(2007/02) February

Wow...so many posting already...was abit biz doing some reports.....

Koh....that's the spirit....just save alittle here & there. "ji sao cheng duo" Hang on to it...& by the time ur kids are big you will feel these "ku" are all worthwhile. Guys are usually like that. THey are not like women think so far. Maybe when ur bb abt to born.....he will volunteer to help you do this & do that...
So meantime dun worry so much. Just concentrate on ur preggy. Preggy woman think or worry too much no good leh....relax...& be happy.

Ah ger.....so eager for u tt u be seeing ur bb 2moro.

think its normal that we worry abt bread and butter issues when bb comes..

ways to save is to get hand me downs from friends or relatives. though the items might not look nice,but functional can already.

try to breast feed to save milk powder money...hiak hiak

hi ah ger

i think employers are now very smart too. We are protected only until the completion of maternity leave. After that, we are on our own, with one more (in my case, 3 more) mouths to feed... Maybe some companies will even go to extreme, make things difficult for us and then force us to resign on our own... All these are loopholes, and there is no way evidence can be gathered against them. Most likely, to hold on to their jobs, mommies will just ren3 lor. So sad hor...

JC - yeah yeah - me also very eager to c the bb, most impt is to know tat bb is doing well. & no worries - qns tat u gals wan me to ask my gyane - I hv already noted on my pc of paper.

Stella - provided we hv so much milk leh.......

Chloe - yeah cos it's stated las 3mths r protected so many employers very smelly one will terminate their staff w/o any reason on the 6th mth - which I think is very unfair. Many women called up crying bt my gf said there's nothing they can do also.

Luckily my Co here is still quite alright. Infact they are very into family ties. A few of them - barely 1yr (like me) & are preggie. Bt they r ok, infact they r happy for u.

Bt to me is - tat is nt enuff. I find no job satisfaction & w/ 1 Mgr so NOT understanding, very diff to wk although I dun suuport her directly.

JC,

i agree with u loh... hope my HB will volunteer to help mi when baby is out... i pray for that day to come... luckily my HB don read forum .. if not he sure hang mi upside down...

Koh - I think the more shld let him read - then let him know hw upset u r! Then he will learn to appreciate u even more. ha ha ha.....

ah ger,

enjoy your appointment 2molo ..
i can't come in often as boss around ..
my company also lots of politics ..
haiz haiz ...

koh,

u r really strong .. i admire your courage ...
and your protection to your bb ..

hope u get by this time smoothly ...

i notice most of mummies here take half day for doc appointment ...

how come ? mine is always in the nite ... after work ...

koh,

great that u finally can PS ..

take more fruits and vegie ...
drink lots of water ..

cherrydale, stella

mine is jab every 2 weeks .. next one is 3 weeks a part .. he said going to jab till week 14 .. if i remembered correctly ..

my doc only jab on the right side of my butt ..
told him to switch he didn't le ..
he just ignore my hubby comment ..

Koh....dun worry still got some $$ from goverment. Cash & also the dollar to dollar match up to $6k

gals, i need your comments on this...my EDD is 14Feb, but was told that the actual delivery might be 2 to 3 weeks earlier, or later, depending on condition. I'll be engaging a confinement lady, but understand that if the actual delivery falls on Chinese Lunar New Year, the normal confinement charges will be doubled! Can anyone advise on this? I'm not too sure when is Chinese New Year either...think it's late Jan or early Feb.

hi carol,

think it does not matter whether ur actual delivery falls on cny or not. so long as ur confinement period (ie the whole of 1 mth) touches the cny period, confinement charges will be doubled.

cny is starts on 18/02/07. so if u give birth on 01/02/07 , ur confinement will be from 01/02/07 - 28/02/07. the fees are more or less the same even if you give birth on 14/02/07

Very long time not coming in, and I cannot finish reading all the post since I last posted... Do you all foregt me already...

