(2007/02) February

Hi cherryale,

That's great. that means you are crossing 12 weeks tomorrow leh. And our edd is the same.

Think if everything goes well for me so far, i should be 11 wks 6 days also. So whats your bb measurement?

btw, i lost 2kg
even though my MS is not that bad and I seldom vomit food. But my appetite is not that great, always eat a bit then stop. gynae said its normal to lose weight but from wk 14 onwards should start to gain weight already.

Hi Starlite,
wow if only our babies can be borned on 14 feb, valentine's day,that will be so sweet.I also got my driver's licence on 14 feb. Baby is about 45mm but doc said I should be 11 weeks, so not sure about crossing 12 weeks tomorrow. Actually do you calculate how many weeks u are based on the scan or from last menstrual date?

cherryale,

45mm is 4.5cm? hee i very bad with such conversion one. Hmm...personally i dont think will be so accurate one lah. for my 1st pregnancy my edd is actually my birthday leh...i so happy, in the end, bb comes out 2 wks plus earlier.

You mean u/s state that u shd be 12 wks but base on your last menses u shd be 11 wks is it?

I calculate based on the u/s cos gynae said my menses not regular. based on menstrual date, he said my edd shd be 9 Feb which is what Ive given to bitbit earlier.

Aiyoh, you all stress me out. Your babies growing so well. Tomorrow is my appt. What if my baby hasn't grown much? What if something is wrong? *stress*

hi icy

Dun be sad ok? If u feel more comfortable staying with ur parents, then probably it is best to do so lor. i am sure ur PIL will understand. They also want u to be happy mah.

hmmm... seems like there are different views about dryer... i heard dryer also uses up a lot of electricity... still contemplating whether it is the wisest choice...

wow gals, so nice, if u deliver on 14 feb, valentine's day, i suppose u will receive presents from both hubby and baby hor? heeheee... so romantic.

PVL...

i guess we cannot worry so much.. my rationale is so long no bleeding/no cramps i have to consider that everything is smooth going. dont get to overly worried,it is very bad for bb growth.

cherrydale,

my edd is also brought forward for a 5 days. from 15/02/07-10/02/07.

hi Privileged

Agree with stella. i believe that we should listen to our body, so long no discomfort, things should be fine. Dun hu2 si1 luan4 xiang3 ok? Everyone is different, some pple have bigger built and some are smaller. If ur doc says it is ok, then it is ok, dun dwell too much into it ok?

yes.....let's all keep the worries way...
Don't worry & Be Happy......so will be good for both mummy & baby.
Baby come out will hv smilely face right.

Tell u girls a secret ....when i had my 2nd child...i was quite happy going...eat alot as my working place is at Taka office bldg. so always got a variety of food to eat. And during my preggy I like to watch funny show esp "Zhou Xin Ci" as u know he is a funny guys.....
When my baby girl came out she is also smiling & she got a chubby & smiling face. Till now already 5yrs+ she quite chubby & happy girl......

maybe what JC said is true. I remember last time i use to be very bad temper when im bearing my child and will worry alot, and it turns out that my child quite bad temper leh and when he's a young bb he always frown!

So my mil said...."see i told u already dont worry so much, now bb always frowning" Oops....

starlite,
doctor says My bb growth is slow. cos I supposed to be 12 weeks 2 days.. so should be around 5cm bah.I only take folic acid and milk.

cherryale and chloe,
Yeah, I am trying to be happier. else bb will having sobing face. :p Hvae to try harder.. cos of my fil special trip back to sg, i find it no so good to move back to my mum place now.

icy,

Then maybe u can try to eat more...rice, noodles, fish, meat and milk....just eat and eat. Hopefully will help your bb grow faster.

Hi ladies..

Have not logged on for a few days cos comp was down.

I saw gynae on Sat..n can see baby more clearly now, head, eyes, mouth, legs, hands..although he or she didnt wave them..but moved slightly..very cute..but Im only 10 weeks plus based on ultrasound which is based on the size of baby I guess..although calculate from LMP is supposed to be 11 weeks..My baby is small to me leh compared to some of u..3.7cm..but grown a lot since 3 weeks back at 1cm. My gynae say its ok. Plus I didnt put on weight at all..wondering baby's size is cos Im not eating enough?

Hi icy..

I know u are worried..but i think yr baby should be fine..Size is jus a guide..Yr baby should grow much more in 2nd trimester..sometimes, it could be the position of baby that cant get an accurate measurement..he or she may be bigger than u think.

Hi cherryale..

This is my logic sense comparing u/s n LMP. Actually both are jus an estimate..cos ultrasound is a machine..like a comp..so it measures n deduces based on data given..in this case the scan, n the tool that measures the baby (CRL) head to toe..so if baby is lying in a curved position, the size may seem smaller than it actually is..secondly, the size guide is already inputed into the u/s database..its jus a guide..it could be the western guide for the sizes of baby..cos most medical machines are made in the west.

As for LMP, its also jus an estimate..cos actually at yr last menses, u are not pregnant yet..so how to be the accurate age of baby..n some cycles are longer than others..so cant be very accurate either..for eg..we may have same LMP but my cycle is 32 days, yours 27 days..so your baby is sort of older..

