(2007/02) February

Stella - my gf had natural delivery leh.

She incl all the bb purchases expense also leh. For me, till nw I spent abt $2k already cos of the clothes I bought @ the beginning. Then also the birds' nests, initial chk up costs & then medicine & then other costs like blood tests, detail scan & etc. I haben incl the antenatal pkg yet.

As for white fungus, I dun cook, so no pt for me to buy unless I m doing those dessert we were discussing sometime ago.

I m also nt very rich bt then there are certain things is unavoidable wor..... U c like the cream I m using also use cheap ones. Then the food I eat also chin chye chin chye.

Peko - my clothings also cost me close to $1k already, which is y I stopped buying nw already & just try to repeat them.

Hi mommies, thks alot.

wah, the thread really running fast. I ve started my anenatal class at kkh on Fridays. 3lessons started, nw on 3weeks break before the nxt one. quite interesting & informative. Oh ladies, thy mentioned better to get nursing bra aft 25wks. maybe tht shd be the full size ba..

I ve started buying thg for bb, preparing my shopping list. I jz worry i grow too big tht i can't shop much. fyi, John Little is having 20%dis.

Ah ger,
We don't really have to give in to her lah. We figured she must learn to let go and get used to the fact that we run our own household and if we don't think something is necessary, we won't do it. After a while, she won't say anymore. She's learned to interfere less, particularly with our upbrining of our girl. My hb also learning to stand up to her more. Last week when he was disciplining our daughter at her place, she was starting to say something, my hb said "Don't interfere when I'm disciplining my own daughter!!"
As for food, she cooks every day for 8 adults in her household. She used to be a chef and run her own cafeteria. Super woman kind. Makes everything from scratch, NEVER buys things from outside to eat except fruits. We don't really complain to her about the food cos anyway, maybe she thinks we give her $x000 per month, she gives back to us lah, but we wish she would give us less. Sometimes my freezer cannot close because she keeps buying for us. She thinks we eat as much as her household. Hahahaha. And she keeps complaining that my hubby is fat. Hehehehe.

leomum - John Little still having sale? Bt I dun intend to buy bb clothes frm tare, cheap or nt? I haben really run thru the list which Gig gave us sometime ago bt I hv already save it in my PC. Printed & brought hme, end up dunno ware I chuck it already.

My gf, also due end Feb said she will slowly buy if nt by Dec 2 big to walk ard already.

PVL - ha ha ha......... I m speechless abt the way ur MIL is.

yah if include bb expenses , possible to add up 10k. I am getting hand me downs for big ticket items like cot, prams etc even clothings i also get from others.

Did a calcutation already..including gynae package i spend abt 1200. One of the a&e vist cost me $450.00. if not for that i could have spent lesser.

Maternity clothes i spend abt 200 bah. some tops i buy those cheap ones from this fashion..heehee..save some cost.

Giggler, got cut twice (but didn't know, it's hub who saw and felt v heartpain) 'cos cannot push.. NO feeling from epidural being so strong :p So hopefully this time I will know what the pushing part feels like.

PVL, gosh, your MIL sounds as 'cheong hay' as my sister's MIL.. she can harp on one little topic for months on end. Haha.
Yup, I think she thinks confinement food is too heaty for your hubby but hor, looking at Neo Gdn menu, it's pretty easy on the herbs as compared to Natal Essentials and New Baby. I've more or less decided to go for Neo Gdn since I've heard good things abt their tingkat dinners as well and will prob be doing tingkat in January already. Also, Timothy's first month was Neo Gdn and it was good

cherryale, wah ur cup size really increased A LOT!!!

speaking of ugly, yah I really feel hideous. Having very bad acne and as I am not reacting well to topical medicine, I hv no choice but to do smoothbeam laser.. costs about $800 per session and it's so freaking painful. Hv done 1 session already, another session coming up soon. For my prev pregnancy, I had such bad acne and scarring tt ppl would just stop me in the streets to comment and 'give advice' until I got depressed. So I went through 6 sessions of laser and got better. Now, haiz, gotta go through laser again. Luckily my papa sponsored.

As for spending $10k in the first year of baby's life.. erm, I think it can be more, see how much you spend on toys, books and clothes. I have no restraint when it comes to spending on my boy ('cos figure that can pass on to future siblings and cousins mah.. haha) so I think I hv spent well over $10k.

