(2007/02) February

ghees i did not notice if my bb move at certain times of the day.. maybe i shd take note from now on.. hehe seriously sometime i dunno if its my tummy making noise or it my baby moving.. cos both feels like flutters to me keke :p

They say bb should move @ least 10x a day. So you can slowly monitor bah.

Ah ger, hahaha... I rem my gynae made sure that we can see both bb's hands and the birdie at the same time, just in case bah... BB moves so many times in a day? I only notice his movement in the nite when I got time to sit down and watch TV.

sunsweet, I think there's a diff bet tummy making noise and bb moving leh. You pay more attention to it and can notice the diff lah.

Heihei... I think my bb not very active lah. She normally poke me when i feel hungry, like in MRT after work or in MRT on the way to work. Think she likes travelling lah. haha...

Dun need to sit for advance theory test. For conversion just sit for basic test then get a letter from Msia transport authority then can liao. However, need to forfeit my msian driving licence in that case loh.

Me got many things to remember lah, thanks to my hubby. Always leave everything to me like financials and household stuff. So now i rely a lot on the reminder function of my hp.

Gig - on my scan, I c bb's hands I think cos I c those fingers' skeleton. Bt anyway, nvm lah......... it should b bah. Dunno leh........ Thurs I will know liao lor. Ha ha ha.......

yes, bb moves alot during a day. Morning I can feel @ times, bt bcos inside still hv space tats y @ times u can feel, @ times u dun. Slowly when they run out of space then u can feel it even more often. I also read frm the bk it's @ leats 10x.

Yes, stomach making noise & bb kicking is diff. I plc controller on the stomach & the controller moves. Ha ha ha...... Even when u put ur hand on the stomach, u can feel something protruding out.

I borrowed heart listener from my colleague..yesterday tried out but so difficult to spot the heart beat leh

hehe i do feel like a sound/ feeling of "bloop" at times but dunno its baby or tummy haha

me very blur one..

My frd says maybe bec i'm tall so the womb has more space and thus baby still have lots of room to swim ard.

HI ladies!

Ah ger..Congrats on the BOY!

Hey..I starting to feel baby move/kick/hiccup..
its like tummy popping too..its like "plop", "blop" or a really gentle nudge.
Last night, I turned over to the right n accidentally pressed on my tummy..then there was a "nudge"..confirm its the baby liao! Haha..very excited..

manz I was cooking cos Sis-in-law Hui Niang Jia on the 3rd day after wedding.

missed the show.. sob sob.. dunno got time to catch it tonite.. why dont they broadcast the show at 9pm instead!! ugh!!

Ah ger..worried about? That maybe not boy is it?
I also thinking wat if not boy? But Im not worried, rather my hubby mayb a little disappointed if turned out girl instead when all along was told a boy.

Yr detailed scan should confirm almost 100%.

We already sort of chose a name for our son..n my hubby told my in laws..they dont like the name..but I dont care lah..cos I prayed for a name..Then they start to come out with names, say this one nice, that one nice..

Ah ger, maybe cos recently I have been busy so didnt talk to baby and somehow cant feel baby's heartbeat unlike last time. Tonight when I reach home when its quiet, I will try to feel the heartbeat.

Dentist - it is actually impt for pregnant ladies to go to the dentist as we tend to pay less attention to oral care during this period and the bacteria may be harmful to the baby. Hence, during this time, around 5th month is best to make appt to see dentist. I like to go dentist, maybe cos last time I wore braces, so need to see dentist frequently and hence no fear. But my hb is very very afraid..haha

ck, think yours similar to mine, also red dots but not itchy. I dun dare to apply anything now, waiting for the dots to disappear first.

I am thinking of starting to swim this weekend. Where can I buy maternity swimwear? dun know whether can wear bikini or not, tummy so big, quite ugly.

Catz, house hunting?? meaning u havent bought a new place? Yah, not many good schs in pasir ris. my hb already plan to send baby to his former pri sch (rosyth) next time. Wish I can have a scan machine at home too. Talking about MR cruise...their baby gal look very asian leh, dun know whether its really his baby or not.

My in laws would usually watch this kind of Korean show..but my SIL having exams so they didnt watch..I watch Indonesian dramas..better than Korean leh..haha.

When do we start buying baby stuff n preparing room for baby? My MIL already giving all kinds of advice..she say must clear the room now..I get very agitated with ppl who tell n "advice" only..but its me that do..n our room have very little space..she told us we have to shift my hubby's things out of his old room..which is her current room..but we really have no space..my SIL stuff are everywhere..so I wish she was more understanding about this lack of space thing..n we also dont want to buy so many storage space..

