(2007/02) February

catz,
Don't worry. I'm not really doing as well as I think I could. I'm quite lazy already. I'm sure that after a few weeks, you'll find your rhythm and you'll also be able to do lots. Yes. Some nights not cooking is helpful, and a good break. Saturday is my hb's day with Sarah, so he takes care of her while I do my own thing (teach violin. Hehehehe) From the time Sarah was mobile, I did not allow her into the kitchen. Til today, she only steps as far as the mat at the entrance of the kitchen. Unless I accompany her. But normally she doesn't walk in at all. She is allowed to sit on a stool to watch me prepare food, but only if I'm there.

smurfy,
Judy? Hmmmm. Can't recall lah. But there are about 25 mums on our list. Don't know all their names.

ralliart,
Not everybody has cravings. I didn't really have cravings for my preg #1. Except occasionally when I saw the KFC ad on TV, I felt like eating. But not really a craving. Ad over, no more 'craving' liao.

PVL....your daily schedule is a good gudie line for me as well. Me planning to quit after MLeave.....can't imagine be a SAHM with 3 kids. i so scared will go crazy ha...ha...

Hi ladies..

Aiyah..came down with flu yesterday..terrible.. was hoping I wont fall sick during this few months..cos I dont want to take any medications. Hoping to recover real soon..if not..off to the doctor.

Hi pvl..

Yup..a schedule is good..I dont really have one..in fact I dont do much housework although Im a home-maker(w/o kids YET)..Only do cleaning once a week, n ironing. Of cos I know when the baby comes, there would be more to do..haha. But hubby already offered to take over housework during the 1st 3 months of confinement..then we see how if we need help..maybe get a cleaning co.

Im planning to homeschool my children too..So a schedule for them is good too. Actually kids are better with routines..cos it gives them boundaries..w/o them u'd have discipline problems or rowdy, cranky kids.

No craving good lei.. my first preg no craving (in US mah.. crave durian also where to find?!).. but this time, aiyoh, got a lot of random cravings. Last night 8pm, got very bad durian cravings.. luckily hubby remembered one Shop n Save got durian and we managed to track him down.. hehe. I ate one whole durian meself ;)

Charis, PVL, yes kids definitely function better with a routine and I believe firmly in good quality sleep. My son naps about 2.5-3hrs per day and he goes to bed before 8pm
I guess now I'll just have to work out some kind of rhythm for the household..

PVL, I used to disallow Timothy from coming into the kitchen and from touching the coffee table but ever since he's been in my mom's care, he disobeys me.. which is why I need some time to retrain him and enforce MY discipline. My parents are great and I can't live without them but ultimately, my son is my responsibility and I'm nowhere as lax as my parents are with him. He really behaves when I'm around but with my parents.. aiyoh.. their 'no' got no bite wan.

JC, yah I can't imagine 3 kids either.. heh
Think I will confirm close shop after 2.

pvl,

your schedule looks very systematic ..

for me ..

everyday
go to work, go home after class mon, wed, fri
tues and friday, either do some cleaning, or rushing assignments ..
weekends sleep lots ... saturday go roaming .. sunday stay at home ...(dun do housework on weekends)

haven't slot in time to take care bb yet ..
if my hubby start class soon then i'm not sure how r we going to cope ..

i dun have much craving lately also ..
only 1st semester ... crave lots of spicy, sweet and sour food ...
now all this food seems not to be on my menu anymore .. i prefer soupy or mixed vege rice with porridge ..

this morning i have a bit of the fainting spell .. guess i really need to drink a full glass of soya milk to prevent this from happening ..
thanx smurfy for askin the doc on this .. at least i know i'm still normal ..

talkin about bb kicking and moving ..

i can feel a little when i lie down on bed ..
on my back ..
sometimes i can feel something pushing a little outwards .. especially when i put my hand on womb area there ..

i got this funny question ...
let say if i always turn on left side to sleep .. the bb will drop to the left side as well ?
so if i turn left and right and lie down on back .. so bb will follow as well ?
i've been turning lots lately .. and always have bad dreams ..

kekeke talking abt routine, mine's the best these days.

