(2007/02) February

Ah ger, so you more or less settle on your bb care-giving prob? Your mom will look after your bb and you buy a car? Dun worry... your bb shd be ok since your gynae didnt mention anything from your recent visit.

ck, same here.... so busy since yday evening. I've been to go online to book tic for Phantom also no time. Sigh.......

Charis, dun dwell too much on what your mil said lah. Stimes it's cos both of you got diff culture, diff upbringing, diff generation, etc... So got to give and take, and got to learn how to listen with one ear in and the other ear out.

Got to go back to work liao...

ah ger,

got consider using the car just for ferrying bb only ? then go work via public transport ..

on saturday after 3pm go out also ok ma ..
normally i wake up late on weekends also ..

ah ger,

i also have the same feeling of worrying ..
but at least your worry will end 2molo ..

how much is the 3D print ?

ah ger,

my small boss just came in office early morning and ask me read e-mail ..
i was too shocked and dunno how to react ..
and also incase i misread his email rite. .
so i went back to my seat and re read first ..
then i think he realise he wrong lo ..
indian go anywhere also need visa ..
i process visa until scared. ..

Giggler....u getting the Phantom Ticket? me too
r u using DBS less 10%?

My girls want to go too...wow...siong man. saw tt they hv family pkg $390. Not sure whether shd bring them or not?

Ck, if get wkend car just for ferrying the bb then it's nt worth it also leh. Imagine we r paying like abt $300+ - $400+? then we take public tpt also gng to cost hb & i total of abt another $200.

besides hb has the habit of gng back hme to bathe after wk b4 he goes out. So if we leave @ mum's plc, besides tearing coupon the whole day, hb has to take own tpt back hme then tpt to mum's hse again. It's so troublesome.

Nah, we dun wake up so late one. All along I also wake up @ 9+ 10am. It depends, sometimes we can go out as early as 12+ 1pm bt sometimes can b as late as 4+.

CK, cos I m in an earlier stage than u, tats y my detail scan is earlier, I can't wait for nx wk cos by then overshot le.

I dunno hw much wor, I chk out the pricing then I let u know lor. Updates will cme in only Fri.

ah ger,

i got leh .. my new agent very good .. but is just my boss la ... agent even offered to help me collect it back .. but i said i need it immediate .. so in the end i go down to the embassy myself ..

then different embassy, the multiple visa is valid different period ..
price wise also different ..

is okie .. i shall be patient and wait till bb arrive ...

if u take normal car .. u need to factor in more parking fees and petrol as well ..
initially u said trouble to ferry bb over to your mum place and bring back .. so i thought tat timing is around off peak ...
if u want to cut cost ...

CK
Glad tat ur new agt is gd.

Yeah diff embassies hv diff validity one. Thus hv to call & ask @ times lor.

Normal cars - parking only @ mum's plc & our hse. Petrol already factored in le. I find it troublesome nt only for us bt the bb as well bt hb insists on taking the bb hme.

ah ger

ya .. maybe u tell hubby alternative day take back home ?
very tiring as well ..
maybe u dun buy the car first then try it out after ML .. and see if he can take it ..
can save then try to save ...
marnee not easy to earn ..

ah ger, congrats on having a bb boy, ur mum is happy already at least got a male grandson! Old folks are like tat, they prefer male first, then the 2nd onward chin chai already.

My mum is equally happy coz she can see her grandson, juz tat I am sad coz my father was not able to see his grandchild efore he passed away. Till now I still miss my father very much, sob sob..

mummy2b, saw ur pix already, u so pretty leh. U tummy is smaller than mine. Although all of us here will deliver around the same period of time, but mine is like wat PVL mentioned... like a watermelon too. I suspect it's the elastic band of my maternity pant.

Ask u all har one funny question.. do u all change to bigger size undies? I find that the usual undies I am wearing keep rolling down with a bigger tummy to come. It's so funny I have to go sourcing bigger size undies leh, and where to find.. i am not use to those low waist kind or bikini lines.

