(2007/02) February

Ah ger,
I think for the moment I will use my bath tub instead. Save money

This Sat I will be 23 weeks liao. So fast, scary.

Sap - u r turning 23wks????? Bt ur EDD is 6 days b4 me only leh, bt I m turning 21wks only. Hw cme? U base on ur LMP is it? My wks is base on the very initial scan film I had then I backcount.

Ah ger,
I was suprised too. I only know after my detail scan. I am also confused. My gynea told me in the early stage that my delivery date will be 27th of Jan. On my 3rd month, he measured my bb and said the more exact date will be 3rd of Feb. Then after the detail scan, found out I am now 23weeks liao. Maybe I wil deliver in end of Jan hor? Got to check with my gynae. Anyway I heard that if this is fist time having baby our delivery date could be 2 weeks earlier or 2 weeks later.

Sap - nwadays it's nt exactly true tat 1st birth will b early, cos so many of my gfs + my sis either 1 - 2 days earlier or on the day or late.

Oh, so u may hv a chance to hv a Jan bb. U wan a piglet or a doggie?

ah ger and saphira,,

the no of weeks changes accordingly to the growth of the bb. so if we count from LMP, can be inaccurate.

isn't it good that ur bb is growing well, saphira?

stella,

1. but isn't the LMP the most accurate way of measurement especially if the cycle is regular and if we actually know the conceiving date?

or

2. the EDD will be based on BB's growth in the tummy? but some bb will be generally bigger or smaller right?

Stella - yeah, bt I used the 1st scan as an estimate only also. When I went for my chk on 15 Sep, I was supp to b 19w, bt bb's development is only 18w+.

Sap - my gf, who just gave birth on Sun, she said she wanted to avoid Epi, bt she beared w/ the pain for 6hrs & the cervix hardly open any further, cos as u endure the pain, u will contract, hence diff to dilate more. After she jabbed, immediately she felt like heaven.

Sap - since already hit the jackpot, then dun think abt the delivery & pain cos there's no way u can turn back already. B4 I got pregg, I was hesitating also cos of these considerations, bt since hit already, can't kip thinking abt it also.

Smurfy - if ur cycle is regular then perhaps it is accurate bah. bt for my case is not, so all my EDD will b an estimate only.

Oh, my gf was saying follow the date indicated on the detail scan, tat shld b able to give u a more accurate EDD. She said when she went for her chk up on Thurs, b4 she was due on Sun, her EDD became early Oct. Bt she already dilated 2cm then. She was told to follow the detail scan date.

saphira,
me oso scared of pain, low threshold for pain, i oso scared i got no energy to push. even walking for 15minutes i will be panting oredi. think will need to go for daily walks after the wedding's over.

btw, when do we need to inform the clinic/gynae of our preferred choice of birth?

Smurfy...

wat my gynae told me is no.2 is more accurate, reason being some of us though we have regular menses, we dont really know the exact ovulation date and when sperm meets egg. for my case, i have regular menses but my ovulation is always later than normal people..(ovulated at day18 kind).

anyway EDD is just a rough estimate, only abt 10% give birth on EDD.

m&m, so both of us detail scan will be done without our hb ard..my hb aso reservist during my detail scan so can;t see the baby on screen. will hv to ask my mum to take care of my son that day, bo bian liao coz if not I can;t do the scan, my son is very sticky to me one. If I lie on the bed, he sure cry.

JC, me C-sec, how fast can I go for #3. I so scare between #1 & #2 and had waitied for 2 years apart, that's why I so late then conceive the 2nd one.

Saph, according to your description, I think you highly will get a doggy year baby. hmm.. me pain threshold also very low. Few months ago I kenna this stomach flu, pain till miciam my stomach was torn apart leh. Later found out that my stomach flue became gastric flu coz all the while i hv gastric problem. My whole family kenna (pass from my baby. My hb 's condition still ok, only myself, quite serious due to my past history.

I am back from my gynae appt. All clear for the amnio test!!! Hurray, I was so happy when the gynae showed me the report. My baby is moving quite a bit today and clenching and releasing his hands. He weighs 273grams now and I put on about 1 kg so far, now finally got 50kg. Can see the four chambers for the heart clearly. My detailed scan at camden cost $250 and is on 17 Oct when I am 22weeks.

Ah ger, for me although baby is growing faster than my actual date, gynae said my EDD will not change still 20 feb. He said the scan only shows how fast the baby grows and as we advance in the pregnancy, the gap between baby who grows faster and slower will be bigger. But they will still give birth at the same time cos that is the full gestation period. So I will follow the EDD given to me on my first scan.