Last week was given 3 days MC but ultimately only rest 1 day and 2 days have to go back to work. I wasn't ok and 2nd day still abit blur blur and giddy. It's Sat today, I am getting better but my son now down with fever and bronchitis, so sad leh. I was advised not to carry him, but then how? He is not feeling well and keep stickng onto me wan me to carry. I am really tired (my hb working whole day today...)

koh, i read about your post regarding ur boss want to bring th work to your house during ur confinement and make u work. like Stella says, it's very unfair to you leh! That 2 months is meant for you to rest and bond with your baby, mprepver you mention you wun have a additional helper then. If your boss can add more load for you, then fine, ask him/her to do the confinement and housework for you and you will do the office paper! That's already very fair to him/her. Koh, defintely you MUST reject your boss sending work ask u to do during confinement! If he/she insist, then tender your resignation, dun care, it's not worth for you, you know?

jc, me aso waiting long long since the last appt 12/7. next appt 10/8... i afraid of my diminishing symptoms such as lesser MS and lesser night trip to toilet. i aso lost weight since last week. My tummy is not as big as those week b4 my stomach flu attacked.. I wonder if got anything "wrong" how to tell??? Will bleeding come by itself?

I had tried to book appt outside KK, but they all told me that 1st appt consultation $80 and scan $50. I dun really want a detail scan, I juz want to ensure my bb heartbeat is still there, I am not wealthy, why is that I hv to pay and pay... Now wat I can do is only wait, nothing else.

474830.png

koh,
Don't be too upset about your hubby's attitude... men are just different from us I guess. Maybe it'd difficult for them to connect with someone they cannot see/feel. We are carrying the life so we are naturally more attached to it. Think some men just don't regard the little one as a life until they carry it in their arms. Maybe he is just the very rational type lor. So he still regards the baby as an embryo/fetus. When your tummy grows bigger/ when junior is born, I'm sure he'll love the baby as much as you do one. After all, it's his flesh and blood too mah. So cheer up ok? Good things comes to those who waits

Ah ger,
all the best for your check up hor. May your baby be big and healthy. Kwai Kwai, wave at you and maybe even show you his/her private part

Bitbit,
don't worry, never forget you. Think someone asked yesterday why you've been MIA for so long. Hey, if you are worried, go see the gynae for peace of mine leh. Not good to add stress to yourself mah. Bring forward the appointment lor. You see gynae these few days then go back after 3 weeks for the next appt like normal. Also, are you on a package already? If you are, call up the gynae and explain the situation to him. Maybe he'll do a free scan for you? Think someone mentioned before that she thought she was bleeding and called up her gynae in the middle of the night. The gynae met her at the clinic and did a free scan for her. Anyone else recall that? Btw, I go to Dr Wong Mun Tat at Bukit Batok and I think he charges $55 for ultrasound and $55 for consultation. Just a little cheaper but he is very patient lor. Let me know if you need the number. Take care ok.

winnie, i am not on any package yet. All my checkup do at KKH. So far only attended 1 visit (1st scan) and then no more, hv to wait till 10/8/06.

If it's not for that my gynae is there, I dun think I want to choose KKH..

The reason why my gynae ask me back on 10/8 becos by then I would be around 12 weeks, at the same time he can request those scan tests on me in the morning and see me in the pm. So if I go back too early, no point leh, cannot see the fetous well to do the scan tests. Then if wait after 3 weeks for another scan, might be abit too late to perform those NT scan etc.. hta's y the date 10/8 is "gum gum hor" timing and advise me to stick to that date.

What I just want is to ensure myself the heartbeat is still there. Even a simple dropper can ease my fear. No need to be scan. Anyone noes whether a GP do that?

hi bitbit

i noe of a Gp who do ultrasound... its near my place in woodlands. vista point to be exact.

not sure of any other places though

bitbit,
Try not to worry too much. Things are probably just fine. I also worry. But I comfort myself by thinking that if baby's heartbeat was fine during the first appt, then chances are, the baby will be OK. Did you call TPS to try and arrange an earlier appt with Dr Han?

My pregnancy symptoms also come and go. Some days worse. Some days I don't feel pregnant at all. Your tummy bug probably helped clear your intestines, so your tummy feels smaller and clearer. I wish I didn't have that bloated feeling every evening. Last night I was quite queasy. Other nights, no feeling.