Charis, read about your "stressful" story, u dun stress yourself lah, think of bb. Actually can emphatise ur MIL, she is not as bad as some others' out there. There is a thread on MIL, if u compare urself to them, u will consider yourself lucky lor.. me SIL also very pampered one, she wan her bro/dad to sell the house and wan us to use our CPF to buy a flat so that all of them can move in with us. In the first place. Wah she thok she wat? Can decide for his brother and ME that I should pay the CPF and so she can enjoy a room to herself. After that she married off leave the 2 old man and woman for us? The most important fact is, my hb DON'T HAVE MUCH CPF due to start working very late and my hb younger than me, my CPF then doubled his, meaning I AM the MAIN contribute to our new house,wah she dun need to pay a single cent still can TALK SO LOUD! I married in to enjoy life, she think I married in to be the slave of the house? Buy house for her to enjoy, not my duty man.

Argh... talk about this topic angry lah. I also muz relaz..

Bitbit..yr in laws story very interesting also..

Yup..I agree i've heard worse MIL stories..haha. I get along with my MIL, jus that another problem we have with her is that she 'habours' some 'bitterness', cos she actually didnt want her son to marry me so soon, I think if possible she dont want him to get married, want him to take full care of family..cos my SIL still young but they will get older..SO our story is more complicated than it looks..But i guess unfortunately for her, I kind of came into the picture..so I think she may 'resent' me in some way..hahaha..I dont know lah..but bcos they are Christians, so I guess she kind of accepts me but maybe on the surface only..?

Bitbit..well my panties also seem to roll down cos of the bigger tummy..haha. So I recently bought a few in 1-2 sizes bigger..but then the back will go too high up cos the butt area too big..I heard there's maternity underwear, but I dont know where to get it..

bitbit - thks thks. Yeah mum is happy tat she finally has a grandson. Tats y she insists on taking care of my bb. bt final confirmation will b out 2mr cos I'll b going for detail scan.

bitbit - I haven changed my undies yet. Bt I already realised my panties slipped slightly dwnwards le. U can go PM they hv plain nice undies, & nt very exp. 4 pcs for $32.90 (the las time I saw). It's those cotton type.

bitbit - dun b angry le. Bt then eventually u all din do it right? or already in the process?

JC, me may go to Sistic outlet to get the tic directly from them. Your gals know how to appreciate musical? Good for them hor... But the tic very ex leh.

bitbit, I still ok with my current undies. How abt getting maternity panties?

Charis, Perfect Mum sells panties but I'm not sure if they're maternity type though. I got mine from Triumph/Wacoal at BKK last time.

I got PM white maternity pants for sale..not worn before. Its cotton & lycra material. Selling it for at least 20% off the price. Cos no point I keep..I realise I dont like to wear white pants..I thought if I sell it, I can buy another pants. Its free size.

Selling neurogain fish oil tablets too.

Interested anyone?

Talking about cars...
When we first came back from the US with my 7 wk old girl in tow, we at first said we could hold on before we got a car. Take cab. Our place is convenient to bus and MRT too. I am the one who drives. Hb doesn't have license. But like Ah ger says, we ended up waiting in the scorching sun with bb, pram, bb car seat etc etc etc etc. Sometimes no cab available. Call also don't have. Sometimes raining. Then after going to my MIL or parents' place, so paiseh, pple feel obliged to send us back even though it was out of the way. Then for me, being a SAHM, I needed to do grocery shopping. Wah... so much to carry, with baby in tow. But then I wasn't going to use the car that much. So in the end, we bought an off-peak (weekend) car. We are really happy with the usage. I pay $20 once a week usually, on Wednesdays, to do my grocery shopping, run errands, and then at 5+ (yah, soon) go fetch my hb and then to his mum's for dinner. Occasionally we do spend a little more on other days, if there are good reasons to. But otherwise, for outings on other days, I take public transport with my girl.
So we make good use of our weekend car and save quite a bit cos the road tax is only $50 a year, in addition to the 17K savings. My car travels >1000km per month despite being used so seldom.

Hi giggler,

does BKK sell maternity undies and nursing bra? is it cheap? I will be going this weekends. whenever, we go BKK will sure buy undergarments...bt not sure abt maternity undies and nursing bra....did u get it at MBK?

