(2007/02) February

heng my mil very supportive of breast feeding...
she breastfeed all her children until one yr plus. now i scared wait if i fail to reach her standard , she will nag nag nag.

tell u something i find shocking...

my mil still keeps my hb stroller in her storeroom..my hb already 26 liao..she tells me no need to buy stroller , use that one can liao.. but i feel unsafe leh.

maternity undies - no need esp if you already wear hipster undies... unless you wear those HUGE cover whole stomach and butt type, then sure cannot fit when you reach 2nd/3rd tri.

Bird's nest - I lazy so I bought Lo Hong Ka.

stella, er... think your hb's stroller should get 'accidentally' broken before your baby arrives...keke..

olden days, only poor ppl bf.. you are considered low class and poor if you cannot buy high-tech formula. My MIL bf 'cos she is dirt-poor but she is very one kind.. everyone else milk not as POWERFUL as her...*sigh*

Charis, yah my skinny boy only got sick for the very first time in his life at 18 months.. so all that BM did him some good.
But hor, seriously I am very NGIAO about his diet. Only when he reach 18 months then only give him table food. Before that, all organic and I never give him seafood, nuts, chocolate, honey..

BTW, Honey is a no-no for infants as it can cause botulism (macham poisoning from botox).. so please please no honey until the kid is well over 1 year (2 years to be safe lah)..

nuahcouple, I also recorded from day 1 my son's feeding (left breast, right breast, no of minutes nursing, food intake etc..) all the way until 15 months when I went back to work.. hehe

True lah, for bf you need to be hardworking.. no demand = no supply.. cannot be lazy. Whatever it is, if you are intending to do total breastfeeding, make sure you know how to properly latch the baby BEFORE you discharge out of hospital.. else sure got a lot of problems wan. TMC breastfeeding support lagi SOLID!!!!

stella....wow..ur mil very good leh. maybe u shd keep some of ur bb stuff then ask he or she to pass down to their children.

cn't believe it that she can actually keep for so long.

I bet u won't want to use tt stroller.....antique already lah......

pls dun feel offended.....very funny leh....

Hi Winnie,

you will enjoy shopping in BBK...b4 my 1st niece was born..both my mom and me went BBK to shop till drop and all the stuffs we buy were purely for my niece.....it's really cheap and gd quality. You can easily buy them at departmental store..instead of those wholesale mkts etc. Those at wholesale mkts has those kerosene smell....not sure abt now lah as during that time was abt 3 or 4 yrs back. You can shop at tokyu or Central....

Hi Stella,

dun think you will dare to let bb zzzzzzz on a 26 yrs old stroller bah? Btw dun be stress abt not able to bf till 1 yr plus. AS mentioned every individual is diff...some can bf for 2 yrs and some only 1 mth etc...just relax and am sure ur mil will understand lah

Winnie - yeah it's 2hrs flight bt still shld do some legs exercise if possible. Imagine take bus I sit 1hr I can feel buttock pain liao.

my gf din buy maternity underwear. I dun think I will buy also. I will wear normal ones.

Feathers in birds' nests - maybe tats y they say must clean properly? Bt eh, I tot birds' nests is saliva?

Stella - wah ur MIL superb leh!
the stroller can b antique liao. Maybe u chk on the condition 1st - IF IF IF really still can use then ok lor. bt to play safe - use tat @ hme instead. U know some kids - they can't sit still, end up instead of putting them in the playpen, like my niece, my mum puts her on the stroller then on vcds w/ bb songs then she sits tare quietly & watch thru'out w/o disturbing my mum.

Stella..

Serious..means the stroller is 26 years old lah!

Wah..yr hubby is quite young anyway. Young couple..u same age as hubby too? My hubby is younger actually..hehe..going to be father already..he always say he's a boy..haha.

Anyway, u can check the stroller first. Is it in good condition? Check the sturdiness..the wheels n brakes if they are smooth n working. The fabric..is it worn out. If lets say all fail..then u can tell MIL that sorry cant use lah..at least u try.

Charis,
just saw your posting about the "breast feeding" nannies"... remind me of this scene in a Stephen Chow (I think) comedy which he cried very tragically because his gf went to be someone's "nai ma". Hahaha... sorry, I know it's totally irrelevant but it just struck me
I'm a mega stephen chow fan

Stella,
Cannot lah, tell you MIL that one can be antique in the museam already. She's so cute
If you want to be very diplomatic, just buy one that you like and tell her it's a baby shower gift from your friends lor. Then you won't hurt her feelings also.

Catz,
thanks for sharing. Thought I must have missed something cause the maternity underwear is like twice the price of normal undies. Was thinking there must be something special/different with them.

stella, you mean your bro got asthma cos your mom took lots of birds nest? Older gen believe that fm is better than bm, only the rich can afford to buy fm that time mah.

Ah ger, hahahaK you so cute, hopefully you succeed in knowing bbs gender this Sat. I think I read somewhere that coffee is better than tea. But forgot whats the reason liao.

