(2007/02) February

JC, Jas,
I'm aiming for natural, no epidural, if possible. Praying very hard about it. I did it for my girl in the US, though I was 20 hrs in labour room. Over here in SG, I know things are different. Doctors are more in a hurry to get the bb out, and are more kiasu about complications. So I hope this bb is faster than Sarah, and the Dr is not too jumpy about little things, esp now that my bb has kidney complications.

Jas, I also want your CL contact leh. I find her charge reasonable. You got other lobang?

Ah ger, LOL.... now you dun have to worry that your mom spread your good news to everyone.
Dun think your gynae will let you be overdue for so many days to have piggy bb leh.
Can get clothings/books for 3 yos gal.

PVL, I m aiming for natural, whether w/ or w/o epi, I hv to c my threshold for endurance. My coll did nt take epi, she told herself giving birth is sup to b a painful process so just let it be.

Gig - nt exactly lah, my gynae allowed my gf to b overdue for 10days. So long as he monitors the bb well & nothing happens, it's ok.

My gf's gal - has alot of clothings, toys already. Books - like wat?

Morning all.... TGIF!!!

Ah ger, congrats on ur healthy bb boy!

Winnie and Giggler, think the price is for if having confinement in Msia. If having here think the price is different. Anyway, u can try to call them as they do confinement in Singapore too. Will pm both of u their contact numbers shortly.

Hi Jas - thks thks.

Nw the nx step is schedule a date w/ hb to go shopping for bb stuff. Bt hb said wait till Dec then buy. Perhaps we will just go & scout ard, so tat by Dec we can just aim for tat particular plc.

My bb cot is settled cos my gf is lending me. Then I wun b getting bb clothes yet cos 2 early + my niece's clothings are unisex, so can share.

Oh, I haben think of confinement. My gf was telling me, confinement food shld b taken hot. So wondering if it's really ok to take re-heated food? Besides my gf said she doubt really is big enuff for 2 pax share cos her coll tried & said very little only.

Ah ger,
I also think should check around for the necessary items so come dec sales, we know what exactly to buy. Fortunately the other day, my hb's aunt who gave birth to a boy recently said she will pack some baby bath tub, baby clothes, mittens etc for us as her baby has outgrown them. She even offered to give me her manual breast pump but I rejected subtlely by saying I prefer to get electric one But still thank God for answering our prayers of getting used stuff from family/friends. Wow so fast huh, some of us approaching/hit 6mths already.

I also need to buy something for my friend's gal but she is a small baby only few mths old, so I will get her clothes from mothercare. For 3 yrs old, usually I buy educational toys. Can check out the kids toy shop at suntec, they have some pretty good stuff.

PVL, most of my frens delivered faster for their #2. So dun worry...

Ah ger, I usu get books from www.wonderbox.com.sg Can get books from Eric Carle, Dr Seuss, etc. My col just ordered from Neo Gdn's cf catering. She's full of compliments for it. She compared to Natal Essentials (her sil ordered from there last mth), and she felt that Neo Gdn's alot better in terms of quality and qty. She only ordered lunch and enough for dinner also. But not sure if it's ok to re-heated the dishes lah.

Jas, oic... it's doing cf in Msia thats why so much cheaper than Spore. Thanks

cherryale, good for you that your hb's aunt is passing you some bb stuff. I'm still waiting for my fren to tell me that she's passing me her boys' clothings. Heheehe...

btw, I am wearing the PM panties, not bad, very comfortable as its very low waist. Their bras not as comfy.
Also, I realised that it feels better to wear bra then without now that my boobs are larger. If I dun wear bra when I am at home, can feel the skin underneath the breasts stretching and afraid that this will cause sagging breasts next time. So I will prob go and buy those cotton bras (maybe beedees??) without wire to wear at home. Told hb I finally can understand how people with big breasts feel now..haha, I used to be super small and flat.

Cherry - lucky u. I hv a SIL who has 2 sons bt then again her sis had a boy also, so I m nt sure if she will pass to her. Bt anyway by then her nephew is already 8mths, so perhaps can pass back to me. Bt if they are in gd consition then I will take, if too old, I'd rather my boy wears new clothes.