PVL, yah it's just impossible to manage without a car sometimes, esp when it's raining or the cabs all go missing :p we actually ordered our Altis 3 months before returning from the US to be just in time for baby's arrival!! I think hb and I are spoiled lah, both had our own cars before marriage (me spoiled, parents bought for me.. he old goat, got enough $ to buy car for himself.. haha

Charis, gosh, u are really mature lah.. I don't think I could ever put up with staying with my MIL. Too stressful for me, esp 'cos my MIL is a bit nutty and she only speaks hokkien.. well, speak is an understatement.. she shouts ALL THE TIME. :p yes, yes, I go to ARPC. We're looking to buy Bishan/Sin Ming Ave, perhaps EM.. but gotta wait till our sale goes thru first before we sign option to purchase.. timing will be tricky!!

cherryale, yah it's stressful to be a super mum.. my mom is the type who can make everything fr scratch - from pies to pastries to rendang/curry.. me?i buy ready pastes.. i can cook lah but i refuse to do fr scratch..haha.. had a lot of time to 'hone' my cooking skills from 3 years uni in UK, then 1.5 years in US as huang lian po. that's why my dad is so hopping mad tt i'm becoming a permanent SAHM.. 'cos all my education 'down the drain'.. sigh... but hor, he doesnt' realise tt it makes a lot of diff to be at home.

back from detailed scan.. everything is normal..except that bb is abit light..only 451g @ 22w3days but still within the nornal range.

bb very co-operative , thus scanning is done in 20 minutes. The radiograher also help us do a 3D scan, can see that bb nose bridge is high.

today during hospital tour, we got to see the labour ward and the observation room. Donno y when i step into the labour ward, i got abit nervous, esp when seeing those staff and dads to be pacing up and down. When proceed to the maternity wards, there is one woman who just gave birth and her newborn being wheeled in. the mummy look so pale and tired while bb is so cute..already open eyes and looking around.

Then we visited the nursery ,almost half filled and one bb self removed the mittens.

Really an eye opener!

Morning to all..........

Stella - thank goodness everything is ok. Dun worry, ur bb will soon b able to catch up with the wt. Wah then my bb super heavy lor. ha ha ha, 22w 1 is 493g. bt then I read the bk, 22wks bb is abt 450g leh.

2day is my turn to go detail scan. I just flipped the book & check on the measurement. Bb @ 23wks shld b abt 500g then length is 29cm. So shall c hw much my bb has put on over the 1wk since 2mr I will b 23wks le.

Stella - u did 3D can, does it mean ur prints are also 3D? Do u hv to pay xtra?

My scanning is done @ NUH, dun think I will walk ard to visit the hospital, cos I m sick anyway, I wanna get out of the hospital as soon as possible.

*cross-finger* my scanning will b smooth like urs!

hi ah ger

i dun have to pay extra for the 3D scan..quite surprised that the radiographer did the 3d scan for us cos normally they will only do the 2d ones.

din check the length leh, gynae says now not accurate already cos bb curls up. Weight wise, gynae says its still within the normal range , and it depends on the parents weight at birth also. me & hb are only 5 pounders.. so lost prob this bb also ard the range

Good morning

thenuahcouple, I got maternity bras and undies from department store in BKK.

Catz, I think generally Hokkien are more chor lor... my mom 'shout' most of the time too... Hehehe

stella, good that your bb is doing well

Ah ger, you not recover yet? You take multi-vit regularly or not?

Wah Stella, so gd. Bt is 3D scan pics nice? I will ask on the charges, then c hw much diff it is. Wonder if they cna show me the diff b4 I decide to c it in 3D or 2D.

Gig - nt yet lah, still hv flu & cough. Itchy throat lor, cos hv phlegm mah, tats y diff to recover.

Wat multi-vits? I dun hv tat as my daily suppls. My gynae asked me to stop my Vit C long ago. So nw I only rely on my daily water consumption then med @ night lor.