Monday to Friday
1)Go to Work
2)Go home, rest 1/2hr to one hr
3) Eat dinner, bath
4) Watch TV, sleep at 1030pm

Sat to Sun
1) Shop ard for wedding stuffs
2) Sleep before 11pm

No housework, nothing at all. Mummy and sis scared after seeing me turn pale a few times. Helping me do everything now

Actually, it's good to be a SAHM and take care/coach ur own child if financial allows. My friend's niece, 8-9 mths learning to walk oredi. 3 yrs old nephew can read a book and knows colors such as turquoise and other colors we dunno :p

smurfy, yah my current schedule is something like that.. it will be a radical change after the 15th :p You're so lucky that you've got a doting mum and sis who take care of you so well. Yes, agreed that it's best (if finances allow) to be SAHM.. BUT hor, I realise that not everyone can tahan SAHM. last time when I was overseas, there are some women who go a little cuckoo after becoming SAHM. Maybe not enough outside interaction or whatever lah..

catz,

Agree on the part on social interaction and losting touch with the world. Therefore must also have their own circle of friends. In a way, a good SAHM's responsibilities is heavier than working mum and the sacrifaces she made to change her lifestyle and look after her kid/s. Hopefully, ur bb cooperative with u today ;)

Hi smurfy, catz, pvl..

Actually, home-school kids are the best socialized..esp of they hve siblings..cos there's opportunities to truly nurture their character n confidence..I heard this from the seminar I attended the previous week..I met some home-schooled kids, n they had a section on home-schooling..they are following the Wisdom booklet-its a Christian American Institute of Life Principles..ATTI..something like that..Im truly inspired to home-school my kids.

Hmm..I wonder how much my baby has grown..seeing gynae next Sat..so long.

I feel some movement in my tummy periodically..but it may be some cramping of the uterus expanding..cheh..hehe.

How does the movement of the baby feel like, dear mothers?

charis,

the feeling is just something from inside .. pushing outwards .. somewhere below the belly button ..
sometimes it pushes twice ..
sometimes just idle .. so u won't feel it ..
but the best position for me to feel is when i lie down on my back on bed. .

Hmm..I get some 'tugging' near the belly button..but I think its gas..hehe.

How else does it feel like?

Maybe I should jus wait til 20 weeks to feel something..haha.

i just started to feel it this 2 days only ...
normally when i lie down then i go to sleep liao ..
recently i lie down then i relax then i wait and see if got movement ..

normally u can feel it in the nite time ..

day time also can feel little .. but the feeling is not as strong ..

Charis, I personally feel that home schooling can only work with a mummy of iron-will and self-discipline AND must have a good network to tap into.. else, might end up a nightmare for both mother and children..heh. I know I'm not disciplined enough to do home schooling.. planning to send Timothy to Kuo Chuan Presbyterian for pri sch 'cos we have church affiliation.

Movement of baby - like fluttering.. sometimes like a weird 'swipe' internally.. hmm.. not so easy to describe but when baby gets bigger, you cannot mistake those kicks and pushes! Heh.

Charis,
I'm using some homeschool phonics and maths curriculum related to the ATTI thing. Distributed by the IBLP here. But cos Sarah is still so young, I adapt the materials for now. Later then can use the workbook and teach all the stuff in full. Now she can't even hold her crayon properly yet, so can't write. But she knows her alphabets and phonic sounds. And she knows the verses that accompany each alphabet

I dun think i feel anythng at the tummy yet.. maybe too slight to take note.. but had cramps and aches on the left bum and back of thighs.. is this normal??

I went to GlenE during lunch, collected my lab report and also talked to my uncle. Felt much better after talking to my uncle compared to my gynae who is very cold and factual. He said my risk is very low cos its borderline, just 1 more mark eg. 1:251 and the test for down will be classified as negative. But to put my mind at ease rather than to worry the next 6 mths, it is best to do amnio. Anyway, he will speak with my gynae just to let him know that we are relatives and he better do a good job at the amnio!! haha, my uncle is really funny. Too bad, he is not my gynae lah..free consultation for every visit and charged me minimum for doc delivery fee. Maybe for my next pregnancy I will see him lah.

hi doggy

you did a detailed scan on saturday? May i ask how many weeks are u already? I thought detailed scan is done at the 5th month? Are u on your 5th month already?

How much u pay for detailed scan? What do Dr Ho test and scan ?

cherryale, aiyah, why not you switch over to your Uncle instead?? Unles you've already paid your current gynae for the package?
I'm so glad that your uncle has evaluated your risk as borderline.. I think it's just a false alarm but of course, go through the amnio and put your heart at ease. Take care dear

PVL, are the phonics similar to Zoophonics and Letterland? My son attends Pat's Dstory club and they use Letterland but it's not v serious learning lor.