Just take good care of yourself. Hope your boy is better today. Worrying is worse than being ill. Your next appt will come really soon even if you can't arrange an earlier one.

bitbit,

I hope you r all well now. If u can't carry ur boy u can give him more hug. Hugging makes the kids feel love & secure.
My app also the same as u on 10/08 but will need to delay till 14/08. cos my hb won't be in town so got to change lor. Mine is the same case like you will be on 12 wks by then. So gynae said come together to start the pkg & also the NT scan + blood test. so now i got to wait even longer. Miss my bb.....also not sure how is bb now. can't hear....can't see....can't feel ....sometime really makes me wonder ?????
But i guess as long as no bleeding shd be ok right .....so no worries .....the more we worries ...the more we scare.

Ah ger...where r u....any update on ur bb??

carol...no matter what all of our cfinment sure fall during the CNY. so bound to be double charge. maybe u can nego with her a bit.
BTW...why yours will be 2-3 wks earlier ???

PVL....my ms also come & go. My weekends feeling feels like shit. so uncomfortable....but this morning seems fine. I feel tt as if I can go for a mornign jog....but din go lah.....dun know whether can jog or not...

bitbit,

i also feel that my pregnancy symptoms seems to come and go. These few days i felt better cos the bitter taste in my mouth didnt really come back in the evening. But dont know how come i was super tired on saturday and had bad headache the whole day after nap in the late morning.

As for your son, I think what JC said is true. Just give him more hugs and maybe sleep by his side, i'm sure he will feel loved and secured. Thats what i did to my son too. But u have to be careful yourself cos last time i did caught some germs from my son so in the end i myself also sick and coughing like mad.

Harlo......morning gals..................

Wah, so early morning miss me liao arh? Or just miss my update?

Ok, here is my update for the chk up.

BB is measure 12w 2d, @ 5.8cm. Bb was sitting upright then the fingers/ hands r moving, then also looked out for a while then turbed bac to the side. Gynae managed to capture the sit upright pose.
Everything is fine. Mummy put on 2 - 2.5kg (taken after b/f) since b4 preggy.

Ok, here r the qns - Stella or somebody ask me on the vagina tight one - sorry, I ask ask ask until I 4got liao. B4 I went in i still rem. Then after tat gynae told me something else then I 4got liao. I even 4got to ask him abt the stingray and the stretchmark cream issue.

1) Hormone pills/ jab - after 1st tri no need liao cos it's supp to help stabilise the foetus. Bt again case to case basis.

2) Milk/ Soya bean drink - both also will cause wind. Gynae said if really drink liao wanna throw up then hv to take 2 calcium pills insitead of 1 per day (as what I hv bn taking) cos everyday we need abt 1000mg. Other sources of calcium can b extracted frm ice-cream, yoghurt, brocoli (very gd source of calcium & dunno wat, so if can take this more often gd).

3) Blood clot (Icy's case) - he said is a risk of threatened miscarriage. Bt if after tat goes off shld b ok bt still must monitor.

4) Liver - he said can take bt again everything moderate cos Liver has alot of Vit A.

5) NT scan - he said it's to chk for Down's Syndrome. Some ppl hv prev m/c cases or abortions & etc, tats y would b asked to do. For us - if nothing goes wrong b4, shouldn't b a prob esp if we r nt betwn 30 - 35. Bt he said some ppl still wanna do cos they wanna b more assured. He said if I wanna do also can bt no pt. So far he chk for me - everything is ok.

6) Detail scan - he said shld go to govt hospitals & do like NUH esp cos govt hospitals mah, they hv so much $$ to invest in all these equipments. Then I asked him hw cme 1 of my gf no need to do? He said tis she has to ask her own gynae cos detail scacn chk on many things. Bt if the gynae is so confident tat nothing will go wrong then by all means dun do. bt normally he will encourage, besides it's nt tat exp.

7) Ginger tea - helps to get rid of wind.

8) 2nd semester onwards - can eat papaya liao lor! Then gals, tat time I told u all can't eat grapes right? I asked again, then he said cos tat time I got cough mah, then eat grapes will hv phlegm. *paiseh paiseh* scared u all, end up u all dare nt eat grapes.