Smurfy - choice of birth, pref of bed & etc, u dun hv to worry, they will ask u one. Bt then most gynaes will nt sugg u taking c-sect unless necessary.

Glad to know I am not alone in the pain thingy. Thank you for all your comforts.

Can't wait to meet all of u one day.

bitbit,
Take care ya.

gals

do u all experience bb movements during the day time? i only can feel it while i am going to sleep . kinda worried, sometimes none at all in a day.

hi Cherryale - congrats to ur clearing! So nw u dun hv to worry abt anything, just sit & relax for ur bb's arrival.

My gynae also kept telling me my bb will b out b4 CNY, bt then I dun want, I hope for a piglet bb.

cherryale,
congrats on the all clear results. can imagine the relief on the look of ur face when showed the results.

stella,
coz nite time is the only time ur body relaxes in a same position, day time u might be too busy or moving ard too much to notice its kicks. i sit in bus 1 hr, not moving, can notice the kicks.

i am trying to understand the EDD more, coz me hoping for a golden piggy. based on the LMP and telling the gynae we knw the conceiving date, she calculated EDD 21st feb. then along the way, bb grow faster, change to 18th Feb. all within first few days of CNY

ah ger,
we both prefer boys and hoping for golden piglets.
let's hope we get what we wish for.

but hor, along the way, there is lesser preferences on the gender oredi, coz it's like we have been carrying it for 4-5mths oredi, boy or girl, still our baby, still we will love it.

Ah ger, I was confused abt the moisturing light oil. I bought it from Mothercare but the brand is Avent. My doc friend thinks it works wonder on her and her other doc friends.

Giggler, any form of exercise is good, not necessary yoga. It's just that I don't like to swim (altho the pool at my plc is always quite empty)and I hardly walk much (sedentary job and i drive to work).

Stella, I don't experience much baby movement as well. Not to worry, you are not alone :)

stella...me too. bb only likes to moves when me lying on bed going to sleep. somedays makes me worry too. Think we r all too panaroid.

ah ger....endure then if ur edd date is not too far away from CNY. talk to bb then.

cherryale.....now all mind & heart is at ease. no worries anymore......eat more & put on more wt then.

I also want piglet...so can same as me. Original date shd be after CNY but c-section lor...no choice got to do it 1-2 wks early.

bitbit ....ya..gotta rest after each c-sect at least 2 yrs. But my 2nd one kana accidentally. So after give birth 9mths later got preggy 2nd one. Me so scared tt the wound will burst.

Ah ger, you said exactly the same thing that gynae said leh!! it really perk me up. Although the quick test 2 weeks ago already showed that baby is ok but nothing beats the full report. Now, I need to go and buy maternity top cos my normal tops cant accomodate my growing tummy already. I am very obviously pregnant (but I think partly cos of wind lah). Does PM have nice tops for work? I only bought pants from them, didnt notice the tops. Why do you want piglet bb?? I do not mind either doggy or piglet but mine a bit borderline, if early then doggy, if on the dot then piglet.

Smurfy, yes, I am smiling from ear to ear now too.

Stella, most of the time I only feel baby movement when I am lying down. Think its normal, dun worry.

the nurse told me that I will be given a CD after the detailed scan. Do you gals know what is in the CD? aiyah, in my excitment, I forgot to buy the neurogain from gynae today...now got to make special trip back to GlenE.

Hi, what do you gals prefer to have, doggie or piggy? Why?

cherryale, my gynae said the same thing as yours with regard to EDD. Congrats that everything is fine with bb...

stella, I still haven really feel bb's movement yet leh. So dun worry too much. In the day, you maybe too busy with your work to notice bb's movement.

smurfy, your EDD is still 21 Feb lah. That means your bb growing very well.
Why you prefer piggy?

Jazzcy, yup, even walking is a good form of exercise for us rite? But I just too lazy to do anything...

JC, think most gynae advised at least 1 yr rest before conceiving the next rite? When's your EDD?

cherryale, I think the CD showed your bb during your scan?

giggler,
actually this doggy or piglet are good years to have bbs. but it seems like piglets is even better. u know the chinese zodiac signs got even break down to fire, earth, golden and things like that. example, fire tiger is the fiercest zodiac sign and lesser bbs are born during that year. next year is golden piglet mah :D

giggler....ya dtr advise at least 18mth. but if young ur wound recover fast within 1 yr no prob.
my EDD is 20 Feb, so probably will go c-sect on 12 Feb or so...still hv not decide on the date yet.