I hv a 3yr old b/day tis Sat, full mth nx Sun & 2 1yr old b/day the following Sat/ Sun. Loss of wat to buy man.......... Educational toys - exp or nt? Cos I hv budge leh, so many celebrations in Oct.

Yes yes, I m hitting 24wks nx Fri, 2day is 23wks already! Yippee!

Gig - is ur coll a big or small eater? Hmm, I will def choose Neo Gdns if I m taking. I m just worried tat the food may nt b enuff. Bt she also reheat the food right.

Gig - thks for the link bt no time le, cos 2mr is the b/day.

Cherry - I dun feel my breasts uncomfy w/o bras leh. I m wearing La Senza cotton bras 2 for $40. Bt they r underwired if u dun mind. Hw cme some ppl can feel engorgement so early arh? My sis said her creasts started to swell hence she wore nursing bras @ ard 5mths+. To me I still felt normal & I dun feel my breasts hardened also.

hi Peko

I've nv heard of such thing. I dare nt tell mum also, cos if she knows then sure ask me to beware.

I also asked my gf - tat time I was also siting face to face w/ another of our gfs mah, then she was having a gal also. Then my gf said it's diff cos she's giving birth already & I still hv sometime to go.

Then she said 1 of her gf, who lived in US, then scan revealed all along hers is a boy. Then when they came bac & deliver, cane out to b a gal.

I dunno lah, bt I dun hv many preggies ard me, so it's ok lor.

hi cheeryale,
i oso hv the PM bra, aft i wear it on i feel that the shape of my boobs like kinda of pointed, maybe not big euff lol! i thot of buying other brand but not sure which is good.

peko - I also felt the breasts like very sharp & pointed when wear those maternity bras tats y I m still wearing normal bras. Perhaps u can add on a breast pad inside so tat it doesn't look so ugly?

gals, ask u all a qn. Any of u feel those sng sng pain @ the part ware u bend over? Just below the breasts? Like those bruise pain. I ask gynae b4, bt he said might b wind or something. Bt then it's aching pain, like somware @ the ribs area.

I tot might b I dun sit straight, tats y......

ah ger,

wat is sng sng ?

giggler,

i checked liao ..
cruise can't go after 24th week into pregnancy ..
i thought same thing too .. cause cruise more relax and not much walking and shopping ..
but then hor even doc's letter also can't go ..

cherryale, your breasts size incr alot? I also find it more comfy to wear bras nowadays.

Ah ger, what's your budget? Edu toys got quite wide range lah. You can go to Growing Fun or ELC to take a look? My col ok lah, not really small eater but dun eat alot too. You'll also choose Neo Gdns? My col was saying that everything was so much, the rice, veg, everything. Also the food are all in tupperware so easily to heat up using microwave. Whereas Natal Essentials use those normal plastic containers. No, I dun feel such pain. Sng sng pain? Could it be rheumatism?

Gig - my budget arh, abt $20+ $30+ lor.

Gig, it's nt the back, it's the front part, just below the breast, @ the left ribs area. then when I press & rub, it's like u know u kena blue black then those aching pain? bt no blue black leh, & I dunno y.

ah ger,

dun have le ...
my breast do feel a bit hard though ..
i think i'm getting uglier .. nowadays .. dun like to take photo liao ..
but will make it a point one month take 1 pic .. and see how my tummy grow .. he he ..
i just realised i did take some photo using my phone .. he he .. last time my tummy so much flatter .. now is a watermelon ..

CK - I dunno leh...... haiz......

Mum also said I bcme uglier. She said my look changed. Bt I c myself like the same leh........ just abit more tired look cos of the late nights watching vcds. ha ha ha......

I had a pic taken while in Bkk in end Aug, then I self-take pics on 17 Sep, then again 10 Oct. Will monitor & take again maybe in Nov or every 2wks.

Ah ger, for that shop in suntec, I read before that they allow parents and kids to try out the toys in the shop if they are keen buyers. Their range is between 30+ to 100+ I think. Yah, I also spent a lot recently on weddings and baby's full mth..Dun think mine is engorgement, just bigger boobs lah.

peko, my PM bra fits well but cos its nursing bra so there is a click and I dun quite like that.

gig, my breasts started at 70A or B depending on cutting and now its 80B/C depending on cutting so to me its a lot. Those 75B bras that I bought initially are too small for me now. But for gals who are well-endowed all these while, this is probably nothing..hehe

ck, I think I am uglier now too. Recently got a bit of breakout some more..super no mood to look in the mirror. Hb also call my tummy watermelon.