Hokkiens may sound more chor lor cos of the language & the way/ tone they speak. I like Teochew cos they sound more gentle. I m a Cantonese, & obviously Cantonese are def loud & sharp. ha ha ha, hb always say when we r talking we sound as if we r shouting.

ah ger..

to clarify, the detailed scan for organs etc are done by 2d scanning

3d scanning is for "fun" only, cos the radiographer let us see the bb facial features and print for our keepsake.

detailed scanning films on organs , we do not have the films cos it is for medical purpose.

Ah Ger,

I think some, if not most of us have multi-vites and Calcium pills as supplements.

U can check with your gyne.

I've asked my gyne abt the Fish Oil Supplement cos she did not prescribe for me. she said if I'm taking fish like every alt day its good enough.

Well, I think i'll still take the fish oil cos i dun think i take fish like every other day leh keke

Sunsweet, I hv asked my gynae b4, he said all those Vits, he wants us to take frm natural resources. Tats y even though we r given calcium pills, he still wants us to take milk & other things. Then also, diff gynae prescribes diff types of suppls. My gf who had him had only folic & calcium if I m t wrong.

Nt all ppl need iron pills also. Like my coll, she din take.

It's surprising how fast the bb growth inside us! My tummy has grown so much since 2 weeks ago and now one glance knows that i am pregnant.

BB is supposed to grow 50g per week, whilst mummy should gain weight of about 2-3kg in 20 weeks, but i have increased by double by 6kg liao!

Talking about car, we are planning to get one too in Spore and sell away our Msia car. Maybe 2nd hand, mainly for our transportation to and fro JB-Spore every week and later part transportation of bb to and fro my aunty's place if she is gg to take care of our bb. Now oredi getting very tiring especially the trip back from JB. Have to squeeze with so many ppl, the noise and the pollution at the causeway. Hubby always have to hold me tightly while standing on the bus in case ppl squeeze me and hit my tummy accidentally.

ah ger,

have a nice trip down to nuh today ..

jas,
ya tummy has grown soo much ..
i think i've also grown like 6kg or more... he he ..
now at week 22..
sleep is getting a little uncomfy ..

stella,
thanx for the update ..

Jas - u mean right frm the start of pregnancy till nw u hv gained 6kg? Tat is normal! 2 - 3kg is on the lower side. I read by 22wk or so, mummy shld hv gained abt 6kg.

We have calculated the pros & cons of 1st vs 2nd hands, w/ a mere diff i think less than $50 per mth, I would rather pay for a brand new car. Anyway we dun intend to breakeven, will just get 10 yr loan.

Nx wk we will b gng to Kah Motors w/ BIL to c cars.

My tummy arh, since 5th mth already pop out le, nw wanna hide also can't hide.

On Tues, I was on the train, then a man sat someware in the middle of the seats asked if I wanna sit, bt then I was standing near the doors, so I told him it's ok. I guessed even if he gives up his seat for me, b4 I can rch somebody would have taken it so no pt, let him sit lor.

542069.gif

ah ger, thanks for the tips on where to get maternity items, r u a shopping queen? I realise I am not, dun feel strange I hate shopping, duno y.. i am the going makan type. For eg if pp ask me out for gethering at some eatery i sure go if can make it, or if ppl ask me out for buffet, wah my favourite. Also if pack a basket go picnic with my family I aso can enjoy the whole thing. Juz simply shopping, eh.. no thank u..

charis/ah ger, in the end I TALK EVEN LOUDER, I tell my hb to tell her straight, wat a heck she is? I pay she stay? I tell my hb u wan to marry me, then we shift out stay by ourselves, if you are going to let your family stay in, then we go separate way, I dun mind finding other man or staying single with my own family. I still hv work and I can support myself and buy my own flat when I reach 35 yo, I dun hv to depend on him (and what can I depend on from his family? Can they provide me shelther and work free), since I can support myself, I dun need to married and let that toopid SIL "direct" our marriage life. Even if wan to stay, it's my money, I wan to let my own family/mum stay y need to let her stay? No money still wan to talk SO LOUD, u all get wat I mean?

CK - thks thks. I will update u again 2mr.