Anybody going c-sect? R u gals opting for GA or Epidural?

JC, thanks. I will check out the guardian near my office. The price is about the same as what my gynae charges.

Giggler, I prefer doggie cos I am a dog person But I dun mind piglet also since its only a few days difference.

giggler,
walking is oso a form of exercise
we all must start regular exercise especially in 3rd trimester. my ex-colleague cervix still 2cm after 13 hrs. in the end had to go for c-section. and she said is coz of lack of exercise and movement .

smurfy, oh so next year is golden piglet..then piglet also not bad!

gals, when do you think we can organise a lunch/dinner session?? Then can finally see the people that we chat with daily. Perhaps after we have all gone for our detailed scan??

Stella - I do feel something inside bt nt sure if it's bb's movements. Perhaps their movements are too light + u r 2 active moving ard, tats y u dun really feel it. Bt when @ night, u r more relaxed tats y u can feel it more. Tats wat happen to me.

Dun worry, everything will b ok.

Smurfy/ Cherryale- I am hoping for piggy bb, cos it's golden piggy mah, better than fiery doggie tis yr. So when my EDD changed, I was so happy, nw only abt 5 days away frm CNY. Ha ha ha........ *jia you* Still trying veyr hard to tell bb to cme out on CNY. Mine diff leh, frm 9 Feb bcme 18 Feb? *roll eyes*

Jazzcy - yes, the moisturing oil is under Avent brand, bt I also bought the Mothercare Massage cream $12 per tube meant for stretchmark, which is wat I m using currently.

Cherryale - for me, I find PM clothings nt bad, CK din like bright cols though bt I like, looks brighter mah.
It depends on hw corporate u wan ur wking clothes to b. I wore just pants, then either t-shirt material tops, bt they do hv tops tat need ironing. Me is the lazy sort so I bought those dun req ironing bt CK more hardking than me, she din mind.

U can go hv a look, since they msg me tat they hv new stock. 2day I m gng tare & take a look also cos I m sending my pants to ask them help me sew cos the threading came off.

Cherryale - nx yr sure will b golden piglet one. U hv nv heard of golden doggie right? Nor fiery piggy. Just like golden rooster.
Tats y I want a piggy. Besides I think piggy might b cuter. So hopefully my bb can endure abit longer to c a more beautiful world. Ha ha ha......

Meet up? Gd idea! Detail scan arh - hv to wait till mine is over, I supp mine might b the latest bah. Maybe can make it on a Fri cos most of us dun hv to wk on Sat right?

Hi ladies..

Yup..we should have an outing someday..I see that others in MTB threads also organise their own outings.

Cherryale..so glad for u..that everything's ok.

smurfy, oic... that's why 'golden' piggy is better lah.
Hope you get what you wish! Didnt know that not enuf of exercise will cause the cervix not to dilate.

JC, I'll def opt for epidural c-section so that my hb can be in the op theatre with me.
Similar as you, my EDD is 23 Feb, then c-section so got to deliver 1-2weeks so shd be before CNY.

cherryale, you also born in the yr of dog?

Ah ger, wow... your EDD changed so much? Mine is abt 4-5days diff. True that golden piggy is better than fiery doggy lah. But I think I got no choice cos c-section got to go 1-2weeks earlier. Most prob, it's before CNY liao. Hehehe... hope your wish come true and got a golden piggy!

can sense the light-heartedness in cherryale's replies today

ahger,
same i oso choose clothes that dun requires much ironing. :p

PM has nice clothes, but they r quite expensive leh, pants is like $80+, 3/4 pants $40+, tops is $40+, dresses is $60+

Ahger..yours the latest..as in one of the last to do detailed scan? U sure..I tot u should be oe of the earliest..cos yr EDD is early Feb.
Mine should be very late..Im seeing my gynae on 14 Oct, then he schedule me for detailed scan 2 weeks later..I should be around 24 weeks already by then.

Giggler - no lah, mine was 9 Feb, then nw bcme 11 - 13 Feb, so I still hv to neg w/ bb to come out only on 18 Feb earliest. Ha ha ha....... I will need to discuss w/ my gynae also, ask him nt to push me to deliver any earlier. Cos some gynaes will allow u to delay as long as possible, bt some if u r just overdue by 1 - 2 days they will ask u to induce le.