I am so looking forward to 'see' baby next week during scan.

Cherry - tats the part I dun like - the clip. Hence I m wearing the normal bras. I used to wear 75B, bt nw is like 80 - 85B/C depending on the cut. I bought them cheaply during OG sale - 2 for $39.90, so 1 is abt $20, so still nt very exp. Cotton bras frm La Senza are 2 for $40.

My forehead has bn breaking out also. & I've stopped my skin repair, only using the rest of the pdts. I've to try to clip my fringe up when @ hme. While in the ofc, I try to tie my hair if possible.

Bt I think my face looks more tired...... even my temp gal also said I dun hv the energetic look as b4. Ha ha ha........

Darn! Went jalan jalan last nite saw many nice clothes but then dare not buy cos BB not 100% confirm gal.. sob sob.. buay tahan just bought a nice little Elmo romper guess boy or gal also can wear keke ..

my 1st purchase for BB kekeke

ah ger,

last nite i went to seiyu .. looking for this brand sandal ..
antonio something ..
dun see those front covered toe shoe leh..
i was looking for it ..

two pairs i bought from far east can't make it ..
causing blister .. and last week cause my toe numb ..

my mum ah .. din comment about my looks though ..
she did ask me to show her my tummy via webcam ..
then she go like ... "ooOOOoo big liao.."
then ask me if got itchy ..
so far no itchy ..
i told her morning and nite time i put cream .. she ask me why i soo ks ... she said nite time put can liao ..
ha ha .. i'm just scared of marks ...he he ..
hope i dun get any ...

i realise i'm chubbier at face now .. tat's why i said i overeat .. he he .. face chubbier so
either than tat .. all i guess expanded a little ..
chubbier at face tat's why dun like to take photo ..

So Neo Gdn better than Natal Essentials? I was thinking of ordering trial set for both, as well as maybe Newbaby and some others. Just to try try. Hehehehe.

Did any of you hear that husband and any children at home MUST NOT eat your confinement food? My MIL keeps stressing that. She is so worried that her dear son has nothing to eat during my confinement cos we insisted on doing the confinement at home instead of at her place. Does anyone know the reason why hb cannot eat confinement food? After all, most of the food is quite normal food mah, only perhaps with a bit more meat etc.

Anyhow, give me $$ also I don't want to do my confinement at my MIL's place. I'd rather go to my own mum's place. If (touch wood) I have to do a C-Sect, I might have to spend a week or so at my mum's to recover. BUTTT, hor, my MIL said (before we were married) that my hubby CANNOT stay at my mum's place. Dunno why leh. So ma fan. But my hb and I have ever stayed at my mum's place before. Hehehehe. Without his mum knowing. Dunno why my MIL so difficult. Everything also cannot. And she's supposed to be a Christian too, shouldn't be superstitious reasons, right?

CK - I bought mine from Vivie, only $19.90, then it's soft on the outside material + it's flat. U can try looking for tis brand. I found tat @ Metro Causeway tat time. Then I realise BPP also has a shop selling some of Vivie's shoes.

OG Bugis has some Vivie shoes also bt I dun rem if they hv the soft ones.

My stomach doesn't itch also.......

Wah I m nt as hardwking as u, only apply during day time, bt some ppl say night time more effective. Bt I m so tired...... so nvm lah, suan le. Ha ha ha........

My face also chubbier, my coll said can c my dbl chin. Ha ha ha......

PVL - nope, I've nv heard of tat b4. Is tat true?

I also wun do confinement @ mum's plc, cos I wanna do massage, mum's is the Cleanliness Dir @ hme, so she's very fussy. Hb said he will prob get 2wk's AL to acc me & help out during tat period. Bt I was thinking perhaps he shld spread out his 2wks' of AL instead? Like every alt day then take AL, so tat he can help out most of the time during the 1st mth?

I also prefer to do confinement at my own place cos got internet access and can watch tv inside my room. but it depends on whether hb is avail at home to help me or not.

ah ger,

if he take alternate days..will he be very tired or not? cos lets say he helped u out during nite feed, then next day need to go work, if next day not working, he can at least nap during day time.

i am worried that my hb leave cannot be approved leh.. technically he needs to take 2weeks leave in order to get one month rest cos he works 15 days a mth mah.