Catz, can't switch cos I already paid my gynae $700 plus and also its prob not his fault lah, its just that his personality is not as warm as my uncle. My uncle treats all his patients this way not just cos we are relatives. Thanks for your encouragement!! I will pray hard for God to bless me with a healthy and normal baby.

cherryale...good to hear tt from ur uncle on the detail explanation. At least u can put ur heart at ease now. So dun worry...thing will turn out just right !!

cherryale, yes, pray hard.. I think we've never prayed so hard in our lives when we thought Timothy had severe heart defects.. and I never stop thanking God everyday for giving me a healthy baby boy
So when's your amnio?

Catz,
I'm not familiar with zoophonics and letterland. But phonics itself should all be the same. The curriculum which I am using is VERY serious. But supposed to start when they are 3+. Of course, there are fun things to do, like a few songs to sing etc. The curriculum comes complete with charts, workbooks, teacher guides etc, can last for about 3-4 years. I also have another phonics curriculum called "Phonics Museum" which I am using to complement the first curriculum. Phonics Museum comes with 30+ readers as well.

JC/Catz,

yah, its in such situation that we realise how small we are and how much we need God's help. My amnio is next tue but the result is only out on 26 Sept so its a long long wait but at least I am feeling better now. Can't be faster unless I want to do another quick test plus amnio then I will know prelim results in a few days but the full result still require 2 weeks. My uncle said the prelim result again may have false positive and negative so no point doing that. It is more for those who are at wk 23 and only have a few days to decide whether to terminate the pregnancy.

cherryale,

glad that your uncle managed to put your mind at ease a little at least for now.

mind if u tell me who is your uncle? cos i have a feeling that he could be my gynae cos my gynae quite elderly in his 60s.

been a while since I came in. I hope everyone is doing well

Cherryale,
sorry to hear about your test result... but stay optimistic ok? If you look at the odds, the chance that everything is normal is still much much greater right?

Charis,
take care and get well soon.

What's the difference between OSCAR and triple tests? Do we need to do both?

CK, the detailed scan is only screening test, it can point at some soft markers of DS but cant diagnose. Only Amnio can.

Starlite, my uncle is in his 50s..and dun remember seeing my uncle's name in the table that koh put up. Not nice to 'promote'him but he is quite a popular gynae, his clinic is very very crowded.

Winnie, yah, the chances of DS is only half a percent and honestly I think I rather go thru the amnio and find out everything is fine then to have a good screening test result that says risk is low and turned out baby has DS at birth. One of my colleague has a friend who was 34 yrs old and second pregnancy. Her blood test results were ok, so her gynae didnt send her for amnio, so when the baby turned out to be DS, she could not accept it. Screening test is really about high risk, low risk and not entirely no risk. But then again, in the past, women do not even have such tests but most of their babies are ok. So like my uncle said, more test does not mean better, it creates additional stress on the mother sometimes like in my case.

Hi winnie..

Thanks. Think is my asthma acting up..praying I'll be ok soon.

Hi pvl..

Oic. Where did u get those materials? Cos from what I heard have to go for the ATTI conference before can buy their home school materials..

Have u attended IBLP basic or advance seminar?

Its good yr daughter is learning phonics so early..she'll be an early reader!..dont worry about writing..when she's ready she'll pick it up..cos I think she's still palmer grasping..give her more activities to develop her fine-motor skills..for eg, stringing beads (provided she stop putting things into her mouth already), puzzles, doodling/drawing..

Goin to the doc ladies..flu, headache, cough, wheezing..aiyoh..must see already..cos if not I cant sleep at night..n concerned for baby too if i continue to be unwell..

Chat tomorrow..ciao.. Take care!

Thanks all for your care and concern, I try not to be affected by those stupid coll. Like what JC mentioned, I might resigned after ML and be a SAHM for good.

cherryale, did your go for those FTS Scan(measruing the neck thickness, nasal bone etc...)? Or juz do the blood tests only?

But i think you shouldn;t worry too much, come what may and stay positive ok?

PVL, I see so Dr Han machine is quite lousy? Hmm my Detail scan would be 5 Oct, quite late hor.. My next appt will b this Sat. Wonder can see the gender or not.

Charis, were you asking about baby's kicking? Hahaha.. it's like something kicking from inside out and if you feel it the very first time, you will feel really excited and want to feel it the second time. I haven't feel it yet hmmm..