Jas, me too... have been wanting to get skirt but still cant find time to go PM leh.

Ah ger, some mummies even wear bikini to take pix leh. I find myself looking like giant now leh. I didnt keep track how much I spend on bb's stuff. My hb kept warning not to go on diet whenever I complained to him that I'm fat.

PVL, I also not sure but that's what my mom and fren told me when I got the idea of sharing the cf food with my maid. Maybe cf food got more sesame oil and ginger as compared to normal food? Arent you lucky that you're not staying with your pils?

JC, aiyo... I long time dun dare to look into mirror liao. I cant stand my big, fat body leh. That's why now having 2nd thot of taking studio pix liao. Maybe wait till next yr after I slimmed down then we take family portrait. Ya, I also not sure how I went thru the constant nite feeding leh. But it's really fulfilling and I got no regrets lah.

pekochan, wow... you spend alot of clothings hor?

leomom, you got any idea when will JL sales end?

Catz, so most prob you wont be asking for epi this time round? Your dad really dotes on you hor? You like to buy things for your boy? I like to buy books but not much on toys and clothings.

pekochan, i bot their b4 my pregnancy. They are comfy. So may get some more from M&S this time.

Come to expenses, so far the biggest is gynae consultation fees think by the time i due will be close to $1k. Food wise is mainly bird nest loh. Other than that will be maternity clothes, will need to get a few more tops and dresses so maybe end up $500. Bb stuff will slowly buy. Anyway have oredi received some passing down from my SILs. But things like bb cot (i need 2), bottles, diapers etc definitely need to buy one loh. Aiyah... lost count oredi. Plus my financial burden of renovations for 2 houses not yet fully paid, really money in then immediately out.

Hi mummies, any one can advice on the ante-natal package that can deduct from medi-save? How does it really works? Does it means that we pay cash for our ante-natal package first, then CPF pay us back into our medisave?

Ah ger, most likely will go to PM at Arcade,Suntec need to walk more far.

Giggler, me also last minute lah. If not becos of the wedding dinner next week, won't be thinking of getting the dress now also.

My hubby seems to be very pleased to see my tummy getting bigger and bigger. But he has commented long time ago my backside is getting wider and that all my weight increase goes to my backside since my tummy was still very small until 2 weeks ago. So mean...

Super busy these few days!! Wow! So many postings already. Need some times to catch up. Speaking about expenses, well Im herein KL and if talking from the point of $1 to RM1, it is more or less about the same. About RM10k from the start of the pregnancy until the bb is born gynae chck-ups, detailed scan, medications, vitamins, labour cost, doc fees, bb basic stuff, etc. My coll gave birth to twins and shed spent around RM20K on the delivery itself cos she gave birth on the 32wk (c-sec) thus the babies have to be in the incubator for about a month + other medical charges.

It is really not easy nowadays to start a family. Everything also marnee.

Giggler, can only claim $450 for your prenatal costs and this will be credited back to you at delivery.. can't quite remember the procedure lah but u gotta bring your receipt to the hospital when u deliver and they will help process for u. Yah I will aim to go drug-free this time as I really want to feel the whole labour process.. but then hor, see how. No point being hero and being too tired after pushing and pushing and no results.

I'm very fortunate lah, my parents really dote on all of us and hv been super supportive. Heh.. I spend A LOT on everything for my boy.. tt's why so disappointed tt I don't get to use his clothes for a 2nd boy.

Stella - of cos incl bb stuff lah, if nt incl ware got so exp?

I m also getting a cot frm my gf, clothes hopefully my SIL or whoever has boys b4 can pass me their clothes lor. Bt of cos must b in gd condition. If 2 lok kok, I rather buy new ones.

Stella - perhaps u r small size tats y u can buy frm This Fashion. I can nv fit into their clothes. Besides, if later u grow bigger again then end up hv to change wardrobe, so I rather heartpain abit buy once & for all.

Catz - it's nt 1st yr of the bb. It's frm the start of ur preg till the day u deliver. Doesn't inc the 1st growing yr of the bb.

Gig - yest I was telling hb I wanna wear bikini go swimming. he said "HUH????????? Hw to wear? Can wear meh?" I said show big tummy lor. he gave me a look. Kaoz! Gig - I dun say I wanna go on diet, I only say I hv no appetite so eat less.