I hope govt sector more lenient with that.

just went to Toys R' Us website & search for gifts. Wah, search until my eyes wanna pop out.

Stella - my hb's side allows cos his coll did tat also. I dunno leh...... Do u really think hbs will help out w/ night feed? Cos usually is mums who will wake up & feed the bb right? I dunno, must tok to bb, ask him to b gd boy, dun wake up so often to drink milk. Or else I hv to pray hard my stitches recover quickly.

Cos if lets say hb helps out during 1st 2wks, thereafter, I m left alone to take care of the bb for the nx 2wks leh. Though mum said she will cme over @ times, bt then can't expect her to cme early in the morning mah. By the time she's here, I supp is noon time already.

Wasei cherryale,that's a lot bigger! I can still fit in my 70B/75A lei, though a bit tight.

I think my face not much change lah, but from tummy downwards like more crumpsy... Now headache wat to wear for my fren's wedding next Tuesday. Just noted all my dresses can't fit in anymore yday except for 1 or 2 but no longer look that nice lei with the tummy ...

ah ger

yah lor, if ur mum comes also afternoon time liao. haiz.. seems like alot of things to consider.

i am alsp skeptical abt hb helping out during night feed, although my hb says he will help. scully he sleep like a pig. Better dun put too much hope.

Jas - u can wear tube top bt empire cut dresses. I bought 1 frm PM tat time, haben open ceremony yet. Will wear it w/ a short cardi.
It's white base w/ green leafy petals.
I think it's only $40+ or $50+. Bt since I bought 3pcs 2gether, I 4get the price already. I hv 3 dresses to wear
, cos I hv 2 weddings in Dec & they are all hb's colls, so I can't b wearing the same dress. If nt they say hw cme tis MTB no clothes to wear one. Wahahahaha.....

Hmm, they say those preggie w/ gals then are vainpots. Bt then I m carrying a boy leh, I m also so vainpot. Sometimes I can't stand myself also.

Jas, if u remv ur bra then u can c the red line then u better change already. Cos I heard it will restrict dunno wat. Which is why, ard 4th mth I started wearing new bras & kept all the old ones.

Stella - yeah, alot of considerations though.

Hb arh, u can doze off evenm lying on the sofa watching tv leh! hw to entrust the bb to him???? Wat if he slps w/ the bb in his hands?

I m back frm lunch! 2day I tried something else frm another stall. Fried wanton horfun. $3 only. It's cheap! Then guess hw many pcs of fried wanton they gave? 10pcs & they r nt those tiny ones, when I bite on them I can taste the fillings inside.

talking abt taking photos, i just started like taking photos of my pregnant state since only yesterday! Hee..normally will ask hubby to take for me in the morning after i have dress and done make up for work.

Today i wored a 3/4 under belly pants and lifted my top to ask hubby to take my tummy...Initially, he's not quite for the idea as he tot i abit like overexposing i think but i told him that nowadays alot of pregnant ladies also go studio to take.

I always regretted not taking any photo when I'm pregnant with my 1st child...so i think i better take more now. Maybe I will take a picture with every of my maternity clothings!

On bras, one of my colleague advised me not to wear underwire bras. She said she learn that underwire bra will cause your milk ducts to be blocked.

Anyone of you heard that b4?

Jas, i think for me its really a lot and I cant really accept it cos I like to go braless at home. My face has always been chubby, now its even worse. To think I didnt put on much weight. I bought a dress about $100+ from House of Maternity (they have branches at Raffles Place, Parkway parade and some other places). You can consider if you want to buy a more formal maternity dress. if not can try those dresses from PM, bought one at 50+. Dun squeeze into your old dresses lah, one thing is discomfort and the other is may stretch the dresses then next time cant wear.

stella, I dun think my hb can help at night, he sleeps like a pig, so hard to depend on him. Most likely for the first mth, I will pump milk and get the CL to bottle feed baby. After that, no choice got to get up and feed baby myself.

ah ger, my colleague said the toys r us at vivo city is quite nice, if u are free over weekend can go there to walk walk.