So this is my own logic lah..hope it helps u a bit.

Starlite,
I heard a friend told me rice and noodles will fatten the mother, meat will make the bb fatter. I think I had to eat more meat.

Charis,
Yeah, I hope so.. bb looks so curled up. My hubby have more doubts abt it.

icy....ya...go eat red meat esp beef. if u take beef. Also abt 2-3 wks b4 delivery go eat steak a couple of time. U will find tt when u baby comes out he/she got nice rosy cheek

Hi stella..

I used to stay in woodlands too before I got married..few blocks away from Vista Point..I still go there twice a week to visit my parents n stay over also..my GP is there too..but which GP is the one that can do ultrasound?

Hi icy..

Ya..my MIL also ate a lot of beef when she was preggie with my hubby..cos he was small also..only late 2nd trimester then suddenly growth spurt. Take lots of beef..dont eat pork ok..pork has a lot of toxins..I dont eat pork at all.

wah one day nvr log on lots of postings to read le.... @_@

ah ger,
wah!!! u bought soooo much at one go.... i also like PM's clothes.... that time went the suntec city one....the salesgal keep giving me lots to try.... try till so tired.... but in the end i only bought 1 blouse (halter), 1 dress (halter) & 1 bermudas.... use the Amex promo of 15% instead... since nvr buy 3 of each mah.... keke.. i like their bottoms...is v-shape type...very comfy & the cutting is nice too!! their blouses & dresses all dun look like maternity type.... think even after giving birth can wear also ah... so not too wasted...keke
but since i not working....so no excuse to buy too much....sob sob... not much chance to wear also... though i think i lack of bottoms.... maybe need few more...
ehh...what is lantern sleeve?? *blur*

abt "si fang qian" i have my own bank accounts.... but now since not working....so no input leh.... only maintain the min balance... haiz.... hubby's sal wld go his bank account...but every mth i wld trsfr $$ to our joint account...cos that is the account to write cheques for bill payments... hehe

same thing ahh....cos this bb is unplanned plus i not working currently.... initially also worried if can afford financially....but just take each day as it goes... like u all said...everything wld turn out well...... just gotta be positive

i also thinking of going holiday... maybe penang in sep.... is it ok for us to take plane har??
what do we need to take note of leh??

think now in 13 wks plus going to 14 wks... but hor still got ms....
yesterday feel ok... but today is worse....

chloe,
i have a dryer....mine is fisher & paykel.. but i dun use it everytime... normally use it to dry towels & bedsheet & duvet cover (cos mine is king sized) so very difficult to hang out lar...
& also for those rainy days...at least got another alternative...wont be stressed where to hang the clothes... ;p

charis,

the gp i m referring to is medipoint(not sure the name)..the one with female doctor. there are three clinics (excluding dental clinic ), its not chan & low and not the one near banquet.

Quite a few of u have bought maternity wear..I find them quite ex leh..Esp from Perfect Mum.

Im looking for 2nd hand..n I may tailor make some dresses..cos my seamstress can do nice ones for around $30 each.

Actually I was shopping at J8 in Bishan on Sun..n there was this shop 'Ice lemon Tee' its actually a youth apparel shop, sell shoes n accessories too..I used to buy casual sporty clothes from there when I was in poly. And they were having clearance sale! N guess wat, I found nice babydoll tops, which is quite rare find from there..usually their less casual stuff are quite 'ah lian' haha. Selling for $10 each, buy 1 get 1 free some more. SO i found 4 nice ones..n paid $20 only!

Hi stella..

Ya..there r 3 clinics..I go to the one nearest to banquet..so yours must be the mid or next to dental?

Starlite, 45mm =4.5cm. yes the u/s said based on size of baby, should be 11weeks 6 days but gynae said based on the date should only be 11 weeks but it is ok lah. I will just stick to the date given by gynae and take it that I am 12 weeks next week.

charis

the one i am refering to is near to the dental clinic

the one u go is doc tan ki leng rite? he is very generous with mc ..always ask me need how many days

Stella..Ya..haha..yup that doc. My mum finds him weird! I like him lah..cos he always give mc..hehe..n also his meds are cheaper than most private docs.

Hi icy..

Are u taking enough calcium? It does help baby grow..strong bones, eventually teeth too.

Actually I also not discipline to take enough calcium..I find myself feeling very bloated..so I dont like to take beverages includ milk. But I make sure I eat tofu n cheese everyday. Must start taking milk already.

Another nutrient u need that can help baby to grow is Vit B complex n folic.

JC and Charis,
I dun take beef already leh.. cos I pray pray.

Charis,
I suppose i am having enough calcium, cos I drink anmum milk everyday, although just 1 glass. :p Folic I also take everyday.

gals............... Gd afternoon! Sorry I m late! 2day alot of things to do & I m still rushing them.

Gals - I went back to change my nursing bras for clothes cos my sis just called me tat she has extras unworn + my gf also hv - so asked me to go back & change lor.

