat I shld eat for lunch.

hi mag,
I am due just 2 days before you - on 21 Feb

Haha, I can just imagine their maternity wear... my hubby is in GZ for business now, and he tells me the girls there wear super-tight jeans like the kind we wear in the 80s! He doesn't see any straight-cut or bootcut jeans around

How long are you going to stay in GZ for?
Are your first 2 kids and hubby with you in GZ now?

Heard the air there is constantly like Singapore with haze i.e. their PSI is always above 100? Take care of yourself!

coz too early and they r hardworking :p

update: my boss confirmed with me training will be in Shanghai. I told him gynae has given me excuse letter stating that i am advised not to travel for the next 3mths. His face immediately turned and he told the contract worker that he has to go with him and help him out in that case. Ai yoh. backside lagi not secured here. dunno what's the next few mths gonna be like.

smurfy, rem to zap a copy of the letter b4 u submit the original to ur boss if he asks for it.

Dun worry, once u enter into 3rd tri, if he terminates u, he has to compensate.

now i cannot find the letter. tot i brought it to office before. must ransack my home liao tonite. best he tell his boss his main reason for wanting to conduct the training is coz i am pregnant. Now everyone in office keep reminding me of that until i pai seh.

if he finds excuse to remove my service, he won't have to compensate coz i am not covered under employment act mah (more than 1.6k salary not covered under employment act oredi). most can complain to the Woman's Charter and make a big fuss out of it lor :/

smurfy - still can call & ask MOM one. The MOM is a guideline to employment, though it sides thsoe w/ lower salary bt doesn't mean higher salary one cannot refer to that.

Wah hw cme u bring to ofc then nv bring hme? I sure make a copy then immediately bring back tat very day.

I might b taking 1/2 day today if I still can't wake up. Super tired, dunno y......... Las night I din even wake up to go toilet. By the time my hp rang, it's time to wake up & bathe.

ah ger,
can refer to MOM, but still not protected under it. It makes a lot of difference.

ai yah, dun waste ur leave if u can, just pass time by surfing the net and forum

smurfy, surf net? I hv wk to do arh........ bt I simply can't open my eyes. Forum - also nt many ppl r chatting. It's already 10.30am.

Usually by tis hr I shld b more awake already. Bt 2day is simply too tired to even make myself smile.

Hopefully I can finish as much wk as possible then 2mr & Fri I can relax already.

Tis mth like very bz leh......... no time to clear my stuff.

he he ..
morning smurfy and ah ger,

just got time to come in ..
was busy with scanning and printing invoices ..

so excited .. today my scan le ..
last nite i had chicken soup that doesn't look like soup at all ..
oily and more like gravy and a packet of fried rice ...
i think hokkien ppl dun really know how to cook soup is it ?
i wonder is it my instruction not clear ... or simply hokkien soups r gravy kind ?
ended up scooping the oil out then treat the soup as gravy ..

this morning i was looking at the bread ..
and i saw to my shocked ..
got blueberry jam, garlic spread, choco spread and kaya ..
open up fridge .. for this butter also ..
i just want to eat peanut butter only ..
i wonder why my MIL wanna get so many ..
besides last nite i bought the cream puff lo ..
so this morning din take bread ..

CK - erm, no comments on Hokkiens know hw to boil soup or nt. Ha ha ha, bt I know for sure mum's soups are tastier than MIL's. Maybe Cantonese bah, they r well-known for making great soups!

Tats gd! U can go c ur bb again. Then Fri again visit can c ur bb, then gotta wait for 3wks.

I just wish tis wk passes faster so tat I can hv a long wkend rest then nx Mon can visit Dr Tham.

I m trying very hard nt to take 1/2 day tis pm cos I wanna save my AL as much as possible. Dec gng to take more cos it's our ROM & wedd anniv, then yr end hb also finish his exams already I think, so just stay @ hme & laze ard lor. + tare's one stupid coll who's taking 2wks shot for hols & I hv to cover for her. She always has no courtesy to @ least infm me she's on leave esp when I hv to cover her ass when she's away.

Wah, ur MIL so gd, buy so many types of spreads for u. She scared u just eat peanut butter then gets sick of it mah. Bt for me, I dun like jam.

Garlic spread, talk abt it, reminds me of NTUC brand's garlic bread - NICE! Then eat w/ Campbell's soup.
bt then hb & I always lazy to on our conventional over just to eat tat loaf of garlic bread. ha ha ha........