Then I told him, I m better bt still can't drink milk. Then I said I eat already feel nauseous bt still put on wt. Then he said gd mah. Then I said huh? Put on so much liao leh, he said "aiyoh...... only 1kg since 3wks ago I saw u leh. Very gd already." Then I told him, bt compared to b4 I was preggy I put on 2.5kg liao. He shook his head. Ha ha ha.........

Oh, then he said MS symptoms will slowly go off by Wk 14, right nw will still on/ off lor. So gals, just bear w/ it.

Then gals, Wk 1 - Wk11 is completion of 1st tri; Wk 12 - Wk 27 is completion of 2nd tri; Wk 28 - Wk 40 is las tri.

Then I told him I m gng Bkk for hols end Aug, then he said I m fine to travel. Then I said I m taking Tiger Airways. Then he asked me dun sqz w/ ppl, ask hb to sqz. Then hb said he's nt gng. Then gynae said "huh? then who's gng w/ u?" I said I go w/ my gfs lor. Wahahahahaha........... Bt anyway he said he will teach me wat to do while on the plane lor.

Then my chk up is still every 3wks leh, I will c him on 19 Aug.

End of my rpt.

Did I miss out anything?

I had a scare on sunday too. Think I exerted too much when I passed motion and there was some blood when I wiped off. Subsequently I didnt know whether the blood came from front or rear. Was so worried as I was also having some light cramps. Was so stressed and worried! I think it is from the rear but can't be sure. Hope I dun see any spotting today. My appt is tomorrow, hopefully my baby is fine.

Ah ger, thanks for recommending Modern Maternity. Went to Amara and bought 6 bottoms and 1 top. Their pricing is fairly reasonable too. There is a black lycra skirt with ruffles at the bottom which cost about $49. Very nice, dun look like maternity wear at all but still very comfortable. And they have my sizes!! Think for MTB who are more petite, this is certainly a good place to go.

Cherryale - so did u manage to get their discount card also? Gd thing - the card is valid for life.

Oh Cherryale - I din buy just my size - esp the 3/4s cos I dun wanna kip spending $$, so I wanna wear them till my full term. I bought a skirt - bt tat one I think I can still wear until maybe mid/ end 2nd tri bah.

Or perhaps u r really petite.

Yes - their pricing is fairly reasonable. Glad u got something tare.

hi ah ger,

its ok if u forgot abt the vaginal tight qns...aprreciate ur help.

wow looks like ur bb is very big hor.. how come u all can see ur bb in sitting position..mine always lying on the back one leh..

Ah ger, wah your report is really very detailed. Thanks
So cute, can see your little baby sitting up!

cherryale, don't worry lah.. think it's most likely you have a little bit of piles bleeding.. I've also been having cramps here and there, think it's the stretching of the uterus which is normal.. but cannot make sudden movements esp when coming out of bed.

Have been rather dizzy and weak lately..maybe 'cos I already lost 2-3kg from lack of appetite plus MS. Aiyoh, so worried.. My first pregnancy, I lost total 5kg for 1st tri. :p

Modern Maternity - so no bigger sizes for clothes? Aiyahhh..

Stella - I walked out liao then I 4got. Really sorry...........

When I walked out then I realised I still got qns nt asked. Maybe bcos of the long wait. My appt supp to be 12.30 then got 1 complicated case then the 2 gynaes were in the rm discussing for quite some time, then PC guy came to do his computer then lunch time & etc.......... by the time it was my turn was 2+ liao, wait also wait ill gong gong.

My bb - ok lah - I told bb I eat I put on nvm, he/ she must b the one taking most of it.

Oh, gynae also say wk 16 - 18 shld b able to c the gender. By Wk XX I can feel bb's movement liao, nw still small, even if bb kick also can't feel. Then he said bb nw still dunno hw to respond to us yet so no pt talking to the bb.

I told bb must wake up leh, since the night b4, then while I was bathing then along the journey dwn then while waiting also. When I was @ the clinic, I told the bb - it's gng to b my turn hor, better wake up & let me c u. Wahahahahahaha........ then I press press my stomach to make sure the bb knows.

Jin cute lor - when u c the bb moving inside like animation like tat. ha ha ha........