Charis, I dun have much cravings but if I have, Ill try to give in lah. But dunno why once the food arrived, the appetite gone liao. To have milk ss, you got to consume lots of fluids, not necc have to be milk.

JC, I bf my gal for abt a yr, stopped cos I scared that she treats my nipples as her pacifier. HeheheK. My bm tasted sweet too but my fren said hers was very bland.

Catz, I agree with that bfg needs lots of persevere. When I looked back now, I also not sure how I tahan that time. HahahaK

ralliart, I didnt take papaya soup at all.

nuahcouple, my sil only add red dates and wolfberry for the black chix so still ok. Think you cant really blame your sil cos its really very tiring to bf bb. I rem I got to wake up bb every hourly to bf her, and still got to go to work in the morning.

Winnie, thats how my sil prepare the black chix soup, added red dates and wolfberry, got taste. Must stock up on the undergarments at BKK.

HI JC...

no offense, i also find the stroller thing very funny...even my hb also say very funny...haha

actually how to check whether the stroller is safe? ideally, what should the weight be?

actually u know if things tat r plastic, when u open, they tend to hv a not so elastic pull then u c the condition lor - can't b cols fading liao still use mah.

JC - u tell ur hb, ask him b the bag guy to reject his mum. If u reject then ur MIL may say things abt u.

Hi giggler,

am not blaming my sil at all...in fact she bf till she cannot bf..abt less than 4 mths. Whereas my 2nd sil can bf my niece till ard 3 yrs....and then we lie to my niece mummy breast has germs....so that she can stop..hehehehe....

Stella..

Oic..same here. Im 25 this year..hubby is less than 1 year younger than me.

U can find out more about the stroller guidelines on the net.

has anyone started buying bb stuffs such as stroller, cot etc?

Recently went to Taka bb fair and bought pigeon sterilizer...at $87...cheap..as normal price is $116.

Any idea which stroller is good?....still deciding if we shld buy cot or playpen...hmm...headache

nuahcouple, hahahaK. so your niece believe the story abt germs in breasts.

Charis, both of you really young parentsK

nuahcouple, I got the Graco stroller and I find it very gd. Still strong and steady though my gal is heavy-wt and is still using now.

JC, ya... I also not very young, dun worry

the nuahcouple,

actually i read from other threads that there is one store in chinatown which sells bb items which is cheaper than those in bb fair.

the shop is called cheong choon in people park

Hi Giggler,

hahaha we hv no choice as she is sucking for pleasure...heheheh.

As for stroller, hb want lighweight bt read that some are beri fimsy....am thinking btw Graco, quinny and Mclaren.....i want those that can lie flat is possible....

Anyone facing constipation problem?
Had tried eating 2 portion of fruits, plenty of water each day, sometimes fibergel still kana constipation

How to overcome it?

Btw, go see GP will they give some "laxative" safe for preg ppl?

hi feliza,

i've this problem too. i try to drink more water, eat prunes, drink prunes juice and eat more fruits (kiwi & banana). Hw many litres of water u drink per day? r u on iron pill now? thought im not on iron pill i oredi got constipation problem. i read from my preg guide book it says becos of the change in hormone we will have this problem, stool will be harder thus making us difficult to pass motion.

be careful not to force it out, u can try drinking water when doing ur 'big business', if u force it out it may lead to piles.

morning to all.

I also drink alot of water - in the ofc alone already drink close to 2L liao.

When I go hme I take fruits also like tat. Bt strange enuff, I can clear my bowels only during wkends. I drink a full glass of prune juice then w/in hrs - my LS pain comes again. Ha ha ha.........

I was told iron pills will get constipation also.

I vote for Maclaren.. but then again, I have 3 prams..haha
Peg Perego is super solid but v heavy (ultra comfy for the kid though), Maclaren is nice and well, Lucky Baby broke after 1 month of use.. boooooooo!!!!

feliza, my gynae gave me some liquid laxatives but I have not taken yet.

hi morning gals.....

counting to Sat....ha..ha...me on leave 2moro. girl exam coming...so got to take leave to coach.....

Does anybody experience very bloated tummy after dinner? For my case usually like that..so i end up eating very very little for dinner. Abt 2 tablespoon of rice & some dishes.....that it..can't go in anymore. eat so little but tummy still bloated. So i aksed my mum to cook ginger+sweet potato soup for me so i can get rid of the wind. The wind din come out instead it turn & turn inside ...at the end so pain tt got to go "boo boo". After tt at least feel better but tummy still turning & turning.....how....

Hi Starlite,

Thanks for the recommendation, will check out Sprite Zero. Yesterday I was on MC, doctor said my blood pressure is a little low and I have been having tension headache cos cant sleep well. Last night also, woke up about 3am and took a while to get back to sleep. very busy at work today, will come in again later.

JC - everytime after meal i sure feel bloated one. even the chest tat part also bloated up. Bt then my digestion is very fast (cham cham cham), w/in 1 - 2hrs if u ask me to snack I can bt I din. instead I choose fruits after 30mins of my food.