Charis, if you are sick try to rest in bed and dun go to work ok!

I will try to come in more often. Going to bed now..zzzzzzzzz......

Good morning ladies, baby was VERY active yesterday and gynae had a hard time doing the measurements... but hor, I'm 99% having a baby GIRL
Hubby is right yet again.. I'm still getting used to the fact that I am going to have a soft, sweet-smelling little girl in the house...haha
Oh yah and bb is long for her age - 10.5cm at 16 wks. Guess it will be the same case as my lanky son who was born at 52cm. Tell you, I was so relieved when she put the ultrasound and I saw bb immediately.. had all sorts of paranoid things gg through my head before that.

Charis, hope you feel better!!

Charis,
Rest at home, drink more water. Get better soon. I have not attended any of the IBLP or ATTI seminars. I know the guy who is in charge of IBLP in Singapore. He's an old family friend. But I got to know of his curriculum from another SAHM here in Punggol. The curriculum costs about $480 for the complete set. But you'll need to be prepared to bring home a big box of books and other materials, so come with a car. If you want the contact, I can PM you. Let me know.

Bitbit,
I think the KKH probably gives the Drs in the clinics the cheaper machines to use for basic scanning lah. Not so sophisticated. Then you have to go to the other clinic to do your scan (and pay extra). Devious, yah?

bitbit,
just enjoy ur last few mths of work in this case and prepare for the next phase in ur life - as a SAHM. I dun think I am ready for that yet :/

charis,
do rest well now, drink more water

catz,
so happy for u that everything's going alright. can set ur mind at ease now oso

Catz, congrats!! One boy and now a girl..wow..envy envy. maybe that's why you felt more 'xinku' this time round and different from the time you had timothy. Is your hubby very tall? You are quite tall yourself too right?

Bitbit, yes, did the neck measurement in first tri and all normal. Also can see nasal bone. Hence all along I thot risk is very low, that's why cannot accept the result of the blood test. But after explanation from my uncle, I felt much better. Guess I can't help anything even if i worry. So I shall just be positive and see what happens next.

btw, I think I can feel baby kicking me. It is also at the position below the belly button. I was lying on the bed last night and at first I thot its my hubby putting his hand on my tummy, then I realised its not. Felt it for about 2 - 3 kicks then no more. It is so interesting!

smurfy, yah it's such a relief.. 'cos I was rather worried that the medicine I've been taking wouldn't be good for the baby.. but yeah, I'm so glad she's alive and kicking

cherryale, no need to envy.. you hv plenty of time to catch up 'cos I intend to close shop already.. haha :eek:) Yah hubby is about 1.79cm and I'm 1.69cm so we're bound to have lankier babies. Unfortunately, Timothy is SKINNY. :p

baby's kicks.. yeah, although it gets a little stressful when you need to start counting the daily movements esp toward EDD.

HI PVL

10.5CM at wk16 is considered tall? sorry, i am not sure of wats the average length.. my bb was 9.15cm at week 15..and i tot bb is very short. and as compared to those stated in pregnancy books, my bb lenght is always not within the range

wats the avg length of bb at birth? my colleague bb boy was 56cm...although both husband and wife are not very tall.

catz
what u mean by count the daily movements towards EDD?

For those who experience the kicks? How do they feel? Are they strong or like fluttering?

kekeke mine was 10.5 cm at 15wk 3days
i am 166cm and my hubby-to-be is 174cm
think all my nutrients going to bb oredi, that's why leaving me tired and exhausted most of the dayS. But it's okay lor, so long as bb is healthy and growing well :p

stella, I think you mean to address me? Gynae told me that it's considered tall 'cos 10.5cm is the avg height for wk 17 bb. Anyway, it's just a figure.. avg length of bb - usually I see is 46cm - 50+.. your colleague's boy is really long!!!

smurfy, I think by 6th month, you hv to count the bb's movements .. also can't remember the exact details but your gynae will advise. Esp towards your EDD, counting bb's movements will be very impt 'cos sekali got umbilical cord accident (choy choy!!!).. yah, quite scary. My Timothy didn't kick me one night and we rushed down to TMC for emergency CTG. When the CTG was strapped on, the silly joker started kicking. Nonetheless, the next morning I went in for a gynae check-up and she said that I can choose to induce.. after that kind of scare, alamak, INDUCE!!! That was 39.5 wks.