Gid - medisave can claim up to $450 of ur antenatal pkg. I dunno hw they wk, cos my gynae's clinic practice only pay @ Wk 34 then everything pay/ deduct @ one shot upon registration. So save the hassle on paperwk also. Rather nw pay abit then later pay again.

Ah Ger, hmm.. dun think can spend $10k for just preg + delivery lah.. max $3-4k? Unless u eat a lot of tonics and birds nest.. heh

Mummy2be, is the haze situation still very bad in KL? I would really wanna go down to KL to see my grandpa who has had a few minor strokes but afraid about the haze as I am sensitive and also scared my son gets sick. Plus we will be staying around KLCC area.. heard it's quite bad around there.

ah ger..

i have some dresses that can last me thr out...if dun hiam can just survive. lucky in the sense that i also got lots of hand me downs frm my colleagues. My dept got 3 just gave birth not long ago.

two already closed shop so desperately getting rid of bb items..i benefit big time..

Jas - rem Arcade closes @ abt 7 or 7.30pm leh.

Peko - u mean wat ha spromo? nvm 2mr I go Suntec then chk it out if u r talking abt PM.

Nobody said my backside wider, mum said my backside din get much bigger, still as FLAT!!!!

Talking abt delivery charges, is it true tat if u r carrying twins or triplets, the delivery charges are dbl & triple?

Hehehe..me also started buying quite a lot of bb clothes once I knew I am getting a bb gal
. I bought quite alot already..heheh cannot tahan leh, bb clothes are super cute. I bought mostly rompers and now starting to look into dresses as well as some cute cute accessories....wonder my gal got enough hair to use those accessories or not???

Catz, the haze is getting better but still not completely gone yet. As it has been raining these few days. My off is just opp KLCC and my off is located on the 47th floor so I get pretty good view and first hand info on the weather and traffic conditions. Should be quite ok if you wanna come here. Not as bad as last week.

Catz - I meant - right frm begiining till deliver then incl even bb stuff u buy, tonics u eat, all these cost alot of $$ also. My gf can spend close to $1k on buying dunno wat items. For a bb's arrival, u gotta hv those wipes, stroller, cot, diapers, some clothings, sterilises & manay other things. These are wat my gfs told me. Even my sis told me she spent quite alot. tats y I tgt to hv $10k by yr end which is coming soon.

Stella - lucky u.

Mummy2b - yeah bb gals' stuff are cute. Then perhaps my bb knows his mama nt very rich, hence give me a boy 1st so tat I can save more $$?

I hv already drafted my savings plan for nx yr, esp when we r getting a car, we need to do some adjustment. I hv even set aside abt $100 per mth for bb for insr. Bt I dun intend to buy yet, shall wait till towards end nx yr then I buy. In tis way can save abit. Bt again depends on wat plans I m getting for him.

R u gals planning to buy insr for ur bbs or wait till they grow older then buy for them?

Mummy2b, u start getting hair accessories for ur gal oredi? Next time can dress our gals up mei mei.

Ya, ah ger, so need to leave office on the dock. To9 still gg back to JB but will be late as hubby need to work late. So while waiting for him give me some time to shop shop.

I have some dresses pass down from my SIL. But they are either too big or out-of-fashion liao. So only a few can chop chop wear.

Jas - my sis doesn't like to wear dresses when she was preggie cos she's a teacher, rather inconvenient esp when she has to get up/ dwn. Then my SIL clothes arh, erm, I dun rem they hv nice clothes & were like yrs back, so I rather buy myself.

Ah ger, i dun like to wear maternity dresses also that's why so far i only got the tops and bottoms but not dresses. My hubby ask maternity clothes from his sister due to the old folk tale of smooth delivery loh. Since she gives then i just take and see got opportunity to wear or not.

pekochan, hahaha... good lah... cant slacken though we're preg rite?

Jas, hahaha... your hb so mean leh. Hope you able to get the dress at PM.

mummy2b, it's similar in Spore... you got to spend more if bb is premature. You even bot hair accessories??? Hehee....

Catz, for my case, my co is paying for my ante-natal package. Does that mean I do not need to claim from medisave for my ante-natal package? True lor, have an open mind abt delivery. If need be, then ask for epi, there's no need to be hero.
You dun have unisex colours for your boi?