Cherryale..u talking about Tom cruise baby..suri? Haha..a lot of speculation that its not his baby..its Kat's confirm, but not his..cos they said his former wives say he cant have kids..Hehe..but I dont want to be so kaypoh lah..hahaha.

Charis - wat name do u intend to give to ur boy? I haben tot of it yet, tis mth super bz, so many things to do. Anyway still hv some time b4 the bb is due.

Ha ha ha, yeah, wat if mum spreads ard saying it's a boy bt end up it's a gal? tats y I told her nt cfm bt she insisted on knowing then went to tell so many ppl.

Cherry - I brush & scarp the tongue everyday for sure. Then I will also use Listerine.

Swimwear - I think I've seen @ Mothercare, you can take a look. As for bikinis, it all depends on whether u mind or nt. My gf said she wore bikinis though.

I think there'll be increasing 'stress' for us soon..already name for our baby they start to disagree..i dont know wat else..I know my MIL wants us to get a helper to do housework once a week..cos she say she wont have time, cos she got to do confinement for me..Well so I told my hubby..but my hubby say NO..he say think so cheap..every month have to pay $200plus extra..our house got so many hands..he say everyone chip in to help..wonder wat my MIL would say if she hears this..

Talking abt preparing room for baby,

I'm just waiting for my sis-in-law to shift her stuffs out from her room to her new house..

Dunno how long this would take. *Sigh*

To make room for Bb.

Waiting for the crib to come (from aunty) thinking of getting a changing table from Ikea so will not suffer back ache due to too much bending when changing.

Anyone have any idea if there are those foldable stand to hold the bathtub at waist level? dun think I want to place tub on floor and squat to bathe baby.

Charis, I also heard abt tat, tats y he & Nicole adopted instead. Bt anyway it's their probs. We just read them for the sake of entertainment only.

Ah ger..I dont want to officially tell the name yet..but can give a clue..hehe..its the hebrew version for the name "Joel".

Not to worry u r right..still got time to think of name for yr baby..

Yr mum very happy la that's why she want to tell others..My parents are not too happy with my pregnancy..n my in laws are not so 'open' to others about it..Cos both sides wasnt so agreeable we marry young n have kids young too..but my MIL everyday will 'advice' this n that..

I think my MIL see me so relaxed she fed up also..cos she thinks we should start clearing up room..but my hubby has no time..I cant do much work cos I shouldnt right..anyway, we not ready to clear up anything..we jus want to make sure baby is alright first..we enjoying being pregnant..u know wat i mean..but we have start looking at cots etc..n making some measurements here n there..

Old folks are always so kan cheong..

Sunsweet..u are right..I think should get a changing table..cos if not have to bend or put matress on the floor to change baby..I dont mind on the floor but our room dont have big floor space..so have to do in the living room..but we have a dog..plus the floor not always clean..dont know how lah..

Wah Charis......... u mean so cheap as in wat? Pay ur MIL to do confinement for u then yet so free no need to do hsechores? U hv to settle all these slowly. Bring out 1 issue each time so tat u wun hv so many problems & arguements.

Sunsweet, wat my mum did was she put a low stool in the bathrm & she can sit on that & bathe my niece @ the same time. No need to squat lah, very tiring leh.

Charis, infact my mumis those relax kind. If I tell her I wanna do tis/ tat, she will say I m so ks. So well, just let it be. Maybe 2wards end of the yr then I start to prep the room. I wun b clearing my spare rm's wardrobes cos I will b buying those tiered drawers & keep all the clothes. If mine is 100% boy then I doubt I will hv many clothes for the bb. Cos nt a gal mah. Ha ha ha.........

Ah ger..U see..my hubby will give his mum allowance to do confinement for me..but she say she cant do housework..she too tired, not free lah etc..so she told us to get helper..but hubby say dont want, he say even though its not ex to get a helper($200plus a month, it is not worth it..cos only once a week..we need the house to be clean everyday, n laundry must go everyday..so she said the house got my FIL n SIL plus my hubby..he say we should all help out..esp my SIL who's a GIRL, a DAUGHTER, she must learn to do her own stuff for eg wash her own school shoes..small things like that would ease my MIL's burden..my hubby n FIL can sweep n mop floor alternate days..wat for get helper..my MIL n me can do the laundry together..

