(2007/02) February

Ah ger..u are right..its not easy..they are amazing..I tried to do that..wake up 6am settle hb's bf, then sleep, wake up have bf, do housework, prepare own lunch, then housework again, then cook dinner...wah super tired..but rather fulfilling..when baby comes, how to do all that..But my hubby told me that he'll help with housework in future..he started helping already..hehe.

U funny leh..take photo of tummy..I cant be bothered..I dont know wat I do also most of the time also..haha..

Charis, I took as a whole picture lah, nt just aiming @ the stomach. Ha ha ha......... if just aim stomach, no verification it's me! Then I can c my ugly side also mah.

charis, you're at bishan too? planning to buy around tt area. my sis is also just a couple of blocks away from kcpp. and my church is temporarily using kc secondary on sundays
yah stressed lah 'cos bb arriving at the same time, gotta move my son to a bed etc.. shack..

my mom is another super housewife - cooks super solid breakfasts, lunches and dinners for all of us plus ferried us to tuition, piano, ballet.. think i'm nowhere near her standard.. esp cooking wise.. she cooks fancy meals.. i cook one dish meals. heh

Catz..

Yup..im in Bishan. U buying there also? When? Good location right esp with circle line coming up..

My church is quite far..in Queenstown. U from which church? Adam Rd PC? Jus wondering cos my fren's church also temporary at either Zion or KC sec..forgot which one.

Oic..dont worry..I think yr son should be excited to move to new room/bed..U cook 1 dish meals like..? Fried rice, mee goreng is it? Then not bad wat..hehe.

Oh Ah ger log off alrd..

Im excited..cos going out with hubby tonight, but late cos he finish work at 7pm..hehe..seldom get to go out on date leh..he's so busy..n he always say eat at home save money..but he dont know his own mother complain so tired of cooking for us already..

Catz, your mum sounds great, u are really fortunate to have a super mum. My mum didnt used to do hsework at home before she got married. After marrying my dad, she has to learn how to do hsework, look after us and cook. Until today, she is still not a good cook...sometimes we have to tell her things like fish is not very cooked, prawn still a bit black...but she is already trying her best.

Charis, my mil also very kan cheong and I agree with you totally that its cos they are stressed themselves, they try to make a lot of demands and give advice to make all our lives easier. For example, her reason for us to get another maid is so that She does not have to look after baby at night as she assumed we will leave baby at her place. When I said we will bring baby home every night, she said having maid is good so that I do not have to wake up to take care of baby. Plus there will be two maids at home to check on each other, then they will not play a fool when MIL goes out for her classes. Honestly, if maids are out to create trouble, two maids equal two times more trouble!!
My 1 dish meals are things like fish porridge, beef stew and spaggetti...think Catz will be better since she stayed in US with hb last time, definitely has more opportunities to cook.

Ah ger, when I bought new clothes from PM, I will try them out at home to mix and match with my other stuff, then hb will take photo of me cos he wanted a complete album of pregnancy including the scans from gynae and our own photos. Think will be nice to show baby next time.

Cherryale..Oic..well u are right..but they dont realise its a financial burden to get maid n extra help..if can afford I dont mind leh..but my hubby say he's really tight once baby comes..plus I wont be working..

Wah..good leh..u have an album on that..Actually my 1st pregnancy I started a journal n kept all the scans plus wrote down stuff like weight gain, feelings etc..But it ended in a m/c, so for this pregnancy, I more 'unsure' if I should have a journal..u know wat i mean right..

But I think we should at least have some photos for keepsake..n to show baby next time that "Look, u know u were inside my tummy." Hehe.

morning to all..............

Las night I just took pics of myself again. Ha ha ha........ Jus realised frm the camera tat my las pic taken was 17 Sep. Bt I took 1 during mum's b/day earlier tis mth.

Yest showed mum the print scan then she said it's obvious tat it's a boy. She is nw on Cloud9 already. She said no need to wait for detail scan to cfm le. Then nw, the more she insists on taking care of the bb.

Cherry - I heard frm many ppl the print scan will fade. Tats y I scan & print them out an xtra copy, then I will laminate & put in an album. I even took pic of the test kit, dated the pic & print it out.
Ha ha ha......

Charis, tat day when I was breaking dwn the costs, having a maid vs a car is more or less the same. Eg maid is $600 nt incl bb expenses $200. Then Mktg costs will increase also cos she tends to cook.

