(2007/02) February

doggy, I will attend at glenE. I can find out more and let you know. But I read somewhere in this forum that glenE classes are very boring. TMC is better.

DOGGY

i also interested in the prenatal class..but my hb work shift leh..if husband cannot accompany us, can we still attend or not har? cos seems like most attend as couple

wow, the thread moves so fast, i think i catch no ball liao.

Thanks for all the well wishes.

Btw, just to check with u gals. Any one bought insurance for ur kids? Any idea wat type of insurance policies to buy and roughly how much it will cost? haha... wonder if there are discounts since i am planning to buy for three...

hi stella, i think can still attend without him. let me go web and search for more info....

yesterday was talking to my coll on breastfeeding...wonder anyone here going for it? she has been dreastfeeding for 1 yr as her bb is a premmie....

doggy,

aiyo .. ask your hubby also dun so old fashion ..
u tell him .. likely to raise boi then later stage .. is actually giving away to DIL ... won't come back one ..
gal better ..
sorrie correction should be Y sperm reach X ovum ..

chloe,
me haven't think of buying insurance yet ..
wait till next year then start sourcing ..

cherryale,
how much is the prenatal class at glen e ?
wat is the schedule like ?
tq

doggy, so sad that there's still such pple ard.
Wow... your hb's family also big hor. My mil got 10kids and I feel that it's alot liao. I'll def bf my bb as long as I can. In fact, I bf my gal for more than 1 yr and I can really see benefits from it.

JC, I agree leh... if you see how the men side the wives nowadays, you'll feel better to have gal.

Catz, ya... luckily the doc bothered to do urine test for me cos I've got not much symptoms except tummy ache and freq trips to toilet.

Chloe, I bot ins from Manulife for my gal. Think I bot life and edu ins, paid abt $200 per mth.

ck, hahaha... you got the same thinking abt having boi.

Yah agreed with Giggler, I think bf is really beneficial and will definitely do total bf for my #2 as well.

Chloe, I didn't buy endowment (too expensive) but I bought the all important personal accident and hospitalisation insurance for my boy. Total spend about $110 per month. Savings we will do our own investment.

cherryale, I find prenatal classes VERY good for husbands 'cos after learning, they cannot act blur. Heh. But of course can go by yourself but it's best to involve your hubby in all the classes.

Stella, Doggy, CK,
I will check the rates at GlenE and report here. Yesterday very emotional so didnt really see properly. Brochure is at home.

Stella, think they will cover some exercises and breathing techniques so will be good to have a partner around. And if your hb is going to be with u in delivery room, helps that he knows the breathing techniques so that he can guide u then. But if really can't, I think it is still good for u to go, at least 1 person know wat to do better than both dun know. That's my personal opinion.

hi cherrydale/catz

yah i agree that it is good that husband is able to attend prenatal classes. i thinking of going to TMC classes..maybe i can go alone in some sessions, those that hb can make it, then go together lor..

Gd day to all gals

Cherryale - congrats! Nvm lah, boy or gal also gd lah....... so long as healthy can le.

Blood test - when do we do?

Catz - yeah can't trust Zoe's totally lah bt again 6kg is impossible.

Cherryale - I apply Vicks Vaporub, then when I slp, I slp w/ high pillow. Alternatively u can hv a pail or tub of warm water then cover urself w/ a cloth enclosed then can help clear ur nose. I m taking Chlorpheniramine which will cause drowsiness. Then I will still apply Vaporub. Tat time I apply Tiger balm end up nose peeled. Ha ha ha.........

I wun b attending any pre-natal classes, for wat? Save $$ instead lah. las time those preggies also nv attend all these.

Yes - I agree - hv boys, end up nx time also runaway w/ the wife, just like our hbs run w/ us. Ha ha ha.......... Gals no matter wat will still hv her fmaily interest @ heart.

As for insr for kid - I will buy the Savings plan for him/ her 1st, then also the hospitalization. As time goes by, if I hv more $$ then I will buy Life policy for him/ her. If nt then ask him/ her to buy when he/ she comes out to wk.

As for supply of milk, mum says eating long beans help also. Bt I dunno if it shld be taken during preggy or after lah.