So yr baby rooming in with u? Or separate bedroom?

Sunsweet

i am not intending to use the changing table or bath stand. Got feedback that bath stand is not very good. changing most prob will do it in bb cot , cos it will be very space consuming to place bb cot & changing table in my room.

Charis, I know wat u mean. I do agree tat housechores can be shared among other family members esp when u all stay 2gether. Bt again does your FIL do housewk? Then ur SIL? Cos to some ppl, they may think "it's nt my business, y shld I b involved?". You know wat I mean? I feel, for this issue, you as a DIL dun step in, let your hb tok to them instead.

My bb arh, dunno yet, still trying to c where we can sqz the bb cot IF we r having one. Cos my rm is small + I did an L-shaped wardrobe, so I m left w/ no space. bt can't b putting bb in another rm cos the bb is still so small to slp alone. I cna't b running to & fro also.

Oh, btw, tat day I chanced upon tis phone set Uniden, cordless. They hv this bb monitoring function whereby if the bb cries, your phone in the rm will ring. We actually bought it cos tat time our house phones were spoilt. Bt after we bought the new sert, hb re-try the old set & it worked again! End up tat Uniden set is untouched. If any one of you need the phones, please let me know. It's a pair, 1 set is $89.90 bt a pair is $138. I still hv receipt & warranty card for verification tat it's new.

I haben even think of who will be doing the confinement for me. I dun wish to tire mum out by asking her to cme to/fro daily. Hb said he will take AL during 1st 2 wks to help out @ hme.

I wunb having changing table nor bath stand either. Mum will bathe the bb then quickly wrap the bb & go to the bedrm & change up. In this way, no need to bring so many things to the bathrm either.

Talking about bb stuff, headache too. As i need to prepare at least two sets of everything cos i have 2 houses - one JB one here. I will have my confinement in JB and after that maybe bring bb over here to take care. Then weekend we normally go back JB. Still dare not think about the costs gg to incur.

Ah ger..YUp I know wat u mean..my FIL helps my MIL to sweep the floor a few times a week..my SIL does ZERO work..she's rather spoilt lah..they might think its not their business..then since if that's the case, then why should my hb get a helper..after all its their house, not ours..then we can jus clean our room n get a playpen so no need to clean floor everyday..

I jus told my MIL my hb's plans..she was like.."NO someone must help me clean the kitchen everyday.." But she cleans the kitchen everyday cos she cooks everyday..so I dont see why she cant do it herself in the future..Our baby's laundry I can do myself..there's not much changes except we have to clean floor n do laundry everyday cos baby will start crawling..n clothes get soiled a few times a day..MIL also dont understand that a $200plus extra a month is a burden to my hubby n she doesnt realise her own daughter can help her with housework..I think my parents would understand..but sadly my mum cant help me cos she works..I'll gladly do housework..even if Im sick I'll do..all for baby wat..

Actually..I dont bother about confinement..Im ok with normal food everyday..cos after all I cant take too much ginger n wine cos of bf..

Anyway, if my MIL dont want to help or too 'complaining'..i'll tell hubby to tell her dont do confinement for me already..I'll ask my church ladies for help..I really dont want to stress myself with her 'complaining'.

Charis,
we also have to clear the spare room in our place (its now like our store room) to convert into baby's room. Not sure if baby can sleep with us as my MBR is not big, no space to put cot. It is good to start family young, they will know you and hb made good decision next time when your kid is big. Dun be bothered by what they said as long as both you and hb are mature enough to be parents, it is fine. Some people may be old in terms of age but if they are still childish, they will not make good parents too.

Last night I was telling hb that I foresee problems with MIL once baby is born. One thing is the childcare issue, the other is the unwanted advice from her. I hate people to advice but never do anything to help. Thank God, there is an aunty who stays near my place who has offered to look after baby. If she can do it, it will be great cos she is relatively young (40+) and kids already grown up and very well brought up, speaks english etc. Much better than sending to my MIL place to be looked after by maid.

Ah!! Stress..I dont care already..its hubby's problem to explain to his family..Im jus going to care for baby..my food I pray comes from heaven, whether MIL ok to help or not..my backup plan is to ask my church aunties to help cook on Fri, then I'll freeze food to eat for 2 days, then they cook again in Sun, n on Wed..that way the whole week is covered. My hubby can eat watever my MIL cook for the rest of the family..n I'll gladly eat sandwiches..my favourite. 'if nothing to eat' food.