Getting a car is abt tare, est ~$1k. Bt of cos bcos we r giving mum to look after, we hv to pay extra costs also. We hv sorted out our sums, can still save abit bt nt as much as b4 for sure. So in the meantime, just scrimp & save watever we can. I hv 1 more obstacle than u gals, hb is ending his contract in 08, so our finances will b even tighter.

hi gals..

good morning!!

today me on leave ..going to detailed scan later and will meet my gynae on the same day also. unfortunately hb have classes this evening, can only accompany me to detailed scan.

now waiting for him to come home from his night shift.

ah ger,

dun worry abt ur hb contract..we are also the same cos in this current situation, there is no more iron rice bowl liao. no guarantess for any jobs or rather anything in life. ur hb in uniform grp? mine too..

charis

ur mil is somehow like mine... she does alot of things which she can dont do, but she insisted and end up complaining sometimes.. i think thats the mentality of hsewife of olden times --- dunno how to let go.

sometimes it is frustrating that she "voluntary" do , but end up saying that we are dependant on her and nag.

my family is the opp cos my mum is a working woman, we are so used to being independant.

Stella - yeah my hb in uniform grp. He doesn't hv a gd qualification, tats y nw in the midst of getting a Dip. Hopefully w/ a so-called Dip he is no longer called an ITE student lor. When is ur hb gng to ORD?

good morning ladies,

busy at work .. then kena scold upside down over an arabic visa form .. boss said i never read ...
i wonder how to read ..
then stand there let him scold lo ..
after tat he realise he wrong then he come to me ask for this and tat ... and constantly saying tq ..
haiz ...

ah ger,
ooh .. i need this info ...
the clinic assistant talk too fast ..
can't catch her also ..
he he ...

happy seeing your bb 2molo ..

2molo 3+ rite. .
he he ...

CK - wah........ ur boss hor..... bt u shld hv told him u dun understand mah, rather than standing tare let him scold.

CK - the nurse din even tell me, tats y I went to search it myself.

2mr appt is 2.35pm. Actually it's nt say happy lah, more of a worried feeling nw, cos dunno hw is the bb's developement & growth so far. *cross0finger* & pray hard everything will b fine.

CK - do u intend to ask for 3D print? Dr Tham said can req bt then more exp. he said no pt cos it's still nt coloured, jus tat u c the bb as a whole human rather than the pics we usually c.

CK - I tot of wkend car b4. Bt u c, if use wkend cars, which means he can't send me to wk already cos no wkend car after 7am unless u wanna tear the coupon. Bt then bcos he's nt running on the road, when he goes to camp, his car will b parked tare. Then evening after 7pm then he can move ard, which means I hv to either meet him after 7pm to go mum's hse or he tears the coupon & waste $20 just for tat day. Then Sat we can only move ard after 3 or 4pm which is nt feasible.

Besides, if we hv a wkend car nw, though it's disc $17K, bt if we ever wanna convert back to normal plate, we hv to top up $XX amt leh. Also, will u b willing to spend so much $$ @ 1 shot & buy a pile of wkday coupons? $20 per pc then hw many pcs do u wanna buy each time? Can't b when u wanna use then go & buy right?

Tats y after comparing all the pros & cons, we still think a normal plate is better.

ah ger..

same lor..my hb also taking his dip now.. he is under permanent scheme one.. ie: sign till 55 yrs old type.

Stella - ur hb & mine is diff. He had the 2nd contract bt then my hb dun hv liao, inside all kicking ppl out le. Then there's one who got it las yr bt then he's decided to call it quits cos he found a job outside.

Nw I can only hope when hb cmes out, we can still handle everything financially. I hate playing all the worrying games.
It's very stressful, having to think when we hv/ dun hv $$.

Ah Ger,

Can consider buying 2nd hand car loh..
but of cos old cars will fall sick sometimes so if your hubby is well verse enough with cars.. why not consider a 2nd hand one? those left with 3 yrs or less to drive for the time being.. at least the depreciation is lower then buying new car.

U can look ard at www.sgcarmart.com for 2nd hand car.

My hubby search and bought his 1st 2nd hand car from this webby from direct owner. U can consider loh.

ah ger...

try to save up now lor.. most importantly is we as wife have a job..at least not so chiam.

my hb is selling away his bike and taking over my bro in law car also.. also add stress to our finance..

Hi ah ger..

Getting a car is always a financial strain..different from a flat..cos flat can use CPF. My hubby is NOT getting a car..seriously..he very idealistic when it comes to finances. He can afford monthly installments..but he thinks it is not wise to pay monthly cos u are 'binded' financially..He say if he wants to buy a car, he will pay 1 short cash for it.