Hi Ah Ger,
Yah, after all the emotions settled down, I have started to look forward to my little baby boy. What blood test are you asking? The blood test I did is the triple test or second tri screening test (done in week 15 - 16) cos I didnt do the OSCAR in first tri. Gynae only measured the fluid under the neck and check for the nasal bone. But if u did the OSCAR then I think there is no need for blood test again given that u are below 30.
My aunt who just gave birth also had the same thinking as u. Those people in the past didnt attend the classes but also can take care of baby so she didnt see the need. For me, I just wanted to learn more to prepare myself and hb since this is the first time we have a baby in our immediate family. My mum will also go for classes to learn how to take care of baby and how to cook confinement food. She is going to do confinement for me instead of the CL that I have booked.

ah ger,

dr tham said the test is to test for blood count .. and hiv test ..
he said is compulsory ..
can do it the next visit ..

Ah Ger, actually the prenatal is very informative lah.. I guess it does prepare you for the shock of having a baby.. if you don't go for that, then I would really suggest reading up. I spent most of my first pregnancy reading up on child care etc.. yet I found that I learned most during the prenatal classes lor.

Catz, me also targetting to tbf my #2 but heard of stories that it's more diff cos still got to take care of #1.

ralliart, I'm interested in the pre-natal yoga but Tanglin Mall is not convenient for me.

Hi ck,
remember I told you gals that gynae did a blood test for me 3 weeks ago. I got the results yesterday - its for blood count, thalassimia, HIV etc. It is a necessary test for all pregnant women.

Ah ger,

it's me again! hope u feeling better.

Oh it is Wong Lilin who only gained 6kg throughout her whole pregnancy

Giggler, yah that's true but even more so we need to TBF #2 'cos toddlers carry a lot of germs around, will spread to the baby. Hubby also scared that our son will spread his germs to the baby. Worse case, pump lor.. but hor, I hate pumping 'cos need to sterilise etc.. I'd rather direct latch.. that's why I could last for 10 months. You ask me to pump, I would've given up after 6 months.

cherryale, I think my HIV/blood count etc.. test was done during my OSCAR blood tests.

I did my blood test on my 1st visit at 6 weeks as I have Beta Thelassimia Minor. Thus the test was done for both me and my husband. I understand from the doc the test include test for Thelassima, HIV and blood count.

KKH charges about $120+ for the test.

BTW i read some MTB saying OSCAR Scan and now OSCAR blood test actually what is it?

Cherryale - I also din do Oscar test. Oh my last visit was 15w 1d so maybe nt time to do blood test yet lor. maybe is my nx chk up which is 18wks+ lor.

Oh yest mum called me. She knew abt my intention of getting a maid liao bt she din say anything. *phew* Bt she's worried if the new maid can cook or nt. So she said she'll prob bring my niece over for the 1st fw days then cook for me & @ the same time teach the maid lor.

bt I told her - still got a long long way to go............ worry abt tat later.

i did my oscar test at TMC during the 12 weeks. It uses the computer to calculate the risk factor for down sydrome and 2 other chromosomal defects. 3 key components to when determining the risk factor are:

1) Mother's blood test results (dunno test what),
2) measurement of the bb's neck,
3) Mother's age

Results for OSCAR test is known the next day.

During that blood test, the clinic assistant drew more blood from me, so that they can test for HIV and 1 or 2 more tests. The gynae will review the results for these blood tests during the next visit (15th week, coz reports out slow,n dun need to rush).

Think that's abt all.

BTW, it is compulsory that all pregnant mums to test for HIV these days, though we need to sign a declaration letter.

Today damn suai, yesterday say my work sit in office, dun need to go site. Then accident happened in production area.

Whole day busy. Finding out what went wrong. So tired n exhausted

Boss keep asking when i can travel, so that he can arrange a few trips for me. Think he sick of travelling, wants me to help him ease his load. Even more sianz.. Like this I keep on rejecting, backside not secure oredi arr..

CK - I rem Dr Tham mentioning to me, bt I 4got when I will b doing. ha ha ha........

Catz - it's ok lah, getting pregnant is already the biggest shock of my life. Wahahahaha.......... taking care of bb - ok lah, I've experience taking care of my sis when she was born.

Hi Choo - thks, nose is still as bad, my fren said I sound like a man *sobs*

Hi Sunsweet,
for the OSCAR, they do both blood test and the NT Scan. But for me as I didnt do the OSCAR, I did the blood test for HIV, Thalasemia, Blood Count when I was 12 weeks and triple test (blood test for DS screening) at 15 weeks. Hope that clarifies.

smurfy - if u r nt comfy w/ travelling for nw, tell ur boss lor. Dun think he dare to ask u to travel also right, unless he wanna b responsible for everything.

cherryale,
thanx for the update on the price ..

ah ger,
ya lo .. as long as test comes back okie ..
so next visit we gotto pay 150 + 525 for package ?
675 liao ..