Ah ger, same here... hoping that my fren passes me her boys' clothings. Hb scared I dun eat cos I scared of being fat and deprived his bb nutrients lah. The funny thing is my wt gain not much but I look BIG leh.
Hahaha... your hb cant accept you showing off your tummy? So you haven pay your clinic the ante-natal package? I got insurance for my gal lah, in a way, it's forced saving for me.

stella, you very lucky...
I've col who wants to pass her bb cot to me too. Think as my tummy gets bigger, more frens and col will have things to pass to me bah.

giggler,

the rest of body also got grow chubbier .. but the face is a bit more obvious ..
he he ..

ah ger,
i take picture with my top lifted up leh ..
like tat can see the tummy ma ..
good idea of taking pic with bikini ..
will try tat ..
he he ..
i got new plan .. ask my hubby bring the video cam and camera on 18 oct ..
so can shoot the whole process ..
and also take picture on tat day ...
hehe ..

talking about tabulation ..
will do tat rite away ... he he ..
up to now .. i spent like 1.5k liao leh ..
though i din really get much of maternity stuff ..
mainly is on docs consultation in the beginning stage .. and all the jabs...
so fast 1.5k leh ..
maternity clothes .. paid about 300
then cloth for making maternity = 68

I think most of u log off already..but jus drop a line before I log off too.

JC yr epi C-sect experience quite scary also huh..can feel the tension right..I heard that too..esp when they taking out the baby part..can be sort of painful..but bearable I heard.

GA confirm knock out lah..the one bitbit took is the half-body GA, wats the diff with epi then?
GA u wont feel pain, but dont get to hold baby until GA wears out later. I really scared of GA..cos I jus dont like the idea being sedated..knocked out! Furthermore, I heard GA is not good for body..breathing n heartbeat rate ust be monitored carefully..n somtimes some ppl got complications during surgery cos of the GA..but its very rare lah. I also heard GA is not good for asthmatics.

Im seeing gynae tmrw. Yeah! Get to see my baby..want to see how much he has grown..definitely much bigger haha..with all the moving I feel lately!

Hav a good weekend ladies!

good morning ladies, guess everyone's out for the weekend
my hubby brought my son to playschool so i'm free for 2 hours.. heh.

mummy2be, hope that the haze will hold off. s'pore news said the haze will get worse today due to changing wind conditions.. really hope to go back to kl for a short 2-3 days just to see my grandpa. thanks so much for the first hand info

ah ger, yes, it's good to hv $10k on standby esp in the first year.. true lah, i forgot tt baby's vaccinations and miscellaneous items like pram, cot, do cost a fair bit.. for me, not starting from scratch so all my memories fly out of the window liao.

giggler, u mean u hv not paid a single cent since u got pregnant? waaaaah.. hmm.. if u got any receipts tt ur company did not reimburse (like before the antenatal package or for delivery) then can still submit lor.. as long as it's not more than $450.

Charis, update us on your gynae visit!! I realise that my little girl is responding to her big brother and daddy's voices

hi every1, wah so many posts after I last posted. Jialat seems that 1 day of I dun get the time to login, I can't catch up liao..

Catz, I read about wat u say "realise that my little girl is responding to her big brother and daddy's voices", know wat I think I experience the same! U r also carrying a baby ger this time round right? Me too and seems like my little ger aso spin & move inside me whenever daddy or gor gor is talking, laughing or watever, hahaha, so cute.. ahh.. I am still excited about me going to hv a daughter hahaha.. I juz can't believe it, maybe I am too tired having to look after a mischeivous boy, he is now 22 months old, already so naughty like a little monkey u noe.. sigh even my hb hv difficulties to tame him leh...

Catz how old is your boy?

wat r the rest talking about? Is it cost of hving a baby up till now? This time round I think I have to be more thrifty coz my company will not give me a bonus of max $2 sponsor. Previous one my company paid for my hospitalisation bed, I agreed it was such a good staff welfare! STill have not a/c for how much I had spend up till now, but I noe is not a small amt due to having to do quite a number of test, hmm..