Slp arh - I've bn trying to slp on the left hand side bt then nt very comfy, end up i just lie flat facing the ceiling. Bt I put my bolster on the right side so tat @ least the body is tilted abit towards the left. Very comfy, maybe u can try tonight.

bitbit, me arh, nt exactly shopping Queen lah, bt I do alot of window shopping & browsing lor.
Then I happen to c tat when I was @ PM/ Mothercare & etc, so tats hw I know.

I dun like makan. ha ha ha....... so when my frens ask me arrange gathering for dinner, I always run out of ideas.

stella, so good u were given a 3D scan and for FREE, i mean no pay extra? How much is it?

for me it's the very normal scan (2D)..and somemore it's a very low resolution one, sianz.. I have to pay $70+ for the scan itself..

bitbit

the detailed scan i paid $105.00 .. thats not included in my gynae package.

the 3d scan is free , anyway it did not take much time ,cos only scan facial features

ah ger, so we are in fact opp coz u r more to shopping type and I am more to makan type.

in fact the cruise trip alot of thing to eat up there, hehe,, taty I am so excited..

Now I eat like nobody biz also, no need to worry I will grow fat. But yes of course I will be caution of how much and wat I am taking lah..
542103.gif

Ah ger, guess with the haze ard, it'll take longer for you to recover. Your gynae doesnt give you any supplements? I like Cantonese leh... Thot all gynaes will give multi-vit cos we need it as we preg. You want to get from pharmacy yourself since you keep falling sick? I take multi-vit everyday now and it works.+

sunsweet, hehehe... same as my gynae. Didnt watch to prescribe fish oil to me and told me to eat fish instead. But I still get Neurogain myself lah.

Jas/CK, my tummy getting bigger and I find it uncomfy too.

bitbit, how much did you pay for your cruise? I feel like gg also leh... Like your icons... so cute

bitbit - yeah, me no food lover, if nt u wun hear me crying wat to eat everyday le.

Many ppl were amzed tat even nw I m pregnant bt I dun eat alot like some ppl who will cheong for hi teas. I feel the stomach is so tight, like wanna explode, hw to stuff so much food in? Breathe also got difficulty. Ha ha ha.........

Gig - all along I take Vit C bt it was when I got preg then gynae asked me to stop tat.

I hv very senstive nose + I hv sinus then once I get flu there comes everything.

bitbit....like the piggy...so cute.

Ah ger...did u try to see chinese dtr for ur sinus? Maybe it helps.
I have sinus too when younger days but it recovers by itself in adulthood

Stella...mine only 2D scan...never seen bb on 3D scan b4. Wonder how it looks like?

Well....looks like most of us have done our detail scan...so what's next......waiting for
D Day. Guess will be very fast....esp Nov & Dec is moving towards festive seasons...days go by faster & easier.....

giggler, my cruise I paid come 1.5k for 3A and 1 infant. It's weekend one, moreover is a promo cruise, still ex hor..

If you wanna go cruise gonna hurry coz the later you book, the more expensive it will be and dun forget it's coming to Nov/Dec sch holiday already and also ur tummy getting bigger, then need doctor certification.

ah ger, me last night had gathering wif old friends, although I am tired but ours is a dinner gathering, so i enjoy it very much. Then next week my coll wedding, then 21/oct my birthday, my hb is gg to treat me to buffet, yeh yeh.. then end oct go cruise, eat eat eat and 3 nov another friend wedding dinner.. eh seems like I m eating and eating hor..

jC, u like the piggy? I noe lar, u and me same oink oink mah, hahaha..
542150.gif
another one for all of u, haha

so u all still wan piggy baby or not or change your mind already to deliver in doggy yr?

JC, u like eating??hehe

Been long time didn't chat here liao. Oh, miss coming here. How's everyone? lots of new mommies? I was really busy w my work and too tired to log in during weekends. Really want to update u gals abt me. Went for my detail scan last wk. bb fine and its a boy.
abit active and once in awhile i can feel bb kicking. mmm... don thk i can follow w the thread. Give me some time to get up w u gals again. dear all, take gd care!
542166.gif