PVL, hope u dun mind. Seems like your MIL is a little bit old fashioned..like after marriage your hb cannot stay overnite at your mum's place. Perhaps she still regard childbirth as 'unclean' etc...dun know. My hb will eat whatever the CL cooks for the first mth. That's what most people do.

I am thinking wat to wear for D&D.. dont wish to spend too much on evening gown.

starlite,

i heard regarding the underwired bra, but i still wearing leh..cos i find those maternity bra not nice..

Jas, i think for me its really a lot and I cant really accept it cos I like to go braless at home. My face has always been chubby, now its even worse. To think I didnt put on much weight. I bought a dress about $100+ from House of Maternity (they have branches at Raffles Place, Parkway parade and some other places). You can consider if you want to buy a more formal maternity dress. if not can try those dresses from PM, bought one at 50+. Dun squeeze into your old dresses lah, one thing is discomfort and the other is may stretch the dresses then next time cant wear.

stella, I dun think my hb can help at night, he sleeps like a pig, so hard to depend on him. Most likely for the first mth, I will pump milk and get the CL to bottle feed baby. After that, no choice got to get up and feed baby myself.

ah ger, my colleague said the toys r us at vivo city is quite nice, if u are free over weekend can go there to walk walk.

PVL, hope u dun mind. Seems like your MIL is a little bit old fashioned..like after marriage your hb cannot stay overnite at your mum's place. Perhaps she still regard childbirth as 'unclean' etc...dun know. My hb will eat whatever the CL cooks for the first mth. That's what most people do.

ck, thanks for the info on cruise.... Ya, shd take pix of tummy every mth to keep track of the growth hor?
Only your face turns chubbier? For me, I feel that my whole body like expand by one size now.

Ah ger, I dun have such pain under the breasts. $20-30 can get quite gd edu toys. You also take pic of yourself quite regularly rite? I find myself look uglier though my fren said I looked better with my face rounder.
Yours also incr alot in size hor? Hehehe... I prefer my own place too but hb suggested my parents' place to lighten my mom's burden. My hb did get up to help me to change my gal's diaper during the nite lah. But not much help to nite feed as I was bfg.

cherryale, wow... yours really incr in size! Mine not much diff leh. I also find myself look uglier, dun feel like facing the mirror at all. My col's CL cooked other dishes for her hb and kid during cf leh.

sunsweet, nvm... once you cfm it's gal, you'll buy till siao.

PVL, that's what my col commented lah, Neo Gdn better than Natal Essentials. I thot of getting the trial too. Your hb and kid cant take cf food cos most cf food cooked with ginger and sesame oil so they are more heaty than normal food. That's my mom's explanation when I said I thought of sharing my cf food with my maid.

Starlite, same here.... I regret that I didnt take much pix when I was preggie with No.1 so now toying with the idea of gg to studio to take pix.
Never heard that underwired bra can blocked milk ducts.

Ah ger and cherryale, today will see got time go PM to take a look. The dress u bot sounds pretty... Have been thinking of gg there for quite sometime but after work always very tired just want to go home and rest. Ya, need to get some wireless nursing bra liao. Anyone bot from Marks & Spencer?

cherryale, i like to go braless when sleeping time also. Mine still not so big so still braless when go sleep.

Talking abt taking photos. Not taken one since pregnant. In the morning when i leave home hubby still sleeping. Then night time come home he is not yet back. So timing not very right loh.

I am lucky to have open minded MIL. Even my 2 SILs staying wif both my PIL said PILs like them are hard to find. Easy to get along, independent, not fussy, take care of their DIL and kids and cook for the whole family.

hi jas,i bought panties from marks n spencer, current ones are too tight. nw wearing size 12. hv not tried their nursing bras yet. u buying?

i oredi started to buy bb clothings the nxt day i know the gender, it's so exciting to shop for bb stuffs!!

Starlite, I did nt lift up my tummy & take pic leh, nt funny meh?

Bras - my gf wore tat also leh, soft wired types lor....... anyway the bras r nt very tight also, so nt much of restriction right?

Cherry - I will go JP's outlet 29 cos 2mr's the b/day, can't wait already. :p

Gig - yeah, I went to surf the web, then was planning to get either most likely edu toys. I increase dunno is it bcos of my widen body also. Cos I dun find myself getting very big though, still ok leh.