Mum wants me to get a doggy, cos doggy is very suitable for horse, can bring luck. Bt I want piggy though..... my sis also piggy, & I can get along w/ her quite well, @ least when she has problems, she will also share w/ me. So I think it's nt an issue lor.

Ah ger, your mom knows abt what's suitable for what? How to see huh? My hb's horse leh so very suitable to have doggy.. hehe

Charis - yes, mine will b 1 of the last to do detail scan cos my gynae's clinic usually arrange detail scan ard 23wks. So my nx chk up is 7 Oct then I will know when my detail scan is. I supp mine will be ard wk of 9 Oct. Is that consider early or late?

Smurfy - we both r lazy MTBs. Ha ha ha...... Nt all pants r $80+ leh. I bought one $50+ also, sme $70+, depending on the material. Then they shoudl still hv the promo 3rd pc frm same category is 50% off. Then if u r a member think 1s & 2nd pc is 10% off 3rd pc is 60% off.

Hehe,

Since like we have 1 more issue to decide for BB which is what year we like BB to be born in.. :p
Parents whose child does not born in this New year period will not have such headache keke..

I think I'll leave the horoscope to BB and god's wish..

Maternity Pants:

I got my pants (all elastic) from Blossoms - Available at OG and Kids mall. They cost $40+ i do find them comfy

Giggler - mum used to read frm dunno ware. Suitable for horse I think is is dog, tiger & goat cos I hv the jade thingy hanging on my hp as accessory - mum bought tat for we daughters all.

For dragon I know is rooster then dunno wat else le. So my sis & BIL are dragons then my niece is rooster. Think can read frm those fengshui book.
29 if I go bac mum's hse I ask her ware to c.

giggler, no lah, I am not borned in Year of Dog. I meant I love dogs and I have two dogs at home.

Ah ger, I like bright coloured tops too but am looking for more corporate looking ones which is quite difficult to find. I dun mind materials that require ironing cos I am lucky that I dun have to do it myself. I also need to send my pants to PM cos they altered too much, now a bit short.

Smurfy, really huh, can sense it thru words also?? Am very happy cos being a worrier, it is not sufficient when gynae told me two weeks ago that the result is expected to be 90% normal, I needed 100% which I got it today...thot most places also price their pants/skirts around the same as PM?

Charis, so your detailed scan will be end of oct?? Then we meet up first week Nov fri?? by then we will all be around 6 mths plus.

in fact most maternity pants are abt those pricing, even for MM also ard tare. If u tlak abt Blisse, 9 Mois - all these are even more exp.

I took a glance @ OG's maternity clothes, nt relaly to my liking though. Bt if u gals are fine, no harm browsing, cos it's very individual. + nw they hv 20% off so can go & look c.

how abt piglets good/bad for what animals?
then doggy good/bad for what animals?

talking to bb asking it not to come out early is pointless for my case. it oredi has a mind of its own arrr, happily growing and expanding when i ask it not to grow so fast at this moment.. :/

Ahger..we'll be the last few ones to go for the detailed scan I guess..cos my gynae also arrange 22-24 weeks.

cherryale..I guess that should be a good time.

Does OG at orchard have Blossoms? I want to shop for some maternity skirts..i cant fit into my usual skirts..all too tight at tummy already. Any other nice but not too ex. shop to buy maternity wear? Not PM though..

cherrydale...

i used to have 2 doggies..now only left with one.

the jrt was given away cos he is very aggressive.. bite me until i got to bandage for few days. i really bu se de to give him away..but family members object. i miss him so much.

the one at my home is a sweet old lady..11 yrs old liao.. very gentle and mild

Charis,

I have not been to OG orchard to check out the maternaity dept. but i know the branch at Albert (larger selection) and Chinatown has.

So far i see OG carries a few brands like Butterfly, Fimi and Blossoms.

I've got the bottoms from there esp black pants is very versatile and I tend to wear them very often.

Smurfy - I dunno leh............ I go hme chk w/ my mum c ware she read abt all these then I update u gals.

Usually frm 5th mth onwards, MTBs will just balloon up unknowingly. Mt coll also like tat, can't b helped. Bt perhaps your bb is already trying his/ her very best to hide already.

my dog just passed away on Sun.
All of us hv bn crying for days le. She was put to slp cos she was suffering like hell. Haiz, lets nt talk abt it, I just opened my tap tis morning, so I dun wish to open again.