JC - u ctrl ur rice intake arh? Only 2 tablespoons?

i love to eat rice, since b4 preggy i already control rice intake. unless i am very hungry then will eat more rice.

now ...i want to eat more but my tummy, mouth & brain..."bu tin hua" ...can't eat much.

my daughters also complaint too that why they hv to eat more rice then me......

nuahcouple, the Graco I got is lightwt, only 3kg but very steady. It's still in very gd condition and my 13kg gal still uses it now.

Feliza, prune juice helps me to relieve my constipation prob.

Catz, my fren's Lucky BB gave way after few mths too.

JC, your gals having exam so early, thot it's usu ard Oct period. Aiyo.... your bloatedness sound so bad.

cherryale, you feeling better today?

JC - wah 2 tablespoons very little leh. Mine arh - ard 5 - 6 tablespoons (I guess) then my MIL already complaining tat I eat so little rice liao.

Giggler, feel so cheated 'cos that stupid LB pram cost $120. Paid a little bit more for a Maclaren Triumph and it's so sturdy.

JC, I'm also bloated..suddenly need to borrow my mother's elastic skirts 'cos tummy very big.. also very windy. :p

Cherryale, I've got an appt to see sleep disorders specialist next Wed..will keep you posted. I've been having insomnia 2 months already.. no joke, every night wake up at 2-3 am and like owl :p

Hi stella..

Ya..im born in 1981.

My hubby is 1982..We got married last Nov. Going out since sec.4..So, marry early better..so many years courting also no good. After all he has finished his studies, did NS, working for 2 years already..I worked longer, saved enough..so might as well.

Catz - tats bad - u wake up already then can't slp?

I read frm the bk if u can't slp - dun stay on the bed. try to get out of the rm do something then make urself tired like watching tv (play a boring channel).

Wah Charis - u & ur hb also so long r/s.

Yeah infact pak tor 2 long no gd, cos u tend to hv no more feel/ urge to wanna get married. Some of my gfs also like tat. Infact they ROM liao they said 4get it lah, already ROM still go thru customary for wat?

Doggy..haha..'retire' from work u mean?

Well..sian lah, only work 1-2 times a week now..But my previous job at childcare was very stress..I gave up a good job also, could be a principal there if I stayed on..I was already assistant. But for family sake, I still have to give up my job in future when baby comes.

Hi ahger..

Haha..ya, nowadays couples only do ROM. Actually its considered married..to break up, means u have to divorce leh. SO even if jus ROM, must take it seriously. but of cos the chinese will have to go thru the customary dinner, tea, etc. For us, we did everything together, ROM, chinese dinner..then we also had church wedding.

Charis - my gf also Chinese bt she felt very sianz already. She & her hb 2gether 10+ yrs liao lor. ROM 5yrs ago.

Me too, ROM since 01, got married in 04. We knew each other very long abt 8/ 9 yrs, bt pak tor only 1.5yrs. ha ha ha......... mum tat time still ask if I hv considered carefully.

Lunch time - wat shld I eat????????

I m gng to RP to collect my white 3/4 - cos the elastic band they sewn it 2gether w/ the band - end up when I pull - the back got stuck, then the sewing broke. I asked for a new pc bt they got no stock, hence they send it back for sewing.

Oh, my hb's coll told him - Bt Timah Beauty World has a maternity shop (shld b 1 only bah) then quite cheap & nice. I told hb - I hv quite a few already, buy or dun buy also nvm, bt if it's real cheap - I dun mind buying a few more casuals. Cos always black & white 3/4 very boring. I tot of buying bermudas bt MM one is $46 b4 disc, I find it exp. So I wanna look ard again.

Has anybody went to Mama CHIC @ Cuppage Plaza tat one? Hw's the clothes? Nice? I haben got the chance to see leh.

Ahger..Wah..so long.

Both our sides had their objections too..of cos the main thing was us being too young. Maybe for a girl, its ok..but for a guy to marry young, most ppl find odd.

ha ha ha........... I nv thought of getting married young. My ideal age was 26, which I was - I got married @ 26+ lor. Hee hee........

Actually - also dunno hw cme will end up w/ my hb..... maybe it's really fated lah. Last time when I knew him - no chemistry one.....

HI Charis..

me and my hb also knew each other since i was sec3. we rom in yr 2003 , only customary on this yr march. during 2003 , we used up all our savings on house, then need to re-save again for customary.

there is pros and cons of being young parents. suffer earlier and enjoy earlier

Charis, u're the same age as my sis. She got married at 22 and I got married at 23 (both right after graduation)..got a lot of ppl ask if shotgun or what. *sigh*

Ah Ger, too tired to get out of bed..it's like sooooo sleepy and yet cannot go to sleep.. very sian feeling.

Hi stella..

Oic..very long also.

We spend most of savings on wedding n honeymoon. At least all my savings gone lah..I can say Im broke, living off my hubby..my part time job salary is used to provide for my parents n brother. But my hubby very thrifty, n thank GOD for HIS providence, my hubby has still got reserves..he say he save for baby sometime ago already..haha! He say he got enough if we need to buy a flat..cos also I got quite a lot in my CPF, after working a couple of years after poly.