I haben read the postings yet.......... slowly.......

charis, PM clothes nt very exp arh........ the tops I bought were abt $39.90, $40+ or $50+. if u buy 3rd pc, it will b 50% off the lower value one. imagine w/ $700 I can get 15pc of tops/ bottoms/ dresses.

Their dresses also abt $50+ or $60+. Pants I realised most of the shops the pricings are abt the same, range frm $50+ - $80+.

Even MM pricing is abt tare.

Spring pricing also ard tare. come to think of it, if can wear full term, then y not? Rather than u hv to kip buying @ every stage.

Folic acid hw cme take 3 times? I take only every morning leh...........

My calcium pills & iron pills also once every morning after food. If I dun take milk then I hv to dbl up my calcium pills.

ah ger,

dont know leh, my gynae just tell me to take 3 times a day so i follow lor.

think this is dependent of different gynae, cos my previous gynae told me to take once a day.

yeah, I also think individual, like I ask my gynae hw cme I take 3 kinds of pills while some gals take only 1 kind then 2nd tri then take more?

then he said diff gynae practices differently, so it's ok lor, watever the gynae says.

i am taking only folic acid & calcium with vit D. Once a day.

I heard from my coll tt gynae gave her fish oil in 2nd tri. Dtr said good for bb brain.... dun n whether my gynae will give or not

anyone taking multi-vitamins?

i only took folic acid during the first trimester.. then gynae says i can stop once i reach week 13, then take multi-vitamins

he did not mention calcium pills or fish oil

I take folic once a day. During the last appt I asked for Vit B cause I read somewhere that it helps with MS. Don't think it helped the MS but still continue taking it once a day cause already bought mah

Hi Starlite,
yes hb accompany me for every visit. remember last wk I said hb missed seeing baby floating around cos I didnt wait for him when he parked his car? Today, he specifically said must wait for him, so I kwai kwai sit there and wait until he is at the clinic then go and see doc.

Today is the worst, cos I told you I had nightmares last night, then I kind of thought that I had watery liquid discharge so straightaway doc asked to examine my cervix, ended up its the normal whitish discharge. Then when he proceed to scan the baby, I was so scared that can't see the baby, but luckily baby is there and has grown bigger with stronger heartbeat. But its really a very different b4 and after feeling loh. Gynae then told me something that I think is very true - MTB should not worry too much, if the pregnancy is normal, baby is growing, no spotting, everything will be fine. And if things dun go well, he will tell the patient that it is not a good pregnancy. So we must learnt to trust and not to worry.

I'm also taking folic 3 times a day, 1 tablet each time. Starlite, do u have this habit of counting down the days from the no. of folic tablet left? I am always happy to see the package of tablet finishing cos then I know I have completed a week and will b seeing baby soon

Cherryale, mummies,
You are right. we should try not to worry so much. But it's hard lah. Esp cos my last pregnancy, I was very happy go lucky. No bleeding, no pain etc. Then it was a missed miscarriage. I've only had one visit so far, so tomorrow, we'll be seeing how and whether baby has grown.

Yah. My first pregnancy I was very happy and relaxed. My girl has a really good disposition. Very happy and friendly. (Apart from her occasional Terrible Twos tantrums)

I take 1 folic a day. 1 activated calcium and 1 Omega-3 fish oil a day.

Ah Ger, u really v cute leh
Your maternity outfits are really worth it.. and you're our resident shopping expert.. hehe. I'm not showing yet and I haven't even had the energy to dig out all my old maternity clothes (some unused 'cos never got around to wearing).. dunno if I need to buy more 'work' tops.. 'cos thinking of quitting if hubby says OK :p Cannot tahan.. everywhere aching and still cannot get good night's rest :p

Pvl, yah I agree that our kiddos' disposition depends on our mood when we are pregnant. I'm very fortunate that my boy is of a sunny nature..quite afraid that 'cos of different circumstances, that this poor #2 kid will be stressed and upset :p Oh yah, really pei fu that you can swallow pills.. the folic still makes me want to puke, can't even attempt multivits.

Catz...... no lah - cos me lazy to kip buying & buying clothes mah, so I m sure those clothes can las me for the nx 6mths to go, or even until when I cme back to wk (if by then I still can't slim dwn).

I wun resign cos of the $$, even if hb says ok, bt I know it is going to b tough cos hb doesn't earn much. I will rest during the 12w bt I will kip a look out frm the 2nd mth onwards.

My clothings are nt just suitable for wk, bt also gd for gng out like shopping & etc. of cos go to coffeeshop I wun wear tat lah - just normal tees & shorts will do.

I hv bn aching also, then las night I slept @ close to 12am then 2day I wake up like no strength. I've bn having veyr bad nose congestion, then every morning when I bathe I kip sneezin & my nose is blocked. Nx wk I m gng to get ample rest liao........

Yes - watever/ however we feel, the bb will b affected, so if u all dun want grouchy bbs, then better smile/ laugh more & worry less.

Good mroning Gals...only Wed....so sian.... looking forward to NDP holiday. At least can rest an extra day.

Looks like everybody is aching here & there....me too my back is aching too. Back so tired ...also my legs r very very tired. Already not wearing heels still so tired....

PVL....did the gynae give u the Omega fish oil?