Charis, we hv no choice leh. If hb wanna bring bb to & fro everyday, we can't b taking cab all the way. Troublesome is 1 thing, whether you can get a cab on time is another issue. Also, wkends when we wanna go anyware, bring big/ small bags & waiting under the scorching sun is horrible. I can't b taking bus cos it's gng to b very troublesome also.

Hb & I hv tok abt tis b4, when I get preg, we will get a car. Bt I delayed till really no other way out. He doesn't want maid, he'd rather hv my mum look after then we will just tie our pockets tighter.

If I hv a choice I also wouldn't want all these. I rather look after the kid myself bt again we cnanot rely on single income.

Stella..I agree..I think they tend to be like that..

My MIL is a real headache to me now leh..She does not like me to cook..but when I say no need to cook for me..she ends up saying she'll cook for me..Then she 'complain' to my hubby that I eat nonsense..is sandwiches n salad nonsense? I've been eating like that for 3 years when I was working in the childcare..for lunch..i will vary the meat inside, sometimes tuna, chicken, cheese n tomato, salmon..with lettuce..its very healthy leh..she say its not nutritious! Then she told my hubby I must learn to cook so that I dont have to eat nonsense..hahaha..I dont want to cook lunch cos nobody eats..only me..why waste time n money to cook..I ever offered to cook for my MIL n FIL, but she say no need, she'll find things to eat, n my FIL very fussy..Dinner I will definitely cook cos got at least 4 of us eating.

Ah ger..I know wat u mean..I told hubby also..cos we go out a few times a week to church..so a car would be useful..if not we have to take a cab..furthermore we spend half the day in church on Sat, so will need to bring all baby stuff includ sleep stuff, cos baby will sleep in church..But my hb will not get a car..I no need to beg etc..Haha..
My dad has a car but he uses it during the weekends..weekdays we can borrow..so maybe I'll drive on weekdays..

charis...think it's been hard on u tt u need to serve so many pple in the family.
I think if me...."piang" liao sure cannot.

Charis, @ least there is a car for u to borrow. We dun hv. BIL has a car bt he has a family also, we can't b asking him to lend us the car on wkends when he can also spend time w/ his family.

Besides, u stay w/ ur in laws u dun hv to move ard as much as we do. Thus a car is nt essential for the time being yet.

JC..thing is I dont mind..but must make it clear to me..I dont like indecisiveness..my MIL sometimes say ok can cook, sometimes not ok..very confusing. She only admits she needs help when she's not well.

Charis, could it b ur MIL can't bear to ask u do for her? If u dun do hsewk does she complain to ur hb? Then esp when u r preggie nw, perhaps she wants u to hv more rest?

Ah ger..Ya for us a car is not important..its not a need at this moment..cos I'll take a cab if I dont want to take bus.mrt..I dont like to drive..My hb got company bus to take to n fro from work..so that's why we dont have a car now..Last time, when we go out for outings during public holidays or when he takes leave, we usually rent a car.

Charis, for us is we need to take our own tpt. When we go out las time also either bus/ mrt or cabs. Even nw if possible, & we hv extra time, we will take bus to GlenE for chkups. Bt then for the sake of the bb nx time, we hv to get a car lor.

ah ger,

maybe good to know how much u are willing to fork out a mth for the car expensess then u can start searching one that fits the budget.

not all 2nd hand cars are lousy..

I think at the end of the day is how deep your pocket is and how much depreciation u can handle.

For me, i have a car now.. wanted to change a smaller veh. to lighten the burden but then after calculating its not really worth it.. so decide to "suffer" a little for these few year till the car is fully paid for.

Sunsweet - I browsed thru the url u gave me, those 2 - 3yrs cars also ard the price. + their COE was high tat time, so the mthly installment also nt exactly low. I dunno hw to calculate all these, I leave it to hb. So long as he give me a final figure then I can do my sums already.

We hv already input all the things we hv to pay for, incl wat we r currently paying also.

End up stil save abit bt nt as much. So just take these fw mths & try to save as much as possible.

Yeah nt much diff one if u change to smaller car nw. We r looking @ abt 1.4 - 1.6L cars, def nt a 1L car cos 2 small & can't move. Even if move, fuel consumption will b high cos need more energy to move on.