Jas - they hv quite a nice selection of dresses, then diff designs/ colours. I tried to go House of Maternity bt again I wouldn't want to spend so much, hence $50+ is more than enuff.
I supp u r gng to Suntec branch? 2mr I'll b ard tat area, so maybe will pop by again. Hiak hiak hiak......... bt wil just look c look c lah.

I think if I wanna wear bras when slping @ hme, I will wear sports bras cos they r quite comfy.

Jas - I din get hb to snap for me. I plc on top of the Tv then self-time. Ha ha ha......... bn meddling tat by myself all these while.

cherryale,
Yah, I never heard of a lot of things my MIL claims leh. And she is very matriachal, insist on her own ways, and gets angry when we don't follow. One time she used to criticize us for not having a night light in my daughter's room. She said must have. The baby scared of the dark etc etc etc. No good not to have night light. But our daughter was NEVER scared of being in her dark room by herself. And besides, with the lamps outside, not dark at all!. MIL went on and on for 2 weeks about the night light thing. That's how she is! She expects us to show our 'respect' to her by obeying her. Very difficult for us a lot of the time. She wants to control everything we do lah. Even the food we eat... keeps buying fish and chicken for us though I go to the market myself every week! And the fish she buys usually not the type we like to eat, and her fish smelly smelly one. So difficult to clean! Her fishmonger doesn't clean properly.

Anyway, that's the way it goes. I also cook with ginger and sesame oil mah. Maybe not so much lah, but I also use. We all eat. Haiz. Dunno what else to say lah.

hi gals...talking about looking fat & ugly.

Me so sad this morning...woke up look into the mirror, suddenly realised that my arm so big & my face a little fatter & my nose looks bigger too.
Asked my hb am i fat & ugly...he said..starting to get fat liao.....so sad.....
I asked my 2nd daughter ...mummy's face fat or not ...lucky she say no....at least make my day.

me...never take photo lah...hmmm probably can stars taking & see how fat & ugly by the end of the preggy.

Help from hb ....dun ever think of it. Mine never help at all. So i dun depend on him. Anyway, i survive through my 1st & 2nd so this one shd not be a problem. For me it total BF so evernite hv to wake up every 2hr or so to feed. Tell u ....damn tired.....but fullfilling.....

pekochan - wah u make sure u ctrl ur purse strings leh...........

I once calculated w/ my gf, total costs estimated incl gynae fees & etc is abt $10k. Wonder if any of u did a calculation on ur prev pregnancies? Another of my gf who gave birth late las mth also told me she calculated abt $10k expenditure already.

For me, right frm the beginning I already take note on the things I spend on, like gynae's consultation, tonics I buy, maternity wear (shld nt b my own exp cos it's preg mah), then also stretchmark creams & etc.

PVL - y nt in order to make everybody happy, just buy those small wall light frm IKEA then whether u on it or nt, it can also add decor to the rm? in tis way she wun complain already lor.

Actually in terms of food, I can't comment much. She is perhaps just out of gdwill & shun bian, to buy for u all. Maybe ask ur hb to tell her no need to buy for u all already lor since u go mkt urself also. Then ask her to buy more food for herself to eat. In tis way she hear already also happier mah, isn't it so?

JC - MIL also said my arms more meaty already. Then I alway complain to hb, I m getting fatter & bigger size! Sooner or later ppl can't c his body if he's behind me. He said fat then fat lor, preg is meant to b fat also mah. after deliver already then worry.

Ah ger

10k is quite alot leh..

if natural delivery , shld spend less than that bah.

till date, my expenses is quite low , biggest one should be gynae package = S$550 plus all other a & e medical expense till date abt $800.00 bah. Maternity clothes, i din buy much at the most $150.00

tonics i really din take any expensive ones, i believe balanced diet is most important. Only supplement i took is fish oil. supposed to cost 30 a mth, but i bought in bulk from bulk purchase becomes 21.50 per mth.

Subsitituted birdnest with white fungus since they have the same nutrition value. One week of white fungus supply is only $2.00

If everything goes smoothly, my expenses for food should not be high lah. Save save a bit lor, since i am not rich, just spend the minimum lor.

ah ger, ya getting preg is not cheap. got so many things to spend on. i oredi spent $1K on maternity clothings. bb clothes i bought it thru those spree.