Maybe u tell ur bb also? Cos 3wks ago when I went for my chk the bb was also lying back.

Catz - dun worry abt the giddiness - maybe u can req frm ur boss to let u go hme slighly early? If u r a wking MTB?

Cherryale - u dun scare urself........... everything will b alright one.

Oh, 2day Icy gng to do her NT scan - wonder if she's tare nw. *cross fingers* for her.

Catz - yes they hv - many sizes. U can go & try. U very big size meh? Actually when I buy, I could buy 7, bt then I scard later bcme giant then the tighs can't fit into the capris. So I bought 9. then I pull the elastic band by 15 holes.

I think they hv even bigger. Anyway I may go tare 2day to chk on the denim capris - cos they haben call me leh........... I can chk for u. Wat size r u currently?

ha ha ha - of cos must b detailed enuff lah. Bt hor, I also 4got to ask abt my diarrhea pain.

Morning ladies

I was really sad. i rcd a phone call frm mom this morning tht my grandpa passed away at 6+ in the morning. i was nt allow to go dwn bcos of the jounery. My grandpa stay in ipoh. so sad... tht i can't see him for the last jounery.

Leomum *pat pat* dun b sad........

Erm, bt can I ask - hw cme own relatives also cannot meh? Cos I rem my ex-coll's sos was preggie also when the dad passed away.

bt again if ur mum said dun go then dun go lor. It's no choice one.....

thks ah ger, mum said i ve nt rcd 3mth yet so better be careful. Hb worry i cried non stop there & worry i stay thur out the nite & doesn't want to sleep. i tried nt to be too upset for bb sake but i do feel really down.

leomum - I c..... Dun think so much le....... though there's nothing we can help here bt just comfort u.

U hv to think for bb, dun cry too much, later bb also bcme crybb.

U & ur grandpa must b very close one..... Just like when my grandparents passed away the last time. Nx time then u go & pay respect to him lor.

My ex-coll, tat time during their wedd period the hb's granny who doted on him alot passed away also, then they also din get to go attend the wake. After sometime then they go & pay respect to her.

cherryale,

i had the same scare last week too. I was in the office so i called the gynae clinic straight and went down for check up. Hmm...gynae checked by inserting a finger into my private part. he said if finger got blood then its from the vaginal, else its most likely from anus. So luckily that time, no blood on his fingers.

When u wipe did u dab the vaginal area to see if got blood? i remembered i did last time but guess i was so overwhelmed and afraid at that time that i couldnt differentiate already but i do have a feeling its from the anus.

I'm also going for my appt tomorrow. Now u already cross your 12 wks already?

leomum, sorry to hear of your granddad's passing.. I actually didn't attend my grandma's funeral (couldn't make it back from UK in time) and I've always regretted it

Ah Ger, yep, I'm a working MTB.. plus have a little toddler to run circles around me.. very tired. I've asked my boss for leniency but erm, they're not so understanding as to how bad I feel lor. I usually just sneak off..heh. Dress size, G2000 I'm size 11 leh.. don't know if Modern Maternity stocks big sizes. I'm not fat but I'm tall and big boned..ok and have some overhanging tummy fats left over from first pregnancy (but that has disappeared with my 3kg weight loss).. :p

Catz - later if I go RP & walk , I try asking them - wats the size range lor. or do u wanna try call them & ask? If they hv the size then u can try look c - if nt then no pt gng dwn also.

My card only has the customer svc #, maybe u wanna chk frm www.modern-maternity.com url then chk for their #?

Ah Ger, it'd be good if you can help me kaypoh.. my office very quiet lah.. not so good if ppl hear me asking about maternity wear..haha

Oh Catz.......... like tat arh. Ok bt no promise I will go 2day. I must c weather then also if I m lazy to walk dwn or nt.

If I go sure will ask for u.

Catz - I called them liao. They hv Size 11 also. Then they say their pants/ skirts/ capris - all stretchable ones + their bands are all w/ the buttons holes for u to release & tighten, so shouldn't b any prob.

They say best if u can go & look & try on the clothes urself.