I think I spent a lot up till now already, havent done actual calculation but cos initially I kiasu, want to see gynae every week from 5th to 12th week, so that is $1400 already + package $1200 + amnio $1200 + blood tests $300 + detailed scan $250 + maternity clothes, I think easily 5k plus almost 6k. I havent started much tonics, only take the vitamins and neurogain...haiz, having baby is very costly but money can be earned back, so still very much thank God that I have a baby. My previous company was very generous with maternity benefits - cover up to US$6000 but my current company is zero!!

gd morning to all.........

Gig - I m also afraid of getting fatter & all go to me instead of bb. Tats y I pretty cautious on wat I throw in. I snack @ times, bt nt often. If I wanna snack then I will take fruits instead. Ha ha ha....... So hope bb is gng to b a fruit lover like the mama.

Yeah, I haben paid for the antenatal pkg yet cos our clinic says pay later, then 1 shot settle. So everytime I hv to visualise my acct is $500+ lesser. Ha ha ha....... No lah, joking, inside sure hv $500 for the pkg one.

CK - can take video during detail scan meh? I duno wor...... I tot usually hospitals cannot bring in those devices cos they will interfere w/ the equipments?

Talking abt pics, I just took some wearing just my shorts. Ha ha ha........ then I took one 1/2 body bt top part covered lah. Then another shot is just showing stomach down.
Wah can c the protruding stomach so clearly. Bt I 4got to snap front view. Hb says I got nothing to do, snap all these pics. I said for memory mah. I will do so again nx mth.

Tabulation arh - I dunno leh bt I know I spent $1k on clothes, then the rest are all on the consultations, birds' nests, cream & also new bras.

Cherry - u spent alot is no choice cos u did alot of tests.

Wah the haze these fw days is back again, then is so bad.........

Hi Winnie,

PM you...

Giggler, ya my hubby very mean hor. But saturday he look at me again and said i dun look like put on 6kg lei? I also dunno where the weight goes to as my bb is not big either. Only 332g at 20 weeks. Recently can feel frequent kicks and pops from my bb. So happy!

Hei, went PM last friday after work! And guess wat, spent $400 in less than 1 hour! The sales girls really terrible. Brought all the nice maternity clothes to me. In the end i bot 1 dress (for a wedding dinner tomorrow), 3 tops (including 2 tubes), 1 black cardigan, 1 3/4 pant and 3 nursing bras. But i really like wat i bot from PM. They are comfy and can be altered to wear after giving birth too.

good morning,

ah ger,
is it cannot bring video cam ?
will try and see ..
i cannot remember wat time is my appointment .. need to call clinic and check it out ..
u were saying your edd is 9th feb is it ?
mine is 11 feb ..
i wonder why my detailed scan is quite late ..

ya .. my costing haven't include the 500 package yet ..

good morning,

ah ger,
is it cannot bring video cam ?
will try and see ..
i cannot remember wat time is my appointment .. need to call clinic and check it out ..
u were saying your edd is 9th feb is it ?
mine is 11 feb ..
i wonder why my detailed scan is quite late ..

ya .. my costing haven't include the 500 package yet ..

Hi good morning ladies,

Back from the 1 week break. Just a quick update: A lot of small hiccups on the wedding day but everything turned out just fine finally. It was a rush rush day for me, so tensed up and no time to feel tired/weak. Ate alot on that day as well. Was telling ppl that I am the only bride who keeps on eating :p (had mac's suasauge macmuffin for breakfast and followed by a full buffet lunch at home. Even managed to get eat snippets before changing of gowns in the resturant during nite time).

New home basically only has the bare essentials for us to "live in". So, no TV, internet, phoneline for the moment. Basically dun see the need to for the time being as well. Might as well spend the time doing some reading and listening to music. And save the money for BB use in future.

It was break even for us for the wedding dinner. My papa is the winner loR... Keeps all the ang pows and everything.

Now bascially is trying to save money all over again and prepare for bb's arrival

Gender,
oh i read that some of the ladies oso know the gender of their bbs, congrats

pekochan,
i oso want to be a pretty mum mum. Imagine we oredi look so pale/tired during pregancy. So must try to dress pretty in order to keep our esteem going.

Weight Gain,
I am oso worried that most of the fats go to me instead of bb. Keeps on wondering whether I am able to shed off the weight after giving birth. Nowadays I ate a lot of different foods but I basically reduce the amount (to only 1/2 or only 1/3) of white rice/ noodles/ beehoon whatever, that goes along with it. These are just empty/simple carbohyrates that I can do without.