CK - I dunno leh............ I boh ask on the price thing wor. Bt I know nx visit is we can pay for the antenatal pkg lor.

I only know nx visit is big hole in my pocket. Ha ha ha..........

So did u show ur hb the clothes? Wat did he say?

actually hw to tell the u/s machine is 3D or wat? I thinK I ask b4 bt nobody replied me.

CK - hw do u tell Dr Tham's machine is more advanced? I nv ask on any equipments b4 leh.

Ah ger,

I went to the website and it said BOY for me, so its accurate in my case. Wonder how they calculate it.

Ck, since your gynae is in GlenE, then the blood test should be sent to Pathlab right? Then it should be same price as mine. Remember to keep the receipt showing the $525 package as you can claim back medisave $450 (I think) upon delivery.

ah ger,

i also boh ask the price for the blood test ..
he he ... ya same here ..
next visit is big hole .. he he ..

i showed him yesterday ..
he ask me why all of them soo big ..
he he .. i said so i can wear till full term ma .. he he .. he seems okie with the selection ..
of course is claimable from him la .. wait for his pay day first ..
he he ..

i think 3D and 4D can see bb feature one ..

dr tham one is no D i guess .. cause we only see the structure .. can see spine and head .. like outline ..
why i say his machine more advance ..
cause my old doc one hor ...
cannot hear bb heartbeat one ..
and lower resolution .. can't see clearly ..
dr tham one can see the head shape and can view in different angle le ..

ah ger,

i tried the webbie .. is bb boi ..

cherryale,

yup .. gynae is dr tham .. same as ah ger ..
i guess should be same ..

ah ger,

i just called dr tham's office to change appointment to 12 sept 11.15am ..

after tat go for maternity tour at 12pm ..
also registered for the tour liao ..

ah ger,

so u gotten the milk powder liao ?
actually so far i also never take le ..

i find milk stuff very difficult to digest ..
make me feel bloated and uncomfy ..

ck, we must register for the tour?? I also will like to go for the maternity tour at GlenE. My gynae u/s machine is also 2D but the image is quite clear. Do you know which gynae in GlenE has 3D scan? Can we go to see those gynae with 3D scan for a 1 time visit so that we can see baby's features??

Catz, same here... pumping is so troublesome, I prefer direct latch too. Dun even need to get up from bed to feed bb.

Ah ger, your mom really dote on you.
.... Can check with your gynae what type of machine he using? If 3D machine, can see bb's feature very clearly. Mine also show BOY from the chart leh, accurate for me.

Ah ger/CK, me gg to pay for the antenatal package on next visit too. Plus the blood test, abt $900

CK, till now I still haven take any powdered milk too. Cant really take milk for this preg.

CK - need to register for the tour meh?

I dun wanna commit cos I dunno will hv delay @ the clinic or nt.

Oh Dr Tham is no D arh. Hmm, nvm, I ask him during nx appt.

cherryale,

yup need to register .. i just called glen e direct .. they will transfer u to correct person .. then just give your name and contact no ..
tour is tuesday 12pm and thursday 4pm..

giggler one can see 3D ...
ya u can go one time visit to other clinic ..
but one time consultation + scan i think easily 100-130 leh ..
dun u think is exp ?

giggler,
can see bb look like u ?
is it black and white or got colour one ?
i will burp quite a few times if i take in milky stuff .. even yogurt ...
i had a cup of yogurt this morning .. then burping in the morning ..
find it rather distracting ..

ah ger maybe dr tham is 2D ?
i also dunno wat is 2D leh ..
to me is no D la ..

he he ..
ya need to call up ...
if dr tham delay then go for the tour first then go back see him .. he he ..

cherryale....oh... can claim back package from CPF. really...wow..very good leh...can save some $$ here. Tks for the info

smurfy...if u really need to travel, get ur gynae approval b4 doing so.

Giggler....me forcing myself to drink lah. But not everyday. Think twice or three time a week. But now i starts drinking fresh milk. Also can right.

ah ger,

hhmnn .. why giggler 3D can see feature ?
then why we can't see le ..

do u know if the detailed scan is using the same machine ? if the detailed scan got use 4D then good le .. can see bb feature ..