AH ger..dont know leh..She didnt complain so far that I never do much housework..cos i think she dont expect me to clean up the whole house..cos its not my house right..I only help with sweeping the living room floor n washing dishes..cleaning up after meals..the rest is housework like laundry n ironing for me n hb, cleaning our MBR.

I think she in general quite fed up with her life..u know wat i mean..she ever told my hb, she say she very tired of cleaning up after her family..she wants to do her own stuff..u see..she has 2 grown up kids..my hb n his older sis..all above 20..but then she had my younger SIL 10 years after my hb was born, she was already 35..so now she's 52, she still has a long way to take care of my SIL who's only 14.

I really look forward to have my own house..u cant have 2 women in the house..both housewives of diff husbands..have different purposes, different ideals..different generations, different backgrounds. Haha.

Yeah like my MIL sometimes she will grumble & say very tired abt tis/ tat. All old folks r like tat one. Cos afterall, they've slogged for so many yrs......

Ah ger..

I do have one car to recommend u if u are looking at something new.. the Kia Picanto..
My frd drives one and got to say its rather torquey = powerful although its just 1.1 lit.

the price is abt $45K if i'm not wrong but being 1st time car owner insurance maybe high..

Ah ger..That's true..I hope I wont be like that next time..but first I must bring up my kids well..so that they dont become a burden BUT a blessing, not only to me but others..hehe.

Quite sian also..I was telling my hubby ytd..our lives very difficult since the time we actually started courting..we so happy to get married, but we still had problems..cos we come from diff family bckground, diff religion too..as in my parents are not Christians..n my in laws have their own religious n life issues..Now still got problems..Im jus looking forward to having a new family.

Sunsweet - hb doesn't trust Kia nor Hyundai cos he said no value. Ha ha ha......... he's very particular. He said he rather buy 1 tat is better than to regret later. 1.1L arh, diff lah. My FIL is so fat, if he happens to sit in our car then can't move liao. Besides $45K can get Mit Lancer already. Hb is looking @ Honda Jazz. yeah I know 1st time buyers, insr r pretty high. abt $1.5k for 30yrs old.

Charis - I hope I wun b those grumbling woman the nx time either. Ha ha ha......

Charis - look on the brighter side, u hv so many obstacles nw, nx 1/2 of the life will b a gd one.

On a lighter n more joyful mode, my baby is kicking/moving a lot..can feel this 'popping' feeling in the tummy..sometimes low, sometimes near to belly button. Very exciting..

Cant describe properly the feeling..its like 'bubbling', 'popping', 'fluttering', not nudges yet..soon it become kicks n punches..then mayb painful..haha.

my bb just moved also, think moving the hands cos it's slightly abv the belly button area. It's like I m typing & he's typing also. Ha ha ha...... my coll asked me if I feel the joy when bb is moving inside, I said like tat lor. Maybe later lah when I feel more movements.

Yeah Charis - tats the feeling I hv nwadays lor.

Haha..ah ger u so bad leh..say yr FIL so fat..hahaha..better get bigger, more sturdy car if u'll be driving others around too..after all the child/baby seat is already so bulky..

Ah ger..ya lor..finally I feel something..last few weeks, I still dont feel anything, then most of u say can feel already..I tot maybe something wrong or I still cant pinpoint the movement..but NOW I CAN..So its a real moment for me..hahaha.

Charis - really, even my hb & MIl kip complaining he's fat! he also think so. There was a period he went jogging & lost quite abit bt nw no longer do so. So again the 'air' got pumped in. Ha ha ha..........

I think a 1.4L shld b ok bah, heard alot of gd comments abt Jazz, + it's spacious & it fuel consumption is low.

Gotta go get lunch, dunno wat to eat. maybe mee sua again!

Oh my coll said we can take 1 egg everyday bt of cos try to avoid the yolk cos tats the killer. Egg white is a gd replcm for folic acid & is esp gd for bb's brain development!

Charis - perhaps las fw wks the movements were nt tat strong thus u can't feel it. Bt once u get to feel it, u will know & u can start to monitor when they will move. So far my bb's timings are still quite consistent except during daytime I dun bother to monitor.

Enjoy!

Hi, ah ger!

we consider getting a honda jazz initially too but end up getting a honda city, IDSL model as jazz is quite cramped over at the back seat and is 2k more than city....outlook wise, jazz will look nicer however...

back frm lunch!

moodymum, Jazz my gf said ok leh.... cos the seats can b pushed towards the front then foldable. Some cars their back seats cannot b pushed to the front one.

My BIL has Honda City. Bt we prefer Jazz cos it's hatchback & we like.