Laundry I do myself..hubby can help to hang them..floor, toilets hubby can do..GOD is good, HE'll take care of all our needs..

Yes..that's my plan..GOD willing.

Cherryale n Ah ger..Its good u have spare room, can consider it for a nursery..I have to put baby with us in MBR..

Cherryale..yup..a good nanny is a blessing..

Its not easy when in laws dont agree..but for me, Im looking after my own baby..I hope we wont have so much problems..but now already have..but we still peaceful lah..no quarrelling..

Hehe..my MIL very quiet now leh after I talk to her jus now over lunch..think she stress..Hmm..

Aiyah..she no need to stress leh..Im having the baby..I not stress when I think of baby..I jus day dreaming of how joyful we'll be to blessed with an offspring..the care n work is part n parcel of bringing up children..so wat for stress..I only stress cos my MIL stress me lah..

bac frm lunch! Had YTF 2day.

Jas, if JB is ur wkend stay then over tare I supp the stuff need nt b as much as in Sin.

Yes, I do agree tat an extra of $200+ makes alot of diff. I was calculating on the costs/ exps if we r getting a car. Sometimes I really wish I can sqz out even tat extra $50.

Dun think too much, maybe slowly by then they will nt react tis way le. By the time bb start to crawl on the flr, you would hv moved out right? R u thinking of getting ur own flat?

Dun get 2 upset abt tis issue already, let your hb handle tat, can't b u, as DIL to always b the one to tok to them.

I'll prob also order catered food so tat it's neat & tidy. Bt to save $$ I will order just 1 meal lor. Think maybe really 1 day I hv to order the trial to c exactly hw big the portion is, b4 I confirm.

I hv spare rm is bcos we live on our own. If I lived w/ my PILs, I also wun hv space.

Ah ger..wow YTF..hehe.
My MIL cooked fish soup noodle..ok lah..I shall not complain..I had yummy fast food on Sunday already.

I know wat u mean..for me..extra $50 is also tough..If I have to do housework too..I think I cant work part-time already..but my father's allowance I dont know how..Must pray for supernatural help..

Yup..we plan to get a house..I hope by end of next year..but if earlier better..maybe next July..cos we really need the space n privacy..

U were asking me about my SIL..she's appearing on "Hey baby"..this Sat, I think its 1:30pm..I look fwd to see her on TV too..cos want to see how much she put on..haha..she already put on more than 10kg!

Hey mummy2be. I jus saw yr photo..u still rather slim huh..yup can see tummy..my tummy around there too..but think I more chunky at the thighs..

Haha..dont compare already..we women always like to compare..

I haven had YTF for a long time.........

Yeah, no matter wat, I feel couples shld hv their own home. Bt if ur PILs r still gng to help u take care of the bb, then u hv to try get a plc near them. Tis saves alot of inconvenience, unlike me nw, facing so many problems.

1.30pm? I wun b @ hme. Wats tat show Hey Baby abt? The Evelyn tat show? Oh, were u the one who said Evelyn tat show has ur SIL inside? I tot it was shown las Sat 9.30pm?

Ah ger, yah, agree that it is good to have our own place. I used to stay with MIL initially, although we get along pretty well but ultimately it is a 'ji ren li sia' feeling, no privacy, no space etc.

Charis, my MIL is also the one who is stressed. She does not want to look after baby, yet hb dun want to have maid, hence she is very worried that in the end she will have to stay at home instead of going singing/dancing. Actually like u, we intend to take care of baby ourselves, she really need not be unduly worried but guess she also need assurance that her lifestyle need not change cos we have baby. Anyway, I just pray that I will have a good pregnancy, baby is born healthy and full term. The rest can think later.

Cherry - las time when we applied for flat, BIL also asked hb y we wanna hv our own flat when he's the youngest + left w/ parents only. Kaoz! I told hb, if he thinks tat way, then y dun he shift back & stay w/ the parents?

Anyway after tat PILs also say we shld move out cos no matter hw easy-going we r, it's best to avoid as much conflicts as possible. Afterall, staying together bound to hv some disagreements.

Ah ger..sorry..not 1:30pm, its Sat 9:30pm..yup that program..she's on this Sat..dont know wat's her chinese name..she's Krystine, hubby is Jeffrey..surname is Tan..they live in Punggol..u'll see her dog Cookie too..

I think yr tummy should be slightly bigger than us..but then again cant compare..we always comparing..hahaha..u taking photos of yr tummy is it?