I read u bought beard papa's. Nice meh? Personally I dun like, esp the cream inside. It's is custard Puff I will consider.

last nite dinner was so shiok, I am in the same table as some of my ex-coll and their wifes. Alot of things to chat, yeh yeh!!

Food wise ok, but it's only the last 2 dishes that I actually enjoyed.. Lotus leaf rice & Yam paste ginko. Thok of Tabao but cannot (hehe..)

mag, u stay put in Guangzhou? U r not S'porean or wat?

ah ger, really if 3rd trimester employer sack us we get compensation? What about before 3rd trimester? Coz I thok as long as I am preg, they dare not "touch" us?

ah ger me aso sleepy leh, last night dinner ended 10 plus come 11, by the time we reach BPJ already 11.30pm, walau panda eyes today. My son almost already slept during the photography session but we managed to wake him up and then he finally fallen asleep within the next minute.

remember I told u gers this onth got alot of "makan" session, think I m getting fatter not becos of preg but eating too much. Last nite eat, then my birthday this weekend, then go cruise eat for 3 days sure FAT and then another dinner coming early Nov, jialat.. I think hv to control my weight liao. Jus now my coll told me that she put on 30KG during her preg, pengz..
547842.gif

CK - if u r taking MRT, alight @ Buona Vista then u go dwn the escalator already u walk backwards. Take their shuttle bus tat says "NUH Main Bldg". Frequency is every 12mins.

When u rch NUH, the coach bus will stop by the side, then u enter frm the main entrance lor, just beside the taxi stand only. U will c a bookshop, Kopitiam, then 7/11. If u walk to ur left, then u will c directions abv u saying to "Antenatal Diagnostic Centre".

bitbit - we r protected frm 3rd tri only. Tats wat my gf told me. Which is y my gf las time when @ call centre, they called & cried saying they were sacked then no compensation & etc. My gf said they can't do anything cos it's b4 3rd tri. So she said for preggies are very risky lor. U can try call & ask again lah.

I've bn slping like 11+ 12+ these fw days cos I started watching Lovers in Paris. Bt then I wasn't as onz as watching Princess Hrs already yet still tired. *yawn* Wonder is it I did nt get enuff slp or it's bcos of pregnancy tats making me even more tired.

bitbit and ah ger, me very sleepy also. Like bitbit, the dinner yday ended after 11pm. We left around 11pm (before the dessert). Luckily my fren drove us back. By the time sleep oredi 12 and need to wake up 6 hrs later. But enjoy the dinner yday! Not becos of food (so so only) but everyone is like "wow, u pregnant oredi" look and i was sitted with my ex-colleagues and chatting a lot abt my pregnancy. Glad to hear they said i still look great and not look like putting on 6kg. A bit of consolation lah.
Then back home, ask hubby to help me to take pictures. My 1st photo since pregnancy.

bitbit, sure or not? 30kg is a lot!!! Did she manage to shed her weight after that?

bitbit - ur b/day also tis wkend? 21st or 22nd? I hv gfs whose b/days r these wkends also.

Wah, ur coll hor put on 30kg is ALOT leh! So far I only heard of 25kg max bt nv 30kg!

Bt dun u worry, u r left w/ 1 tri to go, doubt u can put on so much lah.

These fw days I've bn calculating, hw much more wt I will go b4 I m due to deliver. 1st tri I put on 2.5, 2nd tri, so far I've put on abt 5kg. 3rd tri I dare nt c already. If it's another 5 - 6kg I m still contended, bt if anything more than tat I think it's scary. I hope I can remain w/in 12kg though. Bt abit impossible lah. Ha ha ha...... Nw already 7kg le, hw can I possible just gain another 5kg only esp when bb gets heavier?

ck,
enjoy the detailed scan later!

bitbit,
lots of dinner outings for u but remmeber to eat the healtier selection, eat a lil of everything to ensure different varieties (leftovers, just pass to HB).

ah ger,
think this is the nagging issue some of us are worried abt, our job security. i just pray this wk will pass by very fast coz boss will not be ard again next wk

One of my ex-colleagues who is still doing auditing now gave birth to a bb girl this Feb. Despite the long hours of audit and frequent travelling, she continue breastfeeding her bb even until now. Already 8 months! I hope i have determination like her and not to be discouraged during breastfeeding process. My target is at least 6 months of breastfeeding. Hope able to make it.

i hv a brand new Pigeon manual breast pump for sale at $90.
The set includes:
1.Manual Breast Pump
2.Peristatic Nipple (standard neck type)
3.Nursing bottles (2 bottles, 150ml)
4.Adaptor for wide neck bottle
5.Breast Pad (2 pcs)
6.CD ROM for introduction to your breast pump.

all are brand new and still inside the box with another box of breast pad (42 pcs).

email: [email protected]

Jas - I always tell ppl, I m getting bigger & fatter & heavier. Then they say "ok lah, nt much diff other than big stomach."