Neutrogain
Btw, where to get this arr? And how much?

morning! Wah Jas - u also spent so much @ PM? Wah made u spend so much then u say the gals terrible? Ha ha ha............

Think ur appt tat time mentioned was morning. Bt it's better u call & ask.

Mine right frm the beginning was 9 Feb. I can't rem wat Dr Tham inputs in his PC to c the # of wks I m in. He din go according to the bb's growth, was acc to my own instead. Which is y even if bb has grown much bigger, my wks are still gng as b4.

Video cam - I dunno leh, u can call & ask lor. If can't bring then no pt bringing in le, cos ur hb shld b bz looking @ the screen & c where the sonographer is pointing. Besides even if use video cam, the results may nt b clear, the screen will b escalating just like if u record a tv prog frm a camera. U understand wat I say?

Hi Smurfy, glad everything turned out well! So nw everything is over, slowly prepare & enjoy ur bb's arrival!

bitbit,
I like hello kitty!!

Ah ger, actually the only test that is optional is amnio, other than that, the other 2 blood tests and detailed scan are 'compulsory' tests for my gynae. It is the weekly checks initially that is the highest cost, can u imagine it is more expensive than the gynae package!! And for detailed scan he sent me to camden which is more than what most of u are paying...think for my next pregnancy I must go and see my uncle already to save cost.

Smurfy, neurogain can get from pharmacy like guardian. I bought from them when I forget to get from gynae. The price is about 29 I think. And congrats to a smooth wedding, now can concentrate on baby!

cherryale - I haben input my latest expenses yet so which means would hv shot up a little bit higher. Yes, blood test is compulsory also, I haben done mine, dunno when I m doing, shld b soon bah. Do we need to fast or something b4 the blood test?

Wow Camden is $250, is it std price for whoever goes to Camden? It's pretty exp hor? Mine only $115.50.

Good morning gals!!!

nice to hear from u smurfy, now can concentrate on bb liao.

when i just move in to my new hse, also just have the bare essentials..slowly then add in items, or else very tough on the pocket.

regarding neurogain, i got in from the bulk purchase thread, cost me abt 21 per bottle.

smurfy,

congrats on smooth wedding ..
got some snaps of pics to share ?

ah ger,

ic .. then maybe take digital camera ..
he he ...
is okie .. bring along then can take pic after the scan also ma .. ha ha ..
mine is in the noon .. but i can't remember wat time liao ..
calling the clinic in a short while ..

i'm still suffering from backache .. and right big toe numb ...

also find tat food is harder to digest ..

bitbit and catz,
ya ya ..
bb seems to move more when me and my hubby talk ..
when hubby put his ear on tummy to listen .. he even kick his ear .. he he ..
bb getting active and bigger and mummy getting tired easily ..

ah ger,

confirm liao .. is 3.45 this wednesday ..
i asked if can bring camera .. she said depends on the sonographer wor ..
she said bring first .. then if cannot then dun take

CK - u try taking pics of ur PC when @ hme, u c the results 1st. If nt gd then no pt brining, waste of time. Might as well use the time to listen to wat the sonographer says. Or in advance ask hw many pcs u will get.

Wah CK, my appt las wk was 2.35 end up I waited till abt 3.40pm. Hope u dun hv to wait tat long cos they knock off @ 5pm. I even had my lunch @ NUH cos to kill some time. They hv Kopitiam tare.

My bb still as quiet, nt very active. Bt I can feel more frequent gentle kicks. Then yest I felt him moving, then I took hb's hands to feel & immediately he stopped. Ha ha ha......

Gals, I hv an SK II cleanser (foam type). I asked my HK coll to buy few mths bac. Hb used to use that bt nw he itchy backside wanna change skincare again. I bought it @ $48 (SaSa selling $$50+ & counter selling $68). I m willing to let go @ $40. If anybody is using this, & wanna buy, please let me know.

ah ger, out of $400, $150 goes to the 3 bras loh. So now me a Silver member of PM. Dunno whether got chance to use the card again or not. Haha...

Smurfy, congrates on the smooth wedding! Now one thing off and now u can concentrate on the bb stuff.

My SIL gave me 2 big bags of bb clothings. Still no time to sort it out. Need to find space to put those bb stuff.