Ah ger,

Yes, got the 15% VIP card. I bought mostly size 7 (should be M size)to accomodate the growing belly.

btw, gals,I am going there tomorrow evening to collect the pants, anyone keen to go and take a look, can meet me there and you can get 15% off if you happen to see something u like.

Catz, I also hope my baby is fine. Can't wait for my appt tomorrow.

Wah thanks Ah Ger.. Yah when I am feeling more energetic, will go over to Amara to have a look
I still have lots of maternity clothes but mostly non-working type..haha
Last pregnancy lagi shiok, just sleep all day long. This one, not so lucky :p

cherryale - I bought my skirt @ Size 7, bt the 3/4s I bought 9 cos I scared tighs bcme giant tighs. Then hor, 9 & 7 nt much diff leh......... since it's elastic band w/ adjustable holes + our tops sure can cover the buttock tare, so I bought a bigger one instead.

Cherryale - I hv a $10 or $20 voucher to use leh for $100 purchase. Bt tis time round I m thinking of getting only a 3/4 leh.... I still wanna go & look ard other shops. Tis Fri maybe meet my gfs they all @ Suntec then I can go jalan @ Cloud 9 & Perfect Mum.

Gals - rem - watever bottoms u buy try to look for V-shape so tat as ur belly grows, u still can wear ur bottoms & they will b more comfy also cos it doesn't band ard ur belly.

Catz....actually is quite ok to work during preggy. When i had my 1st one...i quit due to spotting then stayed at home "yang tai" till delivery....was kind of bored. Everyday only sleep...eat & watch TV.
But when i had my 2nd one ...i was already working...so continue with it. Was pretty happy cos the time is occupied & pass faster. THough is alittle tiring but at least can contrubite to the family since got extra mouth to feed.

Ah ger.....ur baby is the biggest among all itiz?
Wow....think ur gynae also got alot of patient to answer all ur question.......
Went to perfect mum in Kovan during the wekend...they r having sales.....

afternoon gals,

ah ger ur baby big leh....so fast u all change to maternity wear? grow so fast... i envy u all leh...i still the same... i think baby small loh... haiz.. 'sob. sob'

JC - my bb jin big meh? Erm, is it Chloe who has triplets? Paiseh, cos I always mix up w/ Charis & Chloe. 1 of her bb is 6cm mah.......... right? So mine is still nt the biggest lah. Ha ha ha.....

Erm, the moment I came in I greeted him liao then he ask me hw m I & blah blah blah then after tat I started asking him liao lor. I said I read frm Forum & etc & blah blah blah, then he just reply me lor.

Then during scanning I asked him abt the blood clot, then when I came out of the rm, I asked him abt my hols lor. ha ha ha........... bt still I 4got to ask some other qns. Ha ha ha.......

Yeah - he's very patient w/ us asking one. Infact he said we can email him or call him if we hv any doubts. Bt I dun wanna trouble him lah, if nothing so urgent, just wanna kill my curiousity then I shall just wait lor.

Oh Perfect mum having sale? Like hw much?

Koh - I buy bt I haben wear, I only started wearing the 3/4s on Fri. Dun worry, y u so eager to wear maternity clothes? Hw I wish I can prolong my normal wking life clothes, cos I m left w/ so limited clothes to wear nw.......

Dun sob, my gf also wore all her clothes till 4 or 5th mth leh......... & her 2nd tri clothes can wear till full term. Bt I tried her clothes - most of them I can't wear. Like tis worse right?

Dun worry, maybe ur tummy can hide the pregnancy well.

Ok - Mon shall b my fast food day. I m gng to Modern Maternity to c my 3/4 denim. Dunno shld buy or nt.

Hmm............ I 4got ware is Perfect Mum @ RP leh. Clifford Centre or Arcade?

ah ger,
perfect mum is in Arcade....

Today dun feel so good also hungry but like got no appetite leh....mouth got awful taste & feel like puke. So far I never puke b4 just awful feeling....sobb....sobb........

Ah ger, there's Perfect Mum at IP too.

JC, I also dun feel gd. Just recovered from stomach flu.... no appetite to eat but feel hungry. Feel like puking too but trying hard not to. Really dun like the feeling of vomitting.