We plan to get a place near them..cos can get grant from govt.

Cherryale..its good u can get along with in laws..I can get along well..but some things will still clash..Ya..the rest can slowly think..I also want to concentrate on the pregnancy..make sure Im healthy..n also learn as much to prepare myself to become a mother.

Same like u lah..cherryale..I think for me..I sense my MIL not so keen to help..but she like no choice..since we are staying with them..so I think she makes up for this by making a lot of demands..n giving lots of advice to 'make our lives easier'..u know wat I mean..

Ah ger

my hb also the youngest.. his bros also sort of ask y we want to get our own flat. But I rather get our flat and get my in laws to stay with us, than we going to stay at her flat

at least having a flat under my name is sort of assurance.

charis

ur mil worries too much already..since u r the primary caregiver to bb, i dun see why her current lifestyle is affected much. I think sometimes old folks are like that bah..

Charis, so is tis Sat. Cos las Sat's also showed a couple then they hv a kid already then the wife is preggie again & shld b due in a few mths' time.

Then the wife is a SAHM bt yet employ a maid to help out.

Wah u reveal their names out arh. ha ha ha.....

Stella - yeah lor, I told hb, y shld we the youngest b responsible? If they want their privacy, so do we! Bt luckily PILs are nt those traditional types.

charis, poor you.. sounds so stressful hving to deal with all your in law issues. hmm.. honestly if ur hubby can take leave for the first 2 weeks, it should be a lot better. after tt, if u're chin chye with food then i guess your church aunties would really be heaven sent
u may be young and man.. u guys are really mature! praise god for your faith and calmness
i'm trying to maintain peace in the midst of the moving chaos.. :p

giggler, yah we plan to send Timothy to kuo chuan presbyterian primary so thomson is a lot closer. for us, we're presbyterians hence got phase 2b.

cherryale, well, just as well your MIL doesn't want to get involved lor. hopefully she doesn't interfere when bb comes along.

Hi stella..

Yr hubby is youngest..Mine is only son, 2nd child. So he thinks he's like the oldest..cos sis already marry out..

Yup..my MIL is like that lah..very kan cheong..but I see that she can be quite stressed..u see she wakes up at 6am every weekday morning..cos she got to settle her daughter's breakfast..then feed the dog..Then she goes back to sleep, wakes up abt 10am to do housework n cooks our lunch, then 4pm cook her hb's lunch/dinner (he works night shift), then her whole afternoon is doing housework, ironing, washing , she even has to groom the dog..I think she fed-up..furthermore my SIL really spoilt..everything hav to do for her..

I feel bad sometimes, cos ever since I move in after we got married..my MIL had to cook lunch for me..though I never wanted her to do that..cos I've always had a simple lunch of sandwiches n fruits..but she thinks its her responsibility..but she ever 'complain' to my hb that she very tired must take care of me also..

I told hubby that Im the least of her worries..cos I've have been brought up to be very independent..cos my mum worked..my grandma took care of us..n she really disciplined us to do our own stuff..

But my MIL has been a housewife for years..so i think she jus thinks she has to do everything..but I told hubby..if only she trained her children to be more independent n to help out more at home, I think her life would have been easier, n b much easier now..my hubby also very spoilt..but since I moved in, I really 'toughen' him..i train him to wash toilet n hang clothes haha..n to clean up after meals..all along they leave these small things to their mother..no wonder she tired n stress..after already doing so much work..

Charis, forgot to reply u on the pics. I took one w/ specs & t/s + shorts @ hme, look ugly.

29 i c if I hv the mood to take or nt, Cos tummy has grown so much bigger. best to take like every mth so u can c the changes.

Charis, I think all housewives r like tat. My mum also used to do tat when most of us r much younger. She got up to prepare our b/f like make bread, boil water, then open the cage let the dog go to the toilet. Then when we r set to leave for sch then she will go back to slp. Then ard 10+ 11am she will wake up go mkt buy food for dinner. Cme back watch tv, do laundry, prep the food then take a pm nap then wake up @ 4+ again to cook. After tat will mop the flr, bathe then R&R till night time. Sometimes I think our mums are very wei da lor. Ask me to do all these, I think I can't take it.

Catz..

Haha..have to grow up lah..going to be parents right..we have been brought up well by church teachings also..to have faith n remembering that GOD will supply all our needs..

For u catz..u are already a parent, the 'stress' is real..Im sure u doing well too..

Hey..i live only few blocks from Kuo Chuan PP..its a good school..