Then I kip complaining to hb tat I m getting fatter, I fear standing on the weighing machine. He always console me tat I m nw weighing for 2, of cos heavier lah. Wait lor, wait after deliver already then lose wt.

yest I measured my so-called statistics again. Stomach increased by aother 2" I think. Bt then as compared b4, it seems like I put on more leh........ buttock also by another 1" leh." Sobs.....

i dun dare to stand at weighing scale oredi, only during the visits to the gynae. too horrified to see the amt of weight i am piling. nowadays i try to cut down on simple carbos, such as rice n noodles. but at times still got cravings for soft drinks (my no 1 killer)

smurfy - I still weigh & I wanna monitor my increase. If nt we visit the gynae only every 3 - 4wks, by then it's ashock of the life man! @ Leats if u self-monitor, it's nt so shocking. Ha ha ha........

Jas - u still tgt 6mths arh? I dunno hw long I cna go man, just cross-fingers for as long as possible.

Ah ger, I must find time to take pix of my tummy liao... hehehe. I quite happy that I incr only 5kg so far. Ya, dont need those maternity pads. I used back my Whisper cos I dun have much lochia also. I hope that I wont exceed 10kg in wt gain.

ck, the skirt sounds ex leh. I also got indigestion prob also, I think. The pain was really bad after each meal. Your mil really nice to you leh, bot so many types of jam for your bread.

pekochan, maybe their quality really gd but it's still too ex for a bra. I find that my bb is more active now too. I can feel bb most of the time, and can even see his movements from my tummy.

Charis, not all maternity clothings could last throughout the preg. Dun think $100 enuf to buy those things that you want leh. Ya, read that preggie shd avoid aloe vera. I rebonded my hair last mth after the gynae gave the green light. I'm taking pao sheng once a week, shd be fine.

bitbit, hahaha... the jokes on the prawns are funny. Chilli will make bb's skin no gd meh? I cant stomach too much chilli even though I used to be chilli queen leh. How your col eat??? 30kg!!! that's scary leh, did she manage to lose all her wt?

smurfy, ya, I wear bras even while sleeping now. Most of us will suffer from hair-loss one. It's just a matter of how serious the condition is. I got my flat shoes from DMK. Luckily you got the letter from gynae liao.

Jas, that's a great idea to share our pix at Yahoo...
Start with short-term target like 6mths of bfg first, then extend antoher 3mths, and so on. Dun give yourself too much stress on bfg.

longan, try taking prune juice, it helps to ease constipation.

cherryale, I always get mc from gynae for my visits.

mag, both of us got the same EDD...
You or your hb working in Guangzhou?

sunsweet, I think my sil added wolfberries and pao sheng to the black chix to dun leh. I also not sure cos I only got to see the end result.

I also dun weight myself other than trips to gynaes. Dun want to put pressure on myself and restraint myself from food becos of the weight. Think as long as from outside i still look ok then ok liao loh.

smurfy, since pregnant, think i only have a few sips of soft drink. Dare not even drink packet drinks like green tea etc. Luckily i no craving yet.

ah ger, I hope can last at least 6 months loh. Read from mag breast milk is the best gift we can give to our bb. But my office dun have maternity room lei, so next time i need to go toilet to pump out and need to store the milk. Thinking of getting a mini fridge to put in my office room. My fren do that too.

bitbit,

great that u enjoyed your dinner ..
my favourite is yam paste minus the gingko nut ..
cheapest i can find is from hawker centre ..
2.30 per bowl ..

ah ger,

ok ok .. tq..
will copy your instruction down ..
i also dun like jam ...
garlic bread i dun really like also ..
cause of the garlic smell lingering around the mouth ..

Maybe when Nana start circulating our info then we can circulate our pregnant photos via yahoo.

giggler, that's wat my fren said also. If still got milk then breastfeeding loh, if not, then really bo bian gotta stop. But she has a problem now as she tried to use bottle to feed her bb but bb refuse to drink from bottle! Headache!

Wonder what happened at wee hour this monrning.. baby moving a lot in my tummy..

Maybe baby want daddy to pat pat her.. finally daddy felt her movements.. shortly after patting, bb got tired and think she went snoozing.

keke hubby was excited that he actually felt the bludging movements .. but poor mummy here feeling the rumble and tumble